Pilar的故事。王子和房屋所有权的颂歌

皮拉尔今年庆祝了她拥有住房一周年。她的家位于明尼阿波利斯南部,是一个美丽、舒适、宁静的地方。她回忆起年轻时母亲为她创造的温暖和爱的家,并对她能够为自己创造的家感到一种自豪感。

 

皮拉尔是一个在明尼苏达州的一个小镇上长大的大胆而富有激情的年轻女孩,她和她的母亲有着非常密切的关系,相互依赖,相互支持。 

Pilar的母亲作为一个单亲家庭,在工厂里做了很多工作,为了维持生计而挣扎。尽管经济困难,她还是为Pilar提供了一个温暖和充满爱的童年。她确保她的女儿得到了一切机会。当皮拉尔表现出对舞蹈的热情时,她的母亲为皮拉尔报名参加芭蕾舞课程,并将她送到一所表演艺术学校。

在高中时,皮拉尔是一名拉拉队队长,一名舞蹈演员和一名音乐家。她从不害怕表达自己--从分享她的意见到穿上她想穿的衣服。 她是一个80年代的孩子,喜欢电影《紫雨》和音乐家王子。她看到了自己和王子之间的相似之处:两人都是明尼苏达人,从未完全融入其中,都有做大事的梦想。

"普林斯来自贫穷,能够以如此少的资源取得如此大的成就。他给人们带来了希望,他们也可以成功。他对我的生活有很大影响,我听他的音乐来度过困难时期。"

皮拉尔努力工作,赢得了进入圣玛丽大学的奖学金,使她的母亲感到无比自豪。 

她把自己的职业生涯献给了公共服务,在得到 "自豪生活项目"(PPL)的工作后,她最终搬到了双城。PPL是明尼阿波利斯的一个获奖的非营利组织,致力于赋予低收入个人和家庭自力更生的能力。皮拉尔现在是PPL的代言人。她在PPL学习中心的前台工作,她是任何走进门的人的第一个接触点。她每天都会听到亲切的个人故事。

"我总是希望我们的客户只有在第一次走进办公室的时候才知道他们的能力是什么。当我听到人们走进PPL的故事时,我理解他们的故事和他们的背景。我可以体会到。对我来说,这不仅仅是一份工作--它是一项使命。"

PPL有就业和培训计划,并为完成计划的参与者举行毕业典礼。毕业生们经常在毕业典礼上对Pilar表示感谢,说是她的鼓励和笑脸让他们报名参加并坚持下去。

 

皮拉尔第一次听说Lending Circles是从亨利那里,他是一个自豪生活项目的工作人员。PPL在2015年首次开始提供Lending Circles,到目前为止,他们已经为40多个客户提供服务,产生的贷款量略高于$13,000。

亨利鼓励她报名参加 "借贷圈",这样她既可以向潜在的参与者更好地解释该计划,又可以努力实现自己的财务目标。当时,Pilar没有任何信用 - 她想避免使用信用卡,因为她听说过人们陷入债务漩涡的故事。她唯一的信贷经验是她的学生贷款,而这不足以为她提供一个信用分数。  

她会见了一位信贷顾问,并有史以来第一次意识到,只要她能建立自己的信用分数,房屋所有权是可以实现的。在这一消息的激励下,皮拉尔报名参加了一个借贷圈。她的小组决定每月捐款金额为$50,在每个成员分享他们的财务目标信息后,她感到与小组的关系更加密切。当皮拉尔收到她的贷款时,正值明尼苏达州的六月底,天气炎热。她用她的贷款资金购买了一个急需的空调设备。当时,Pilar靠工资生活,如果没有Lending Circle的资金,她不可能买得起这台设备。这不仅对她来说是一种解脱,而且对她的两只狗--被拯救的兄妹--来说也是一种解脱,因为它们正在遭受炎热的折磨。她把伴随她的 "借贷圈 "的金融教育视频描述为 "大开眼界"。这是第一次,皮拉尔感到管理预算很舒服。

"这听起来可能很疯狂,但说实话,我不知道我必须按时支付账单。"

 

Pilar现在是一名自豪的房主。"如果不是因为借贷圈和与亨利会面,我不会认为这是可能的,"她在回顾这个过程时说。当她谈到她的家时,Pilar的整个举止都亮了起来。她形容这所房子是一个 "让我成为我想成为的人的地方。在一天紧张的工作之后,它提供了一个美妙的缓和。

但对皮拉尔来说还有一个额外的好处。她的房子就在一栋非常特别的房子隔壁--当地人称之为 "紫雨屋"--这栋房子曾出现在1984年由王子主演的标志性电影中。

皮拉尔知道她的购房是命中注定的。在王子去世一周年之际,粉丝们涌入她的社区 在雨中,他们聚集在紫雨的房子里。尽管皮拉尔最终没有成为王子的邻居,但她仍然觉得他的存在和他的遗产在她的邻居中具有魔力。她笑着说,"在晚上,我想我看到紫色的灯光从地下室里出来。这真的很了不起"。

关于房屋所有权的问题,皮拉尔说:"我认为这是不可能的。所以要知道这是可能的,无论你在哪里找到自己。"

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Pilar’s Story: An ode to Prince and homeownership

Pilar celebrates her one-year homeownership anniversary this year. Her home is a beautiful, cozy, and peaceful place in South Minneapolis. She recalls the warm and loving home her mother created for her when she was young, and feels a sense of pride in the home that she has been able to create for herself.

