تعبئة المجتمعات في العمل

يتمثل أحد الدروس الرئيسية المستفادة من السنوات الـ 14 الماضية في أن تحسين الأمن المالي للأفراد له علاقة بأكثر بكثير من اختياراتهم المالية الشخصية. في معظم الحالات ، يتعلق الأمر بحياتهم المدنية.

إليكم الأمر - يرتبط الأمن المالي ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالرياح السياسية والهياكل الاقتصادية التي تُبقي العديد من الأشخاص الذين نخدمهم في الظل وعلى هوامش المجتمع.

بالنسبة لبعض العملاء ، يتعلق الأمر أيضًا بالعوائق التي يواجهها المهاجرون في هذا البلد عند فتح حساب مصرفي أو طلب أجر عادل. بالنسبة للآخرين ، يتعلق الأمر بالطريقة التي يتم الحكم عليهم بها ومعاملتهم بناءً على مقدار المال الذي لديهم. على أساس يومي ، عبر جميع العملاء ، نرى أن الحقائق السياسية والروايات الثقافية تؤثر على حياتهم المالية بطرق حقيقية ويومية.

لا شيء يجعل هذا أكثر وضوحًا من استجابة الحكومة الفيدرالية لـ COVID-19. هناك الملايين من المهاجرين الذين يدفعون في نظام الضرائب الأمريكي ويساهمون في المجتمعات بطرق مفيدة. ومع ذلك ، تم استبعاد العديد منهم من قانون CARES. هذا مثال رئيسي على فشل الأنظمة السياسية الحالية غير العادلة في إدراك القيمة الجوهرية فينا جميعًا.

ترتكز البرامج والخدمات المباشرة لـ MAF على أعمال التعبئة التي نقودها. بصفتنا مؤمنين منذ زمن طويل بأن المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين هم خبراء في حياتهم الخاصة ومدافعون عنها ، فنحن نستمع إليهم.

إنهم محبطون من الخطاب الوطني الذي ينكر إنسانيتهم بشكل فعال ، ونظام العنصرية المؤسسية الذي يديم دورة الفقر ، وسياسات الهجرة الإقصائية التي تمنع وصول الناس إلى الخدمات والفرص الأساسية التي يستحقونها.

ما يتضح أكثر فأكثر كل يوم هو الحاجة الملحة للتغيير. والناس - الخبراء الحقيقيون - يجب أن يكونوا في مقدمتها ومركزها.

لهذا السبب نعيد إلزام أنفسنا بنهجنا المرتكز على المجتمع من خلال الإضافة المتعمدة التعبئة كمجموعة متنامية من العمل. من خلال القيام بذلك ، سنكرس المزيد من طاقتنا لتصميم أدوات وموارد وحملات قابلة للتنفيذ بشكل مدروس تضع الأشخاص في طليعة التغيير وتحشدهم لاتخاذ إجراءات مدنية.

في أزياء ماف الحقيقية ، ترشدنا قيمنا. نحن نبني على برامجنا وخدماتنا من خلال الحفاظ على المشاركة في صميم عملنا. نحن نسخر قوة المجتمعات من خلال رفع أصواتهم والتجارب الحية كقوة للتغيير. نحن نواصل أيضًا العمل بالتعاون مع دعاة آخرين في جميع أنحاء البلاد يشاركوننا أهدافنا المتمثلة في تمكين المجتمعات من خلال المشاركة المدنية.

ما نعرفه هو أن المجتمعات قوية. ما يجب أن يقولوه مهم والناس هم أفضل دعاة لأنفسهم.

نريد مساعدة الناس على التحدث بصوت عالٍ بشأن القضايا ذات الصلة بحياتهم من خلال تمكينهم من المشاركة على المستوى المدني. وقد بدأ عملنا بالفعل. في الأشهر القليلة الماضية ، قمنا بتصميم واختبار التكنولوجيا مساعدة المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين على المشاركة في التعداد. سنكشف قريبًا عن حملة Get Out The Vote (GOTV) للمساعدة في تسهيل محادثة مستمرة مع العملاء حول كيفية اتخاذ إجراءات بشأن القضايا الأكثر إلحاحًا في حياتهم.

إلى جانب المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين الذين نخدمهم ، تعيد MAF تخيل عالم نحتفي فيه بنقاط قوة الجميع ، وتعاملنا الأنظمة السياسية جميعًا بقدر متساوٍ من الاحترام والكرامة. عالم تتطابق فيه الروايات المهيمنة مع واقعنا ، ويمكننا جميعًا الوصول إلى إمكاناتنا الاقتصادية والمدنية الكاملة.

هناك الكثير من العمل في المستقبل لإنشاء نظام عادل يعترف بالقوة المتأصلة لجميع الناس ويرفعها ويمكّنها. ترقبوا المزيد حول مجموعة أعمالنا المتنامية و انضم إلينا حتى نتمكن معًا من تعبئة المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد نحو المشاركة المدنية.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Mobilizing Communities Into Action

A key lesson from the past 14 years is that improving people’s financial security has to do with much more than their personal financial choices. In most cases, it has everything to do with their civic lives.

Here’s the thing — Financial security is intimately linked with the political winds and economic structures that keep many of the people we serve in the shadows and at the margins of society.

For some clients, it’s also about the barriers immigrants in this country face when opening a bank account or asking for fair pay. For others, it’s about the way they’re judged and treated based on the amount of money they have. On a day to day basis, across all clients, we see that political realities and cultural narratives impact their financial lives in real and everyday ways.

Nothing makes this more evident than the federal government’s response to COVID-19. There are millions of immigrants who pay into the U.S. tax system and contribute to communities in meaningful ways. Yet, many of them were shut out of the CARES Act. This is a prime example of how current unjust political systems fail to recognize the intrinsic value in us all.

MAF’s direct programs and services anchor the mobilization work that we’re leading. As long-time believers that low-income and immigrant communities are the experts in and advocates of their own lives, we’re listening to them.

They’re frustrated with a national discourse that actively denies their humanity, a system of institutional racism that perpetuates a cycle of poverty, and exclusionary immigration policies that block people’s access to essential services and opportunities that they deserve.

What’s become clear more and more every day is the urgent need for change. And people – the true experts – need to be at the front and center of it.

That’s why we’re re-committing ourselves to our community-centered approach by intentionally adding mobilization as a growing body of work. By doing so, we’ll dedicate more of our energy to thoughtfully design actionable tools, resources, and campaigns that place people at the forefront of change and mobilizes them to take civic action.

In true MAF fashion, our values guide us. We’re building on our programs and services by keeping engagement at the heart of our work. We’re harnessing the power of communities by uplifting their voices and lived experiences as a force for change. We’re also continuing to work in collaboration with other advocates across the country who share our goals of empowering communities through civic engagement.

What we know is that communities are powerful. What they have to say matters and people are their best self-advocates.

We want to help people get loud about the issues relevant to their lives by empowering them to become civically engaged. And our work has already begun. In the last few months, we’ve designed and tested technology to help low-income and immigrant communities participate in the census. Soon we’ll be unveiling a Get Out The Vote (GOTV) campaign to help facilitate an ongoing conversation with clients about how they can take action on the issues most pressing to their lives.

Alongside the low-income and immigrant communities we serve, MAF is re-imagining a world where we celebrate everyone’s strengths, and political systems treat us all with an equal amount of respect and dignity. A world where dominant narratives match our realities, and we can all reach our full economic and civic potential.

There’s a lot of work ahead to create an equitable system that recognizes, uplifts and empowers the inherent strength of all people. Stay tuned for more about our growing body of work and join us so that together we can mobilize communities across the country towards civic engagement.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.