MAF员工聚焦。Doris Vasquez

认识Doris Vasquez,MAF的客户成功经理。虽然她自己从不承认,但多丽丝体现了成为一名成功人士的意义。 社区领袖.作为MAF的客户成功经理,Doris每天都在与社区打交道--让客户加入MAF的项目,促进每月Lending Circles的形成,支持参与者的整个旅程,并将参与者与适合他们情况和需求的最佳资源联系起来。在MAF工作的九年中,她始终把社区放在工作的中心位置。为了纪念她令人难以置信的任期,我们请她分享一些关于她的经历的思考。

您最初是如何了解到MAF的?

DV。 有一天,我参加了桑切斯小学的校务会议,当校长讲话时,我发现自己在点头表示同意和摇头表示不同意他说的话之间来回走动。突然,有人拍了拍我的肩膀,说'如果你不同意,你应该大声说出来。她可以看出,有什么东西在我的舌尖上,但我犹豫着要不要说出来。我不知道,这个人将成为引领我在生活中获得许多真正不可思议的机会的人。这件事之后,我开始更多地参与学校团体(PTA、SSC、ELAC)。我对这项工作还没有完全的愿景,但我知道我想为孩子们的生活带来改变。很快,那个在学校委员会会议上鼓励我发言的女人--罗瑞娜--正在训练我成为一个组织者和领导者。渐渐地,我开始在旧金山组织项目(SFOP)做志愿者,这是一个位于旧金山的非营利组织,洛雷娜也在为他们工作。随着我参加更多的培训和集会,我慢慢地开始了解背后的系统。 组织工作.最后,罗蕾娜开始在MAF工作,当一个职位空缺时,她告诉我,我决定申请。

是什么激励你做这项工作的?

DV。 我的家庭激励着我。作为一个移民,我知道来到一个新国家的挣扎,不知道这个新国家提供什么机会。当我父亲从萨尔瓦多搬到美国时,我有几个星期没有听到我父亲的消息。我知道他已经去了另一个国家,但我没有意识到有一个移民身份附加在上面。我父亲最终让我们来美国,起初,我并不想来这里{美国}。在萨尔瓦多,我感到作为一个孩子有更多的自由,我有家人的支持。我总是和我的家人非常亲近。 父老乡亲.当我搬到美国时,我不得不学习一种新的语言,并在一个新的学校系统中摸索。此外,我的家庭正经历着他们自己的财务困境。我父亲是唯一一个工作的人,有时,我们没有食物吃。我记得我母亲和我去当地商店买 "电视晚餐",或在食品银行排队。虽然我的父母总是能够在经济上支持我们的家庭,但我们在经济上肯定很挣扎。即便如此,我的父母从未真正与我谈论过财务管理或负债意味着什么。作为一个独立的成年人,特别是在我成为一个母亲之后,我经历了自己的一系列财务斗争。当我刚开始在MAF工作时,我的前同事亚历克斯是MAF当时的财务教练。他开始指导我如何管理我的债务并将其偿还。我参加了他主持的金融课程和研讨会,当我开始学习更多关于管理财务的知识时,这个话题对我来说变得非常有趣。管理财务是我们日常生活中的一个重要部分。慢慢地,我也能够摆脱债务了。

很多时候,当我听到我们的客户分享的关于负债累累,挣扎着支持他们的家庭的故事时,这些故事开始成为我的一部分,我回想自己的经历。我感到非常有必要通过协助我们的社区成为金融系统的一部分来给予回报。

鉴于MAF的工作植根于 "信任",你们是如何与社区建立信任的?

DV。 我想我是通过花时间倾听每个走进门的人,并为他们提供空间和时间来敞开心扉来建立信任的。一开始,我不敢太投入,因为我天生是一个非常有同情心和情感的人。有的时候,一个客户已经在我心中停留了几天、几周、几个月,有时,甚至几年。但是,即使我被工作轰炸,如果一个客户走进来,我看到他们想谈点什么,我的时间就会给他们。有时,我们只是需要有人听我们说话。大多数时候,这就是我最终要做的。有一些客户从2009年起就和我一起工作,我觉得他们已经把我当作他们家庭的一部分。我觉得我很幸运,有如此体贴的客户--即使在他们不应该考虑的时候也会为我考虑。多年来,我已经能够与每一个走过MAF大门的人建立起牢固的关系。

在过去的九年里,你对待工作的方式是如何演变的?

DV。 在我的一生中,我知道我喜欢工作和认识人。当我第一次开始在MAF工作时,我几乎没有正式的社区工作经验。我之前的大部分经验涉及到我在学区的组织工作。当我开始在MAF工作时,我不知道这项工作会需要什么。一开始,我不觉得自己是在做100%的工作,因为我觉得自己对客户提出的问题并没有全部的答案。我花了很多时间进行独立研究,以真正了解影响社区的问题,以及我如何能把他们介绍给正确的资源。我不知道在旧金山有一个如此强大的非营利组织生态系统。多年来,我一直把了解这些组织作为一个重点,并建立我的知识和与我的关系。 斗争中的公司 哪些地方可以推荐客户使用不同的资源。

即使我当下不能帮助某人,我觉得重要的是要尊重每个人,努力引导他们到另一个资源,并提供我所能提供的支持。

鉴于您是在K-12教育领域开始与青年合作并组织起来的,您对青年有什么建议?

