罗莎。漫长的入籍之路


获得美国公民身份为 Rosa Romero 的生活带来了一个新的阶段。

在萨尔瓦多做了终身教师后,罗莎决定移居美国。 2009 年 7 月 23 日,在姐姐拿到住房文件后,罗莎离开了儿子、学生和她的生活,开始搬家——这是她毫不犹豫地选择的日期。从那一天起将近 5 年了,她很高兴地说,她现在作为美国公民住在旧金山。

罗莎的童年清楚地表明,无论别人怎么想,她都愿意追随自己的梦想。 

Rosa 与祖母和六个兄弟姐妹在萨尔瓦多长大,过着卑微的生活。她的祖母拥有奶牛和山羊,并用它们的牛奶制作酸奶油和奶酪。罗莎会将这些商品卖给当地市场。

虽然她的祖母希望她能成为一名护士,但罗莎很快意识到,她对血液的厌恶可能使这成为不可能。相反,她设想了一种教师的生活。

在担任高中科学教师 25 年之后,她可以说她实现了自己的梦想。

直到今天,她以前的学生都会在街上拦住她,或者在 Facebook 上给她发信息,感谢她教给他们的一切。这些时刻构成了她作为老师最喜欢的一些时刻。她的两个儿子仍然居住在萨尔瓦多,他们同样热爱自己作为企业家和军队上尉的职业。

Rosa 通过她姐姐找到了通往 MAF 的道路,她姐姐是 MEDA 的客户,获得支持以开展自己的业务。她的姐姐听说了 Lending Circles 计划,认为这将是 Rosa 节省申请公民身份所需资金的完美方式。

加入 Lending Circles 计划的决定对 Rosa 来说相对容易。

她在萨尔瓦多和她的老师同事一起参加了非正式借贷圈子,对这个概念很熟悉。当她了解到 MAF 成员的成功历史时,加入 MAF 的贷款圈变得更加容易。

Rosa 非常相信 Lending Circles 的力量,以至于她甚至在完成第一个之前就加入了另一个,并且总共加入了 5 个,以不断建立自己的信誉。

Lending Circles 计划允许参与者建立信用,同时每月支付高昂的 $680 申请费,从而减轻成为美国公民的经济负担。一旦参与者准备好申请,他们就会收到一张寄给美国国土安全部的支票。对于 Rosa 来说,这意味着她可以将注意力集中在流程的所有其他困难方面;其中最大的是语言障碍。罗莎为英语考试学习了一年多。所有这些努力都是为了一次只持续大约 10 分钟的采访。

采访结束后,罗莎立即得知她已通过考试,即将成为公民。听到这个消息,她感谢上帝给了这个机会,感觉一阵幸福涌上心头。凭借她的美国公民身份,她现在可以自由前往萨尔瓦多,从而减轻探望家人的压力。

罗莎的故事完美地体现了我们成员的性格。我们向她展示了门,她有力量穿过它。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

Rosa: The Long Road to Citizenship


Obtaining U.S. Citizenship brings about a new phase in Rosa Romero’s life.

After a lifelong career as a teacher in El Salvador, Rosa decided to move to the US. After her sister got her housing papers, Rosa left her sons, students and her life behind to pick up and move on July 23rd, 2009 – a date she procures without a moment’s hesitation. Nearly 5 years since that date, she is happy to say she is now living in San Francisco as a U.S. citizen.

Rosa’s childhood makes it pretty clear that she is willing to follow her dreams no matter what others may think. 

Growing up in El Salvador with her grandmother and six siblings, Rosa lived a humble life. Her grandmother owned cows and goats and made sour cream and cheese from their milk. Rosa would sell these goods to a local market.

Though her grandmother hoped she would become a nurse, Rosa realized pretty quickly that her aversion to the sight of blood might make that impossible. She, instead, envisioned a life as a teacher.

After a 25 year long career as a high school science teacher, she can say she brought her dream to life.

To this day, her former students will stop her on the street or message her on Facebook thanking her for all that she taught them. These moments have made up some of her favorite times as a teacher. Her two sons, who still reside in El Salvador, have come to love their careers as an entrepreneur and a captain in the military just as much.

Rosa found her way to MAF through her sister who was a client at MEDA getting support to launch her own business. Her sister heard of the Lending Circles program and thought it would be the perfect way for Rosa to save the money necessary for the citizenship application.

The decision to join the Lending Circles program was relatively easy for Rosa.

She was familiar with the concept having taken part in informal lending circles back in El Salvador with her fellow teachers. It was even easier to join a Lending Circle at MAF when she learned of the strong history of success for its members.

Rosa believed so much in the power of Lending Circles that she joined another before even finishing her first and has been part of 5 in total in an effort to continually build her credit.

The Lending Circles program eases the financial burdens of becoming a US citizen by allowing participants to build their credit while making monthly payments towards the high $680 application fee. Once participants are ready to apply, they receive a check made out to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. For Rosa this meant she could focus her attention on all the other difficult aspects of the process; the largest of which was the language barrier. Rosa studied for the English exam for over a year. All of this effort was for an interview that would last her only about 10 minutes.

Immediately after the interview, Rosa learned that she had passed and was to become a citizen. Upon hearing the news, she thanked God for this opportunity and felt a wave of happiness come over her. With her US citizenship, she can now travel freely to El Salvador lessening the strain on her visits to family.

Rosa’s story perfectly exemplifies the character of our members. We showed her the door, and she had the strength to walk through it.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.