小盘子,大心脏


了解 MAF 的小额贷款如何将小板块变成大企业

在中间 La Cocina在Mission区的大厨房,一个小女人像天鹅一样优雅精准地移动着。

她像微风一样在热气腾腾的盘子、沸腾的锅和煨锅之间滑行,在梦幻般的模糊中嗅觉、品尝和调味一切。她周围是另外三个女人,她们都像训练有素的舞团一样周到而同步。每个女人都在一个由锅碗瓢盆组成的管弦乐队指挥一首任务交响曲。

当我们进入厨房并要求瓜达卢佩时,我和 Ximena 感觉像是闯入者。但是,没有错过任何一个节拍,这个胖女人在锅里撒了一点盐,然后带着自豪的笑容走到我们面前。 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

“啊”,她说,“我们上周想你了。”

Ximena 和我为没能去拜访她而道歉 埃尔皮皮拉 帐篷在 离网,旧金山的最佳美食中心。

“没关系,”她说,轻轻挥动她的手。

“我太忙了,几乎不能和任何人说话!”她笑着说。对于瓜达卢佩来说,生活并不总是像今天这样美好。

当瓜达卢佩在墨西哥的一个小城市阿坎巴罗还是个孩子时,她有一个充满爱的大家庭。

她的父亲和其他许多人一样,不得不离开他们,作为一名无证工人前往美国养家糊口。他会向她的母亲支付他所能支付的任何报酬,以便她可以照顾孩子。由于他的身份,他无法与他们一起探访,并且不得不在瓜达卢佩童年的大部分时间里与他们分开。 1986 年,她的父亲以无证身份获得大赦,2004 年,他终于成为公民。不幸的是,瓜达卢佩和她的兄弟姐妹无法自己获得公民身份,因为他们现在已经超过 18 岁。

像她的父亲一样,瓜达卢佩最终为了美国提供的机会而离开了她的两个女儿。当她回忆起不得不和女儿们说再见时,泪水开始涌上她的眼眶。她记得她不得不离开她的小女儿的那一刻,她是如何知道她永远不会看到她们长大、上学或参加她们的第一场舞会。

她迅速镇定下来,然后转身指向身后正在做饭的一名女性。

“那是我的女儿之一”,她自豪地说。这个女人给了我们和瓜达卢佩一样的灿烂笑容。她的女儿不仅是另一位厨师,还是企业的合作伙伴。

和瓜达卢佩一起在厨房里的其他女人是她的母亲,她是来看她女儿创办的公司的。瓜达卢佩的女儿也在那里,与她的母亲一起工作。三代女性,共同打造基于文化传统和家乡风味的企业。

瓜达卢佩建造 她的生意,El Pipila,从头开始。她几乎从事过餐饮业的所有工作,直到有一天她的朋友艾丽西亚告诉她,“你应该开一家餐馆。”从那里,她在 Mission Asset Fund 建立了自己的信用和财务,经历了 La Cocina 的孵化器计划,并获得了 MAF 的一笔小额贷款。当她开始她的事业时,只有她。现在,她以一种或另一种方式雇用她的整个家庭。

为瓜达卢佩做饭一直是家庭事务,今天也不例外。瓜达卢佩 (Guadalupe) 在谈到她和她的母亲将如何从头开始制作最美味的玉米饼时,时常陷入沉思。

她深情地记得和她的兄弟姐妹和母亲在厨房里度过的所有时光。每个孩子都有特定的职责,并且在完成它时总是非常小心。对他们来说,食物不仅仅是食物,更是对家人的爱变得有形和美味。

凭借 MAF 的一项小额贷款,瓜达卢佩能够购买设备并部分支付她蓬勃发展的餐饮业务的面包车费用。她小心地告诉我们,尽管她现在做得很好,但当她开始时,她认为她的餐饮业务永远不会成功。她的食物并没有立即流行起来,所以她必须非常耐心。她花了几个月的时间,但人们开始来到她的展位,要求她参加活动和晚宴。

她现在梦想着有一天能有一个小食品摊,一个家庭可以来的实体店。当我们问她为什么要这样做时,她回头看着女儿说:“我这样做是为了她和她的妹妹。我想确保他们中的任何一个都不必为除自己以外的任何人工作”。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Little Plates, Big Heart


Find out how MAF’s microloans can turn little plates into big business

In the middle of La Cocina’s large kitchen in the Mission District, a small woman moved with the graceful precision of a swan.

