روزا: الطريق الطويل نحو المواطنة


يؤدي الحصول على الجنسية الأمريكية إلى مرحلة جديدة في حياة روزا روميرو.

بعد حياتها المهنية كمدرس في السلفادور ، قررت روزا الانتقال إلى الولايات المتحدة. بعد أن حصلت أختها على أوراق السكن ، تركت روزا أبنائها وطلابها وحياتها في 23 يوليو 2009 - وهو موعد تحصل عليه دون تردد. منذ ما يقرب من 5 سنوات منذ ذلك التاريخ ، يسعدها أن تقول إنها تعيش الآن في سان فرانسيسكو كمواطنة أمريكية.

توضح طفولة روزا أنها مستعدة لمتابعة أحلامها بغض النظر عما قد يظنه الآخرون. 

نشأت روزا في السلفادور مع جدتها وإخوتها الستة ، وعاشت حياة متواضعة. كانت جدتها تمتلك أبقارًا وماعزًا وتصنع قشدة حامضة وجبنًا من حليبها. ستبيع روزا هذه البضائع إلى السوق المحلي.

على الرغم من أن جدتها كانت تأمل في أن تصبح ممرضة ، إلا أن روزا أدركت بسرعة أن نفورها من رؤية الدم قد يجعل ذلك مستحيلاً. بدلا من ذلك ، تخيلت الحياة كمعلمة.

بعد 25 عامًا من العمل كمدرس علوم في المدرسة الثانوية ، يمكنها القول إنها جلبت حلمها إلى الحياة.

حتى يومنا هذا ، سيوقفها طلابها السابقون في الشارع أو يرسلونها عبر Facebook يشكرونها على كل ما علمتهم إياه. لقد اختلقت هذه اللحظات بعض الأوقات المفضلة لديها كمدرس. أصبح ولداها ، اللذان لا يزالان يقيمان في السلفادور ، يعشقان مسيرتهما المهنية كرائدة أعمال ونقيب في الجيش بنفس القدر.

وجدت روزا طريقها إلى ماف من خلال أختها التي كانت عميلة في ميدا تحصل على الدعم لإطلاق مشروعها الخاص. سمعت أختها عن برنامج Lending Circles واعتقدت أنه سيكون الطريقة المثلى لروزا لتوفير المال اللازم لطلب الجنسية.

كان قرار الانضمام إلى برنامج Lending Circles سهلاً نسبيًا بالنسبة إلى روزا.

كانت على دراية بالمفهوم بعد أن شاركت في دوائر الإقراض غير الرسمية في السلفادور مع زملائها المعلمين. كان من الأسهل الانضمام إلى دائرة الإقراض في MAF عندما علمت بتاريخ النجاح القوي لأعضائها.

كانت روزا تؤمن كثيرًا بقوة Lending Circles لدرجة أنها انضمت إلى شخص آخر قبل أن تنهي أولها وكانت جزءًا من 5 في محاولة لبناء رصيدها باستمرار.

يخفف برنامج Lending Circles الأعباء المالية لأن تصبح مواطنًا أمريكيًا من خلال السماح للمشاركين ببناء ائتمانهم أثناء إجراء مدفوعات شهرية مقابل رسوم الطلب المرتفعة $680. بمجرد أن يصبح المشاركون جاهزين للتقديم ، يتلقون شيكًا صادرًا إلى وزارة الأمن الداخلي الأمريكية. بالنسبة إلى روزا ، كان هذا يعني أنها يمكن أن تركز انتباهها على جميع الجوانب الصعبة الأخرى للعملية ؛ أكبرها كان حاجز اللغة. درست روزا لامتحان اللغة الإنجليزية لأكثر من عام. كل هذا الجهد كان من أجل مقابلة استمرت حوالي 10 دقائق فقط.

بعد المقابلة مباشرة ، علمت روزا أنها قد توفيت وأنها ستصبح مواطنة. عند سماعها الخبر شكرت الله على هذه الفرصة وشعرت بموجة من السعادة حلّت عليها. من خلال جنسيتها الأمريكية ، يمكنها الآن السفر بحرية إلى السلفادور لتخفيف الضغط على زياراتها للعائلة.

قصة روزا تجسد بشكل مثالي شخصية أعضائنا. أظهرنا لها الباب ، وكانت لديها القوة للمشي من خلاله.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

Rosa: The Long Road to Citizenship


Obtaining U.S. Citizenship brings about a new phase in Rosa Romero’s life.

After a lifelong career as a teacher in El Salvador, Rosa decided to move to the US. After her sister got her housing papers, Rosa left her sons, students and her life behind to pick up and move on July 23rd, 2009 – a date she procures without a moment’s hesitation. Nearly 5 years since that date, she is happy to say she is now living in San Francisco as a U.S. citizen.

Rosa’s childhood makes it pretty clear that she is willing to follow her dreams no matter what others may think. 

Growing up in El Salvador with her grandmother and six siblings, Rosa lived a humble life. Her grandmother owned cows and goats and made sour cream and cheese from their milk. Rosa would sell these goods to a local market.

Though her grandmother hoped she would become a nurse, Rosa realized pretty quickly that her aversion to the sight of blood might make that impossible. She, instead, envisioned a life as a teacher.

After a 25 year long career as a high school science teacher, she can say she brought her dream to life.

To this day, her former students will stop her on the street or message her on Facebook thanking her for all that she taught them. These moments have made up some of her favorite times as a teacher. Her two sons, who still reside in El Salvador, have come to love their careers as an entrepreneur and a captain in the military just as much.

Rosa found her way to MAF through her sister who was a client at MEDA getting support to launch her own business. Her sister heard of the Lending Circles program and thought it would be the perfect way for Rosa to save the money necessary for the citizenship application.

The decision to join the Lending Circles program was relatively easy for Rosa.

She was familiar with the concept having taken part in informal lending circles back in El Salvador with her fellow teachers. It was even easier to join a Lending Circle at MAF when she learned of the strong history of success for its members.

Rosa believed so much in the power of Lending Circles that she joined another before even finishing her first and has been part of 5 in total in an effort to continually build her credit.

The Lending Circles program eases the financial burdens of becoming a US citizen by allowing participants to build their credit while making monthly payments towards the high $680 application fee. Once participants are ready to apply, they receive a check made out to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. For Rosa this meant she could focus her attention on all the other difficult aspects of the process; the largest of which was the language barrier. Rosa studied for the English exam for over a year. All of this effort was for an interview that would last her only about 10 minutes.

Immediately after the interview, Rosa learned that she had passed and was to become a citizen. Upon hearing the news, she thanked God for this opportunity and felt a wave of happiness come over her. With her US citizenship, she can now travel freely to El Salvador lessening the strain on her visits to family.

Rosa’s story perfectly exemplifies the character of our members. We showed her the door, and she had the strength to walk through it.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.