تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

كيف تبدو المقاومة: حملة DACA التابعة لـ MAF ، بعد عام

استهدفت إدارة ترامب المهاجرين بشكل صارخ من خلال إلغاء برنامج العمل المؤجل للقادمين من الأطفال (DACA) في 5 سبتمبر 2017. لقد صدمنا وغضبنا من أفعاله ، ولم نتراجع. وقفنا وقاومنا. مع القليل من الوقت لنضيعه ، سرعان ما حولنا أنفسنا إلى مانح استجابة سريع لمساعدة المهاجرين الشباب من خلال حالة عدم اليقين من الأزمة التي أحدثها ترامب.

نحن أطلقت حملة لتمكين الشباب المؤهلين من تجديد حالة DACA الخاصة بهم من خلال تقديم منح بقيمة $495 للمساعدة في تغطية رسوم الطلب.

وعندما أصدر قاضٍ فيدرالي في كاليفورنيا أمرًا قضائيًا قضى بأن قرار إدارة ترامب غير دستوري بعد أشهر ، مما فتح الباب لمزيد من الحالمين لتجديد DACA ، واصلنا معالجة المنح ، ومنح المهاجرين الشباب الدعم والحب الذي كانت هذه الحكومة تنكره.

بالنسبة لطلاب الجامعات الذين يحصلون على الحد الأدنى للأجور ، يمكن أن يعني $495 الاختيار بين DACA أو دفع الإيجار. هذا خيار لم نرغب في أن يتخذهوا.

لهذا السبب قدمناها 7,600 منح مساعدة رسوم مجموعها $3.8 مليون للحالمين في جميع أنحاء البلاد. كانت هذه لحظة حاسمة في مقاومة DACA ولأنفسنا.

كما تستمر المحاكم الفيدرالية في القتال على مستقبل DACA، نبقى يقظين. في قمة هذا العام، سوف يجتمع النشطاء والدعاة والحلفاء في جميع أنحاء البلاد لاستكشاف كيف يمكن لمجتمعاتنا أن تزدهر في أمريكا ترامب. نعتقد أن الحالمين سيساعدون في قيادة الطريق. نحن ندعوهم لمشاركة قصصهم عن المرونة ، والقصص التي يمكن أن تلهمنا وتنشطنا جميعًا على المدى الطويل.

اليوم نتذكر العمل من خلال تسليط الضوء على قصص من متلقي منح DACA لدينا والتي ستحفزنا لسنوات قادمة.

What Resistance Looks Like: MAF’s DACA Campaign, a Year Later

The Trump administration blatantly targeted immigrants by rescinding the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program on September 5, 2017. Shocked and angered by his actions, we did not retreat. We stood up and fought back. With little time to waste, we quickly transformed ourselves into a rapid response grantmaker to help young immigrants through the uncertainty of the Trump-inflicted crisis.

We launched a campaign to enable eligible youth to renew their DACA status by offering grants of $495 to help cover application fees.

And when a federal judge in California issued an injunction that ruled the Trump administration’s decision unconstitutional months later, opening the door for more Dreamers to renew DACA, we kept on processing grants, giving young immigrants the support and love that this government was denying.

For college students making minimum wage, $495 can mean choosing between DACA or paying for rent. That’s a choice we didn’t want them to have to make.

That’s why we provided 7,600 fee assistance grants totaling $3.8 million to Dreamers across the country. This was a defining moment of resistance for DACA, and for ourselves.

As the federal courts continue to fight over the future of DACA, we stay vigilant. At this year’s Summit, activists, advocates, and allies across the country will come together to explore how our communities can thrive in Trump’s America. We believe Dreamers will help lead the way. We’re inviting them to share with us their stories of resilience, stories that can inspire and energize us all for the long haul.

Today we remember the work by highlighting stories from our DACA grant recipients that will motivate us for years to come.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.