智者的话#LCSummit16


一位理财教练、一位学者和一位慈善家讲述Lending Circles对他们的意义。

我们最喜欢的部分之一 Lending Circles峰会 听取了我们社区的智者讲述Lending Circles对他们的意义。以下是一些重点:

弗雷德里克-惠里是耶鲁大学的社会学教授。

他研究 移民和少数族裔家庭如何更公平地融入金融主流。在与MAF的合作中,他采访了数百名Lending Circles客户,以了解他们对Lending Circles的体验以及信贷在他们生活中的重要性。他的研究使他拓宽了金融包容性的概念,并提出了一个框架,即 "金融包容性"。 金融公民.他的书即将在2017年出版。

在他的主题演讲中,他强调了践行深度共情的重要性,这样我们就不仅仅是倾听,而是真正地倾听客户的需求和价值--而不是优先考虑自己的假设。

他告诉我们,"当我们听而不闻时,我们就有可能妨碍司法而不是推进司法"。

Leisa Boswell是旧金山LGBT中心的金融服务专家,该中心是最早的Lending Circles合作伙伴之一。

她致力于通过金融教育为社区赋能。

她在发言中谈到了Lending Circles对LGBTQ群体的特殊价值。

"女同性恋、男同性恋、双性恋和变性者群体一直是一个被选择的家庭。当我们的家庭不愿意照顾我们时,我们不得不相互照顾。Mission Asset Fund从一开始就明白这个概念。他们知道,社区会照顾自己的家人"。

而她分享了她最早的一个Lending Circles客户的这个故事。

"我记得有一个特别的故事,是一个女人做了一辈子的音乐人,在这个行业里,钱是不可预测的,经常是以现金为基础。由于缺乏信贷渠道,她成为房主的梦想似乎不可能实现。借贷圈给了她迅速建立信用并获得抵押贷款资格的机会,我很高兴地告诉大家,她现在已经自豪地拥有了NOPA的一套低于市场价的公寓。所有这些都发生在不到一年的时间里。这就是借贷圈的力量。"

Daniel Lee是位于加州旧金山的Levi Strauss基金会的执行董事。

MAF和 Levi Strauss基金会 共享悠久的历史。MAF很幸运地得到了Levi Strauss基金会的支持。Daniel,一个自称是历史迷的人,用他自己的方式向我们讲述了MAF的起源故事。

它是这样的。

"Levi Strauss & Co.在瓦伦西亚街250号有一个连续经营了96年的工厂。当该建筑被出售时,其收益中的100万至200万一百万种子赠款捐给了MAF"。

最后,Daniel向全国各地的Lending Circles供应商敬酒,令人难忘。

"感谢你们作为领导者对行动的非凡偏向,感谢你们坚持解决方案要从社区有机地萌发(而不是以转基因形式空运);感谢你们把自己的全部精力投入到这项开创性的工作中;感谢你们利用我们所掌握的每一种工具,拥抱不可能的盟友和同伙。"

这些话是在 Lending Circles峰会。 于2016年10月26日至29日在美国旧金山举行。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Words from the Wise #LCSummit16


A Financial Coach, a scholar, and a philanthropist on what Lending Circles mean to them

One of our favorite parts of the Lending Circles Summit was hearing from wise members of our community on what Lending Circles mean to them. Here are a few highlights.

Frederick Wherry is a Professor of Sociology at Yale University.

He studies how immigrant and minority households become more equitably integrated into the financial mainstream. In partnership with MAF, he’s interviewed hundreds of Lending Circles clients to understand their experience of Lending Circles and the significance of credit in their lives. His research has led him to broaden the concept of financial inclusion and propose a framework of financial citizenship. His book is forthcoming in 2017.

In his keynote address, he emphasized the importance of practicing deep empathy so that we can not just hear, but genuinely listen to what our clients need and value – rather than prioritizing our own assumptions.

He told us, “When we hear but don’t listen, we risk obstructing justice rather than advancing it.”

Leisa Boswell is the Financial Services Specialist at the San Francisco LGBT Center, one of the earliest Lending Circles partners.

She is dedicated to empowering the community through financial education.

In her remarks, she spoke to the particular value of Lending Circles for the LGBTQ community:

“The LGBT community has always been one of chosen family. We have had to take care of each other when our given families would not. Mission Asset Fund has understood this concept from the beginning. They know that communities take care of their own.”

And she shared this story of one of her earliest Lending Circles clients:

“One particular story I recall is that of a woman who has worked her entire life as a musician and in that industry money is unpredictable and often on a cash basis. Her dream of becoming a homeowner seemed impossible due to her lack of access to credit. The lending circle gave her the opportunity to build credit rapidly and qualify for a mortgage and I’m happy to report she is now the proud owner of a below market rate condo in NOPA. All of this happened in less than a year. That is how powerful the lending circle is.”

Daniel Lee is the Executive Director of the Levi Strauss Foundation in San Francisco, CA.

MAF and The Levi Strauss Foundation share a long history: MAF was lucky to have the Levi Strauss Foundation as its very first supporter. Daniel, a self-proclaimed history nerd, graced us with his own telling of MAF’s origin story.

It went like this:

“Levi Strauss & Co. had a factory that was in continuous operation for 96 years at 250 Valencia Street. When that building was sold, a $1 million seed grant from its proceeds went to MAF.”

Daniel closed his remarks with a memorable toast to Lending Circles providers all over the nation:

“For your remarkable bias toward action as leaders and your insistence that solutions sprout organically from the community (not airlifted in GMO form); for bringing your full selves to this path-breaking work; for using every tool at our disposal and embracing unlikely allies and bedfellows.”

These remarks were delivered at the Lending Circles Summit, which took place from October 26-29, 2016, in San Francisco, CA.

Partner Success Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.