在大流行病中优先考虑教育

这场大流行病使世界的正常活动停顿下来,使尘埃落定,并暴露了隐藏在表面之下的不公平现象。 我们的社会基石上的裂缝现在在许多部门都痛苦地显现出来,其中不乏高等教育。即使在此刻之前,许多学生也必须克服巨大的障碍,才能进入高等教育机构,并在这些机构中找到方向。 例如,第一代学生往往要兼顾多份工作和全部课程,以减少债务和养家糊口。 有孩子的学生在照顾孩子的同时还要兼顾学习。 我们这个大流行病的现实压力只会放大这些挑战。

但他们一如既往地坚持不懈。在利用自己的教育来支持家庭和社区的希望的驱使下,这些不可思议的学生继续前进。

在MAF,我们认识到我们有责任利用我们的平台来支持学生度过这场危机(在管理满负荷的课程和满负荷的生活之外)。这就是为什么我们开始了 加州大学学生紧急支援基金 - 以$500助学金的形式为学生提供紧急救助;

下面,我们收录了一些受资助者的发言,说明他们的教育机会对他们的意义,以及他们在这个困难时期为继续接受教育所做出的勇敢努力。

作为一名前寄养青年,我已经退出了很多可以在经济上支持我的计划和服务。鉴于目前的流行病,像我这样情况的学生,几乎没有什么计划可以帮助他们。 这笔赠款将使我能够掌握自己的生活,减轻这种流行病已经给我和我的家人带来的负担。

-加利福尼亚州Sheneise大学生助学金获得者





由于疫情,我被迫搬回老家,以养活我爸和我哥。我在经济上支持我的父亲,我还在校园附近的公寓里付房租。当封锁结束时,我知道我的钱将所剩无几,而且我也有可能失去剩下的两份工作。 我有很多事情要处理,这影响了我的学业。我想通过我的学业打破贫困的循环,但这些不利的环境使这个目标变得非常困难。 这笔补助金很重要,因为它提供了保障和救济。

-加州大学生助学金获得者Gabriela。



我目前已经怀了二胎8个月。我已经无法走过毕业典礼的舞台。由于现行的旅行限制,我必须独自分娩。我无法轻易获得托儿所,因为大多数设施都关闭了。我在海军里呆了六年,我所想的就是出去,拿到学位,做一些我喜欢的事情。 我准备坚强地毕业,这样我就可以在我的生命中做一次我喜欢的事情。我想告诉我的女儿,她可以做任何事情,成为任何事情,不管生活中扔在她。

-加利福尼亚州Chelsea大学生助学金获得者



一年前,我和我的孩子们流落街头。我的女儿被送进了法院系统,我的儿子被送进了县监狱,我的丈夫被送进了国家监狱,我发现自己孤独、无望、疲惫,并准备好了改变。 我已经到了我人生中的一个阶段,我必须要有一个立场,让自己变得更好。随着我第一个孙女的到来,我想马上开始,所以我决定去海岸线社区学院报名。 无论遇到什么,我都会继续学习。三年后,我希望能成为一名专业的律师助理。

-加利福尼亚州大学生助学金获得者贝蒂



过去几个月的挑战让我几乎无法专注于学业,我曾想过退学找一份兼职工作来养家糊口。自2013年以来,我已经为这段高等教育经历奉献了大量的生命。现在,我在这段旅程中的一个巨大的里程碑触手可及,我不想离开它。 这是一条艰难的道路,但我相信,我一生中获得的技能将使我能够保持坚韧不拔的精神,并努力获得环境科学学位,同时继续支持自己,我的亲人和我的社区。

-加利福尼亚州Cristobal大学生助学金获得者



我从事的是保安和餐饮工作--这两项工作都涉及到大型的人群聚集。我不知道近期何时能安排任何演出。这笔资助很重要,因为它可以帮助我在这段困难时期减轻一些经济负担。 我相信,像这样的助学金能帮助像我这样的贫困青年继续接受教育,从事能够帮助我们和家庭的职业。

-加州大学生助学金获得者Patrick。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Prioritizing Education in a Pandemic

The pandemic has halted the world’s usual activity, allowing the dust to settle and revealing inequities that lay just below the surface.  The cracks in our social bedrock are now painfully visible in many sectors, not least of which is higher education. Even before this moment, so many students had to overcome staggering barriers to access and navigate our higher education institutions.  First generation students, for example, often juggled multiple jobs and a full course load to reduce debt and support family.  Students with children balanced their studies alongside care-taking.  The stresses of our pandemic reality have only magnified these challenges.

But as always, they persevere. Driven by the hope of using their education to support their families and communities, these incredible students carry on.

At MAF, we recognized our duty to use our platform to support students as they weather this crisis (on top of managing a full course load and a full life load). This is why we started the California College Student Emergency Support Fund — an effort to offer immediate relief to students in the form of $500 grants.

Below, we’ve included a few statements shared by our inspiring Scholarship recipients that illustrate what their educational opportunities mean to them and the valiant efforts they are making to continue their education during these difficult times.

As a former foster youth, I have already aged out of a lot of programs and services that could support me financially. Given the current pandemic, there are few to no programs to help students in situations like mine. This grant would allow me to take control of my life and alleviate the burden that this pandemic has already placed on me and my family.

-Sheneise, CA College Student Grant Recipient





Due to the pandemic, I was forced to move back home in order to support my dad and my brother. I support my dad financially, and I also pay rent on an apartment near campus. When the lockdown ends, I know I will have little to no money left, and I am also at risk of losing my remaining two jobs. I have a lot to manage, and this is affecting my academics. I want to break the cycle of poverty through my schooling, but these adverse circumstances make this goal very difficult. This grant is important because it provides security and relief.

-Gabriela, CA College Student Grant Recipient



I am currently 8 months pregnant with my second child. I am no longer able to walk across the stage for graduation. I must give birth alone due to the travel restrictions that are in place. I cannot easily access childcare because most facilities are shut down. I spent six years in the navy, and all I could think about was getting out, getting my degree, and doing something I love. I’m ready to graduate strong so I can do what I love for once in my life. I want to show my daughter that she can do anything and be anything no matter what life throws at her.

-Chelsea, CA College Student Grant Recipient



One year ago, I was living on the streets with my children. After losing my daughter to the court system, my son to the county jail, and my husband to state prison, I found myself alone, hopeless, tired, and ready for change. I had reached the point in my life when I had to make a stand and better myself. With my first granddaughter on the way, I wanted to start right away, so I decided to enroll at Coastline Community College. Regardless of what comes my way, I will continue my education. In three years, I hope to be a Professional Paralegal Assistant.

-Betty, CA College Student Grant Recipient



The challenges of the past few months have made it nearly impossible to focus on my education, and I have thought about dropping out to find a part-time job to support my family. Since 2013, I have dedicated so much of my life to this higher education experience. Now, I’m within reach of a huge milestone in this journey and I don’t want to walk away from it. It’s a difficult road ahead, but I’m confident that the skills I’ve gained throughout my life will allow me to stay resilient and work towards obtaining my degree in environmental science while continuing to support myself, my loved ones, and my community.

-Cristobal, CA College Student Grant Recipient



I was working in security and catering—which both involve large gatherings of people. I don’t know when I’ll be able to schedule any gigs in the near future. This grant is important because it could help relieve some of my financial burdens during these troubling times. I believe that grants like this are what help young poor people like myself to continue our education and to pursue careers that can help us and our families.

-Patrick, CA College Student Grant Recipient

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.