ظهور ماف في لوس أنجلوس


ماف يمهد الطريق لمستقبل الإقراض الاجتماعي

بدأت العمل مؤخرًا في MAF وقبل أن أصل إلى الباب ، سألتني دانييلا ، مديرة العمليات لدينا ، عما إذا كنت أرغب في حضور مؤتمر في لوس أنجلوس. كان جوابي مؤكدًا بنعم! لقد زرت لوس أنجلوس مرة واحدة فقط ، لذلك كنت أتطلع إلى معرفة المزيد عن عمل ماف في مجتمعات لوس أنجلوس والمدينة العظيمة. قبل أن أعرف ما كان يجري ، كنت أنا وزملائي موهان ونسيمة غائمتين وكانوا في رحلة ركاب للحضور يظهر، وهو مؤتمر نظمته مركز ابتكار الخدمات المالية.

الهدف من مؤتمر EMERGE هو التركيز على كيفية وصول صناعة الخدمات المالية إلى الأفراد ذوي الدخل المنخفض إلى المتوسط.

نظرًا لأن MAF تركز على منتجات وبرامج القروض الاجتماعية المبتكرة في المجتمعات غير المرئية للنظام المالي السائد ، كان من الطبيعي أن نحضر ونكون مستعدين لتقديم ابتكاراتنا إلى طاولة المفاوضات. أنا شخصياً أردت أن أحصل على لمحة عما يدور حوله هذا القطاع من صناعة الخدمات المالية والتأثير الذي كان يحدثه.

كان الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة MAF ، خوسيه كوينونيز ، أ مكبر صوت لوحة للجلسة الأولى قبل المؤتمر ، "كتاب تمهيدي عن التحديات المالية الاستهلاكية والسوق المحرومة". الاستماع إلى نهج الصناعة للابتكار (المزيد من وصول الأجهزة المحمولة إلى المنتجات المالية القائمة على الرسوم ، والمزيد من الابتكار مع البطاقات مسبقة الدفع ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر).

لقد أصبح واضحًا بالنسبة لي (وقد أكون متحيزًا قليلاً) أن MAF لديها وجهة نظر فريدة ومبتكرة للغاية بشأن المستهلكين الذين تتم مناقشتهم وعلى توفير الوصول إلى سوق مالي عادل وبأسعار معقولة.

لقد وجدت جلستين مثيرتين للاهتمام بشكل خاص. الأول كان البيانات التحليل والمراجعة بواسطة LexisNexis على ديناميات السكان المستهلك الذي يعاني من نقص البنوك بعد الركود. تمت مشاركة الكثير من البيانات (الملكية!) ، لكن قطعة واحدة صدمتني حقًا: بالنسبة إلى صحتهم المالية قبل ركود عام 2008 ، كان الأشخاص الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 30 عامًا لا يزالون في وضع أسوأ بكثير من أولئك الذين يبلغون من العمر 31 عامًا وأكثر. أمم…

المؤتمر الجلسة النهائية كان عرضًا تقديميًا على يوميات مالية أمريكية مشروع البحث. وجد البحث الأولي ، من بين أمور أخرى ، أن الأشخاص ذوي الدخل المنخفض إلى المتوسط يميلون إلى إقراض واقتراض الأموال لبعضهم البعض كبديل للأسواق المالية التقليدية. لماذا فعلت ماف! في الواقع ، تمت الإشارة إلى MAF عدة مرات في العرض التقديمي على أنها قوة دافعة للابتكار والحجم في هذا المجال.

بالنسبة لي ، كانت اللحظة الأساسية عندما أخبرتني شريحة أثناء العرض التقديمي عن قصة هذه المجتمعات وكيف كانت MAF في طليعة المنحنى لسنوات.

لقد كان أسبوعًا رائعًا للمؤتمر ، وانتهى بتناول وجبة زوبعة (لكن معتدلة جدًا) مع عدد قليل الحلفاء & شركاء  في لوس انجليس لكوستا، مع بعض الأشخاص الرائعين وأكشاك الجلود الرائعة. شكرا لوس انجليس على رحلة رائعة!

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

MAF’s Emerging in LA


MAF is setting the stage for the future of Social Lending

I recently started working at MAF and before I got in the door, Daniela, our COO, asked me if I wanted to attend a conference in LA. My reply was an emphatic yes! I’d only been to L.A once, so I looked forward to learning more about MAF’s work in L.A. communities and the great city. Before I knew what was going on, my colleagues, Mohan, Nesima and I were bleary eyed and on a commuter flight to attend EMERGE, a conference organized by the Center for Financial Services Innovation.

The goal of the EMERGE conference is to focus on how the financial services industry can reach low to moderate income individuals.

Since MAF focuses its innovative social loan products and programs in communities that are invisible to the mainstream financial system, it was natural for us to attend and be ready to bring our innovations to the table. Personally, I wanted to get a glimpse of what this sector of the financial services industry was all about and the impact it was making.

MAF’s own CEO, Jose Quinonez, was a panel speaker for the first pre-conference session, “A Primer on Consumer Financial Challenges and the Underserved Market.” Hearing about the industry’s approach to innovation (more mobile access to fee based financial products, more innovation with pre-paid cards, to name two).

It became clear to me (and I may be a little partial) that MAF had a highly unique and innovative take on both the consumers being discussed and on providing access to an affordable, fair financial marketplace.

I found two sessions particularly interesting. The first was a data analysis and review by LexisNexis on the population dynamics of the underbanked consumer after the recession. Lots of (propriatary!) data was shared, but one piece really struck me: relative to their financial health before the 2008 recession, the underbanked under 30 years of age were still much worse off than those 31 and over. Hmmm…

The conference’s final session was a presentation on the U.S. Financial Diaries research project. The preliminary research found, amongst other things, that folks that were low to moderate income tended to lend and borrowed money to each other as an alternative to conventional financial markets.Who knew? Why, MAF did! In fact, MAF was referenced several times in the presentation as being a driving force of innovation and scale in this area.

For me, the key moment was when a slide during the presentation told me the story of these communities and how MAF’s been ahead of the curve for years.

It was a great conference week, finishing with a whirlwind (but very moderate) meal with a few allies & partners  at La Costa, with some great people and awesome leather booths. Thanks, L.A., for a great trip!

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.