就我个人而言,我的导师之一罗蕾娜看到了我身上的潜力,而我自己却没有看到。这就是为什么我总是要看到每一个走过MAF大门的人身上的惊人潜力。我想让每个人都知道,他们来到这个世界上是有原因的。也许这个原因现在还不清楚,但在某些时候,你会意识到你为什么在这里,你需要做什么。这就是为什么你永远不能放弃。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

MAF Staff Spotlight: Doris Vasquez

Meet Doris Vasquez, MAF’s Client Success Manager. Though she’d never admit it herself, Doris embodies what it means to be a community leader. As MAF’s Client Success Manager, Doris is engaging with the community every day — enrolling clients in MAF’s programs, facilitating the monthly Lending Circles formations, supporting participants throughout their journey, and connecting participants with the best resources for their circumstances and needs. Throughout her nine years at MAF, she has always placed the community at the center of her work. In honor of her incredible tenure, we asked her to share a few reflections on her experience:

How did you first learn about MAF?

DV: One day, I was attending a school council meeting at Sanchez Elementary School and as the principal was speaking, I found myself going back and forth between nodding in agreement and shaking my head in disagreement to whatever he was saying. Suddenly, someone tapped me on my shoulder and said ‘you should speak up and say something if you disagree.’ She could tell that something was on the tip of my tongue, but I was hesitant to speak up. Little did I know that this person was going to be the someone who led me to a lot of really incredible opportunities in life. After this incident, I started getting more involved with school groups (PTA, SSC, ELAC). I didn’t quite have a vision for the work just yet, but I knew that I wanted to make a difference in my kids lives. Soon enough, the woman who had encouraged me to speak up during the school council meeting —  Lorena — was training me to be an organizer and a leader. Little by little, I started volunteering more of my time with San Francisco Organizing Project (SFOP), a non profit based in San Francisco, and Lorena was also working with them. As I attended more trainings and rallies, I slowly began to understand the system behind organizing. Eventually, Lorena started working at MAF, and when a position opened up, she told me about it and I decided to apply.

What inspires you to do this work?

DV: My family inspires me. As an immigrant, I know the struggle of coming to a new country and not knowing what opportunities this new country offers. When my dad moved from El Salvador to the U.S, I didn’t hear from my dad for weeks. I knew that he had gone to another country, but I didn’t realize there was an immigration status attached to that. My dad eventually sent for us to come to the U.S, and at first, I didn’t want to be here {U.S.}. In El Salvador, I felt more freedom to be a child and I had the support of my family. I was always very close to my abuelitos. When I moved to the U.S., I had to learn a new language and navigate a new school system. Additionally, my family was going through their own set of financial struggles. My dad was the only one working, and sometimes, we didn’t have food for dinner. I recall my mother and I going to the local store to buy ‘TV dinners’ or standing in line at food banks. Though my parents were always able to financially support our family, we were definitely struggling financially. Even so, my parents never really talked to me about managing finances or what it meant to be in debt. As an independent adult, and especially after I became a mother, I experienced my own set of financial struggles. When I first started working at MAF, my former colleague Alex was MAF’s financial coach at the time. He started guiding me on how to manage my debt and pay it down. I would take part in the financial classes and workshops he would facilitate, and as I started to learn more about managing finances, this topic became really interesting to me. Managing finances is such a huge part of our day-to-day life. Slowly, I was also able to get out of debt.

Oftentimes, when I listen to the stories that our clients share about being in total debt, struggling to support their family back home, those stories start to become part of me and I think back to my own experiences. I feel a strong need to give back by assisting our community be part of the financial system.

Given that MAF’s work is rooted in ‘trust,’ how did you build trust with the community?

DV: I think I built trust by taking the time to listen to each person who walked through the door and providing them with that space and time to open up. At the beginning, I was afraid to get too involved because I’m naturally a very empathetic and emotional person. There have been times that a client has been on my mind for days, weeks, months, and sometimes, even years. But even if I’m bombarded with work, if a client walks in and I see that they want to talk about something, my time is given to them. Sometimes, we just need someone to listen to us. Most of the time, that’s what I end up doing. There are some clients that I’ve worked with since 2009, and I feel like they’ve made me part of their family. I feel like I’m very lucky to have clients that are so thoughtful — clients who think about me even when they shouldn’t. Over the years, I’ve been able to build a strong relationship with every person that walks through MAF’s door.

How has the way you’ve approached your work evolved over the past nine years?

DV: All my life, I’ve known that I love working and meeting people. When I first started working at MAF, I had very little formal experience working with the community. Most of my prior experience involved the organizing work I did within the school districts. When I started working at MAF, I didn’t know what this work would require. In the beginning, I didn’t feel like I was giving my 100% because I felt as if I didn’t have all of the answers to the questions clients were asking. It took a lot of independent research to really understand the issues affecting the community and how I can refer them to the right resources. I had no idea that there was such a strong ecosystem of nonprofit organizations in San Francisco. Over the years, I’ve made it a point to get to know these organizations and build my knowledge and relationships with my companeros en la lucha of where to refer clients for different resources.

Even if I can’t help someone in the moment, I feel it’s important to treat everyone with respect, make the effort to direct them to another resource, and offer whatever support I can.

Given that you started working with youth and organizing in the K-12 education space, what your advice to youth?

For me, personally, Lorena, one of my mentors, saw a potential in me that I didn’t see in myself. It’s why I make it a point to always see the incredible potential in everyone who walks through MAF’s doors. I want everyone to know that they are on this earth for a reason. Maybe the reason is not clear right now, but at some point you will realize why you’re here and what you need to make of it. That’s why you can never give up.

Samhita Collur
Partner Success Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.