在#2020人口普查中,让我们的生活更有价值

"原来是这样啊。"我的舍友在用餐巾纸擦鼻涕和眼泪的间隙说。"我今天和酒吧的全体员工一起下岗了。我不知道自己该怎么办。"

虽然我很想在现场参加这次谈话,但我无法停止查看手机。一股寒意笼罩着我,如冰块打在肠胃上,我眼睁睁地看着我的退休储蓄从不多的地方暴跌到碎屑,我只能眼睁睁地看着。

对我们许多人来说,看到我们的地方经济和全球基础设施同时崩溃的恐怖感实在太强烈了。

当我们从众所周知的东方看向我们当选的领导人时,援助却迟迟没有到来。在写这篇文章的时候 国会正陷入党派之争 争夺一个$2万亿的经济刺激计划 这很可能是复苏我们国家经济流血的心脏所需的除颤器。即使它确实设法获得通过,不过,我们已经知道谁将是最后一个复苏的人。

我们每天在MAF服务的边缘化社区和辛勤工作的移民家庭,充其量只能得到所需的每一分钱,因为他们是看不见的。鉴于几十年来移民一直被认为是 "难以统计 "的人群之一,人口普查在正式登记他们不存在方面起着核心作用。这意味着多年来政府的每一项资金措施,从学校午餐到(潜在的)COVID-19刺激支票,都保证不足以满足那些最需要的人。

2020年的人口普查预计将进一步加剧这种情况。白宫一直在通过ICE突袭、边境社区军事化等暴力政策,以及最近试图增加移民问题的失败,积极播撒恐惧的种子。人们被任何敲门声吓坏了,因为它可能给他们的生活带来破坏。再加上目前的COVID-19流行病,这一现实使情况变得更加严峻。

在MAF,我们正在尽我们所能挺身而出。在眼前,我们正在通过我们的快速救济基金向那些需要帮助的人提供几百万美元的紧急支持。从长远来看,我们正在努力使下一个万亿美元的政府援助计划(如果未来十年有的话)能够落到正确的人手中。迅速的行动需要结构性的改变,如果它是持久的。对我们来说,人口普查是我们在日常工作之外有所作为的机会。

我们的目标是确保100%的客户都被计算在内。

为此,我们与技术工作室super{set}合作,打造了一款工具,帮助我们更快、更智能地与更多客户沟通。我们利用自动化和分析技术,能够确认我们3,000多名客户都参与了影响我们生活方方面面的公民时刻。我们已经与我们最初的值得信赖的合作伙伴联盟学习了关于信息传递的最佳实践,这些合作伙伴正在利用我们的工具通过电子邮件、短信和电话与他们自己的客户社区互动。

有了这些资产,我们正在继续快速行动,以确保每一个移民都被计算在内,并知道他们的归属。我们无法单独做到这一点。每个非营利组织都存在于自己的影响范围内,只有团结起来,我们才能盖好我们国家充满活力的多样性的拼布被子。

我们正生活在一个历史性的时刻,我们都可以做得更多,而不仅仅是袖手旁观。如果我们所服务的社区不仅要准备好生存,而且要茁壮成长,我们必须:

让我们让我们的生活变得更有意义。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Making Our Lives Count In The #2020Census

“So yeah,” my housemate said between using napkins for her nose and her tears. “I got laid off with the entire staff at the bar today. I don’t know what I’m going to do.”

As much as I wanted to be present for this conversation, I couldn’t stop checking my phone. A chill gripped me, an ice-punch to the gut, as I watched my retirement savings plummet from modest to shreds, as I could do nothing but look on.

The terror of seeing our local economies and global infrastructure collapsing at the same time is, for many of us, all too much.

When we look to the proverbial East toward our elected leaders, aid is slow to come. As of this writing, Congress is locked in a partisan fight over a $2 trillion stimulus package that may very well be the defibrillator needed to resuscitate the bleeding heart of our national economy. Even if it does manage to get passed, though, we already know who will be the last to recover.

The marginalized communities and hard-working immigrant families that we serve every day at MAF will receive, at best, pennies for each dollar needed because they are invisible. The census plays a central role in officially registering them nonexistent given that immigrants have been deemed among the “hard-to-count” populations for decades. This means that every government funding measure for years, from school lunches to (potential) COVID-19 stimulus checks have been guaranteed to be inadequate for those who needed it most.

The 2020 census is expected to exacerbate this even further. The White House has been actively sowing the seeds of fear through violent policies like ICE raids, border community militarization, and the recent, failed attempt to add an immigration question. People are frightened by any knock on the front door for the devastation it could bring to their lives. Add to this reality the current COVID-19 epidemic and the picture turns several tones grimmer.

At MAF, we are doing what we can to step up. In the immediate, we are delivering several million dollars of emergency support through our Rapid Relief Fund to those in need. In the long-term, we are fighting so that the next trillion-dollar government aid package, if there is one in the following decade, goes to fill the right hands. Quick action needs structural change in tandem, if it’s to last. For us, the census is our chance to make a difference beyond the day-to-day.

Our goal is to ensure that 100% of our clients are counted.

To do this, we’ve partnered with a technology studio, super{set}, to build a tool that can help us communicate with more of our clients, faster and smarter. We’ve leveraged automation and analytics to be able to confirm that all of our 3,000+ clients participate in the civic moment that shapes every aspect of our lives. We’ve learned best practices on messaging with our initial coalition of trusted partners who are engaging their own communities of clients with our tool across email, SMS and phone.

Armed with these assets, we’re continuing to move fast in ensuring that every immigrant is counted and knows they belong. We can’t do it alone. Each non-profit organization exists within its own world of influence and, only together, can we cover the patchwork quilt that is the vibrant diversity of our nation.

We are living in an historical moment and can all do more than simply look on. If the communities we serve are to emerge not just ready to survive, but to thrive, we must.

Let’s make our lives count.

Tomás Quiñonez
Campaign Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.