جعل حياتنا مهمة في التعداد #2020

قالت زميلتي في المنزل بين استخدام المناديل في أنفها ودموعها: "نعم ،". "لقد تم تسريحي مع جميع الموظفين في البار اليوم. لا أعرف ماذا سأفعل ".

بقدر ما أردت أن أكون حاضرًا لهذه المحادثة ، لم أستطع التوقف عن التحقق من هاتفي. استحوذت على قشعريرة ، وكمة جليدية في القناة الهضمية ، بينما كنت أشاهد مدخرات التقاعد الخاصة بي تنخفض من متواضعة إلى أشلاء ، حيث لم يكن بوسعي فعل أي شيء سوى النظر.

إن الرعب المتمثل في رؤية اقتصاداتنا المحلية والبنية التحتية العالمية تنهار في نفس الوقت ، بالنسبة للكثيرين منا ، أمر مبالغ فيه.

عندما ننظر إلى الشرق الذي يضرب به المثل تجاه قادتنا المنتخبين ، فالمساعدات بطيئة. حتى كتابة هذه السطور ، يخوض الكونجرس معركة حزبية حول حزمة تحفيز تبلغ $2 تريليون والتي قد تكون أداة إزالة الرجفان اللازمة لإنعاش القلب النازف لاقتصادنا الوطني. حتى لو تم تجاوزه ، فنحن نعرف بالفعل من سيكون آخر من يتعافى.

ستتلقى المجتمعات المهمشة وعائلات المهاجرين الذين يعملون بجد والتي نخدمها كل يوم في MAF ، في أحسن الأحوال ، بنسات مقابل كل دولار مطلوب لأنهم غير مرئيين. يلعب الإحصاء دورًا مركزيًا في تسجيلهم رسميًا غير موجود نظرًا لأن المهاجرين اعتُبروا من بين السكان "الذين يصعب حصرهم" لعقود. هذا يعني أن كل تدبير تمويل حكومي لسنوات ، بدءًا من وجبات الغداء المدرسية وحتى فحوصات تحفيز COVID-19 (المحتملة) ، تم ضمانها لتكون غير كافية لأولئك الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إليها.

من المتوقع أن يؤدي تعداد 2020 إلى تفاقم هذا الأمر أكثر. يعمل البيت الأبيض بنشاط على زرع بذور الخوف من خلال سياسات عنيفة مثل غارات ICE وعسكرة المجتمع الحدودي والمحاولة الأخيرة الفاشلة لإضافة سؤال حول الهجرة. يخاف الناس من أي طرق على الباب الأمامي للدمار الذي يمكن أن يسببه لحياتهم. أضف إلى هذا الواقع وباء COVID-19 الحالي وتتحول الصورة إلى عدة نغمات أكثر قتامة.

في ماف ، نبذل قصارى جهدنا للتقدم. على الفور ، نقدم عدة ملايين من الدولارات من الدعم الطارئ من خلال صندوق الإغاثة السريعة لدينا للمحتاجين. على المدى الطويل ، نحن نكافح من أجل أن تذهب حزمة المساعدة الحكومية التالية البالغة تريليون دولار ، إذا كانت هناك واحدة في العقد التالي ، لملء الأيدي اليمنى. يحتاج الإجراء السريع إلى تغيير هيكلي في ترادف ، إذا كان سيستمر. بالنسبة لنا ، التعداد هو فرصتنا لإحداث فرق يتجاوز الحياة اليومية.

هدفنا هو ضمان احتساب 100% من عملائنا.

للقيام بذلك ، دخلنا في شراكة مع استوديو التكنولوجيا ، super {set} ، لبناء أداة يمكن أن تساعدنا في التواصل مع المزيد من عملائنا ، بشكل أسرع وأكثر ذكاءً. لقد استفدنا من الأتمتة والتحليلات لنكون قادرين على تأكيد مشاركة جميع عملائنا الذين يزيد عددهم عن 3000 عميل في اللحظة المدنية التي تشكل كل جانب من جوانب حياتنا. لقد تعلمنا أفضل الممارسات في المراسلة مع تحالفنا الأولي من الشركاء الموثوق بهم الذين يتفاعلون مع مجتمعاتهم الخاصة من العملاء باستخدام أداتنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني والرسائل النصية القصيرة والهاتف.

