用ITIN导航金融系统

"不可能 "在瑞金娜的词汇中不是一个词。她的精明和坚韧让我们在一个周一下午见到她的几分钟内就脱颖而出。她自信地走进MAF的大门,坐了下来,开始讲述她的故事,描绘了一幅以坚定不移的力量和远见为标志的个人和财务历程。

像许多与MAF合作的人一样,Regina是一个独立的企业主,她从零开始建立自己的生活。那个星期一下午,我们请Regina来和我们谈一谈她作为一个小企业主的经历,以及她使用个人纳税人识别号(ITIN)寻找和获得金融服务的情况。当我们问及她在创业过程中遇到的挑战或障碍时,她描述了她的变通方法--就像她对待生活的态度一样,她的变通方法由机智和毅力决定。她发现,某些金融供应商不接受ITIN作为身份证明。但是,正如Regina通过锲而不舍的调查所发现的那样,其他人会接受。 每当她遇到障碍时,她说:"我就不停地找,不停地找,直到找到解决方法。

幸运的是,Regina不用走远就能找到MAF。每天,她在去往她的商店的路上都会经过MAF的办公室,就在街上的几个街区。当那个星期一走进去的时候,她正在为建立自己想要的生活而自导自演的旅程中又迈出了一步。她已经寻找到了她所需要的信息和资源,以获得相应的执照,经营她的生意,并作为一个企业家茁壮成长。现在,她想了解MAF的 "创业家 "计划是怎样的。 小企业贷款 可以成为她工具箱中的另一种资源。

当晚,Regina和其他一些来自旧金山的企业家一起参加了活动。在MAF贷款的一个重要部分是Lending Circle的形成--在这个晚上,客户们聚集在一起分享他们的个人历程,他们所利用的资源,他们所面临的挑战,以及他们正在努力的梦想。这个想法是为了与其他精明的、努力工作的人分享资源、教训和见解。

十多年的经验

MAF已经与Regina这样的客户合作了很久。 十多年.在这段时间里,我们已经为超过11,000名客户提供了服务--发放了超过$1千万的零利率社会贷款,使人们能够找到他们所需的产品、服务和工具,以充分发挥他们的财务潜力。

通过这项工作,我们收集了丰富的见解,并对客户如何驾驭他们的财务生活有了更深的了解。我们工作的中心是关于奋斗、坚持和尊严的故事。通过倾听这些故事,听取他们的反馈,我们了解客户面临的挑战和痛点,并能开发出真正满足他们需求和现实的方案。

在我们即将进行的研究中,我们将提升这些见解和数据,为这个国家围绕金融公民、贫困和移民的对话添砖加瓦,并倡导急需的改革。

我们将以一份关于像Regina这样拥有个人纳税人识别号(ITIN)的人的经济生活的报告来启动这项研究。美国财政部创建了ITIN,允许没有资格获得社会安全号(SSN)的人报税。在过去的20年里,美国国税局已经向本国人发放了超过2300万个ITIN。

对于美国数百万人来说,ITIN造成了获得金融服务的障碍。许多金融供应商将SSN作为唯一可接受的身份识别形式--尽管没有任何法规规定SSN是必要的或唯一可接受的身份识别形式。但这些默认的要求,实际上成为获得金融服务的障碍,向社会发出了明确的信息。如果你没有SSN,请不要申请。

我们正在研究我们丰富的客户数据集,以拉开个人财务历程的帷幕,帮助我们更好地了解持有ITIN的客户如何过上他们的财务生活。虽然不是全国性的样本,但我们的分析为提供者、倡导者和政策制定者提供了重要的见解。在这份报告中,我们看到我们客户的财务生活与更大的社区交织在一起,并且经常依赖于非正式的资源。我们既看到了拥有ITIN的客户所面临的障碍,也看到了这些障碍的影响。我们也看到了客户在找到他们所需的产品和服务时的成功,包括行业领先的还款率和优质信用评分。我们邀请您与我们一起探讨这个问题,更深入地了解这些障碍及其影响,以及我们的客户为驾驭他们的财务生活而制定的创新战略。

获取报告 此处 并关注未来的研究更新。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Navigating the Financial System with an ITIN

“Impossible” is not a word in Regina’s vocabulary. Her savviness and tenacity stood out to us within minutes of meeting her one Monday afternoon. She walked confidently through MAF’s door, took a seat, and launched into her story, painting a picture of a personal and financial journey marked by unwavering strength and vision.

