突发事件


MAF 探索城市规划和金融服务之间的联系。

在旧金山一个异常温暖的夏日午后,人们开始排队进入 SPUR 位于 Mission 和 2nd Street 的办公室里一个阳光普照的房间,等待听到关于创建一条通往金融赋权的新途径的消息。与通常来听何塞谈论 MAF 的普通人群(银行、科技公司、非营利组织、资产建设者)不同,这个房间里的所有人都是城市规划者。

这些人致力于使城市的街道变得通畅,建筑物令人印象深刻且不引人注目,公园绿色而诱人,交通顺畅。那么,为什么城市规划者——对城市规划的有形方面感兴趣的人——会对金融赋权感兴趣?简而言之,一个充满活力的强大城市需要一个经济实力雄厚的基地。

一座城市就像一个活生生的有机体;当居民变得更强大时,整个城市就会变得更强大。

何塞首先谈到了经济赋权对于创造可持续城市环境的重要性。这不是我们经常谈论的争论,因为我们通常处于不同类型的人群中。所以我们不完全确定这会如何发生,但令我们惊讶的是,人群完全同意。

我们利用这个机会深入挖掘了金融赋权的含义及其对社区和城市的直接影响。我们讨论了创建财务授权社区的创新方法,这些社区不再需要依靠发薪日贷款和其他高成本债务维持生计。

一位 SPUR 成员问道:“我很想看到通过模仿 Check Cashing 商店,让信用合作社变得更容易接近的努力。”何塞回答说:“虽然从表面上看,这似乎是一个建设性的想法,但要为个人创造一个熟悉的空间。模仿发薪日贷方将鼓励和加强债务循环以及我们试图让人们远离的生存模式。”

通过模仿发薪日贷方,我们并不是在模拟积极的财务行为。我们希望让这些群体的人们转向成本更低的主流金融服务。

正是在这一点上,人群完全明白了 MAF 是关于什么的。当我们与人们见面时,我们认识到我们会员的财务能力以及他们如何应对生活中的财务痛点。

我们看到了他们发展起来的金融头脑,我们用它来改变他们。对我们来说,生存和替代都不是目标。我们不想用另一个系统替换损坏的系统。我们希望让我们的成员进入一种功能性和正规化的储蓄、投资和信用建设模式。

经济规划与整个城市的金融稳定密切相关。这与创建足够宽的自行车道或符合规范的建筑物一样重要。这是关于从更长远的角度看待城市的可持续性、文化和每个人的生活质量。城市规划不以人行道结束;它始于使用那条人行道的人。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

SPUR of the moment


MAF explores the connection between urban planning and financial access.

It’s mid afternoon on an exceptionally warm summer day in San Francisco as people begin to file into a sun-drenched room at SPUR’s offices on Mission and 2nd Street waiting to hear about creating a new path to financial empowerment. Unlike the usual groups of people (banks, tech companies, nonprofits, asset-builders) who usually come to hear Jose talk about MAF, all of the people in this room are urban planners.

These are the people who work to make the city’s streets navigable, the buildings impressive and unobtrusive, the parks green and inviting, and the traffic flowing smoothly. So why would urban planners – people who are interested in the tangible aspects of city planning –  be interested in financial empowerment? Simply put, a strong vibrant city needs an economically empowered base.

A city is like a living organism; when its residents get stronger, the entire city gets stronger.

Jose started with talking about how important economic empowerment is for creating a sustainable urban environment. It’s not an argument we often talk about because we’re usually in a different sort of crowd. So we weren’t entirely sure how this would go over, but to our surprise the crowd was in full agreement.

We used this opportunity to dig deeper into the meaning of financial empowerment and its immediate impacts upon communities and cities. We talked about innovative approaches to creating financially empowered communities that no longer have to resort to subsisting on payday loans and other high cost debt.

One of the SPUR members asked, “I’d love to see an effort made to make credit unions feel more accessible… by emulating Check Cashing stores.” Jose replied, “ While on the surface that may seem like a constructive idea, to create a familiar space for individuals. Emulating pay day lenders would encourage and reinforce the cycle of debt as well as the subsistence patterns that we are trying to move people away from.”

By emulating a pay day lender, we are not modeling positive financial behaviors. We want to move people from those groups towards lower cost, mainstream financial services.

It was at this point the crowd fully understood what MAF was about. When we meet people where they are, we recognize the financial aptitude of our members as well as how they navigate the financial pain points of their lives.

We see the financial savviness they have developed and we use it to transform them. For us, neither subsistence nor replacement is the goal. We don’t want to replace a broken system with another system. We want to move our members to a functional and formalized pattern of saving, investing, and credit building.

Economic planning goes hand-in-hand with the financial stability of an entire city. That’s just as important as creating bike lanes that are wide enough or buildings that are up to code. It’s about taking a longer view of sustainability of a city, its culture, and the quality of life for everyone. Urban planning does not end with the sidewalk; it begins with the people who use that sidewalk.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.