华盛顿地区的新Lending Circles项目

Lending Circles将在华盛顿特区亮相,帮助个人和企业家建立信用。


拉丁裔经济发展中心和北弗吉尼亚州家庭服务推出点对点贷款计划与MAF和资本之一的伙伴关系

华盛顿特区- 2015年7月8日拉丁裔经济发展中心北弗吉尼亚州家庭服务机构 今天宣布推出车管所 Lending CirclesLending Circles是华盛顿特区、弗吉尼亚州和马里兰州的一个新的点对点贷款计划,通过与MAF合作,帮助低收入的西班牙裔社区安全地建立零利率贷款的信用。通过Lending Circles支付的贷款将向信用机构报告,参与者的平均信用分数增加了168分。

Lending Circles借鉴了移民同侪借贷的传统,增强社区成员相互支持的能力。参与者每月支付贷款,轮流获得$500至$2,500不等的零息社会贷款。所有贷款付款都会向信用机构报告,使参与者能够建立信用记录,提高信用分数,并努力提高财务稳定性。

"LEDC围绕房屋所有权和创业的资产建设计划在客户开始有坚实的信用记录时最为成功,"LEDC执行董事Marla Bilonick说。"我们很高兴被MAF选中为华盛顿地区的客户提供Lending Circles,因为信用建设是实现财务授权和建立财富的关键部分。Lending Circles给LEDC提供了另一个工具,帮助我们的客户改善他们的财务状况,实现他们的梦想。"

"我们的客户都是勤奋的、非常积极的创业者,NVFS Escala项目只是为他们提供了缺失的技能和信息,帮助他们克服许多低收入移民在创业时面临的障碍。NVFS Escala项目只是为他们提供缺失的技能和信息,帮助他们克服许多低收入移民在创业时面临的障碍,"NVFS Escala项目经理Adrienne Kay说。"这些障碍之一是信贷和获得资本,我们很高兴通过与MAF的合作,我们的客户将获得负担得起的贷款,建立信用记录,并为财务稳定的未来做准备。"

根据消费者金融保护局(CFPB)最近的一份报告,每10个成年人中就有一个在全国范围内的消费者报告机构中没有任何信用记录,这使得他们在做任何需要信用分数的事情时,包括接受教育、创业、租车或买房,都面临着难以置信的挑战。这份报告还发现,西班牙裔消费者和低收入社区的消费者更有可能没有信用记录或目前的信用记录不足以产生信用分数。

 "没有信用评分,当你想创业或获得小额贷款时,就没有'好的选择',"MAF首席执行官Jose A. Quinonez说。"现在,在Capital One以及LEDC和NVFS等合作伙伴的支持下,我们一起提供了一个在美国首都就能用的解决方案。"

LEDC、NVFS、MAF和Capital One将于7月8日举行活动,庆祝Lending Circles的推出。 在WeWork位于华盛顿特区的办公室,车管所贷款圈成员将在那里讲述他们在该计划中的经验和成功。

"拥有良好的信用记录对于个人在当今经济中茁壮成长并确保其财务状况至关重要,"Capital One社区发展银行高级总监Daniel Delehanty表示。"作为大华盛顿的家乡银行,Capital One很荣幸能与LEDC和NVFS合作,并支持Lending Circles的区域扩张,利用技术、信用报告和MAF利用社区力量对个人经济成功和稳定产生积极影响的成熟记录。"

此外,作为 "建设创业经济 "计划的一部分,弗吉尼亚州住房和社区发展部与NVFS合作,进一步扩大Lending Circles在弗吉尼亚州的应用,特别是在威廉王子县。

有关Lending Circles的更多信息,请访问 lendingcircles.org


关于MAF和Lending Circles

MAF是一家总部设在旧金山的非营利组织,其使命是为勤劳的家庭创造一个公平的金融市场。它的社会贷款项目Lending Circles,帮助勤劳的家庭获得零利率贷款,接受金融教育,并开始安全有效地建立信用记录。当银行贷款不是一种选择时,世界各地的人们相互借贷。通过技术和信用报告,Lending Circles改变了这一传统做法,帮助借款人获得负担得起的贷款,建立信用记录,并建立财务稳定性。社会贷款项目已经证明了他们有能力帮助人们开立银行账户,避免掠夺性贷款人,并快速安全地建立自己的信用记录。Lending Circles为辛勤工作的家庭提供了一个安全可靠的方式,让他们可以节省资金,偿还高成本的债务,摆脱掠夺性贷款人的束缚,同时建立他们所需的信用记录。有关MAF的更多信息,请访问。 Missionassetfund.org 或 lendingcircles.org.

