تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

قصة بيلار: قصيدة للأمير وملكية المنزل

تحتفل بيلار بالذكرى السنوية الأولى لامتلاكها للمنزل هذا العام. منزلها مكان جميل ومريح وهادئ في جنوب مينيابوليس. تتذكر المنزل الدافئ والمحب الذي أنشأته لها والدتها عندما كانت صغيرة ، وتشعر بالفخر في المنزل الذي تمكنت من تكوينه لنفسها.

 

كانت بيلار ووالدتها شابة جريئة وشغوفة نشأت في بلدة صغيرة في مينيسوتا ، وكانت تربطهما علاقة وثيقة للغاية واعتمدا على بعضهما البعض للحصول على الدعم. 

كافحت والدة بيلار لتغطية نفقاتها كأم عزباء يعمل في عدد من وظائف المصانع. على الرغم من الصعوبات المالية ، فقد قدمت لبيلار طفولة دافئة ومحبّة. لقد حرصت على منح ابنتها كل فرصة. عندما أظهرت بيلار شغفها بالرقص ، وقعت والدتها على بيلار في دروس الباليه وأرسلتها إلى مدرسة فنون الأداء.

في المدرسة الثانوية ، كانت بيلار مشجعة وراقصة وموسيقية. لم تخاف أبدًا من التعبير عن نفسها - من مشاركة آرائها إلى ارتداء الملابس التي تريدها. كانت طفلة في الثمانينيات من القرن الماضي كانت تعشق فيلم "Purple Rain" والموسيقي Prince. لقد رأت أوجه تشابه بينها وبين برنس: كلاهما كانا من مينيسوتا لا يتناسبان تمامًا ولديهما أحلام لجعلها كبيرة.

"جاء برنس من الفقر ، وكان قادرًا على تحقيق الكثير بموارد قليلة جدًا. لقد أعطى الناس الأمل في أن يتمكنوا من تحقيق ذلك أيضًا. كان له تأثير كبير على حياتي ، واستمعت إلى موسيقاه لتجاوز الأوقات الصعبة ".

عملت بيلار بجد وفازت بمنحة دراسية لحضور جامعة سانت ماري ، مما جعل والدتها فخورة للغاية. 

كرست حياتها المهنية للخدمة العامة ، وانتقلت في النهاية إلى المدن التوأم بعد أن عُرضت عليها وظيفة في Project for Pride in Living (PPL). PPL هي منظمة غير ربحية حائزة على جوائز في مينيابوليس مكرسة لتمكين الأفراد والأسر ذوي الدخل المنخفض من الاعتماد على الذات. بيلار هو الآن وجه PPL. تعمل في مكتب الاستقبال في مركز التعلم في PPL ، وهي أول نقطة اتصال لأي شخص يمر عبر الأبواب. تسمع قصص شخصية حميمة بشكل يومي.

"أتمنى دائمًا ألا يعرف عملاؤنا ما كانوا قادرين عليه إلا عندما يدخلون إلى المكتب لأول مرة. عندما أسمع قصصًا عن أشخاص يأتون إلى PPL ، أفهم قصصهم وخلفياتهم. يمكنني أن أربط. هذا أكثر بكثير من مجرد وظيفة بالنسبة لي - إنها مهمة ".

لدى PPL برامج توظيف وتدريب ، وتحمل تخرجًا للمشاركين الذين أكملوا برامجهم. من الشائع أن يعرب الخريجون عن شكرهم لبيلار في حفل تخرجهم ، قائلين إن تشجيعها ووجهها المبتسم هو ما دفعهم إلى التسجيل والبقاء على المسار الصحيح.

 

سمعت بيلار لأول مرة عن Lending Circles من Henry ، زميل موظف في Project for Pride in Living. بدأت PPL لأول مرة في تقديم Lending Circles في عام 2015 ، وحتى الآن ، خدمت أكثر من 40 عميلًا وولدت حجم قروض يزيد قليلاً عن $13000.

