跳到主要内容

我们看到了它的到来。

自从特朗普走下自动扶梯宣布参选这一可怕的日子以来,我们都深知这是移民开放季节的开始。我们以前见过。绝望的政治家使用可恶的狗哨言论来非人化和替罪羊有色人种。我从来没有想过这次的开放季节会意味着子弹雨——仅仅因为他们看起来像墨西哥人就可以不分青红皂白地杀死人类,包括 Jordan 和 Andre Anchondo,他们都是在埃尔帕索保护他们婴儿的父母。

像许多其他人一样,埃尔帕索的消息动摇了我在美国的安全感和归属感。

我想这正是针对移民的另一项恐怖行为的意图。我很清楚的是,埃尔帕索射手并不是单独行动的。白宫也在推动他们自己的竞选活动,现在很清楚: 突袭工地 只是为了它的奇观; 拒绝签证 希望与家人团聚的人以创纪录的速度; 分离家庭 寻求庇护只是为了传达对他们的要求持恶意和漠不关心的信息;现在,如果合法居民寻求公共援助,他们将惩罚对其移民身份不确定的合法居民。他们做这一切是为了在人们的生活中施加残酷,使移民 感到不安全,不被需要或不受欢迎 在美国。我们也感觉到了。

在 MAF,我们正在将痛苦转化为行动。我们承诺提供 $150 万的循环贷款基金,以帮助符合条件的移民申请公民身份和 DACA。

我们正在将零息贷款的数量增加一倍,以帮助那些现在无法支付申请费用的人。超过 800 万符合条件的移民可以申请美国公民身份;我们想帮助那些无法支付 $725 申请费用的人。没有时间可以浪费了。

加入我们。帮帮我们。跟我们工作。我们不能允许美国进一步下降。

带着感激之情,

Jose Quinonez

We saw it coming.

Ever since that dreadful day Trump descended down the escalator to announce his candidacy, we all knew deep down that it was the start of open season on immigrants. We’d seen it before. Desperate politicians using hateful dog-whistle rhetoric to dehumanize and scapegoat people of color. Never did I think that open season this time would mean a shower of bullets – indiscriminately killing human beings just because they look Mexican, including Jordan and Andre Anchondo, both parents protecting their infant child in El Paso.

Like many others, news of El Paso shook my sense of safety and belonging in America.

I suppose that was exactly the intent of yet another act of terror in a campaign against immigrants. What is clear to me is that the El Paso shooter did not act alone. The White House is also driving their own campaign that is now clear: raiding work sites just for the spectacle of it; denying visas at record rates for people looking to reunite with their families; separating families seeking asylum just to send a message of spite and indifference to their claims; and now punishing legal residents with uncertainty over their immigration status if they seek public assistance. They are doing all of this to inflict cruelty in people’s lives, to make immigrants feel insecure, not wanted or welcomed in America. We feel it too.

At MAF, we’re turning our pain into action. We are committing a $1.5 million revolving loan fund to help eligible immigrants to apply for citizenship and DACA.

We’re doubling the number of zero-interest loans to help people that can’t cover the cost of applying to do so now. Over 8 million eligible immigrants can apply for US citizenship; we want to help those who can’t cover the $725 cost of applying. There is no time to waste.

Join us. Help us. Work with us. We can’t allow for America to descend any further.

With gratitude,

Jose Quinonez

Jose Quinonez
Founder & CEO at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.