رحلتي مع MAF: الربط بين التكنولوجيا والشمول المالي

احتفالاً ب معمل ماف بعد أن وصل إلى عام واحد، نريد أن نعترف بدور وعمل المجلس الاستشاري التقني لدينا في دعم نجاحاتنا. سنقوم بمشاركة سلسلة من منشورات المدونة من أعضاء TAC ، بدءًا بواحد من الرئيسة المشاركة كاثرين واينمان.  

يجب على الجميع تجربة الاتصال البارد في وقت ما. اجعل الرفض المحتمل بمثابة تذكير بأنك وصلت إلى أبعد مما كنت عليه من قبل. ويكون اندفاعًا تامًا عندما تمر بالفعل. قبل خمس سنوات في هذا الصيف ، وصلت إلى Mission Asset Fund ، ولم أنظر إلى الوراء منذ ذلك الحين.

كنت قد ذاقت طعم التمويل الأصغر في الكلية واستشرت البنوك الكبرى بعد ذلك ، وأردت بشكل متزايد المساعدة في تحديد الجيل التالي من الخدمات المالية. نظرت إلى عدد كبير من شركات التكنولوجيا المالية والمؤسسات غير الربحية في منطقة الخليج ، ولكن كان هناك شيء مميز حول Mission Asset Fund (MAF). كانت لديهم القيم واللمسة الشخصية للمؤسسة غير الربحية ، لكن نهجهم في التكنولوجيا كان نموذجيًا بشكل أكبر لشركة ناشئة جائعة تتوق إلى التوسع. لذا خمنت البريد الإلكتروني لمؤسس MAF / الرئيس التنفيذي لها José Quiñonez ، وبضربة من الحظ كان حرًا للقاء بعد ظهر ذلك اليوم.

في لقائنا الأول ، أعلن خوسيه مرور كاليفورنيا SB896، تشريع يغير قواعد اللعبة يعترف بأهمية قروض بناء الائتمان ويمكّن المنظمات غير الربحية من دعمها. لم أصدق ذلك. بينما كانت العديد من شركات التكنولوجيا المالية تكافح في المناطق الرمادية من القانون ، كانت هذه المنظمة غير الربحية تعمل على تغييره.

تطور ماف أدوات مهمة لمساعدة الناس على بناء حياة مالية متمكنة. والآثار بعيدة المدى.

يتم توزيع برنامجهم Lending Circles من خلال ملف شبكة شركاء غير ربحيين عبر الدوله. جوز التسلسل الهرمي للاحتياجات المالية يساعد الأشخاص من جميع الخلفيات من خلال توفير بنية حول موضوع غامض ومخيف.

خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية ، كان لي شرف العمل كرئيس مشارك لـ MAF المجلس الاستشاري للتكنولوجيا (تاك). ماف تبتكر باستمرار - وتسعى دائمًا لخدمة عملائها وشركائها غير الربحيين بشكل أفضل. يدعم TAC هذا الابتكار ويعمل كجسر لمجتمع بدء التشغيل. نشارك خبراتنا لإبلاغ استراتيجية MAF التقنية وخريطة طريق المنتج ونهج التنفيذ.

يمتلك فريقنا مجموعة متنوعة من الخلفيات في مجال تطوير البرمجيات والتكنولوجيا المالية والتأثير الاجتماعي. معًا ، نسعى جاهدين لدعم الجيل التالي من مبادرات المنتجات في MAF.

أتعلم باستمرار من هذه المجموعة الاستثنائية ، الذين يجلبون الخبرة من Google و Stripe و Salesforce والمؤسسات الأخرى الرائعة.

يأتي أعضاء TAC من مجموعة متنوعة من الخلفيات ومتحدون نحو هدف مشترك يتمثل في دعم MAF.

لقد رأيت عن كثب التفكير والتفكير المتعمد اللذين يجلبهما MAF لتطوير المنتج. سواء كنا نناقش بنية مختبر ماف ، اختبار بيتا MyMAF التطبيق ، أو تقديم مدخلات حول عملية إطلاق المنتج ، فإن فريق MAF يؤسس مساهماتنا في أهداف محددة تعزز مهمة المنظمة.

