公共收费声明发布。移民家庭向上流动的障碍

MAF最近提交了以下声明,反对拟议的公共收费规则。我们想鼓励大家在12月10日公众评论期结束前也发表自己的意见。保护移民家庭联盟已经设计了一个 "保护移民家庭联盟"。 在线评论门户 以使公众评论过程更容易。

Mission Asset Fund(MAF)强烈反对拟议的公共指控规则,因为它将对各地的移民家庭产生不可逆转的伤害。 国家.在超过十年的时间里,MAF已经支持了成千上万的低收入个人、家庭和移民。 获得安全和负担得起的贷款产品。虽然我们的总部设在加利福尼亚州的旧金山,但我们的非营利组织的项目和服务已经在全美国的社区产生了积极的影响。

作为一个直接服务提供者,我们已经目睹了这一拟议规则在我们客户的生活中造成的恐惧;其中许多人是移民家庭,他们使用CalFresh等计划来帮助维持餐桌的食物。 仅在湾区,包括九个不同的县,就有超过440,400名非公民的家庭参加了现金和非现金福利计划,目前在拟议规则的公共指控确定中被考虑。 事实是,这项拟议的规则不会仅仅影响低收入移民家庭。它已经在所有移民中引起广泛的恐惧,包括他们的美国公民子女。

我们应该把我们所有的努力投入到最大化的机会,让所有人在我们的国家茁壮成长,无论他们的移民或经济状况如何。相反,这项拟议的规则将在作出公共指控的决定时提出片面的标准。 MAF理解财务安全的重要性 我们知道,仅凭一个人的收入和信用报告并不能清楚地描绘出他们的整个财务状况。.事实上,在开始我们项目的6至12个月内,近五分之一的MAF的Lending Circles客户能够摆脱次级信用评分。这只能说明,有许多不同的因素在决定一个人的低信用分数方面起作用,把它作为决定一个人的移民地位的因素是不公平的。  

MAF认识到美国所有移民在克服障碍方面所表现出的坚韧和机智。 这项拟议的规则不仅是无情和不公正的,而且为移民家庭的向上流动制造了障碍。 对公共指控的拟议修改偏离了美国的建国精神。移民在我们的社区结构中是而且将永远是重要的。这项拟议的规则不是拥抱和尊重所有移民的不同背景,而是反移民政策在联邦层面的延伸,进一步延续了对移民的错误描述。  

像许多其他非营利性的直接服务提供者一样,MAF希望确保我们国家的承诺对每个人都是真实的,无论其出身或经济状况如何。作为长期的倡导者,我们绝不会支持以下政策 进一步伤害了美国脆弱的移民家庭。考虑到我们社区的福祉和我们国家的成功,我们敦促国土安全部撤回其对公共指控规则的拟议修改。

团结一致,

Mission Asset Fund (MAF)

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Public Charge Statement Release: A Barrier to Upward Mobility for Immigrant Families

MAF recently submitted the below statement against the proposed public charge rule. We would like to encourage you all to also make your voice heard before the public comment period closes on December 10th. The Protecting Immigrant Families Coalition has designed an online comment portal to make the public comment process easier.

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) strongly opposes the proposed public charge rule because of the irreversible harm that it will have on immigrant families all across the nation. In over ten years, MAF has supported thousands of low-income individuals, families, and immigrants gain access to safe and affordable loan products. While we are based in San Francisco, CA our nonprofit’s programs and services have led positive impact in communities all across America.

As a direct service provider, we are already witnessing the fear that this proposed rule is causing in the lives of our clients; many whom are immigrant families that use programs like CalFresh to help keep food on the table. In the Bay Area alone, which includes nine different counties, there are more than 440,400 noncitizens in families who participate in cash and noncash benefit programs currently being considered in the proposed rule’s public charge determination. The fact of the matter is, this proposed rule will not affect low-income immigrant families alone. It is already causing widespread fear amongst all immigrants–including their US Citizen children.

We should be putting all of our efforts into maximizing the opportunity for all to thrive in our country, regardless of their immigration or financial status. Instead, this proposed rule would set forth short-sided standards when making public charge determinations. MAF understands the importance of financial security and we know that an individual’s income and credit report alone doesn’t depict a clear picture of their entire financial situation. In fact, within 6 to 12 months of starting our program, nearly one-fifth of MAF’s Lending Circles clients are able to escape subprime credit scores. This only goes to show that there are many different factors that play a role in determining someone’s low credit score and that it would be unfair to include it as a factor for deciding an individual’s immigration status.  

MAF recognizes the resilience and resourcefulness displayed by all immigrants in America to overcome barriers. Not only is this proposed rule heartless and unjust, but it creates barriers to upward mobility for immigrant families. The proposed changes to public charge deviate from the founding spirit of America. Immigrants are and will always continue to be important in the fabric of our communities. Instead of embracing and respecting the diverse backgrounds of all immigrants, this proposed rule is an extension of anti-immigrant policies at the federal level that further perpetuates a false narrative of immigrants.  

Like many other nonprofit direct service providers, MAF wants to ensure that the promise of our country is made true for everyone regardless of their origins or financial status. As long-standing advocates, we will never support a policy that further harms vulnerable immigrant families in America. With the well-being of our communities and the success of our nation in mind, we urge the Department of Homeland Security to withdraw its proposed changes to the public charge rule.

In solidarity,

Mission Asset Fund (MAF)

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.