Gliding between steaming trays, boiling pots, and simmering pans like a gentle breeze, she smelled, tasted, and seasoned everything in a dreamlike blur. Around her were three other women, all moving with the thoughtful synchronicity of a well trained dance crew. Each woman was conducting a symphony of tasks over an orchestra of pots and pans.

Ximena and I felt like interlopers when we entered into the kitchen and asked for Guadalupe. But without missing a beat, the stout woman sprinkled a little salt into a pan and walked over to us beaming with pride.

“Ah”, she said “we missed you last week.”

Ximena and I apologized for not being able to visit her at the El Pipila tent at Off The Grid, San Francisco’s hub for the best food the city has to offer.

“It’s OK,” she said, waving her hand gently.

“I was so busy, I could barely talk to anyone!” she said with a giggle. For Guadalupe, life was not always as good as it was today.

When Guadalupe was a child in Acambaro, a small city in Mexico, she had a large loving family.

Her father, like many others, had to leave them and travel to the United States as an undocumented worker to support his family. He would send whatever pay he could to her mother so that she could take care of the children. Because of his status, he couldn’t visit with them, and had to stay separated from them for a better part of Guadalupe’s childhood. In 1986, her father received amnesty as an undocumented person, and in 2004, he finally became a citizen. Unfortunately, Guadalupe and her siblings were unable to get citizenship themselves, as they were now older than 18.

Like her father,Guadalupe ended up leaving her two daughters behind for the opportunities that the U.S. provided. As she recounts having to say goodbye to her daughters, tears begin to well up in her eyes. She remembers the moment she had to leave her little girls, how she knew she would never see them grow up, go to school, or attend their first dance.

She quickly composes herself, then turns around and points to one of the women cooking behind her.

“That’s one of my daughters”, she says proudly. The woman gives us the same beaming smile as Guadalupe. Her daughter is not just another chef, but a partner in the business.

The other women in the kitchen with Guadalupe was her mother, who had come to see the business her daughter had built. Guadalupe’s daughter was there as well, working alongside her mother. Three generations of women, together, building a business based upon cultural traditions and hometown flavors.

Guadalupe built her business, El Pipila, from the ground up. She worked almost every job possible in the restaurant business, until one day her friend Alicia told her, “You should just open a restaurant.” From there she built her credit and finances at Mission Asset Fund, went through La Cocina’s incubator program, and received one of MAF’s microloans. When she started her business it was just her. Now, she employs her whole family in one way or another.

Cooking for Guadalupe has always been a family affair, and today was no different. Guadalupe drifts in and out of thought as she talked about how she and her mother would make the tastiest tortillas from scratch and now, she and her daughters do the same.

She fondly remembers all the time spent with her siblings and mother in the kitchen. Each child had a specific duty and would always take the utmost care in completing it. For them food wasn’t just sustenance, it was the love of family made tangible and delicious.

With one of MAF’s microloans, Guadalupe was able to buy equipment and partially pay for a van for her thriving catering business. She is careful to tell us that even though she is doing well now, when she started she thought her catering business would never make it. Her food didn’t immediately catch on so she had to be very patient. It took her a few months, but people started coming to her booth and requesting her for events and dinner parties.

She now dreams of one day having a small food stand, a brick and mortar location that families can come to. When we asked why she is doing this, she looks back at her daughter and says, “I am doing this for her and her sister. I want to make sure that neither of them has to work for anyone but themselves”.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.