公共收费。攻击所有移民

几周前,国土安全部(DHS)宣布了一项拟议规则,将改变政府对已经使用或可能使用公共福利的移民的看法。这项拟议的规则将执行令人发指的评估标准,例如使用移民的信用报告和分数来确定他们是否或可能成为 "公共负担"。从这个角度来看,640分的信用分数(低于平均水平的FICO分数)可能意味着获得或不获得绿卡之间的区别。

拟议的规则描述了有毒的美国价值观,没有承认和尊重所有移民的贡献,无论其经济状况如何。

如果实施,该规则将使以下情况变得困难。1)目前在美国境外并寻求进入美国获得签证许可的移民;或2)已经在美国并通过家庭成员或其雇主申请成为合法永久居民(或绿卡持有人)的移民。

该拟议规则的核心是联邦政府努力扩大公共援助计划的清单。 在评估一个移民是否有资格获得身份时,将考虑这些因素.目前的公共费用政策只考虑现金援助和政府资助的长期机构护理,但拟议的规则将扩大它,也包括以下关键的社会安全网计划。补充营养援助计划(SNAP)、非紧急医疗补助、医疗保险D部分和第八节住房券。

这是政府故意采取的卑鄙手段,目的是为了 进一步伤害美国的弱势移民家庭。

除了扩大公共负担的定义以包括更多的公共援助项目外,拟议的规则还将为美国公民及移民服务局(USCIS)官员在作出公共负担的决定时规定简短的标准。

在拟议的规则中,联邦政府概述了一个新的家庭收入门槛,对家庭收入超过联邦贫困线250%的移民非常有利(对于一个四口之家,每年超过$62,000)。拟议的规则还将强制要求移民披露他们的信用历史和分数,作为其财务状况的一个加权因素。 它扩大了公共援助计划,同时扩大了经济状况等因素的范围,这将使非公民移民家庭因缺乏 "自给自足",或换句话说,因低收入而受到惩罚。

向移民家庭发出的潜在信息是最令人担忧的--在为你和你的家人的健康和福祉接受关键的公共援助或确保你在美国的未来移民身份之间做出选择。

这是强加给低收入移民家庭的一个残酷而不公正的困境。 但事实是,这项拟议的规则不会仅仅影响低收入移民家庭。它已经在以下人群中引起了广泛的恐惧 所有 移民--包括他们的美国公民子女。

作为一个支持移民的非营利组织,MAF了解金融安全和获得安全和可负担贷款产品的重要性。我们认识到美国所有移民在克服金融障碍方面所表现出的坚韧不拔和聪明才智。 这项拟议的规则不仅是无情和不公正的,而且为低收入和移民家庭的向上流动制造了障碍。它旨在剥夺这些家庭茁壮成长的机会。

在十多年来支持数以千计的低收入个人、家庭和移民建立他们的信用的过程中,我们知道,仅凭个人的收入和信用报告并不能清楚地描绘出他们的整个财务状况。

MAF和许多其他非营利性直接服务提供者一样,将见证国土安全部有关公开指控的拟议规则将对移民家庭造成的伤害。这项拟议的规则是一种不人道和惩罚性的攻击,将破坏全国各地弱势移民家庭的健康和福祉。

上周三,国土安全部最近在《联邦公报》上公布了其拟议规则,这一行为标志着为期60天的公众评论期的开始,将于12月10日星期一结束。正是在这60天的公众评论期内,我们反对公共指控的行动比以往任何时候都重要。 

这场斗争远未结束,现在是采取行动的时候了。

美亚基金致力于为我们的移民社区辩护,并反对这一压制性的拟议规则。无论你是决定用你的声音在 公众评论期 或者你有兴趣了解更多关于 我们支持移民的工作我们鼓励大家作为盟友与我们站在一起,为所有移民社区的公平和公正待遇服务。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Public Charge: An Attack on All Immigrants

A few weeks ago the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced a proposed rule that will change how the government looks at immigrants who have used or are likely to use public benefits. This proposed rule would enforce outrageous standards for evaluation, like using an immigrant’s credit report and score to determine whether they are or are likely to become a “public charge.” To put this into perspective, a credit score of 640 (a below average FICO score) could mean the difference between receiving and not receiving a green card.

The proposed rule characterizes toxic America values that fail to acknowledge and respect the contributions of all immigrants regardless of financial status.

If implemented, the rule will make it difficult for: 1) immigrants who are currently outside of and seeking permission into the United States to receive a visa; or 2) immigrants who are already in the United States and are applying to become a legal permanent resident (or green card holder) through a family member or their employer.

At the core of the proposed rule is the federal government’s effort to expand the list of public assistance programs that will be considered when evaluating an immigrants’ eligibility to secure status. The current public charge policy only considers cash assistance and government-funded long-term institutional care but the proposed rule would expand it to also include the following key social safety net programs: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), non-emergency Medicaid, Medicare Part D, and Section 8 housing vouchers.

This is a deliberate, mean-spirited tactic employed by the administration to further harm vulnerable immigrant families in the United States.

Aside from expanding the definition of public charge to include additional public assistance programs, the proposed rule would also set forth short-sided standards for US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) officers to consider when making public charge determinations.

In the proposed rule, the federal government outlines a new household income threshold that highly favors immigrants with a household income over 250 percent of the Federal Poverty Level (which, for a family of four, is more than $62,000 annually). The proposed rule would also mandate immigrants to disclose their credit history and score as a weighted factor of their financial status. Its expansion of public assistance programs along with its increased breadth of scope for factors, like financial status, would penalize non-citizen immigrant families for a lack of “self-sufficiency”, or in other words, for being low-income.

The underlying message to immigrant families is what’s most worrisome — choose between receiving critical public assistance for the health and well-being of you and your family or secure your future immigration status in the United States.

This is a cruel and unjust dilemma to impose on low-income immigrant families. But the fact of the matter is, this proposed rule will not affect low-income immigrant families alone. It is already causing widespread fear amongst all immigrants–including their US Citizen children.

As a nonprofit that supports immigrants, MAF understands the importance of financial security and access to safe and affordable loan products. We recognize the resilience and resourcefulness displayed by all immigrants in the United States to overcome financial barriers. Not only is this proposed rule heartless and unjust, but it creates barriers to upward mobility for low-income and immigrant families. It is designed to deny these families a chance to thrive.

In over ten years of supporting thousands of low-income individuals, families, and immigrants to establish their credit, we know that an individual’s income and credit report alone doesn’t depict a clear picture of their entire financial situation.

MAF, like many other nonprofit direct service providers, will witness the harm DHS’ proposed rule related to public charge will cause on immigrant families. This proposed rule is an inhumane and punitive attack that will destroy the health and well-being of vulnerable immigrant families across the nation.

Last Wednesday, DHS recently published its proposed rule in the Federal Register, an act that marks the commencement of a 60-day public comment period that will close on Monday, December 10th. It is during this 60-day public comment period that our action against public charge matters more than ever. 

The fight is far from over and the time to act is now!

MAF is committed to advocating for our immigrant communities and opposing this repressive proposed rule. Whether you decide to use your voice during the public comments period or you’re interested to learn more about our work to support immigrants; we encourage you all to stand with us as allies in service to the fair and just treatment of all immigrant communities.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.