动员社区采取行动

过去14年的一个重要教训是,改善人们的财政保障不仅仅与他们的个人财政选择有关。在大多数情况下,它与他们的公民生活息息相关。

事情是这样的--金融安全与政治风向和经济结构密切相关,这些政治风向和经济结构使我们服务的许多人处于社会的阴影和边缘。

对于一些客户来说,这也是关于这个国家的移民在开设银行账户或要求公平报酬时面临的障碍。对其他客户来说,则是关于他们根据自己的钱数而被评判和对待的方式。在日常工作中,在所有客户中,我们看到政治现实和文化叙事以真实和日常的方式影响着他们的金融生活。

没有什么比联邦政府对COVID-19的反应更明显了。有数以百万计的移民向美国的税收系统缴费,并以有意义的方式为社区做出贡献。然而,他们中的许多人却被《CARES法案》拒之门外。这就是一个典型的例子,说明当前不公正的政治制度如何不承认我们所有人的内在价值。

MAF的直接计划和服务是我们领导的动员工作的基础。长期以来,我们相信低收入和移民社区是他们自己生活的专家和代言人,我们正在倾听他们的意见。

他们对积极否定他们人性的国家话语、使贫困循环永久化的体制性种族主义制度以及阻碍人们获得他们应得的基本服务和机会的排斥性移民政策感到沮丧。

越来越清楚的是,每天都有改变的迫切需求。而人--真正的专家--需要站在变革的前沿和中心。

这就是为什么我们要重新承诺以社区为中心的方法,有意增加了 调动 作为一个不断增长的工作体系。通过这样做,我们将把更多的精力用于深思熟虑地设计可操作的工具、资源和活动,使人们站在变革的前沿,并动员他们采取公民行动。

在真正的MAF风格中,我们的价值观引导着我们。我们将参与作为我们工作的核心,以加强我们的项目和服务。我们正在通过提升社区的声音和生活经验来利用社区的力量,使之成为改变的力量。我们还将继续与全国各地的其他倡导者合作,这些倡导者与我们有着共同的目标,即通过公民参与增强社区能力。

我们知道的是,社区是强大的。他们要说的话很重要,人们是他们最好的自我代言人。

我们希望通过增强人们的能力,使他们能够参与到公民活动中来,帮助人们大声谈论与他们生活相关的问题。而我们的工作已经开始了。在过去的几个月里,我们设计并测试了以下技术 帮助低收入和移民社区参加人口普查。.很快,我们将推出 "走出投票"(GOTV)活动,以帮助促进与客户的持续对话,了解他们如何就其生活中最紧迫的问题采取行动。

与我们所服务的低收入和移民社区一起,MAF正在重新想象一个我们赞美每个人的力量,政治制度以平等的尊重和尊严对待我们所有人的世界。在这个世界里,主流的说法与我们的现实相吻合,我们都能充分发挥我们的经济和公民潜力。

要建立一个承认、提升和增强所有人内在力量的公平制度,还有很多工作要做。 请继续关注我们不断增长的作品和更多的信息。 加入我们的行列,这样我们就可以一起动员全国各地的社区进行公民参与。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Mobilizing Communities Into Action

A key lesson from the past 14 years is that improving people’s financial security has to do with much more than their personal financial choices. In most cases, it has everything to do with their civic lives.

Here’s the thing — Financial security is intimately linked with the political winds and economic structures that keep many of the people we serve in the shadows and at the margins of society.

For some clients, it’s also about the barriers immigrants in this country face when opening a bank account or asking for fair pay. For others, it’s about the way they’re judged and treated based on the amount of money they have. On a day to day basis, across all clients, we see that political realities and cultural narratives impact their financial lives in real and everyday ways.

Nothing makes this more evident than the federal government’s response to COVID-19. There are millions of immigrants who pay into the U.S. tax system and contribute to communities in meaningful ways. Yet, many of them were shut out of the CARES Act. This is a prime example of how current unjust political systems fail to recognize the intrinsic value in us all.

MAF’s direct programs and services anchor the mobilization work that we’re leading. As long-time believers that low-income and immigrant communities are the experts in and advocates of their own lives, we’re listening to them.

They’re frustrated with a national discourse that actively denies their humanity, a system of institutional racism that perpetuates a cycle of poverty, and exclusionary immigration policies that block people’s access to essential services and opportunities that they deserve.

What’s become clear more and more every day is the urgent need for change. And people – the true experts – need to be at the front and center of it.

That’s why we’re re-committing ourselves to our community-centered approach by intentionally adding mobilization as a growing body of work. By doing so, we’ll dedicate more of our energy to thoughtfully design actionable tools, resources, and campaigns that place people at the forefront of change and mobilizes them to take civic action.

In true MAF fashion, our values guide us. We’re building on our programs and services by keeping engagement at the heart of our work. We’re harnessing the power of communities by uplifting their voices and lived experiences as a force for change. We’re also continuing to work in collaboration with other advocates across the country who share our goals of empowering communities through civic engagement.

What we know is that communities are powerful. What they have to say matters and people are their best self-advocates.

We want to help people get loud about the issues relevant to their lives by empowering them to become civically engaged. And our work has already begun. In the last few months, we’ve designed and tested technology to help low-income and immigrant communities participate in the census. Soon we’ll be unveiling a Get Out The Vote (GOTV) campaign to help facilitate an ongoing conversation with clients about how they can take action on the issues most pressing to their lives.

Alongside the low-income and immigrant communities we serve, MAF is re-imagining a world where we celebrate everyone’s strengths, and political systems treat us all with an equal amount of respect and dignity. A world where dominant narratives match our realities, and we can all reach our full economic and civic potential.

There’s a lot of work ahead to create an equitable system that recognizes, uplifts and empowers the inherent strength of all people. Stay tuned for more about our growing body of work and join us so that together we can mobilize communities across the country towards civic engagement.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.