抵抗是什么样子。MAF的DACA运动,一年后。

特朗普政府于2017年9月5日取消了 "童年抵美者暂缓遣返"(DACA)计划,公然针对移民。对他的行动感到震惊和愤怒,我们没有退缩。我们站起来,进行反击。没有多少时间可以浪费,我们迅速将自己转变为一个快速反应的资助者,以帮助年轻移民度过特朗普造成的危机的不确定性。

我们 启动 一项运动,通过提供$495的补助金来帮助支付申请费,使符合条件的青年能够更新他们的DACA身份。

而当几个月后加州的一名联邦法官发布禁令,裁定特朗普政府的决定违宪,为更多梦想者更新DACA打开大门时,我们继续处理补助金,给年轻移民提供这个政府所拒绝的支持和爱。

对于赚取最低工资的大学生来说,$495可能意味着在DACA或支付房租之间做出选择。这是一个我们不希望他们做出的选择。

这就是为什么我们提供 7,600 费用援助赠款,总额为 $3.8百万 向全国各地的追梦人致敬。这是DACA的一个决定性的抵抗时刻,也是我们自己的时刻。

随着联邦法院继续对 DACA的未来我们保持警觉。在 今年的峰会在美国,全国各地的活动家、倡导者和盟友将汇聚一堂,探讨我们的社区如何在特朗普的美国茁壮成长。我们相信追梦人将帮助引领方向。我们正在邀请他们与我们分享他们的复原力故事,这些故事可以激励和鼓舞我们所有人的长远发展。

今天,我们通过强调DACA资助者的故事来纪念这项工作,这些故事将在未来几年激励我们。

[infogram id=”daca-1-year-later-1h984w80npgg4p3″ prefix=”Y0E”]

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

What Resistance Looks Like: MAF’s DACA Campaign, a Year Later

The Trump administration blatantly targeted immigrants by rescinding the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program on September 5, 2017. Shocked and angered by his actions, we did not retreat. We stood up and fought back. With little time to waste, we quickly transformed ourselves into a rapid response grantmaker to help young immigrants through the uncertainty of the Trump-inflicted crisis.

We launched a campaign to enable eligible youth to renew their DACA status by offering grants of $495 to help cover application fees.

And when a federal judge in California issued an injunction that ruled the Trump administration’s decision unconstitutional months later, opening the door for more Dreamers to renew DACA, we kept on processing grants, giving young immigrants the support and love that this government was denying.

For college students making minimum wage, $495 can mean choosing between DACA or paying for rent. That’s a choice we didn’t want them to have to make.

That’s why we provided 7,600 fee assistance grants totaling $3.8 million to Dreamers across the country. This was a defining moment of resistance for DACA, and for ourselves.

As the federal courts continue to fight over the future of DACA, we stay vigilant. At this year’s Summit, activists, advocates, and allies across the country will come together to explore how our communities can thrive in Trump’s America. We believe Dreamers will help lead the way. We’re inviting them to share with us their stories of resilience, stories that can inspire and energize us all for the long haul.

Today we remember the work by highlighting stories from our DACA grant recipients that will motivate us for years to come.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.