شجعها هنري على الاشتراك في دائرة الإقراض حتى تتمكن من شرح البرنامج بشكل أفضل للمشاركين المحتملين والعمل على تحقيق أهدافها المالية الخاصة. في ذلك الوقت ، لم يكن لدى بيلار أي ائتمان - أرادت تجنب بطاقات الائتمان لأنها سمعت قصصًا عن أشخاص يغرقون في الديون. كانت تجربتها الوحيدة مع الائتمان هي قروض الطلاب ، ولم يكن هذا التاريخ الائتماني كافياً لتزويدها بدرجة ائتمان.  

التقت بمستشار ائتمان ، ولأول مرة على الإطلاق ، أدركت أن امتلاك المنازل كان في متناول اليد طالما أنها تستطيع بناء درجتها الائتمانية. بدافع من هذه الأخبار ، اشتركت بيلار في دائرة الإقراض. قررت مجموعتها مبلغ المساهمة الشهرية $50 ، وشعرت أنها أقرب إلى المجموعة بعد أن تبادل كل عضو المعلومات حول أهدافهم المالية. عندما حان وقت حصول بيلار على قرضها ، كانت نهاية شهر يونيو في مينيسوتا وكان الحر شديدًا. استخدمت أموال قرضها لشراء وحدة تكييف الهواء التي تشتد الحاجة إليها. كانت بيلار تعيش في ذلك الوقت براتب راتب مقابل شيك ، ولم يكن بوسعها تحمل تكاليف الوحدة بدون أموال دائرة الإقراض. لم يكن ذلك مصدر ارتياح لها فحسب ، بل ارتاح لها أيضًا كلبيها - أخوها وأختها - اللذان كانا يعانيان من الحر. ووصفت مقاطع فيديو التثقيف المالي التي رافقت دائرة الإعارة بأنها "تفتح للعين". لأول مرة ، شعرت بيلار بالراحة في إدارة الميزانية.

"قد يبدو هذا جنونًا ، لكنني بصراحة لم أكن أعرف أنه يتعين علي دفع فواتيري في الوقت المحدد."

 

بيلار الآن صاحبة منزل فخور. "لولا دائرة الإعارة والاجتماع بهنري ، لم أكن لأعتقد أن ذلك ممكن" ، كما تقول وهي تتأمل العملية. يضيء سلوك بيلار بالكامل عندما تتحدث عن منزلها. تصف المنزل بأنه المكان الذي "يتيح لي أن أكون كما أريد. بعد يوم مرهق في العمل ، فإنه يوفر راحة رائعة ".

لكن هناك مكافأة إضافية لبيلار. يقع منزلها بجوار منزل خاص جدًا - يُعرف باسم "Purple Rain House" للسكان المحليين - المنزل الذي ظهر في فيلم 1984 الشهير الذي ظهر فيه Prince.

تعرف بيلار أن شراء منزلها كان من المفترض أن يكون كذلك. في الذكرى السنوية الأولى لوفاة برنس ، تدفق المعجبون على حيها تحت المطر وتجمعوا في منزل المطر الأرجواني. على الرغم من أن بيلار لم ينتهي بها المطاف كجار لبرنس ، إلا أنها لا تزال تشعر بسحر وجوده وإرثه في حيها. تقول وهي تضحك ، "في الليل ، أعتقد أنني أرى أضواء أرجوانية تخرج من القبو. إنه حقًا شيء ".

فيما يتعلق بموضوع ملكية المنازل ، تقول بيلار "اعتقدت أن ذلك غير ممكن. لذا اعلم أنه ممكن ، بغض النظر عن المكان الذي تجد نفسك فيه ".

Pilar’s Story: An ode to Prince and homeownership

Pilar celebrates her one-year homeownership anniversary this year. Her home is a beautiful, cozy, and peaceful place in South Minneapolis. She recalls the warm and loving home her mother created for her when she was young, and feels a sense of pride in the home that she has been able to create for herself.

 

A bold and passionate young girl growing up in a small town in Minnesota, Pilar and her mother had a very close knit relationship and relied on each other for support. 