مسلحين بهذه الأصول ، نواصل التحرك بسرعة لضمان أن كل مهاجر محسوب ويعرف أنه ينتمي. لا يمكننا أن نفعل ذلك بمفردنا. توجد كل منظمة غير ربحية داخل عالم التأثير الخاص بها ، ويمكننا ، معًا فقط ، تغطية اللحاف المرقع الذي يمثل التنوع الحيوي لأمتنا.

نحن نعيش في لحظة تاريخية ويمكننا جميعًا أن نفعل أكثر من مجرد إلقاء نظرة عليها. إذا كانت المجتمعات التي نخدمها ستظهر ليس فقط مستعدة للبقاء ، ولكن للازدهار ، فيجب علينا.

دعونا نجعل حياتنا مهمة.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Making Our Lives Count In The #2020Census

“So yeah,” my housemate said between using napkins for her nose and her tears. “I got laid off with the entire staff at the bar today. I don’t know what I’m going to do.”

As much as I wanted to be present for this conversation, I couldn’t stop checking my phone. A chill gripped me, an ice-punch to the gut, as I watched my retirement savings plummet from modest to shreds, as I could do nothing but look on.

The terror of seeing our local economies and global infrastructure collapsing at the same time is, for many of us, all too much.

When we look to the proverbial East toward our elected leaders, aid is slow to come. As of this writing, Congress is locked in a partisan fight over a $2 trillion stimulus package that may very well be the defibrillator needed to resuscitate the bleeding heart of our national economy. Even if it does manage to get passed, though, we already know who will be the last to recover.

The marginalized communities and hard-working immigrant families that we serve every day at MAF will receive, at best, pennies for each dollar needed because they are invisible. The census plays a central role in officially registering them nonexistent given that immigrants have been deemed among the “hard-to-count” populations for decades. This means that every government funding measure for years, from school lunches to (potential) COVID-19 stimulus checks have been guaranteed to be inadequate for those who needed it most.

The 2020 census is expected to exacerbate this even further. The White House has been actively sowing the seeds of fear through violent policies like ICE raids, border community militarization, and the recent, failed attempt to add an immigration question. People are frightened by any knock on the front door for the devastation it could bring to their lives. Add to this reality the current COVID-19 epidemic and the picture turns several tones grimmer.

At MAF, we are doing what we can to step up. In the immediate, we are delivering several million dollars of emergency support through our Rapid Relief Fund to those in need. In the long-term, we are fighting so that the next trillion-dollar government aid package, if there is one in the following decade, goes to fill the right hands. Quick action needs structural change in tandem, if it’s to last. For us, the census is our chance to make a difference beyond the day-to-day.

Our goal is to ensure that 100% of our clients are counted.

To do this, we’ve partnered with a technology studio, super{set}, to build a tool that can help us communicate with more of our clients, faster and smarter. We’ve leveraged automation and analytics to be able to confirm that all of our 3,000+ clients participate in the civic moment that shapes every aspect of our lives. We’ve learned best practices on messaging with our initial coalition of trusted partners who are engaging their own communities of clients with our tool across email, SMS and phone.

Armed with these assets, we’re continuing to move fast in ensuring that every immigrant is counted and knows they belong. We can’t do it alone. Each non-profit organization exists within its own world of influence and, only together, can we cover the patchwork quilt that is the vibrant diversity of our nation.

We are living in an historical moment and can all do more than simply look on. If the communities we serve are to emerge not just ready to survive, but to thrive, we must.

Let’s make our lives count.

Tomás Quiñonez
Campaign Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.