财富不平等和新美国人


种族贫富差距是真实存在的,而且还在扩大。但是移民在哪里适合这种分析呢?

这篇文章最初出现在 阿斯彭研究所的博客.它由 MAF 的首席执行官 José A. Quiñonez 撰写,为阿斯彭研究所的种族财富差距小组做准备 2017 年不平等与机会峰会

以下是我们对当今美国财富不平等的了解:这是真实的、巨大的,而且还在增长。除非有实质性的政策变化, 需要228年 黑人家庭赶上白人家庭的财富,拉丁裔84年也能赶上白人家庭的财富。这很重要,因为财富是一张安全网。没有这种缓冲,太多的家庭只能靠失业、生病或离婚远离经济危机。

这是我们知道的另一件事:与流行观点相反,种族群体之间的财富不平等并不是因为一组人工作不够努力,或储蓄不够,或做出的投资决策不够精明。

那它是怎么来的呢?简短的回答:历史。几个世纪的奴隶制和几十年的法律种族隔离奠定了基础。针对有色人种的歧视性法律和政策使情况变得更糟。 1944 年的 GI 法案例如,帮助白人家庭买房、上大学和积累财富。有色人种在很大程度上被排除在这些资产建设机会之外。

今天的种族财富鸿沟是我们国家长期制度化种族主义的财政遗产。

在某些方面,时间因素是这些发现的基础。 社会学家经济学家记者 所有人都强调种族贫富差距是如何随着时间的推移而产生和加剧的。但是,当谈到新美国人的问题时——最近几十年加入这个国家的数百万人——时间经常在种族贫富差距的对话中被掩盖。

移民的创造性生存策略和丰富的文化和社会资源有助于为更好的政策干预提供信息。

报告通常通过将不同种族群体的平均财富并列并观察分裂他们的巨大鸿沟来说明种族财富差距,这是可以理解的。 例如2012 年,黑人家庭每拥有 1 美元,白人家庭平均拥有 $13 的财富,拉丁裔家庭每拥有 1 美元拥有 $10 的财富。这个故事很重要。无可否认。但是,我们可以从更多关注移民的财富不平等调查中学到什么?

一份报告由 皮尤研究中心 将 2012 年的成年人口分为三组:第一代(外国出生)、第二代(美国出生且至少有一个移民父母)和第三代及以上(两个美国出生的父母)。

显然,不同的种族群体有着截然不同的美国故事。

绝大多数拉丁裔和亚裔是新来的美国人。 70% 的拉丁裔成年人和 93% 的亚裔成年人是第一代或第二代美国人。相比之下,只有 11% 的白人和 14% 的黑人成年人属于同一代人。

相比之下,后一组人在美国的时间要长得多。鉴于他们在美国的任期相对可比,将他们的数据并排放置是有道理的。

但是,将拉丁裔(其中一半是第一代美国人)的财富与白人家庭的财富(其中 89% 已经在美国生活了很多代)相比,似乎提出的问题多于答案。

相反,我们可以通过衡量代际群体中种族群体之间的财富差异来为我们的分析添加细微差别和背景;或通过比较具有共同关键人口统计特征的不同群体的成员;或者甚至更好,通过衡量特定群体内政策干预的财务影响。

例如,我们可以调查年轻移民在 2012 年接受童年入境暂缓遣返 (DACA) 后的财务轨迹。与同龄人相比,他们是否提高了收入、增加了储蓄,甚至获得了升值资产?

我们可以回到过去,探索根据 1986 年《移民改革和控制法》(IRCA) 获得大赦的那一代移民发生了什么。走出阴影对他们的资产和财富意味着什么?他们的财富与那些没有证件的人相比如何?

这些上下文比较不仅可以为我们提供空间来量化人们生活中所缺少的东西,还可以让我们发现有效的方法。

他们创造性的生存战略和丰富的文化和社会资源有助于为更好的政策干预和计划发展提供信息。将新美国人的故事带入我们关于财富不平等的对话,将加深我们对这些差异以及它们对不同群体采取的不同形式的理解。这就是我们制定大胆的政策和创新计划所需的东西,以缩小我们今天面临的明显的种族财富鸿沟。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Wealth inequality and new Americans

The racial wealth gap is real, and it's growing. But where do immigrants fit into this analysis?

