أضواء كادر ماف: دوريس فاسكويز

تعرف على دوريس فاسكويز ، مدير نجاح عملاء MAF. على الرغم من أنها لم تعترف بذلك بنفسها أبدًا ، إلا أن دوريس تجسد ما يعنيه أن تكون زعيم الطائفة. بصفتها مديرة نجاح العملاء في MAF ، تشارك Doris مع المجتمع كل يوم - تسجل العملاء في برامج MAF ، وتسهيل تشكيلات Lending Circles الشهرية ، ودعم المشاركين طوال رحلتهم ، وربط المشاركين بأفضل الموارد لظروفهم واحتياجاتهم. طوال السنوات التسع التي قضتها في MAF ، وضعت دائمًا المجتمع في قلب عملها. تكريمًا لفترة ولايتها المذهلة ، طلبنا منها مشاركة بعض الأفكار حول تجربتها:

كيف علمت لأول مرة عن ماف؟

DV: ذات يوم ، كنت أحضر اجتماعًا لمجلس المدرسة في مدرسة سانشيز الابتدائية وبينما كان المدير يتحدث ، وجدت نفسي أتحرك ذهابًا وإيابًا بين الإيماء بالموافقة وهز رأسي في الاختلاف على ما يقوله. فجأة ، ربكني أحدهم على كتفي وقال "يجب عليك التحدث وقول شيئًا ما إذا كنت لا توافق". استطاعت أن تقول أن شيئًا ما كان على طرف لساني ، لكنني كنت مترددًا في التحدث. لم أكن أعلم أن هذا الشخص سيكون الشخص الذي قادني إلى الكثير من الفرص المذهلة حقًا في الحياة. بعد هذه الحادثة ، بدأت في الانخراط بشكل أكبر مع مجموعات المدارس (PTA ، SSC ، ELAC). لم يكن لدي رؤية كاملة للعمل حتى الآن ، لكنني كنت أعرف أنني أريد أن أحدث فرقًا في حياة أطفالي. بعد فترة وجيزة ، كانت المرأة التي شجعتني على التحدث أثناء اجتماع مجلس المدرسة - لورينا - تدربني لأكون منظمة وقائدة. شيئًا فشيئًا ، بدأت التطوع أكثر من وقتي مع مشروع تنظيم سان فرانسيسكو (SFOP) ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية مقرها في سان فرانسيسكو ، وكانت لورينا تعمل معهم أيضًا. عندما حضرت المزيد من التدريبات والتجمعات ، بدأت ببطء في فهم النظام وراء تنظيم. في النهاية ، بدأت لورينا العمل في MAF ، وعندما فتحت وظيفة ، أخبرتني عنها وقررت التقديم.

ما الذي يلهمك للقيام بهذا العمل؟

DV: عائلتي تلهمني. كمهاجر ، أعرف صعوبة المجيء إلى بلد جديد وعدم معرفة الفرص التي يوفرها هذا البلد الجديد. عندما انتقل والدي من السلفادور إلى الولايات المتحدة ، لم أسمع أي أخبار عن والدي لأسابيع. علمت أنه ذهب إلى بلد آخر ، لكنني لم أدرك أن هناك حالة هجرة مرتبطة بذلك. أرسل والدي أخيرًا إلينا للمجيء إلى الولايات المتحدة ، وفي البداية ، لم أرغب في أن أكون هنا {الولايات المتحدة}. في السلفادور ، شعرت بمزيد من الحرية لكوني طفلة وحصلت على دعم عائلتي. كنت دائما قريبة جدا من بلدي أبوليتوس. عندما انتقلت إلى الولايات المتحدة ، كان علي أن أتعلم لغة جديدة وأتنقل في نظام مدرسي جديد. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كانت عائلتي تمر بمجموعة من الصراعات المالية الخاصة بهم. كان والدي هو العامل الوحيد ، وأحيانًا لم يكن لدينا طعام للعشاء. أتذكر أمي وأنا ذاهب إلى المتجر المحلي لشراء "عشاء تلفزيوني" أو الوقوف في طابور في بنوك الطعام. على الرغم من أن والداي كانا دائمًا قادرين على إعالة أسرتنا ماليًا ، إلا أننا كنا نعاني بالتأكيد من الناحية المالية. ومع ذلك ، لم يتحدث والداي معي حقًا عن إدارة الشؤون المالية أو ما يعنيه أن تكون مدينًا. كشخص بالغ مستقل ، وخاصة بعد أن أصبحت أماً ، واجهت مجموعة من المشاكل المالية الخاصة بي. عندما بدأت العمل في MAF لأول مرة ، كان زميلي السابق Alex هو المدرب المالي لشركة MAF في ذلك الوقت. بدأ في إرشادي حول كيفية إدارة ديوني وسدادها. كنت سأشارك في الفصول المالية وورش العمل التي سييسرها ، وعندما بدأت في تعلم المزيد عن إدارة الشؤون المالية ، أصبح هذا الموضوع مثيرًا للاهتمام حقًا بالنسبة لي. تعد إدارة الشؤون المالية جزءًا كبيرًا من حياتنا اليومية. ببطء ، تمكنت أيضًا من الخروج من الديون.

