我的MAF之旅。衔接技术和金融包容性

为庆祝 MAF实验室成立一周年了我们希望承认我们的技术咨询委员会在支持我们的成功方面的作用和工作。我们将分享一系列来自技术咨询委员会成员的博客文章,首先是来自联合主席凯瑟琳-温曼的文章。  

每个人都应该在某些时候尝试冷门电话。让可能的拒绝成为一种提醒,提醒你比以前更进一步。而当你真的打通了电话,那是一种完全的冲动。五年前的这个夏天,我向Mission Asset Fund伸出了援手,此后我再也没有回头。

我在大学里尝到了小额信贷的甜头,此后又为大银行提供咨询,我越来越想帮助定义下一代的金融服务。我看了很多湾区的金融技术公司和非营利组织,但Mission Asset Fund(MAF)有一些特别之处。他们有非营利组织的价值观和个人魅力,但他们的技术方法更像是一个渴望扩大规模的饥饿的创业公司。因此,我猜到了MAF的创始人/首席执行官何塞-基诺内斯(José Quiñonez)的电子邮件,幸运的是,他那天下午有空,可以见面。

在我们的第一次会议上,何塞宣布通过加州 SB896这是一项改变游戏规则的立法,承认信用建设贷款的重要性,并授权非营利组织支持它们。我简直不敢相信。当许多金融技术公司在法律的灰色地带挣扎时,这个非营利组织正在改变它。

MAF开发了重要的工具来帮助人们建立有能力的金融生活。其影响是深远的。

他们的Lending Circles项目是通过以下方式进行分配的 非营利性合作伙伴网络 在全国范围内。何塞的 金融需求的层次结构 通过围绕一个原本模糊不清、令人生畏的主题提供结构,帮助所有背景的人。

在过去的几年里,我有幸担任了MAF的联合主席。 技术咨询委员会 (TAC)。MAF不断创新--一直在寻求更好地服务于他们的客户和非营利性合作伙伴。技术咨询委员会支持这种创新,并作为连接创业社区的桥梁。我们分享我们的经验,为MAF的技术战略、产品路线图和实施方法提供信息。

我们的团队有不同的背景,包括软件开发、金融技术和社会影响。我们一起努力支持MAF的下一代产品计划。

我不断地从这个杰出的团队中学习,他们带来了来自谷歌、Stripe、Salesforce和其他难以置信的组织的专业知识。

TAC的成员来自不同的背景,并为支持MAF的共同目标而团结一致。

我亲眼目睹了MAF为产品开发带来的深思熟虑和用心良苦。无论我们是在讨论MAF实验室的结构,还是在测试 MyMAF 我们的目标是:为我们的应用程序提供支持,或为产品发布过程提供意见,MAF团队将我们的贡献建立在促进组织使命的具体目标上。

更重要的是,我对TAC的参与使我在日常工作中做得更好。我投资于消费者技术,通常是在早期阶段。不止一次,我向创始人指出MAF是将用户需求放在首位的例子。MAF实现其使命的方法可以帮助我们所有人识别和挑战包容性产品开发背后的假设。

MAF改变了我的生活,正如他们继续为湾区社区和其他地区的成员所做的那样。

我非常感谢能在技术咨询委员会任职,并支持他们为数百万生活在金融阴影下的人带来金融稳定的使命。亚洲金融公司的客户是坚韧不拔、顽强和乐观的。MAF也是如此--他们也激励着我成为这样的人。

关于作者。凯瑟琳自2014年以来一直与MAF合作,现在担任技术咨询委员会的联合主席。她是旧金山Norwest Venture Partners的投资者。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

My MAF Journey: Bridging Tech and Financial Inclusion

In celebration of the MAF Lab having hit its one-year mark, we want to recognize the role and work of our Tech Advisory Council in supporting our successes. We’ll be sharing a series of blog posts from TAC members, starting with one from co-chair Kathryn Weinmann.  

Everyone should try cold-calling at some point. Let the likely rejection be a reminder that you’re reaching further than you have before. And it’s a total rush when you actually get through. Five years ago this summer, I reached out to Mission Asset Fund, and I haven’t looked back since.

I had tasted microfinance in college and consulted for big banks thereafter, and increasingly I wanted to help define the next generation of financial services. I looked at loads of fintech companies and nonprofits in the Bay Area, but there was something special about Mission Asset Fund (MAF). They had the values and personal touch of a nonprofit, but their approach to technology was more typical of a hungry startup eager to scale. So I guessed the email of MAF’s founder/CEO José Quiñonez, and by some stroke of luck he was free to meet that afternoon.

In our first meeting, José announced the passage of California SB896, game-changing legislation that acknowledged the importance of credit-building loans and empowered nonprofits to support them. I couldn’t believe it. While many fintech companies were struggling within gray areas of the law, this nonprofit was out changing it.

MAF develops critical tools to help people build empowered financial lives. And the effects are far-reaching.

Their Lending Circles program is distributed through a network of nonprofit partners across the country. Jose’s Hierarchy of Financial Needs helps people of all backgrounds by providing structure around an otherwise nebulous and intimidating topic.

For the past few years, I have had the privilege to serve as co-chair for MAF’s Technology Advisory Council (TAC). MAF is constantly innovating – always seeking to serve their clients and nonprofit partners better. The TAC supports that innovation and serves as a bridge to the startup community. We share our experiences to inform MAF’s tech strategy, product roadmap, and implementation approach.

Our team has a diverse set of backgrounds across software development, fintech, and social impact. Together, we strive to support the next generation of product initiatives at MAF.

I constantly learn from this exceptional group, who bring expertise from Google, Stripe, Salesforce, and other incredible organizations.

TAC members come from a diverse set of backgrounds and are united toward a common goal of supporting MAF.

I have seen firsthand the thoughtfulness and intentionality that MAF brings to product development. Whether we are discussing the structure of the MAF Lab, beta testing the MyMAF app, or providing input on the product launch process, the MAF team grounds our contributions in specific goals that further the mission of the organization.

What’s more, my involvement with the TAC makes me better at my day job. I invest in consumer tech, often at an early stage. On more than one occasion, I have pointed founders to MAF as an example of putting the user’s needs first. MAF’s approach to realizing their mission can help us all identify and challenge the assumptions behind inclusive product development.

MAF changed my life, as they continue to do for members of the Bay Area community and beyond.

I am immensely grateful to serve on the TAC and support their mission to bring financial stability to the millions who live in the financial shadows. MAF’s clients are resilient, tenacious, and optimistic. So is MAF – and they inspire me to be that way, too.

About the author: Kathryn has been working with MAF since 2014 and now serves as Co-Chair of the Technology Advisory Council. She is an investor at Norwest Venture Partners in San Francisco.

MAF Lab Director at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.