This post first appeared on the Aspen Institute’s blog. It was written by MAF’s CEO José A. Quiñonez in preparation for a panel on the Racial Wealth Gap at the Aspen Institute’s 2017 Summit on Inequality and Opportunity

Here’s what we know about wealth inequality in America today: It’s real, it’s huge, and it’s growing. Barring substantial policy change, it would take 228 years for black households to catch up to white households’ wealth, and 84 years for Latinxs to do the same. This matters because wealth is a safety net. Without that cushion, too many families live just one job loss, illness, or divorce away from financial ruin.

Here’s another thing we know: Contrary to popular opinion, wealth inequality between racial groups did not come about because one group of people didn’t work hard enough, or save enough, or make savvy enough investment decisions than the other.

How did it come about, then? The short answer: history. Centuries of slavery and the bitter decades of legal segregation laid the groundwork. Discriminatory laws and policies against people of color made things worse. The G.I. Bill of 1944, for example, helped white families buy homes, attend college, and accumulate wealth. People of color were largely excluded from these asset-building opportunities.

Today’s racial wealth divide is the financial legacy of our country’s long history of institutionalized racism.

The factor of time is, in some ways, foundational to these findings. Sociologistseconomists, and journalists alike all underscore how the racial wealth gap was created and exacerbated over time. But when it comes to the question of new Americans—the millions of us who have joined this nation in recent decades—time often gets glossed over in racial wealth gap conversations.

Immigrants’ creative survival strategies and rich cultural and social resources could help inform better policy interventions.

Reports generally illustrate the racial wealth gap by, understandably, placing the average wealth of different racial groups side by side and observing the gaping chasm that divides them. For example, in 2012, the average white household owned $13 in wealth for every dollar owned by black households, and $10 in wealth for every dollar owned by Latinx households. This story matters. There is no denying that. But what might we learn from investigating wealth inequality with more attention to immigration?

A report by the Pew Research Center divided the population of adults in 2012 into three cohorts: first-generation (foreign-born), second-generation (US-born with at least one immigrant parent), and third-and-higher generation (two US-born parents).

Here’s how the numbers look when broken down by race:

Clearly these racial groups have very different American stories.

The vast majority of Latinxs and Asians are new Americans. Seventy percent of Latinx adults and 93 percent of Asian adults are either first- or second-generation Americans. In contrast, a mere 11 percent of white and 14 percent of black adults are in the same generational cohorts.

By comparison, the latter groups have been in the United States for much longer. And given their relatively comparable tenure in the US, it makes sense to place their data side by side.

But comparing the wealth of Latinxs—half of whom are first-generation Americans—to that of white families, 89 percent of whom have been in the US for many generations, seems to raise more questions than it answers.

Instead, we could add nuance and context to our analysis by measuring the differences in wealth between racial groups within generational cohorts; or by comparing members of different groups who share key demographic characteristics; or even better still, by measuring the financial impact of policy interventions within specific groups.

For example, we could investigate the financial trajectories of young immigrants after they received Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) in 2012. Did they improve their income, build their savings, or even acquire appreciating assets, as compared with their peers?

We could go further back in time and explore what happened to the generation of immigrants who were granted amnesty under the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 (IRCA). What did emergence from the shadows mean for their assets and wealth? How does their wealth compare with those who remained undocumented?

These contextual comparisons can give us space not just to quantify what’s missing from people’s lives, but also to discover what works.

Their creative survival strategies and rich cultural and social resources could help inform better policy interventions and program developments.

Bringing the story of new Americans into our conversations about wealth inequality will deepen our understanding of these disparities and the distinct forms they take for different groups. That’s what we need to develop the bold policies and innovative programs needed to narrow the stark racial wealth divide we face today.


Jose Quinonez is the founding CEO at MAF. He is an Ashoka Fellow, a recipient of the James Irvine Leadership Award, inaugural Chair of the CFPB's Consumer Advisory Board, and serves on the Board of Directors for Credit Builder's Alliance. As a life long advocate for social justice, expanding opportunity and improving lives motivates his work.