与❤️,从。妈妈、查鲁、妈妈、마、哈朱尔玛。


从生意兴隆的巧克力香蕉到辣味十足的泡菜,字面意思是 "我爱你"。

在MAF,我们一直在寻找一个分享故事的借口。为了庆祝2017年的妈妈节,几位MAF的员工和。 Lending Circles 客户向我们讲述了他们的妈妈、外婆和选择的母亲,以及是什么让他们如此特别。

她是我励志的榜样,她的坚韧不拔。

Charu又名 "妈妈"(芝加哥,伊利诺伊州)

除了她是我认识的最光彩照人的女人之外,她还很搞笑,尤其是当她感觉到... #nofilter。 我们一起看宝莱坞电影的时候,她的解说是最好的。

我也很佩服她的创造力和她不断学习和尝试新事物的动力。除了作为我的母亲,她还在芝加哥的后备箱展览和手工艺品博览会上销售她的手工珠宝,她还教授、表演和用她的印度古典音乐演唱来取悦她的家人。

$$课件。 她教会了我财务独立的重要性。因此,我努力明智地消费,持续储蓄,并负责任地管理债务。

- SAMHITA, 合作伙伴成功经理

我10年前失去了母亲,雷娜挺身而出。

雷纳又名 "妈妈"(旧金山,加利福尼亚州)

雷娜是我最好的朋友的母亲,但从我见到她的那一刻起,我就感受到了她非常的母爱。她很搞笑,很勤奋,52岁的她有一种几乎跟不上的干劲!她告诉我,"无论你需要什么,我都在这里"。她做到了,而且还不止。

$$课件。 永不放弃。25年前,Reyna作为一个移民来到这个国家时,也曾挣扎过。我也经历了类似的移民斗争,但多亏了她早期的指导和她无条件的爱和支持,我才得以坚持下来。她甚至告诉我她曾经参加过一个传统的借贷圈子(在我发现MAF之前很久!),她鼓励我加入。这帮我省下了移民过程中的所有费用。

- SHWETA: Lending Circles客户,成员咨询委员会

她是我认识的最无私的人。

艾琳又名 "妈妈 "或 "Reeny"(纽约长岛)

她是一个深沉而自然大方的人。我总是开玩笑说,她在晚餐时从不坐下来,因为她要确保其他人都有他们需要的东西。她教会了我在事情不按计划进行时找到幽默感和一线希望。这一点在我们筹划婚礼的时候尤其适用。

$$课件。 她自己的母亲在她19岁的时候就去世了,所以我的妈妈不得不在必要的情况下学习如何为未来储蓄,如何明智地消费,如何伸展美元。她从小就给我灌输了有意识消费的价值。有时候,如果你预计会保留很长时间的东西,那么多付一点钱是值得的。不要被那些短期内价格低廉的东西所诱惑--那往往是在浪费钱。

ALYSSA: 合作伙伴成功经理

她一直很勤奋,值得信赖。现在,她有信用分数来证明这一点。

西莉亚 (旧金山,加利福尼亚州)

哦,我的母亲是如此的特别!她是我的灵感,我的榜样。她是我的灵感,我的榜样。她是快乐的,也是勇敢的。无论面对怎样的生活障碍,她都无所畏惧,面带微笑。

$$课件。 她是一个天生的领导者,人们纷纷向她寻求建议。人们会带着钱的问题来找她。她在社区里创建了许多借贷圈,帮助人们集中资源,建立储蓄。虽然我的母亲一直是一个专注的储蓄者,但她没有机会建立信用记录。我很高兴能把她介绍给MAF。在参加了几次MAF的Lending Circles之后,她已经为自己建立了一个漂亮的信用分数!

PATRICIA, Lending Circles客户,成员咨询委员会

她是一个战士。

安娜又名 "妈妈"(旧金山,加利福尼亚州)

我妈妈?她独自抚养三个女儿她克服了巨大的障碍,让我们有饭吃,有房住。

$$课件。 当我大约十岁的时候,在我们从萨尔瓦多搬到美国之前,我的妈妈帮助我的妹妹和我在家里做了一个小生意。我们提供两种截然不同的服务:复印(我们投资了一台打印机)和巧克力香蕉(官方名称:chocobanas)。我们甚至不需要做广告--人们只需要做广告就可以了。 知道 来找我们解决他们的印刷和巧克力香蕉需求。而我们也从这次创业中学到了一些非常宝贵的经验,最重要的是。1)努力工作;2)尽量不要吃光库存中的可可香蕉。这些教训至今仍在指导着我。

KARLA客户成功经理

她是家乡印度奥里萨邦最早进入医学院学习的女性之一。

Sarat又名 "妈妈"(印度奥迪沙)

