放弃机会:我的公民身份前的生活。


我在 "Lending Circles入籍计划 "下从梦想家到美国公民的历程

人们通常用纸张来庆祝他们的第一个周年纪念日,但我喜欢用自己的方式来做事情。我用纸来庆祝我在美国生活的14周年:N-400表格。这张表是我母亲的一个承诺,它将成为现实。它是我获得美国公民身份的机会。带着许多喜悦和兴奋,一个包括N-400表格、我的护照照片和一张支票的小包,我在4月1日开始了成为美国公民的过程。这套简单的文件对我来说意味着世界。它是我的奋斗,我母亲的奋斗,我姐妹的奋斗,它是对美好未来的承诺。

我的移民故事既是关于我母亲的,也是关于我的。

我的母亲为把我们带到这里牺牲了很多,她克服了很多困难,在一个当时对她来说很陌生的地方抚养我们。我妈妈为了逃避暴力婚姻而离开萨尔瓦多,把她的女儿和她的护士生活抛在脑后,作为她最后的生存动力。她离开了她的家庭、工作和她所熟悉的生活,以便我们能拥有更好的东西--比她所能拥有的更多。

我在母亲去世两年后离开萨尔瓦多,当时我11岁,我承诺我和我的姐妹们将与母亲团聚,我们将有机会去迪斯尼乐园(我认识的大多数移民儿童都是带着这个承诺来的,尽管我们还没能实现这个旅行......)。

我没有去迪斯尼乐园,也没有去看电影明星,而是住在风景优美的加州奥克兰,那里还是很不错的。

尽管我们的第一间公寓又小又挤,但却充满了爱和笑声。几年后我搬到了旧金山,在那里我能够扎下根来。但这些根并没有立即被允许像我所希望的那样深深地扎入土壤。

在我十几岁的时候,我才意识到无证驾驶的真正含义。在高中时,因为我的身份,我放弃了很多机会。我没能加入一个访问华盛顿特区的女孩团体,因为我是学校的负担。我也无法申请实习机会以积累经验,因为我没有社会安全号码。

然后我不得不拒绝了这个一生中最重要的机会。

我充满了好奇心,想探索我的新家,但由于没有证件,限制了我对加州的探索。那时,除了我最好的朋友,没有人知道我是无证的。我是高三班上唯一一个有这种情况的人,我不敢解释我不得不拒绝这么多好机会的*真实原因。

后来,我不得不放弃了去加州大学洛杉矶分校的机会,因为费用太高,而且我没有资格获得财政援助。早在2006年,当我决定去哪所大学时,无证学生的资源很少。我们有AB540法案,允许我们支付州内学费,但我不能像我的公民朋友那样有资格获得加州补助金或联邦财政援助。因此,我最终去了旧金山州立大学,并通过了大学的学习,这要归功于Chicana Latina基金会的奖学金,该奖学金不需要社会安全号码就能获得资格。

花了两年多的时间,克服了移民障碍,成为美国居民,这不是我随便说说的。

为了能够成为美国公民,你必须在成为居民后等待5年才能申请。一年前,预计我们成为美国居民的五周年,我邀请我的妈妈和妹妹参加一个 公民的借贷圈.我是在旧金山州立大学凯撒查维斯学院实习时发现这个项目的。我当时是作为学生助理,为一项学术评估收集调查问卷。 财务做法 的个人在Mission区。

在为学校工作时,我发现了MAF提供的不同项目--其中之一是Lending Circles公民权项目。我给我们报了名,这样我们申请入籍所需的资金就不会被阻止。对于我们三个人来说,光是申请就需要花费超过$2,000美元。 随着旧金山生活成本的上升,我妈妈越来越难维持房租,同时还要支持我妹妹的大学生涯。该计划帮助我们每个月为这个重要的申请留出资金。我们知道,我们的钱在Lending Circle项目中是安全的,而且一旦我们准备好申请,我们就能获得这些钱。