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن مشاركتي في TAC تجعلني أفضل في وظيفتي اليومية. أستثمر في التكنولوجيا الاستهلاكية ، غالبًا في مرحلة مبكرة. في أكثر من مناسبة ، أشرت المؤسسين إلى MAF كمثال على وضع احتياجات المستخدم أولاً. يمكن أن يساعدنا نهج MAF لتحقيق مهمتهم جميعًا في تحديد وتحدي الافتراضات الكامنة وراء تطوير المنتج الشامل.

لقد غيرت MAF حياتي ، حيث استمروا في القيام بذلك لأعضاء مجتمع Bay Area وما بعده.

أنا ممتن للغاية للخدمة في TAC ودعم مهمتهم لتحقيق الاستقرار المالي للملايين الذين يعيشون في الظل المالي. عملاء ماف يتمتعون بالمرونة والثبات والتفاؤل. وكذلك ماف - وهم يلهمونني لأكون كذلك.

نبذة عن الكاتب: عملت كاثرين مع MAF منذ عام 2014 وتشغل الآن منصب الرئيس المشارك للمجلس الاستشاري للتكنولوجيا. وهي مستثمرة في Norwest Venture Partners في سان فرانسيسكو.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

My MAF Journey: Bridging Tech and Financial Inclusion

In celebration of the MAF Lab having hit its one-year mark, we want to recognize the role and work of our Tech Advisory Council in supporting our successes. We’ll be sharing a series of blog posts from TAC members, starting with one from co-chair Kathryn Weinmann.  

Everyone should try cold-calling at some point. Let the likely rejection be a reminder that you’re reaching further than you have before. And it’s a total rush when you actually get through. Five years ago this summer, I reached out to Mission Asset Fund, and I haven’t looked back since.

I had tasted microfinance in college and consulted for big banks thereafter, and increasingly I wanted to help define the next generation of financial services. I looked at loads of fintech companies and nonprofits in the Bay Area, but there was something special about Mission Asset Fund (MAF). They had the values and personal touch of a nonprofit, but their approach to technology was more typical of a hungry startup eager to scale. So I guessed the email of MAF’s founder/CEO José Quiñonez, and by some stroke of luck he was free to meet that afternoon.

In our first meeting, José announced the passage of California SB896, game-changing legislation that acknowledged the importance of credit-building loans and empowered nonprofits to support them. I couldn’t believe it. While many fintech companies were struggling within gray areas of the law, this nonprofit was out changing it.

MAF develops critical tools to help people build empowered financial lives. And the effects are far-reaching.

Their Lending Circles program is distributed through a network of nonprofit partners across the country. Jose’s Hierarchy of Financial Needs helps people of all backgrounds by providing structure around an otherwise nebulous and intimidating topic.

For the past few years, I have had the privilege to serve as co-chair for MAF’s Technology Advisory Council (TAC). MAF is constantly innovating – always seeking to serve their clients and nonprofit partners better. The TAC supports that innovation and serves as a bridge to the startup community. We share our experiences to inform MAF’s tech strategy, product roadmap, and implementation approach.

Our team has a diverse set of backgrounds across software development, fintech, and social impact. Together, we strive to support the next generation of product initiatives at MAF.

I constantly learn from this exceptional group, who bring expertise from Google, Stripe, Salesforce, and other incredible organizations.

TAC members come from a diverse set of backgrounds and are united toward a common goal of supporting MAF.

I have seen firsthand the thoughtfulness and intentionality that MAF brings to product development. Whether we are discussing the structure of the MAF Lab, beta testing the MyMAF app, or providing input on the product launch process, the MAF team grounds our contributions in specific goals that further the mission of the organization.

What’s more, my involvement with the TAC makes me better at my day job. I invest in consumer tech, often at an early stage. On more than one occasion, I have pointed founders to MAF as an example of putting the user’s needs first. MAF’s approach to realizing their mission can help us all identify and challenge the assumptions behind inclusive product development.

MAF changed my life, as they continue to do for members of the Bay Area community and beyond.

I am immensely grateful to serve on the TAC and support their mission to bring financial stability to the millions who live in the financial shadows. MAF’s clients are resilient, tenacious, and optimistic. So is MAF – and they inspire me to be that way, too.

About the author: Kathryn has been working with MAF since 2014 and now serves as Co-Chair of the Technology Advisory Council. She is an investor at Norwest Venture Partners in San Francisco.

MAF Lab Director at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.