在联合经济委员会作证

2019年4月30日,我在美国国会联合经济委员会关于 "通过加强家庭、社区和公民社会扩大机会 "的听证会上作证。这个两党机构被召集起来,为提高经济流动性和加强全国各地服务不足人群的社会资本提出建议。在听证会上,我提出了对低收入人群在实现其经济潜力方面所面临的障碍的见解,以及国会可以做些什么来将他们从金融阴影中提升。我很感谢有这样一个令人难以置信的机会来提升MAF和其他社区组织的作用,它们是支持低收入家庭改善其在美国的金融生活的一致、可信赖的资源。

感谢李主席、哈桑参议员和联合经济委员会的成员举行这次重要的听证会。

我的名字是何塞-基诺内兹。

我是一个移民,在黑夜中来到这个国家,当时我还是一个9岁的孩子,通过1986年的移民改革和控制法案调整我的身份,成为美国公民,现在我正在实现我的美国梦,帮助低收入者在金融市场上变得引人注目、积极和成功。

作为Mission Asset Fund(一家位于加利福尼亚州旧金山的非营利组织)的首席执行官,我拥有解决我们的客户每天面临的艰巨财务挑战的第一手经验。

我所了解到的是:在美国做穷人是很昂贵的,特别是对于生活在金融主流之外的人来说。

在全国范围内,七分之一的拉美人没有银行账户,意味着他们没有支票或储蓄账户。虽然研究人员指出了人们没有账户的各种原因,但我们知道,银行是根据移民身份或通过要求狭义的身份证明来排斥人们。因此,我们的许多客户没有银行账户,别无选择,只能依靠收取更多费用来兑现支票或支付账单的替代供应商。平均每年收入为$25,500的未获服务的家庭将其收入的10%用于金融服务的费用和利息,而我们这些拥有银行账户的人往往是免费获得的。

缺少信用是一个挑战。在全国范围内,近三分之一的拉丁美洲人是信用隐形人,这意味着他们没有信用分数或信用报告。 鉴于我们经济的性质,没有信用几乎没有人可以做什么--人们无法获得贷款购买房屋或开办企业,他们无法租用公寓,在一些州,如果雇主不检查他们的信用报告,他们甚至无法找到工作。

由于无法获得负担得起的信贷,人们转而求助于高成本的贷款人--有些人在小额贷款上支付100%的年利率,而短期发薪日贷款的年利率则高得多。

经济流动性的障碍不仅仅是经济上的。人们还背负着当前反移民政治环境带来的不确定性,担心失去家人和耗尽他们的储蓄。许多人担心会因为没有证件而被拘留--引发金融危机。仅仅是保释金就可能使他们失去$5,000;获得法律代表,高达$20,000;而且费用也会随之增加。

那么,当人们在经济上被忽视,在生活中面临巨大挑战时,我们如何帮助他们实现其经济潜力?

我们在客户如何利用社会资本--他们与家人和朋友的关系来生存和发展中找到了答案。

我们的客户奉行一种历史悠久的传统,即一起借钱和存钱;这种活动在全世界有数百种不同的名称,但本质上是一样的。一群人聚集在一起,同意把他们的钱集中起来,让小组中的一个成员可以获得一笔钱,然后他们每周或每月再次这样做,直到小组中的每个人都有机会获得一笔钱。当人们无法获得贷款时,这就是他们创造自己的方式,只使用他们的话语和信任。

我们在这个传统的基础上建立了我们的Lending Circles项目。我们通过让参与者签署期票使贷款正规化,然后由MAF提供服务并向信用机构报告。

自2008年启动该计划以来,我们已经提供了11223笔贷款,帮助参与者建立信用--事实上,他们看到平均分数增加了168分,为他们在信贷市场上打开了一个可能性的世界。

而且还款率为99.3%,这在小额贷款界是闻所未闻的。

Lending Circles是一个例子,说明如果我们根据人们的力量和社会资本来设计成功的项目和政策,以创造真正的持久变化,我们可以和人们一起并为人们做什么。

尽管这种方法带来了希望,但它还不足以帮助数以百万计的人受困于削弱其经济潜力的障碍。

我们需要更好的数据来了解人们的挑战。基于国家数据集的研究报告往往忽略了那些在经济上看不见的人,从而错过了我们社会的关键部分。

国会可以取消SNAP等公共福利项目的资产限制,这些项目是收入不足以维持生计的家庭的生命线。

国会可以明确规定,美国公民身份不是获得金融服务的先决条件,并允许在开立账户时使用更多政府颁发的身份证。

国会可以通过允许公用事业、租金和电信的正面支付数据纳入信用报告,大大减少信用隐形的数量。

国会可以要求对小额贷款和发薪日贷款采用 "偿还能力 "的核保标准和更长的还款期。

我相信这些改革可以在很大程度上释放人们的经济潜力,并帮助他们也实现他们的美国梦。  

感谢你们举行这次听证会,我期待着继续这一重要的对话。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Testifying Before the Joint Economic Committee

