我们会继续战斗

听到婴儿为父母伤心地哭泣,乞求帮助,我的灵魂很受伤。每次看到我的孩子时,我都会想起这些小孩子,希望我们能停止这种疯狂,让他们与他们的父母团聚,他们勇敢地经历了数百万移民以前经历过的漫长而危险的旅程,在美国寻找安全。   

但他们没有避难,而是找到了一个政府恐吓他们的清白,将孩子从父母身边夺走,并在此过程中侵犯了他们的人权和合法权利。特朗普的“零容忍”政策让人想起奴隶制、日本拘留营,甚至纳粹德国。为了什么?这届政府冷酷地计算出,将婴儿劫为人质会引发一场危机,以推进他们的政治议程。

他们犯了一个可怕的错误。

特朗普的新行政命令并没有结束危机。政府仍在遵循“零容忍”政策,将寻求庇护者关押在美国/墨西哥边境的拘留营中。 他们没有采取任何措施让美国监护下的 2,300 名儿童与他们的父母团聚。相反,他们遵循他们的游戏计划,利用儿童作为讨价还价的筹码,向国会施压,以资助特朗普的墙,削减合法移民的签证,取消多元化签证计划,将移民定为犯罪,并阻止数百万人获得公民身份的任何希望勤劳的移民推动了我们的经济,但更重要的是,他们将美国称为家。

我们对特朗普的行为并不感到惊讶,但我们感到愤怒和活跃。从一开始,这届政府就攻击移民,称他们为 强奸犯, 罪犯, 暴徒动物。他的行动与这种言论一致:终止 DACA 并破坏两党为梦想家提供立法解决方案的努力。一步一步地,他正在摧毁移民和有色人种成为我们社会正式成员的任何希望。

显然,他害怕一个新兴的美国,它丰富多样、丰富多彩、复杂。他害怕一个看起来不像他的美国。

但无论他多么害怕或多么恨我们,他都无法摆脱我们。他的政府正在努力使移民家庭的生活变得悲惨和不可能。他们会定罪,他们会拘留,他们会驱逐出境,他们会进行恐吓,他们会没收我们可能拥有的任何一点东西;但他们无法摆脱我们。

我们是有弹性的。我们是幸存者。我们并不孤单。数以百万计的人并不害怕,他们将与我们一起为新兴的美国而战,这个新兴的美国公正而广阔,为那些现在在边境哭泣的孩子们提供充足的空间、拥抱和资源。

听我这么说:特朗普不会有最终决定权。他不会决定美国是什么,或者它会变成什么。

在 MAF,我们正在加倍努力。我们正在帮助更多合法永久居民申请公民身份。多年来,我们已经资助了 8,000 多个美国公民和 DACA 申请,并准备在未来几个月和几年内再做数千个。目前有 880 万合法永久居民有资格获得公民身份。我们希望帮助他们入籍,迈出能够在即将到来的选举中投票的第一步。我们比以往任何时候都更有决心帮助移民改善他们的财务生活,帮助他们在他们居住的地方扎根,并相信他们属于他们。

他们是我们作为一个国家的重要组成部分,我们需要他们的梦想和能量来继续建设新兴的美国。

世界各地听到的呼声不会被忽视。 对于从父母的怀抱中被夺走的孩子,以及数百万处于社会边缘的人,我们将继续为自由、尊严和尊重而战,永远弯曲 MLK 曾经提到的道德宇宙的弧线——直到它走向正义。

带着爱和感激,

Jose Quinonez

给:

捐赠给致力于在法庭上捍卫移民权利的法律和非营利组织,并为边境家庭提供直接支持。

  • 美国公民自由联盟基金会 是一个非营利组织 捍卫个人的公民权利。他们的 移民权利项目 捍卫移民的权利,目前正在对家庭分离问题提起诉讼。
  • 难民和移民教育和法律服务中心 (RAICES) 是一家为德克萨斯州中部和南部的移民儿童、家庭和难民提供法律服务的非营利组织。他们正在帮助父母摆脱拘留,以便他们能够与孩子团聚。
  • 需要防御的孩子 (KIND) 是一个国家政策倡导组织,在十个城市设有办事处,包括旧金山和华盛顿特区 KIND 培训无偿律师代表无人陪伴的移民儿童。
  • 边境天使一家位于圣地亚哥的非营利组织,专注于移民权利、移民改革和防止边境沿线的移民死亡。
  • 与移民家庭站在一起:#HretoStay 是 MAF 筹集资金以支持 DACA、公民身份、TPS 和绿卡申请的活动,以防止家庭因改变移民身份而分崩离析。

提倡:

致电您的国会议员以支持家庭团聚。要求国会听取庇护申请,并使已经与父母分离的 2,300 名儿童团聚。  

  • 白宫公众评论专线: 202-456-1111
  • 司法部公众意见专线: 202-353-1555
  • 美国参议院总机: 202-224-3121

集会:

走上街头,加入一个 家庭属于一起 6 月 30 日在您附近集会

从事:

在社交媒体上表达您的支持 (#FamiliesBelongTogether #KeepFamiliesTogether)。

 

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

We will keep fighting

My soul hurts to hear babies crying inconsolably for their parents, begging for help. I think about these little ones each time I look at my children, hoping that we will stop this madness and reunite them with their mothers and fathers who braved through that long and dangerous journey millions of immigrants have taken before, looking for safety in America.   

