الإدلاء بشهادته أمام اللجنة الاقتصادية المشتركة

في 30 نيسان (أبريل) 2019 ، أدليت بشهادتي أمام جلسة اللجنة الاقتصادية المشتركة للكونغرس الأمريكي حول "توسيع الفرص من خلال تعزيز الأسر والمجتمعات والمجتمع المدني". وقد انعقدت هذه الهيئة المكونة من الحزبين لتقديم توصيات لتحسين الحراك الاقتصادي وتعزيز رأس المال الاجتماعي للسكان المحرومين في جميع أنحاء البلاد. خلال جلسة الاستماع ، قدمت رؤى حول العوائق التي يواجهها الأشخاص ذوو الدخل المنخفض في تحقيق إمكاناتهم الاقتصادية وما يمكن أن يفعله الكونجرس لإبعادهم عن الظل المالي. أنا ممتن للفرصة المذهلة للارتقاء بدور MAF والمنظمات المجتمعية الأخرى باعتبارها موارد ثابتة وموثوقة لدعم الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض لتحسين حياتهم المالية في الولايات المتحدة.

شكراً لك ، الرئيس لي ، والسيناتور حسن ، وأعضاء اللجنة الاقتصادية المشتركة لعقد هذه الجلسة الهامة.

اسمي خوسيه كوينونيز.

أنا مهاجر ، أتيت إلى هذا البلد في ظلام الليل عندما كنت في التاسعة من عمري ، وقمت بتعديل حالتي من خلال قانون إصلاح الهجرة والتحكم لعام 1986 ، وأصبحت مواطنًا أمريكيًا ، والآن أعيش حلمي الأمريكي مساعدة الأشخاص ذوي الدخل المنخفض على الظهور والنشاط والنجاح في السوق المالية.

بصفتي الرئيس التنفيذي لـ Mission Asset Fund ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية مقرها في سان فرانسيسكو ، كاليفورنيا ، لدي خبرة مباشرة في معالجة التحديات المالية الهائلة التي يواجهها عملاؤنا كل يوم.

وما تعلمته هو هذا: أن تكون فقيرًا في أمريكا مكلف ، خاصة بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يعيشون خارج التيار المالي السائد.

على الصعيد الوطني ، لا يتعامل شخص واحد من كل سبعة من اللاتينيين مع البنوك ، مما يعني أنه ليس لديهم حسابات جارية أو توفير. بينما يشير الباحثون إلى أسباب مختلفة لعدم وجود حسابات ، نعلم أن البنوك تستبعد الأشخاص بناءً على حالة الهجرة أو من خلال طلب نماذج ضيقة من بطاقات الهوية. وبالتالي ، يُترك العديد من عملائنا بدون حسابات مصرفية وبدون خيار سوى الاعتماد على مزودين بديلين يفرضون رسومًا أكبر على الشيكات النقدية أو دفع الفواتير. يدفع متوسط الأسرة المحرومة التي تكسب $25،500 سنويًا حوالي 10% من دخلها على الرسوم والفوائد على الخدمات المالية التي يحصل عليها أولئك الذين لديهم حسابات بنكية مجانًا في كثير من الأحيان.

نقص الائتمان هو التحدي. على الصعيد الوطني ، ما يقرب من واحد من كل ثلاثة من اللاتينيين غير مرئي الائتمان ، مما يعني أنه ليس لديهم درجات ائتمانية أو تقارير ائتمانية. نظرًا لطبيعة اقتصادنا ، لا يوجد سوى القليل الذي يمكن لأي شخص الاستغناء عنه - لا يستطيع الناس الحصول على قروض لشراء منازل أو بدء أعمال تجارية ، ولا يمكنهم استئجار شقق ، وفي بعض الولايات ، لا يمكنهم حتى الحصول على وظائف دون التحقق من تقارير الائتمان الخاصة بهم.

بدون الوصول إلى الائتمان الميسور ، يلجأ الناس إلى المقرضين ذوي التكلفة المرتفعة - يدفع بعضهم 100% APRs على قروض صغيرة بالدولار ، وأكثر بكثير لقروض يوم الدفع قصيرة الأجل.