Like many people MAF works with, Regina is an independent business owner who built her own livelihood from the ground up. That Monday afternoon, we had asked Regina to come talk with us about her experience as a small business owner as well as her finding and accessing financial services with an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, or an ITIN. When we asked about challenges or barriers she had faced to building her business, she described her workaround – which was, like her approach to life in general, defined by resourcefulness and perseverance. Certain financial providers, she found out, wouldn’t accept an ITIN as identification. But, as Regina discovered through dogged investigation, others would. Whenever she faced an obstacle, she said, “I just kept looking and looking and looking,” until she found a solution.

Fortunately, Regina didn’t have to look far to find MAF. Every day, she walked by MAF’s offices on the way to herstore just a few blocks down the street. When walked in that Monday, she was taking another step in her self-directed journey to build the life she wanted. She’d already sought out the information and resources she needed to get the appropriate licenses, run her business, and thrive as an entrepreneur. Now, she wanted to learn about how MAF’s small business loans could be another resource in her toolkit.

Over the course of the evening, Regina was joined by a handful of other resourceful entrepreneurs from across San Francisco. An important part of taking out a loan with MAF is the Lending Circle formation -an evening where clients come together to share their personal journeys, the resources they’ve drawn on, the challenges they’ve faced, and the dreams they’re working towards. The idea is to share resources, lessons, and insights with the other financially savvy, hardworking people around the table.

More than a decade of experience

MAF has been working with clients like Regina for over a decade. In that time, we have served more than 11,000 clients -issuing over $10 million in zero-interest social loans so that people can find the products, services, and tools they need to pursue their full financial potential.

Through this work, we have gathered rich insights and a deeper understanding of how our clients navigate their financial lives. At the center of our work are stories of struggle, perseverance, and dignity. By listening to these stories and hearing their feedback, we understand the challenges and pain points our clients face and can develop programs that genuinely meet their needs and realities.

In our forthcoming research, we will be uplifting these insights and data to add to the conversation around financial citizenship, poverty, and immigration in this country, and to advocate for much-needed reforms.

We’re launching this body of research with a report on the financial lives of people who, like Regina, have Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers, or ITINs. The U.S. Treasury created ITINs to allow people who are ineligible to obtain a Social Security Number (SSN) to file tax returns. Over the last two decades, the IRS has issued over 23 million ITINs to people in this country.

For millions of people in the U.S., ITINs create a barrier to accessing financial services. Many financial providers cite SSNs as the only acceptable form of identification -despite there being no regulation that says an SSN is necessary, or the only acceptable identification form. But these default requirements, in effect, become barriers to accessing financial services, sending a clear message to the community: If you don’t have a SSN, please don’t apply.

We’re reaching into our rich client data set to pull back the curtain on individuals’ financial journeys, helping us better understand how our clients with ITINs navigate their financial lives. While not a national sample, our analysis lifts important insights for providers, advocates, and policymakers. In this report, we see our clients’ financial lives are interwoven with larger communities and often relies on informal resources. We see both the barriers clients with ITINs face and the implications of those barriers. We also see client successes when they find the products and services they need, including industry-leading repayment rates and prime credit scores. We invite you to explore this issue with us, develop a deeper understanding of the barriers, their implications, and the innovative strategies our clients have developed to navigate their financial lives.

Access the report here and keep an eye out for future research updates.

Alexandra Altman
Research & Engagement Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.