 

A bold and passionate young girl growing up in a small town in Minnesota, Pilar and her mother had a very close knit relationship and relied on each other for support. 

Pilar’s mother struggled to make ends meet as a single parent working a number of factory jobs. Despite the financial hardships, she provided Pilar with a warm and loving childhood. She made sure that her daughter was given every opportunity. When Pilar showed a passion for dance, her mother signed Pilar up for ballet lessons and sent her to a performing arts school.

In high school, Pilar was a cheerleader, a dancer, and a musician. She was never afraid to express herself – from sharing her opinions to dressing how she wanted to dress. She was a child of the ‘80s who adored the movie “Purple Rain” and the musician Prince. She saw parallels between herself and Prince: both were Minnesotans who never quite fit in and had dreams to make it big.

“Prince came from poverty, and was able to accomplish so much with so few resources. He gave people hope that they could make it too. He had a big influence on my life, and I listened to his music to get through hard times.”

Pilar worked hard and won a scholarship to attend St. Mary’s University, making her mother immensely proud. 

She dedicated her professional life to public service, and she eventually moved to the Twin Cities after she was offered a job at Project for Pride in Living (PPL). PPL is an award-winning nonprofit organization in Minneapolis dedicated to empowering low income individuals and families to become self-reliant. Pilar is now the face of PPL. She works the front desk at PPL’s Learning Center, and she’s the first point of contact for anyone who walks through the doors. She hears intimate personal stories on a daily basis.

“I always wish that our clients only knew what they were capable of when they first walk in to the office. When I hear stories of people coming into PPL, I understand their stories and their background. I can relate. This is much more than a job for me – it’s a mission.”

PPL has employment and training programs, and holds graduations for participants who complete their programs. It’s common for graduates to express their thanks to Pilar at their graduation ceremony, saying that it was her encouragement and smiling face that made them sign up and stay on track.

 

Pilar first heard about Lending Circles from Henry, a fellow staff member at a Project for Pride in Living. PPL first started offering Lending Circles in 2015, and so far, they have served over 40 clients and generated a loan volume of a little over $13,000.

Henry encouraged her to sign up for a Lending Circle so she could both better explain the program to prospective participants and work towards her own financial goals. At the time, Pilar didn’t have any credit — she wanted to avoid credit cards because she’d heard stories about people spiraling into debt. Her only experience with credit was her student loans, and this wasn’t enough credit history to provide her with a credit score.  

She met with a credit counselor and, for the first time ever, realized that homeownership was within reach as long as she could build her credit score. Motivated by this news, Pilar signed up for a Lending Circle. Her group decided on a monthly contribution amount of $50, and she felt closer to the group after each member shared information about their financial goals. When it came time for Pilar to receive her loan, it was the end of June in Minnesota and the heat was sweltering. She used her loan funds to purchase a much needed air conditioning unit. Pilar was living paycheck to paycheck at the time, and she could not have afforded the unit without the Lending Circle funds. It was not only a relief to her, but also her two dogs — brother and sister rescues —  who were suffering from the heat. She described the financial education videos that accompanied her Lending Circle as “eye opening.” For the first time, Pilar felt comfortable managing a budget.

“This might sound crazy, but I honestly didn’t know that I had to pay my bills on time.”

 

Pilar is now a proud homeowner. “If it wasn’t for the Lending Circle and meeting with Henry, I wouldn’t have thought it was possible,” she says as she reflects back on the process. Pilar’s whole demeanor lights up when she talks about her home. She describes the house as a place that “lets me be who I want to be. After a stressful day at work, it provides a wonderful reprieve.”

But there is an additional bonus for Pilar. Her house is right next door to a very special house – known as the “Purple Rain house” to locals – the house that appeared in the iconic 1984 film featuring Prince.

Pilar knows her home purchase was meant to be. On the one-year anniversary of Prince’s passing, fans poured into her neighborhood in the rain and congregated at the Purple Rain house. Even though Pilar never ended up as Prince’s neighbor, she still feels like the magic of his presence and his legacy in her neighborhood. Laughing, she says, “at night, I think I see purple lights coming out of the basement. It’s really something.”

On the topic of of homeownership, Pilar says “I thought it wasn’t possible. So know that it is possible, regardless of where you find yourself.”

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.