العوائق التي تحول دون التنقل الاقتصادي ليست مالية فقط. كما أن الناس مثقلون بعبء عدم اليقين من البيئة السياسية الحالية المعادية للمهاجرين ، خوفًا من فقدان أسرهم واستنزاف مدخراتهم. يشعر الكثيرون بالقلق من التعرض للاحتجاز لعدم وجود وثائق - مما أدى إلى أزمة مالية. الكفالة وحدها يمكن أن تجردهم من $5000 ؛ الحصول على تمثيل قانوني ، حتى 1 تيرابايت 2 تريليون و 20 ألف ؛ وتتصاعد التكاليف من هناك.

لذا ، كيف يمكننا مساعدة الناس على تحقيق إمكاناتهم الاقتصادية عندما يكونون غير مرئيين من الناحية المالية ويواجهون تحديات هائلة في حياتهم؟

وجدنا إجابات في كيفية استفادة عملائنا من رأس المال الاجتماعي - علاقاتهم مع العائلة والأصدقاء من أجل البقاء والازدهار.

يمارس عملاؤنا تقليدًا عريقًا في الإقراض وتوفير المال معًا ؛ إنه نشاط معروف بمئات الأسماء المختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم ولكنه في الأساس نفس الشيء. تجتمع مجموعة من الأشخاص معًا وتوافق على تجميع أموالهم بحيث يمكن لأحد أعضاء المجموعة أن يأخذ المبلغ المقطوع ، ويقومون بذلك مرة أخرى على أساس أسبوعي أو شهري حتى تتاح الفرصة لكل فرد في المجموعة للحصول على المبلغ الإجمالي. . عندما لا يتمكن الناس من الحصول على قروض ، فهذه هي الطريقة التي يصنعون بها قروضهم الخاصة ، باستخدام كلمتهم وثقتهم فقط.

قمنا ببناء برنامج Lending Circles الخاص بنا على هذا التقليد. قمنا بإضفاء الطابع الرسمي على القروض من خلال جعل المشاركين يوقعون على سندات إذنية ، والتي تخدمها MAF بعد ذلك وتقدم تقاريرها إلى مكاتب الائتمان.

منذ إطلاق البرنامج في عام 2008 ، قدمنا 11223 قرضًا لمساعدة المشاركين على بناء الائتمان - في الواقع ، يرون متوسط درجة زيادة قدرها 168 نقطة ، مما يفتح أمامهم عالمًا من الاحتمالات في سوق الائتمان.

ومعدل السداد هو 99.3 في المائة - وهو معدل غير مسبوق في عالم الإقراض الأصغر.

Lending Circles هو مثال على ما يمكننا فعله مع - ومن أجل - الأشخاص إذا صممنا برامج وسياسات للنجاح ، استنادًا إلى نقاط قوة الأشخاص ورأس المال الاجتماعي لإحداث تغيير حقيقي دائم.

على الرغم من الوعود من هذا النهج ، إلا أنه لا يكفي مساعدة ملايين الأشخاص المحاصرين بحواجز تقلل من إمكاناتهم الاقتصادية.

نحتاج إلى بيانات أفضل لفهم تحديات الناس. غالبًا ما تتجاهل التقارير البحثية المستندة إلى مجموعات البيانات الوطنية أولئك غير المرئيين مالياً ، وبالتالي تفقد شرائح مهمة من مجتمعنا.

يمكن للكونغرس إزالة حدود الأصول لبرامج المنفعة العامة مثل SNAP التي تعد شريان حياة للأسر التي لا تكسب ما يكفي لتغطية نفقاتها.

يمكن للكونغرس توضيح أن الجنسية الأمريكية ليست شرطًا أساسيًا للوصول إلى الخدمات المالية ، والسماح بمزيد من بطاقات الهوية الصادرة عن الحكومة عند فتح الحسابات.

يمكن للكونغرس أن يقلل بشكل كبير من عدد الائتمان غير المرئي من خلال السماح بإدراج بيانات الدفع الإيجابية من المرافق والإيجارات والاتصالات في تقارير الائتمان.

ويمكن أن يطلب الكونجرس معايير ضمان "القدرة على السداد" وشروط سداد أطول للقروض الصغيرة بالدولار وقروض يوم الدفع.

أعتقد أن هذه الإصلاحات يمكن أن تقطع شوطًا طويلاً لإطلاق العنان لإمكانات الناس الاقتصادية ، ومساعدتهم على تحقيق أحلامهم الأمريكية أيضًا.  