But instead of refuge, they found a government that terrorized their innocence, ripping child away from parent and violating their human and legal rights in the process. Trump’s “zero tolerance” policy harkens back to slavery, Japanese internment camps, and even Nazi Germany. And for what? This administration callously calculated that taking babies hostage would ignite a crisis to further their political agenda.

They made a terrible mistake.

Trump’s new Executive Order did not end the crisis. The administration is still following “zero tolerance” policy, keeping asylum seekers in detention camps along the US/Mexico border. And they’re doing nothing to reunite the 2,300 children in US custody with their parents. Instead they’re following their game plan, using children as bargaining chips to pressure Congress to fund Trump’s wall, cut back on visas for legal immigrants, eliminate the diversity visa program, criminalize immigrants, and block any hope for a pathway to citizenship for millions of hardworking immigrants who drive our economy, but more importantly, who call the United States home.

We are not surprised by Trump’s actions, but we are outraged and activated. From the start, this administration has attacked immigrants in rhetoric calling them rapists, criminals, thugs or animals. His actions have been aligned with this rhetoric: terminating DACA and torpedoing bipartisan efforts to provide legislative solutions to Dreamers. Step by step, he’s dismantling any hope for immigrants and people of color to be full fledged members of our society.

Clearly, he is afraid of an emerging America that is rich and diverse, colorful and complex. He’s afraid of an America that does not look like him.

But no matter how much he may fear or hate us, he can’t get rid of us. His administration is working hard to make life miserable and impossible for immigrant families. They will criminalize, they will detain, they will deport, they will terrorize, they will confiscate whatever little we may have; but they can’t get rid of us.

We are resilient. We are survivors. And we are not alone. There are millions of people that are not afraid and who will fight with us for that emerging America that is just and expansive with plenty of room, hugs and resources for those children crying at the border right now.

Hear me say this: Trump will not have the last word. He will not dictate what America is, or what it will become.

At MAF, we are doubling down. We’re helping more legal permanent residents apply for citizenship. Over the years, we have financed over 8,000 U.S. citizenship and DACA applications and are ready to do thousands more in the months and years to come. There are 8.8 million legal permanent residents eligible for citizenship right now. We want to help them naturalize, to take that first step towards being able to vote in elections to come. And we’re more determined than ever to help immigrants improve their financial lives, to help them put down roots where they live, and feel confident that they belong.

They are part and parcel of who we are as a nation and we need their dreams, their energy to keep building that emerging America.

The cries heard around the world will not go unheeded. For the children ripped from their parents arms, and the millions of people at the margins of society, we will keep fighting for freedom and dignity and respect, ever bending that arc of the moral universe MLK once mentioned – until it breaks towards justice.

With love and gratitude,

Jose Quinonez

GIVE:

Give to the legal and nonprofit organizations working to defend the rights of immigrants in the courts and provide direct support to families on the border.

  • ACLU Foundation is a nonprofit defending the civil rights of individuals. Their Immigrant Rights Project defends the rights of immigrants and is currently litigating family separation issues.
  • Refugee and Immigrant Center for Education and Legal Services (RAICES) is a nonprofit providing legal services to immigrant children, families and refugees in Central and South Texas. They are helping get parents out of detention so that they can be reunited with their children.
  • Kids in Need of Defense (KIND) is a national policy advocacy organization with offices in ten cities, including San Francisco and Washington D.C. KIND trains pro bono lawyers to represent unaccompanied immigrant children.
  • Border Angels is a San Diego-based nonprofit focused on migrant rights, immigration reform, and the prevention of immigrant deaths along the border.
  • Stand with Immigrant Families: #HeretoStay is MAF’s campaign to raise funds to support DACA, Citizenship, TPS and Green card applications to prevent families from getting torn apart by changing immigration status.

ADVOCATE:

Call your member of Congress to support families staying together. Demand that Congress hear asylum claims and reunite the 2,300 children already separated from their parents.  

  • White House public comment line: 202-456-1111
  • Department of Justice public comment line: 202-353-1555
  • U.S. Senate Switchboard: 202-224-3121

RALLY:

Take to the streets and join a Families Belong Together rally near you on June 30

ENGAGE:

Show your support on social media (#FamiliesBelongTogether #KeepFamiliesTogether).

 

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.