إعطاء الأولوية للتعليم في حالة الوباء

أوقف الوباء النشاط المعتاد في العالم ، مما سمح للغبار بالهدوء وكشف عن أوجه عدم المساواة التي تقع تحت السطح مباشرة. إن الشقوق الموجودة في حجر الأساس الاجتماعي لدينا ظاهرة بشكل مؤلم في العديد من القطاعات ، ليس أقلها التعليم العالي. حتى قبل هذه اللحظة ، كان على العديد من الطلاب التغلب على الحواجز المذهلة للوصول إلى مؤسسات التعليم العالي لدينا والتنقل فيها. طلاب الجيل الأول ، على سبيل المثال ، غالبًا ما يتعاملون مع وظائف متعددة وحمل دورة كاملة لتقليل الديون ودعم الأسرة. وازن الطلاب مع الأطفال دراستهم جنبًا إلى جنب مع الرعاية. إن ضغوط واقعنا الوبائي لم تؤد إلا إلى تضخيم هذه التحديات.

لكن كما هو الحال دائمًا ، هم مثابرون. مدفوعين بالأمل في استخدام تعليمهم لدعم أسرهم ومجتمعاتهم ، يواصل هؤلاء الطلاب المذهلون.

في MAF ، أدركنا واجبنا في استخدام منصتنا لدعم الطلاب أثناء تجاوزهم لهذه الأزمة (بالإضافة إلى إدارة عبء الدورة الكاملة وحمل الحياة الكامل). هذا هو السبب في أننا بدأنا صندوق دعم الطوارئ لطلاب كلية كاليفورنيا - محاولة لتقديم مساعدة فورية للطلاب في شكل منح $500.

أدناه ، قمنا بتضمين بعض البيانات التي شاركها متلقو المنح والتي توضح ما تعنيه فرصهم التعليمية بالنسبة لهم والجهود الباسلة التي يبذلونها لمواصلة تعليمهم خلال هذه الأوقات الصعبة.

"بصفتي شابًا حاضنًا سابقًا ، فقد تقدمت في السن بالفعل من الكثير من البرامج والخدمات التي يمكن أن تدعمني ماليًا. نظرًا للوباء الحالي ، لا يوجد سوى عدد قليل من البرامج لمساعدة الطلاب في مواقف مثل حالتي. ستسمح لي هذه المنحة بالسيطرة على حياتي والتخفيف من العبء الذي ألقى به هذا الوباء على عاتقي وعلى عائلتي."

- شينيز ، حاصل على منحة طالب جامعي بكاليفورنيا





"بسبب الوباء ، أُجبرت على العودة إلى المنزل من أجل إعالة والدي وأخي. أنا أعول والدي ماليًا ، وأدفع أيضًا إيجار شقة بالقرب من الحرم الجامعي. عندما ينتهي الإغلاق ، أعلم أنه لن يتبقى لديّ سوى القليل من المال أو لا يتبقى ، كما أنني معرض لخطر فقدان وظيفتي المتبقية. لدي الكثير لأديره ، وهذا يؤثر على الأكاديميين. أريد كسر حلقة الفقر من خلال دراستي ، لكن هذه الظروف المعاكسة تجعل هذا الهدف صعبًا للغاية. هذه المنحة مهمة لأنها توفر الأمن والإغاثة.

-غابرييلا ، حاصلة على منحة طالب جامعي في كاليفورنيا



"أنا حاليًا في الشهر الثامن من الحمل مع طفلي الثاني. لم أعد قادرًا على السير على خشبة المسرح للتخرج. يجب أن ألد وحدي بسبب قيود السفر المعمول بها. لا يمكنني الوصول بسهولة إلى رعاية الأطفال لأن معظم المرافق مغلقة. قضيت ست سنوات في البحرية ، وكل ما كنت أفكر فيه هو الخروج والحصول على شهادتي والقيام بشيء أحبه. أنا مستعد للتخرج بقوة حتى أستطيع أن أفعل ما أحبه مرة واحدة في حياتي. أريد أن أظهر لابنتي أنها تستطيع فعل أي شيء وأن تكون أي شيء بغض النظر عن الحياة التي تلقيها عليها."

-تشيلسي ، حاصل على منحة طالب جامعي



"قبل عام ، كنت أعيش في الشوارع مع أطفالي. بعد أن فقدت ابنتي أمام نظام المحاكم ، وابني في سجن المقاطعة ، وزوجي في سجن الولاية ، وجدت نفسي وحيدة ، يائسة ومتعبة ومستعدة للتغيير. لقد وصلت إلى مرحلة في حياتي عندما اضطررت إلى اتخاذ موقف وتحسين نفسي. مع حفيدتي الأولى في الطريق ، أردت أن أبدأ على الفور ، لذلك قررت التسجيل في Coastline Community College. بغض النظر عما يأتي في طريقي ، سأواصل تعليمي. في غضون ثلاث سنوات ، أتمنى أن أصبح مساعدًا قانونيًا محترفًا."