شكرًا لعقد جلسة الاستماع هذه وأتطلع إلى مواصلة هذه المحادثة المهمة.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Testifying Before the Joint Economic Committee

On April 30, 2019, I testified before the U.S. Congress Joint Economic Committee’s hearing on “Expanding Opportunity by Strengthening Families, Communities, and Civil Society.” This bipartisan body was convened to make recommendations for improving economic mobility and strengthening social capital for underserved populations across the country. During the hearing, I presented insights on the barriers that low-income people face in achieving their economic potential and what Congress can do to elevate them from the financial shadows. I am grateful for the incredible opportunity to uplift the role of MAF and other community-based organizations as consistent, trusted resources for supporting lower-income families to improve their financial lives in the U.S.

Thank you, Chairman Lee, Senator Hassan, and members of the Joint Economic Committee for having this important hearing.

My name is José Quiñonez.

I’m an immigrant, came to this country in the dark of night as a nine-year old, adjust my status through the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, became a U.S. citizen, and now I’m living my American Dream of helping low-income people become visible, active and successful in the financial marketplace.

As CEO of the Mission Asset Fund, a nonprofit organization based in San Francisco, California, I have first hand experience addressing the daunting financial challenges our clients face everyday.

And what I’ve learned is this: being poor in America is expensive, particularly for people living outside of the financial mainstream.

Nationally, one-in-seven Latinos are unbanked, meaning they do not have checking or savings accounts. While researchers point to various reasons why people go without accounts, we know banks exclude people based on immigration status or by requiring narrow forms of IDs. Consequently, many of our clients are left unbanked and without a choice but to rely on alternative providers that charge more to cash checks or pay bills. The average underserved household that earns $25,500 annually pays about 10% of their income on fees and interest for financial services that those of us with bank accounts often get for free.

Lack of credit is challenge. Nationally, nearly one-in-three Latinos are credit invisible, meaning they do not have credit scores or credit reports. Given the nature of our economy, there is little anyone can do without credit—people cannot get loans to buy homes or start businesses, they cannot rent apartments, and in some states, they cannot even get jobs without employers checking their credit reports.

Without access to affordable credit, people turn to high cost lenders—some paying 100% APRs on small-dollar loans, and significantly more for short-term payday loans.

Barriers to economic mobility are not just financial. People are also burdened with uncertainty from the current anti-immigrant political environment, fearing losing their families and draining their savings. Many worry about being detained for lack of documentation—igniting a financial crisis. Bail alone could strip them of $5,000; obtaining legal representation, up to $20,000; and the costs mount from there.

So, how can we help people realize their economic potential when they are financially invisible and facing enormous challenges in their lives?

We found answers in how our clients leverage social capital—their relationships with family and friends to survive and thrive.

Our clients practice a time-honored tradition of lending and saving money together; it’s an activity known by hundreds of different names throughout the world but which is essentially the same. A group of people come together and agree to pool their money so that one member of the group can take the lump sum, and they do it again on a weekly or monthly basis until everyone in the group has had the chance of getting the lump sum. When people don’t have access to loans, this is how they create their own, using only their word and trust.

We built our Lending Circles Program on this tradition. We formalized loans by having participants sign promissory notes, which MAF then services and reports to credit bureaus.

Since launching the program in 2008, we have made 11,223 loans to help participants build credit—in fact, they see an average score increase of 168 points, opening a world of possibilities for them in the credit market.

And the repayment rate is 99.3 percent—an unheard-of rate in the microlending world.

Lending Circles is an example of what we could do with—and for—people if we design programs and policies for success, based on people’s strengths and social capital to create real lasting change.

Despite the promise from this approach, it is not enough to help the millions of people trapped by barriers that diminish their economic potential.

We need better data to understand people’s challenges. Research reports based on national datasets often ignore those who are financially invisible, thereby missing critical segments of our society.

Congress can remove asset limits to public benefit programs like SNAP that are a lifeline for families not earning enough to make ends meet.

Congress can provide clarity that US citizenship is not a prerequisite for accessing financial services, and allow for more government-issued IDs when opening accounts.

Congress can significantly reduce the number of credit invisible by allowing positive payment data from utilities, rent, and telecoms to be included in credit reports.

And Congress can require “ability to repay” underwriting standards and longer repayment terms for small-dollar and payday loans.

I believe these reforms can go a long way to unlock people’s economic potential, and help them realize their American Dreams too.  

Thank you for holding this hearing and I look forward to continuing this important conversation.

Founder & CEO at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.