Pilar’s mother struggled to make ends meet as a single parent working a number of factory jobs. Despite the financial hardships, she provided Pilar with a warm and loving childhood. She made sure that her daughter was given every opportunity. When Pilar showed a passion for dance, her mother signed Pilar up for ballet lessons and sent her to a performing arts school.

In high school, Pilar was a cheerleader, a dancer, and a musician. She was never afraid to express herself – from sharing her opinions to dressing how she wanted to dress. She was a child of the ‘80s who adored the movie “Purple Rain” and the musician Prince. She saw parallels between herself and Prince: both were Minnesotans who never quite fit in and had dreams to make it big.

“Prince came from poverty, and was able to accomplish so much with so few resources. He gave people hope that they could make it too. He had a big influence on my life, and I listened to his music to get through hard times.”

Pilar worked hard and won a scholarship to attend St. Mary’s University, making her mother immensely proud. 

She dedicated her professional life to public service, and she eventually moved to the Twin Cities after she was offered a job at Project for Pride in Living (PPL). PPL is an award-winning nonprofit organization in Minneapolis dedicated to empowering low income individuals and families to become self-reliant. Pilar is now the face of PPL. She works the front desk at PPL’s Learning Center, and she’s the first point of contact for anyone who walks through the doors. She hears intimate personal stories on a daily basis.

“I always wish that our clients only knew what they were capable of when they first walk in to the office. When I hear stories of people coming into PPL, I understand their stories and their background. I can relate. This is much more than a job for me – it’s a mission.”

PPL has employment and training programs, and holds graduations for participants who complete their programs. It’s common for graduates to express their thanks to Pilar at their graduation ceremony, saying that it was her encouragement and smiling face that made them sign up and stay on track.

 

Pilar first heard about Lending Circles from Henry, a fellow staff member at a Project for Pride in Living. PPL first started offering Lending Circles in 2015, and so far, they have served over 40 clients and generated a loan volume of a little over $13,000.

Henry encouraged her to sign up for a Lending Circle so she could both better explain the program to prospective participants and work towards her own financial goals. At the time, Pilar didn’t have any credit — she wanted to avoid credit cards because she’d heard stories about people spiraling into debt. Her only experience with credit was her student loans, and this wasn’t enough credit history to provide her with a credit score.  

She met with a credit counselor and, for the first time ever, realized that homeownership was within reach as long as she could build her credit score. Motivated by this news, Pilar signed up for a Lending Circle. Her group decided on a monthly contribution amount of $50, and she felt closer to the group after each member shared information about their financial goals. When it came time for Pilar to receive her loan, it was the end of June in Minnesota and the heat was sweltering. She used her loan funds to purchase a much needed air conditioning unit. Pilar was living paycheck to paycheck at the time, and she could not have afforded the unit without the Lending Circle funds. It was not only a relief to her, but also her two dogs — brother and sister rescues —  who were suffering from the heat. She described the financial education videos that accompanied her Lending Circle as “eye opening.” For the first time, Pilar felt comfortable managing a budget.

“This might sound crazy, but I honestly didn’t know that I had to pay my bills on time.”

 

Pilar is now a proud homeowner. “If it wasn’t for the Lending Circle and meeting with Henry, I wouldn’t have thought it was possible,” she says as she reflects back on the process. Pilar’s whole demeanor lights up when she talks about her home. She describes the house as a place that “lets me be who I want to be. After a stressful day at work, it provides a wonderful reprieve.”

But there is an additional bonus for Pilar. Her house is right next door to a very special house – known as the “Purple Rain house” to locals – the house that appeared in the iconic 1984 film featuring Prince.

Pilar knows her home purchase was meant to be. On the one-year anniversary of Prince’s passing, fans poured into her neighborhood in the rain and congregated at the Purple Rain house. Even though Pilar never ended up as Prince’s neighbor, she still feels like the magic of his presence and his legacy in her neighborhood. Laughing, she says, “at night, I think I see purple lights coming out of the basement. It’s really something.”

On the topic of of homeownership, Pilar says “I thought it wasn’t possible. So know that it is possible, regardless of where you find yourself.”

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.