关于拉丁裔经济发展中心

拉丁裔经济发展公司/中心是一个非营利性的501(c)(3)组织,于1991年成立,以应对Mount Pleasant社区的内乱。24年来,我们提供了全面的社区和经济发展服务,以建立华盛顿地区拉丁裔和其他服务不足的家庭的能力。LEDC的使命是推动中低收入拉美裔和其他特区居民的经济和社会进步,使他们掌握技能和工具,实现经济独立,成为社区的领导者。LEDC通过四个关键服务领域实现其使命:小企业发展,小额贷款,经济适用房保护,以及房屋所有权和止赎咨询。我们在华盛顿特区的总部和马里兰州惠顿和巴尔的摩的两个卫星办事处开展工作。

关于Escala

埃斯卡拉,北弗吉尼亚州家庭服务的小企业计划的企业家,提供一对一的小企业发展咨询和课程,生活在北弗吉尼亚州的低收入和中等收入家庭。该计划旨在帮助客户克服障碍,启动和发展可持续的业务,增加家庭收入,创造就业机会,并有助于地方经济。

关于第一资本

Capital One金融公司总部位于弗吉尼亚州麦克莱恩,是一家财富500强企业,其分支机构主要分布在纽约、新泽西、德克萨斯、路易斯安那、马里兰、弗吉尼亚和哥伦比亚特区。其子公司Capital One, N.A.和Capital One Bank (USA), N.A.为消费者、小型企业和商业客户提供广泛的金融产品和服务。作为其对全国各地社区持续承诺的一部分,Capital One最近推出了 "未来边缘"(Future Edge),这是一项$1.5亿的承诺,旨在通过未来五年的社区拨款和倡议,让更多美国人在数字驱动的经济中取得成功。要了解更多关于 "未来边缘 "和Capital One其他计划的信息,请访问以下网站

www.capitaloneinvestingforgood.com.

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

New Lending Circles Program in DC Area

LEDC and NVFS launch lending program in partnership with MAF and Capital One

Release

Lending Circles to Debut in Washington, D.C. to Help Individuals and Entrepreneurs Build Credit

Latino Economic Development Center and Northern Virginia Family Service launch peer-to-peer lending program in partnership with MAF and Capital One

Washington, D.C. – July 8, 2015Latino Economic Development Center and Northern Virginia Family Service today announced the launch of DMV Lending Circles, a new peer-to-peer lending program in Washington, D.C., Virginia and Maryland, through a partnership with MAF that helps low-income Hispanic communities safely build credit with zero-interest loans. Loan payments made through Lending Circles are reported to credit bureaus, and the average credit score increase for participants is 168 points.

Lending Circles draws on the immigrant tradition of peer borrowing to empower members of communities to support one another. Participants make monthly loan payments and take turns receiving zero-interest social loans ranging from $500 to $2,500. All loan payments are reported to credit bureaus, enabling participants to build a credit history, raise credit scores and work towards greater financial stability.

“LEDC’s asset-building programs around homeownership and entrepreneurship are most successful when clients start with a solid credit history,” said Marla Bilonick, executive director, LEDC. “We were so excited to be selected by MAF to provide Lending Circles to DC area clients because credit-building is a critical piece for achieving financial empowerment and building wealth. Lending Circles give LEDC another tool to help our clients improve their financial well-being and fulfill their dreams.”

“Our clients are hardworking, extraordinarily motivated entrepreneurs. The NVFS Escala Program simply provides them with the missing skills and information to help them overcome barriers that many low-income immigrants face when starting a business,” said Adrienne Kay, Escala program manager, NVFS. “One of those barriers is credit and access to capital, and we are thrilled that through our partnership with MAF, our clients will access affordable loans, build credit history, and prepare for a financially stable future.”