我的外婆有很多让我敬佩的地方:她的志向、智慧、热情和幽默,等等。在我的一生中,她也给了我许多礼物。我的祖母一直是我的瑜伽师。多亏了她,我才发展了自己的瑜伽练习,甚至在我生命中的不同点教过瑜伽。另一个让我珍惜的礼物是:她的故事。她的信,以前是手写的,最近几年是通过电子邮件传递的,简直是最好的。

$$课件。 我的祖母教会了我储蓄和节俭的重要性。她会知道的。正是她的卢比夹子和家务劳动确保了她的子孙的机会。她向我灌输了一种价值观,即能够在经济上自立的重要性。

MOHAN计划和参与主任

我的마 / umma是我的#1 bae。

英基,又名ꡒꡓ(纽约皇后区)。

她是自己的那种 "虎妈"。她从来没有给我和弟弟施加压力,让我们直接拿A,而是去寻找和追求自己的激情。她是一个激烈的梦想家,她来到纽约时,不知道自己会发生什么。我绝对继承了这种理想主义和叛逆精神。我也继承了她对食物的热爱。在成长过程中,我们并不总是能用韩语或英语进行太好的交流。我了解到,一口辛辣的泡菜可以从字面上表示 "我爱你"。

$$课件。 我妈妈告诉我承担风险的重要性。她从来没有把钱看作是一个最终目标,而是始终把钱看作是实现更多目标的手段。是她推动我爸爸拥有了我们的杂货店生意,购买了我们的第一套住房,并投资于我弟弟和我的大学教育。她的理财理念指导和激励着我。

JAY人文、趣味和文化协调员

她散发着快乐、温暖和爱。

尼尔萨。 又名 "妈妈"(任务区,旧金山)

我妈妈是我认识的最强大的女人。我尊敬她,我所做的一切都让她感到骄傲。我感到非常幸运和荣幸,她是把我养育成今天的我的女人。这些年来,她给了我很多礼物:极好的拥抱,睿智而富有同情心的建议,以及对音乐和萨尔萨舞的热爱。

$$课件。 我的妈妈教了我很多重要的财务知识,让我省钱又省心,我也一定要把这些知识传给自己的孩子。而这些教训不仅仅是关于钱的。它们是关于生活的:无论你有多少钱,赚多少钱,都要持续储蓄,合理理财。专注于按时支付账单和房租,以后再担心想要的东西。

DORIS, 客户成功经理

她是我的 "五星 "之一,是我生命中最有影响力的五个女人。

Sulochana, aka hajurmuma(尼泊尔加德满都)

Hajurmuma 是尼泊尔语中对祖母的正式称呼----------。 哈尤尔 是指 "尊重 "和 嬷嬷 意思是 "妈妈"。而我的祖母是值得每一丝尊敬的。我深深地佩服她的力量、优雅和美丽。她教了我很多重要的课程,让我成为今天的我。她最好的建议是什么?无论生活中发生了什么,你必须永远记得跳舞。它能让你的精神保持活力。

$$课件。 我祖母的生活就是一个例子,她教会了我:努力工作、接受良好教育和实现经济独立的重要性。作为一个年轻的寡妇,我的祖母成功地在尼泊尔的社区经营了一家企业。在那个年代,一个女人能做到这一点是闻所未闻的。她的勇敢和独立让我深受鼓舞!她还为我买了第一只小猪。她还为我买了第一个小猪存钱罐,给我上了第一堂理财课。"存钱,存钱,存钱"这堂课我一直践行到现在,理财已经成为我一生的事业。

SUSHMINA会计专家

没有人能像她一样做排骨和芦笋... ...

周峰 又名 "妈妈"(旧金山,CA)

我喜欢我妈妈的事情有很多......但我首先想到的是她的厨艺!她是一个非常有天赋的厨师和面包师。她是一个非常有才华的厨师和面包师。她把这些技能和她的热情与我分享!

$$课件。 好吧,考虑到我是MAF的金融服务助理,你可能会猜到金融对我很重要。而这一切都要归功于我的母亲。从我很小的时候开始,我妈妈就一直在教我重要的财务技能,让我能够独立,为未来做好准备。她教我如何做预算,如何坚持,如何未雨绸缪。她是一个专心致志的储蓄者--无论遇到什么挑战,她总是有储蓄可以依靠。她勤于量入为出,不过度消费。我很感激能从她身上学到这些技能。

JENNIFER金融服务协理

我妈妈是超级女声的化身。

索尼娅 又名 "妈妈"(佛罗里达州,比斯坎湾)