-بيتي ، حاصلة على منحة طالب جامعي



"جعلت تحديات الأشهر القليلة الماضية من المستحيل تقريبًا التركيز على تعليمي ، وفكرت في ترك الدراسة للعثور على وظيفة بدوام جزئي لإعالة عائلتي. منذ عام 2013 ، كرست الكثير من حياتي لتجربة التعليم العالي هذه. الآن ، أنا على وشك تحقيق إنجاز كبير في هذه الرحلة ولا أريد الابتعاد عنها. إنه طريق صعب ، لكنني على ثقة من أن المهارات التي اكتسبتها طوال حياتي ستسمح لي بالبقاء مرنًا والعمل من أجل الحصول على شهادتي في العلوم البيئية مع الاستمرار في دعم نفسي وأحبائي ومجتمعي.

- كريستوبال ، حاصل على منحة طالب جامعي



"كنت أعمل في مجال الأمن والمطاعم - وكلاهما يتضمن تجمعات كبيرة من الناس. لا أعرف متى سأتمكن من جدولة أي حفلات في المستقبل القريب. هذه المنحة مهمة لأنها يمكن أن تساعد في تخفيف بعض أعبائي المالية خلال هذه الأوقات العصيبة. أعتقد أن مثل هذه المنح هي التي تساعد الشباب الفقراء مثلي على مواصلة تعليمنا والسعي إلى وظائف يمكن أن تساعدنا نحن وأسرنا."

-باتريك ، حاصل على منحة طالب جامعي

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Prioritizing Education in a Pandemic

The pandemic has halted the world’s usual activity, allowing the dust to settle and revealing inequities that lay just below the surface.  The cracks in our social bedrock are now painfully visible in many sectors, not least of which is higher education. Even before this moment, so many students had to overcome staggering barriers to access and navigate our higher education institutions.  First generation students, for example, often juggled multiple jobs and a full course load to reduce debt and support family.  Students with children balanced their studies alongside care-taking.  The stresses of our pandemic reality have only magnified these challenges.

But as always, they persevere. Driven by the hope of using their education to support their families and communities, these incredible students carry on.

At MAF, we recognized our duty to use our platform to support students as they weather this crisis (on top of managing a full course load and a full life load). This is why we started the California College Student Emergency Support Fund — an effort to offer immediate relief to students in the form of $500 grants.

Below, we’ve included a few statements shared by our inspiring Scholarship recipients that illustrate what their educational opportunities mean to them and the valiant efforts they are making to continue their education during these difficult times.

As a former foster youth, I have already aged out of a lot of programs and services that could support me financially. Given the current pandemic, there are few to no programs to help students in situations like mine. This grant would allow me to take control of my life and alleviate the burden that this pandemic has already placed on me and my family.

-Sheneise, CA College Student Grant Recipient





Due to the pandemic, I was forced to move back home in order to support my dad and my brother. I support my dad financially, and I also pay rent on an apartment near campus. When the lockdown ends, I know I will have little to no money left, and I am also at risk of losing my remaining two jobs. I have a lot to manage, and this is affecting my academics. I want to break the cycle of poverty through my schooling, but these adverse circumstances make this goal very difficult. This grant is important because it provides security and relief.

-Gabriela, CA College Student Grant Recipient



I am currently 8 months pregnant with my second child. I am no longer able to walk across the stage for graduation. I must give birth alone due to the travel restrictions that are in place. I cannot easily access childcare because most facilities are shut down. I spent six years in the navy, and all I could think about was getting out, getting my degree, and doing something I love. I’m ready to graduate strong so I can do what I love for once in my life. I want to show my daughter that she can do anything and be anything no matter what life throws at her.

-Chelsea, CA College Student Grant Recipient



One year ago, I was living on the streets with my children. After losing my daughter to the court system, my son to the county jail, and my husband to state prison, I found myself alone, hopeless, tired, and ready for change. I had reached the point in my life when I had to make a stand and better myself. With my first granddaughter on the way, I wanted to start right away, so I decided to enroll at Coastline Community College. Regardless of what comes my way, I will continue my education. In three years, I hope to be a Professional Paralegal Assistant.

-Betty, CA College Student Grant Recipient



The challenges of the past few months have made it nearly impossible to focus on my education, and I have thought about dropping out to find a part-time job to support my family. Since 2013, I have dedicated so much of my life to this higher education experience. Now, I’m within reach of a huge milestone in this journey and I don’t want to walk away from it. It’s a difficult road ahead, but I’m confident that the skills I’ve gained throughout my life will allow me to stay resilient and work towards obtaining my degree in environmental science while continuing to support myself, my loved ones, and my community.

-Cristobal, CA College Student Grant Recipient



I was working in security and catering—which both involve large gatherings of people. I don’t know when I’ll be able to schedule any gigs in the near future. This grant is important because it could help relieve some of my financial burdens during these troubling times. I believe that grants like this are what help young poor people like myself to continue our education and to pursue careers that can help us and our families.

-Patrick, CA College Student Grant Recipient

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.