在Lending Circle项目中,我们每人每月支付$68,为期10个月,以便能够负担$680的入籍申请费用。

成为一名居民是一个巨大的祝福。我已经能够得到一份我喜欢的工作,并能到我几年前只能梦寐以求的地方旅行。我非常喜欢Lending Circles,所以我知道我必须成为MAF的一部分。我很高兴在2014年夏天加入农发基金的工作人员,担任项目协调员。我的工作使我能够帮助那些与我的故事相似的人。我在他们身上看到了我自己在美国的无证经历的挑战和机遇,我想在他们的旅程中帮助他们。现在我正在成为公民的过程中,我特别兴奋能够正式表达我的投票,2016年的总统选举,我来了!

我在今年4月1日提交了我的入籍申请,我正在等待继续面试过程并宣誓就职。我继续鼓励我妈妈也这样做,让她了解本市发生的所有入籍博览会的最新情况,为她准备面试问题,并以微小但坚持不懈的方式帮助她(如在她的手机上安装入籍应用程序,以便她可以在路上学习)。 我的目标是让她在本月底前申请。

我想尽我所能帮助我妈妈获得公民身份--就像她为支持我的姐妹和我所做的那样。

对我来说,移民意味着机会。它意味着生存。它意味着剥离来自破碎家庭的暴力和伤害,在一个你现在称之为自己的国家创造新的记忆和影响。在美国的生活给了我许多机会,但也伴随着公平的斗争。

从我早期的记忆,与我的姐妹和母亲住在一个狭窄的单间公寓里,因为我们的无证身份而在阴影中躲藏了9年,到走进我入籍的最后面试。面对这一切,我庆祝,我欢呼,我微笑。

这个庆祝活动不仅仅是为了我。这个庆祝活动是为每一个在寻找和平和为他们的家庭寻找更好的生活的过程中,为每一个路障、每一个耳光、每一个名字而奋斗的人而举行的。这些胜利和斗争使我更接近我的母亲,我的姐妹,并为自己找到了作为美国公民的更好的生活。现在,当我迈出最后一步时,我回顾了这条漫长而坎坷的道路,回顾了我庆祝周年纪念日的那张纸,以及我即将成为的公民。

如果你知道有人可以使用Lending Circles的公民身份,请鼓励他们今天在以下网站注册 LendingCircles.org.

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Passing up opportunities: my life before citizenship


My journey from DREAMer to U.S. citizen with Lending Circles for Citizenship

People usually celebrate their first anniversary with paper, but I like to do things my way. I celebrated my 14th anniversary of living in the United States with paper: the N-400 form. This form is a promise my mother made coming to life. It is the opportunity for me to get my U.S. citizenship. With lots of joy and excitement, a little packet that includes the N-400 form, my passport pictures, and a check, I started my process to become a U.S. citizen on April 1st. This simple set of papers means the world me. It is my struggle, my mother’s struggle, my sisters’ struggle, and it is the promise of a better future.

My immigration story is just as much about my mother as it is about me.

My mother sacrificed so much to bring us here and she overcame so much to raise us in a place that, at that time, was foreign to her. My mom left El Salvador escaping a violent marriage, leaving her daughters and her life as a nurse behind as her last push for survival. She left her family, her job, and the life that she knew so that we could have something better – something more than she ever could.

I left El Salvador two years after my mother, when I was 11 years old, with the promise that my sisters and I were going to reunite with her and we would get to go to Disneyland (most immigrant children I know come with that promise, even though we haven’t been able to make that trip… yet).

Instead of Disneyland, and movie stars I came to live in scenic Oakland, CA, which is still pretty cool!

Even though our first apartment was small and cramped, it was packed with love and laughter. I moved years later to San Francisco where I was able to set roots. But those roots weren’t immediately allowed to dig as deep into the soil as I had wanted.

It was when I was a teenager that I realized what it really meant to be undocumented. While in high school, I let go of many opportunities because of my status. I wasn’t able to join a group of girls visiting Washington D.C. because I was a liability to the school. I also couldn’t apply for internships to build my experience because I did not have a Social Security number.