比如说:我们小时候她的日常工作。她会让我们吃饱后出门,去工作,管理老年家庭护理服务,挤出时间快速骑30英里的自行车,然后一边唱着她的iPod,一边做一顿美味的晚餐,结束一天的工作。她身上散发着活力和乐观的态度。在生活的起伏中,她让我们都保持着良好的精神状态。

$$课件。 从我小时候开始,妈妈就会 "鼓励"(嗯,强迫)我把生日钱直接存起来。她甚至在我18岁生日的时候给了我一张信用卡,教我如何建立信用,以及如何慢慢建立信用!那时候很痛苦,但我永远感激这些教训。那时候很痛苦,但我永远感激这些教训。

卡洛斯: 合作伙伴成功经理

谢谢你,妈妈。

有爱。

MAFistas

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

What MAFistas learned from their moms

From a thriving chocobanana business to a spicy pinch of kimchi that literally means “I love you."

At MAF, we’re always looking for an excuse to share stories. In celebration of Mama’s Day 2017, a few MAF staff members and Lending Circles clients told us about their moms, grandmas, and chosen mothers—and just what makes them so special.

She’s an inspiring example of resilience for me.

Charu, aka “mom” (Chicago, IL)

Well, aside from the fact that she’s simply the most radiant woman I know, she’s hilarious—especially when she’s feeling #nofilter. She has the best commentary when we’re watching Bollywood movies together.

I also admire her creativity and her drive to keep learning and trying new things. In addition to being my mother, she sells her handmade jewelry at trunk shows and craft fairs around Chicago, and she teaches, performs, and delights her family with her Indian classical music singing!

$$ LESSONS: She taught me the importance of financial independence. As a result, I’ve made an effort to spend wisely, save consistently, and manage my debts responsibly.

– SAMHITA, Partner Success Manager

I lost my mother 10 years ago, and Reyna stepped up to the plate.

Reyna, aka “mama” (San Francisco, CA)

Reyna is my best friend’s mother, but I felt a very motherly love from her from the moment I met her. She is hilarious, hardworking, and she has a drive at the age of 52 that can barely keep up with! She told me, “no matter what you need, I am here.” She has done that—and more.

$$ LESSONS: Never give up. Reyna struggled as an immigrant coming to this country 25 years ago. I went through similar immigration battles, but thanks to her guidance early on and her unconditional love and support, I was able to persevere. She even told me about a traditional lending circle (long before I discovered MAF!) she had been part of, and she encouraged me to join. That helped me save money for all the costs that came along with my immigration process.

– SHWETA, Lending Circles Client, Member Advisory Council

She’s the most selfless person I know.

Irene, aka “mom” or “Reeny” (Long Island, NY)

She is a deeply and naturally generous person. I always joke that she never sits down at dinner because she is making sure everyone else has what they need. She’s taught me to find the humor and a silver lining when things don’t go as planned. This was especially relevant while we were planning my wedding!

$$ LESSONS: Her own mother passed away when she was 19, so my mom had to learn by necessity how to save for the future, spend wisely, and stretch a dollar. She instilled in me from an early age the value of being intentional about spending. Sometimes it’s worth paying a little extra for something if you anticipate keeping it for a long time. Don’t be tempted by things that are inexpensive in the short term—that’s often a waste of money.

ALYSSA, Partner Success Manager

She’s always been hardworking and trustworthy. Now she has the credit score to prove it.

Celia (San Francisco, CA)

Oh, my mother is so special! She is my inspiration, my role model. She is joyful and courageous. No matter what life obstacles she faces, she is fearless with a smile on her face.

$$ LESSONS: She’s a natural leader, and people flock to her for advice. People would come to her with their money problems. She created many lending circles in her community to help people pool resources and build savings. Although my mother has always been a dedicated saver, she didn’t have the opportunity to establish a credit history. I was thrilled to introduce her to MAF. After participating in a few of MAF’s Lending Circles, she’s built a beautiful credit score for herself!

PATRICIA, Lending Circles Client, Member Advisory Council

She’s a fighter.

Ana, aka “mami” (San Francisco, CA)

My mom? She raised three girls on her own. She overcame enormous obstacles to put food on the table and a roof over our heads.

$$ LESSONS: When I was about ten years old, before we moved to the U.S. from El Salvador, my mom helped my sister and me get a little business going that we ran out of our house. We offered two distinct services: photocopying (we’d invested in a printer) and chocolate-covered bananas (official name: chocobananas). We didn’t even have to advertise—people just knew to come to us for their printing and chocobanana needs. And we learned some very valuable lessons from this entrepreneurial venture, most importantly: 1) work hard; 2) try not to eat all the chocobananas in your inventory. Those lessons continue to guide me to this day.

KARLA, Client Success Manager

She was one of the first women from her home state of Orissa, India, to attend medical school.