According to a recent report from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), one in every 10 adults does not have any credit history with a nationwide consumer reporting agency, making it incredibly challenging for them to do anything that requires a credit score, including getting an education, starting a business, renting a car or buying a home. This same report found that Hispanic consumers and consumers in low-income neighborhoods are more likely to have no credit history or not enough current credit history to produce a credit score.

 “Without credit scores, there are no ‘good options’ when you want to start a business or get a small loan,” said Jose A. Quinonez, CEO, MAF. “Now, with the support of Capital One and partners like LEDC and NVFS, together we are providing a solution that works right here in the nation’s capital.”

LEDC, NVFS, MAF and Capital One will celebrate the launch of Lending Circles at an event taking place on July 8th at WeWork’s offices in Washington, D.C., where DMV Lending Circle members will speak about their experience and success with the program.

“Having a strong credit history is essential for individuals to thrive in today’s economy and ensure their financial well-being,” said Daniel Delehanty, Senior Director, Community Development Banking, Capital One. “As Greater Washington’s hometown bank, Capital One is proud to partner with LEDC and NVFS and support the regional expansion of Lending Circles, leveraging technology, credit reporting and MAF’s proven track record of harnessing the power of community to have a positive impact on individual economic success and stability.”

In addition, as part of their Building Entrepreneurial Economies program, the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development has partnered with NVFS to further the expansion of Lending Circles in Virginia, with a particular emphasis on Prince William County.

For more information on Lending Circles, please visit lendingcircles.org

 


 

About MAF and Lending Circles

MAF is a San Francisco-based nonprofit on a mission to create a fair financial marketplace for hardworking families. Its social loan program, Lending Circles, helps hardworking families access a zero-interest loan, receive financial education, and start building a credit history safely and effectively. People around the world lend and borrow with each other when bank loans aren’t an option. With technology and credit reporting, Lending Circles transforms this traditional practice to help borrowers access affordable loans, build credit history, and build financial stability. Social loan programs have demonstrated their ability to help people open bank accounts, avoid predatory lenders, and quickly and safely build their credit history. Lending Circles provides a safe and reliable way for hard working families to save money, pay down high cost debt, and break free of predatory lenders, while building the credit they need to thrive. For more information about MAF, visit: missionassetfund.org or lendingcircles.org.

About the Latino Economic Development Center

The Latino Economic Development Corporation/Center (LEDC) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization incorporated in 1991 in response to civil disturbances in the Mount Pleasant community. For 24 years, we have delivered comprehensive community and economic development services to build the capacity of DC area Latino and other underserved families. LEDC’s mission is to drive the economic and social advancement of low- to moderate- income Latinos and other D.C. area residents by equipping them with the skills and tools to achieve financial independence and become leaders in their communities. LEDC achieves its mission through four key service areas: small business development, microlending, affordable housing preservation; and homeownership and foreclosure counseling. We operate out of our Headquarters in Washington, DC and two satellite offices in Wheaton and Baltimore, Maryland.

About Escala

Escala, Northern Virginia Family Service’s Small Business Program for entrepreneurs, provides one-on-one small business development consulting and coursework to low- and mid-income families living in Northern Virginia. The program aims to assist clients in overcoming barriers to launch and grow sustainable businesses that increase household incomes, create jobs, and contribute to the local economy.

About Capital One

Capital One Financial Corporation, headquartered in McLean, Virginia, is a Fortune 500 company with branch locations primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Its subsidiaries, Capital One, N.A. and Capital One Bank (USA), N. A., offer a broad spectrum of financial products and services to consumers, small businesses and commercial clients. As part of its ongoing commitment to communities across the country, Capital One recently launched Future Edge, a $150 million commitment to empower more Americans to succeed in a digitally-driven economy through community grants and initiatives over the next five years. To learn more about Future Edge and other Capital One initiatives please visit

www.capitaloneinvestingforgood.com.


Tara Robinson

is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to.