On April 30, 2019, I testified before the U.S. Congress Joint Economic Committee’s hearing on “Expanding Opportunity by Strengthening Families, Communities, and Civil Society.” This bipartisan body was convened to make recommendations for improving economic mobility and strengthening social capital for underserved populations across the country. During the hearing, I presented insights on the barriers that low-income people face in achieving their economic potential and what Congress can do to elevate them from the financial shadows. I am grateful for the incredible opportunity to uplift the role of MAF and other community-based organizations as consistent, trusted resources for supporting lower-income families to improve their financial lives in the U.S.

Thank you, Chairman Lee, Senator Hassan, and members of the Joint Economic Committee for having this important hearing.

My name is José Quiñonez.

I’m an immigrant, came to this country in the dark of night as a nine-year old, adjust my status through the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, became a U.S. citizen, and now I’m living my American Dream of helping low-income people become visible, active and successful in the financial marketplace.

As CEO of the Mission Asset Fund, a nonprofit organization based in San Francisco, California, I have first hand experience addressing the daunting financial challenges our clients face everyday.

And what I’ve learned is this: being poor in America is expensive, particularly for people living outside of the financial mainstream.

Nationally, one-in-seven Latinos are unbanked, meaning they do not have checking or savings accounts. While researchers point to various reasons why people go without accounts, we know banks exclude people based on immigration status or by requiring narrow forms of IDs. Consequently, many of our clients are left unbanked and without a choice but to rely on alternative providers that charge more to cash checks or pay bills. The average underserved household that earns $25,500 annually pays about 10% of their income on fees and interest for financial services that those of us with bank accounts often get for free.

Lack of credit is challenge. Nationally, nearly one-in-three Latinos are credit invisible, meaning they do not have credit scores or credit reports. Given the nature of our economy, there is little anyone can do without credit—people cannot get loans to buy homes or start businesses, they cannot rent apartments, and in some states, they cannot even get jobs without employers checking their credit reports.

Without access to affordable credit, people turn to high cost lenders—some paying 100% APRs on small-dollar loans, and significantly more for short-term payday loans.

Barriers to economic mobility are not just financial. People are also burdened with uncertainty from the current anti-immigrant political environment, fearing losing their families and draining their savings. Many worry about being detained for lack of documentation—igniting a financial crisis. Bail alone could strip them of $5,000; obtaining legal representation, up to $20,000; and the costs mount from there.

So, how can we help people realize their economic potential when they are financially invisible and facing enormous challenges in their lives?

We found answers in how our clients leverage social capital—their relationships with family and friends to survive and thrive.

Our clients practice a time-honored tradition of lending and saving money together; it’s an activity known by hundreds of different names throughout the world but which is essentially the same. A group of people come together and agree to pool their money so that one member of the group can take the lump sum, and they do it again on a weekly or monthly basis until everyone in the group has had the chance of getting the lump sum. When people don’t have access to loans, this is how they create their own, using only their word and trust.

We built our Lending Circles Program on this tradition. We formalized loans by having participants sign promissory notes, which MAF then services and reports to credit bureaus.

Since launching the program in 2008, we have made 11,223 loans to help participants build credit—in fact, they see an average score increase of 168 points, opening a world of possibilities for them in the credit market.

And the repayment rate is 99.3 percent—an unheard-of rate in the microlending world.

Lending Circles is an example of what we could do with—and for—people if we design programs and policies for success, based on people’s strengths and social capital to create real lasting change.

Despite the promise from this approach, it is not enough to help the millions of people trapped by barriers that diminish their economic potential.

We need better data to understand people’s challenges. Research reports based on national datasets often ignore those who are financially invisible, thereby missing critical segments of our society.

Congress can remove asset limits to public benefit programs like SNAP that are a lifeline for families not earning enough to make ends meet.

Congress can provide clarity that US citizenship is not a prerequisite for accessing financial services, and allow for more government-issued IDs when opening accounts.

Congress can significantly reduce the number of credit invisible by allowing positive payment data from utilities, rent, and telecoms to be included in credit reports.

And Congress can require “ability to repay” underwriting standards and longer repayment terms for small-dollar and payday loans.

I believe these reforms can go a long way to unlock people’s economic potential, and help them realize their American Dreams too.  

Thank you for holding this hearing and I look forward to continuing this important conversation.

Founder & CEO at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.