Sarat, aka “Mama” (Odisha, India)

There’s so much I admire about my grandmother: her ambition, intellect, passion, and humor, just to name a few. And she’s given me so many gifts throughout my life. My grandmother has been my yogi. It’s thanks to her that I developed my own yoga practice and have even taught yoga a different points in my life. Another gift that I cherish: her stories. Her letters, previously handwritten and in more recent years delivered by email, are simply the best.

$$ LESSONS: My grandmother taught me the importance of savings and frugality. She would know. It was her rupee-pinching and homemaking that ensured opportunities for her children and grandchildren. She instilled in me an appreciation of the importance of being able to stand financially on my own two feet.

MOHAN, Director of Programs and Engagement

My 엄마 / umma is my #1 bae.

Young Ki, aka 엄마 (Queens, NY)

She’s her own type of “tiger mom.” She never pressured my brother and me to get straight A’s but instead to find and pursue our passions. She’s a fierce dreamer who came to NYC with no idea what was going to happen to her. I’ve definitely inherited that idealism and rebellious spirit. I also inherited her love for food. Growing up, we weren’t always able to communicate in Korean or English too well. I learned that a pungent bite of kimchi could literally mean “I love you.”

$$ LESSONS: My mom taught me the importance of taking risks. She never saw money as an end goal but always as a means to something more. She was the one who pushed my dad in owning our grocery business, purchasing our first home, and investing in my brother’s and my college educations. Her financial philosophy guides and inspires me.

JAY, People, Fun & Culture Coordinator

She exudes joy, warmth, and love.

Nilsa, aka “mama” (Mission District, SF)

My mom is the most powerful woman I know. I look up to her, and everything I do is to make her proud. I feel very fortunate and honored that she is the woman that raised me into who I am today. She’s given me so many gifts over the years: excellent hugs, wise and compassionate advice, and a love for music and salsa dancing.

$$ LESSONS: My mom has taught me so many important financial lessons that have saved me money and heartache, and I’ve been sure to pass them down to my own children. And those lessons have been about more than just money. They’re about life: save consistently and manage your money wisely, no matter how much you have or earn. Focus on paying your bills and rent on time; worry about the wants later.

DORIS, Client Success Manager

She is one of my “five stars,” the five most influential women in my life.

Sulochana, aka hajurmuma (Kathmandu, Nepal)

Hajurmuma is the official term for grandmother in Nepali – hajur means “with respect” and muma means “mom.” And my grandmother is worthy of every ounce of respect. I so deeply admire her strength, grace, and beauty. She’s taught me so many important lessons that have made me the person I am today. Her best piece of advice? That no matter what happens in life, you must always remember to dance. It keeps your spirit alive.

$$ LESSONS: My grandmother’s life is an example of the lessons she’s taught me: the importance of working hard, getting a good education, and achieving financial independence. As a young widow, my grandmother managed to successfully run a business in her community in Nepal. In those days, it was unheard of for a woman to do that. I am so inspired by her bravery and independence! She also bought me my first piggy bank and taught me my first lesson in finances: “save, save, save.” That’s a lesson I have practiced to this day, and finance has become my life’s work.

SUSHMINA, Accounting Specialist

No one can make spare ribs and asparagus like she does…

Chau Phung, aka “mom” (San Francisco, CA)

There are many things I love about my mom… But one of the first things that comes to mind is her cooking! She is a very talented cook and baker. And she has shared those skills and her passion with me!

$$ LESSONS: Well, considering I’m the Financial Services Associate at MAF, you can probably guess that finance is pretty important to me. And that’s all thanks to my mother. From the time I was very young, my mom always made a point to teach me important financial skills so I would be independent and prepared for the future. She taught me how to make a budget, stick to it, and save for a rainy day. She’s a dedicated saver—no matter what challenges came up, she always had savings to count on. She’s diligent about living within her means and not overspending. I’m grateful to have learned those skills from her.

JENNIFER, Financial Services Associate

My mother is superwoman incarnate.

Sonia, aka “mami” (Key Biscayne, Florida)

Take for example: her daily routine when we were kids. She would get us all fed and out the door, go to work managing senior home care services, squeeze in a quick 30-mile bike ride, and finish the day off cooking a delicious dinner while singing along to her iPod. Her energy and upbeat attitude radiate from her. Through the ups and downs of life, she keeps us all in good spirits.

$$ LESSONS: Starting when I was little kid, my mom would “encourage” (um, force) me to put my birthday money straight into savings. She even gave me a credit card on my 18th birthday to teach me about credit and how to build it slowly! It was painful back then, but I’m forever grateful for those lessons.

CARLOS, Partner Success Manager

Thank you, Mom.

With love,

The MAFistas


Adina Hemley-Bronstein Adina is MAF's Communications Associate.