And then I had to turn down the opportunity of a lifetime.

I was full of curiosity and wanted to explore my new home, but being undocumented limited me to explore California. Back then, no one but my best friends knew I was undocumented. I was the only one in my Senior class in that situation and I was too afraid to explain the *real* reason why I had to turn down so many great opportunities.

Then I had to pass on the opportunity to attend the University of California Los Angeles because it cost too much and I couldn’t qualify for financial aid. Back in 2006, when I was deciding what college to go to, there were few resources for undocumented students. We had AB540 which allowed us to pay in state tuition but I was not able to qualify to Cal Grants or federal financial aid like my citizen friends did. So I ended up going to San Francisco State University and made it through college thanks to scholarships from the Chicana Latina Foundation Scholarship that did not require a social security number in order to qualify.

It took more than two years of overcoming immigration hurdles to become U.S. residents, something that I don’t say lightly.

To be able to become a U.S. citizen, you must wait five years after becoming a resident in order to apply. A year ago, anticipating our 5th anniversary of becoming U.S. residents, I invited my mom and sister to join a Lending Circle for Citizenship. I found out about this program while interning for the Cesar Chavez Institute of San Francisco State University. I was working as a student assistant collecting surveys for an academic evaluation on the financial practices of individuals in the Mission district.

While working for the school, I found out about the different programs that MAF offers – one of them being Lending Circles for Citizenship. I signed us up so that the money we needed to apply for the citizenship application would not stop us. For the three of us, it was going to cost over $2,000 just to apply.  With rising living costs in San Francisco, it has been getting harder for my mom to keep up with the rent while also supporting my sister’s college career. The program has helped us put money aside each month for this important application. We knew that our money would be safe with the Lending Circle program and that we would be able to access it once we were ready to apply.

In the Lending Circle program, we each made monthly payments of $68 for ten months to be able to afford the $680 for the cost of the citizenship application.

Becoming a resident has been a huge blessing. I have been able to get a job that I love and travel to places that I only would have dreamed of years ago. I loved Lending Circles so much that I knew I had to be part of MAF. I was thrilled to join the staff at MAF in the summer of 2014 as a Programs Coordinator. My job enables me to help individuals whose stories resemble mine. I see in them the challenges and opportunities of my own experience as undocumented in the US and I want to be there to help them through their journey. Now that I am in the process of becoming a citizen, I am particularly excited to be able to officially express my vote, 2016 presidential elections, here I come!

I submitted my application for citizenship on April 1st of this year and I am waiting to continue the interview process and get sworn in. I continue to encourage my mom to do the same by keeping her up to date on all of the citizenship fairs happening in the city, preparing her for the interview questions, and helping her in small but persistent ways (like installing the citizenship app on her phone so that she can study on the go).  My goal is for her to apply by the end of this month.

I want to do as much as I can to help my mom on her path to citizenship – just as she has done so much to support my sisters and me.

For me, immigration means opportunity. It means survival. It means stripping away the violence and hurt from a broken home, to make new memories and impact in a country you now call your own. Life in the U.S. has given me many opportunities but it has also come with its fair share of struggles.

From my early memories of living in a cramped studio apartment with my sisters and mother, hiding in the shadows for 9 years because of our undocumented status to walking into my final interview for citizenship. In the face of all of that I celebrate, I cheer, and I smile.

This celebration isn’t only for me. This celebration is for everyone that has struggled, and fought past every roadblock, every slap, every name hurled at them, in their journey to  find peace, and a better life for their families. These victories and struggles have brought me closer to my mother, my sisters, and finding a better life for myself as a citizen of the United States. Now, as I take the final step, I reflect back on the long, rocky path, the paper I celebrated my anniversary with, and my impending citizenship.

If you know someone who could use Lending Circles for Citizenship, please encourage them to sign up today at LendingCircles.org.

Mohan Kanungo

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.