في كثير من الأحيان ، عندما أستمع إلى القصص التي يشاركها عملاؤنا حول كونهم مدينين بالكامل ، ويكافحون من أجل إعالة أسرهم في الوطن ، تبدأ هذه القصص في أن تصبح جزءًا مني وأعود إلى تجربتي الخاصة. أشعر بالحاجة القوية لرد الجميل من خلال مساعدة مجتمعنا ليكون جزءًا من النظام المالي.

بالنظر إلى أن عمل ماف متجذر في "الثقة" ، كيف يمكنك بناء الثقة مع المجتمع؟

DV: أعتقد أنني قمت ببناء الثقة من خلال تخصيص الوقت للاستماع إلى كل شخص دخل عبر الباب ومنحهم تلك المساحة والوقت للانفتاح. في البداية ، كنت خائفًا من الانخراط كثيرًا لأنني بطبيعة الحال شخص متعاطف للغاية وعاطفي. كانت هناك أوقات كان فيها العميل يدور في خاطري لأيام وأسابيع وشهور وأحيانًا حتى سنوات. ولكن حتى لو تعرضت للقصف من العمل ، إذا دخل أحد العملاء ورأيت أنه يريد التحدث عن شيء ما ، فإن وقتي مخصص لهم. في بعض الأحيان ، نحتاج فقط إلى من يستمع إلينا. في معظم الأوقات ، هذا ما أفعله في النهاية. هناك بعض العملاء الذين عملت معهم منذ عام 2009 ، وأشعر أنهم جعلوني جزءًا من أسرهم. أشعر أنني محظوظ جدًا لأن لدي عملاء مدروسين للغاية - عملاء يفكرون بي حتى عندما لا يفكرون في ذلك. على مر السنين ، تمكنت من بناء علاقة قوية مع كل شخص يمر عبر باب ماف.

كيف تطورت الطريقة التي تعاملت بها مع عملك خلال السنوات التسع الماضية؟

DV: عرفت طوال حياتي أنني أحب العمل ومقابلة الناس. عندما بدأت العمل في MAF ، لم يكن لدي سوى القليل من الخبرة الرسمية في العمل مع المجتمع. تضمنت معظم خبرتي السابقة العمل التنظيمي الذي قمت به داخل المناطق التعليمية. عندما بدأت العمل في MAF ، لم أكن أعرف ما الذي يتطلبه هذا العمل. في البداية ، لم أشعر أنني أعطي 100% لأنني شعرت كما لو لم يكن لدي جميع الإجابات على الأسئلة التي يطرحها العملاء. لقد تطلب الأمر الكثير من البحث المستقل لفهم المشكلات التي تؤثر على المجتمع وكيف يمكنني إحالتها إلى الموارد المناسبة. لم يكن لدي أي فكرة عن وجود مثل هذا النظام البيئي القوي للمنظمات غير الربحية في سان فرانسيسكو. على مر السنين ، جعلت من المهم التعرف على هذه المنظمات وبناء معرفتي وعلاقاتي معها companeros en la lucha حيث يمكن إحالة العملاء لمصادر مختلفة.

حتى لو لم أتمكن من مساعدة شخص ما في الوقت الحالي ، أشعر أنه من المهم معاملة الجميع باحترام ، وبذل الجهد لتوجيههم إلى مورد آخر ، وتقديم أي دعم يمكنني القيام به.

بالنظر إلى أنك بدأت العمل مع الشباب والتنظيم في فضاء التعليم K-12 ، ما هي نصيحتك للشباب؟

بالنسبة لي ، شخصيًا ، رأت لورينا ، إحدى المرشدين لدي ، إمكانات لم أرها في نفسي. هذا هو السبب في أنني أوضح نقطة أن أرى دائمًا الإمكانات المذهلة في كل من يسير عبر أبواب MAF. أريد أن يعرف الجميع أنهم على هذه الأرض لسبب ما. ربما السبب غير واضح في الوقت الحالي ، لكن في مرحلة ما ستدرك سبب وجودك هنا وما الذي تحتاجه لتحقيق ذلك. لهذا السبب لا يمكنك الاستسلام أبدًا.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

MAF Staff Spotlight: Doris Vasquez

Meet Doris Vasquez, MAF’s Client Success Manager. Though she’d never admit it herself, Doris embodies what it means to be a community leader. As MAF’s Client Success Manager, Doris is engaging with the community every day — enrolling clients in MAF’s programs, facilitating the monthly Lending Circles formations, supporting participants throughout their journey, and connecting participants with the best resources for their circumstances and needs. Throughout her nine years at MAF, she has always placed the community at the center of her work. In honor of her incredible tenure, we asked her to share a few reflections on her experience:

How did you first learn about MAF?

DV: One day, I was attending a school council meeting at Sanchez Elementary School and as the principal was speaking, I found myself going back and forth between nodding in agreement and shaking my head in disagreement to whatever he was saying. Suddenly, someone tapped me on my shoulder and said ‘you should speak up and say something if you disagree.’ She could tell that something was on the tip of my tongue, but I was hesitant to speak up. Little did I know that this person was going to be the someone who led me to a lot of really incredible opportunities in life. After this incident, I started getting more involved with school groups (PTA, SSC, ELAC). I didn’t quite have a vision for the work just yet, but I knew that I wanted to make a difference in my kids lives. Soon enough, the woman who had encouraged me to speak up during the school council meeting —  Lorena — was training me to be an organizer and a leader. Little by little, I started volunteering more of my time with San Francisco Organizing Project (SFOP), a non profit based in San Francisco, and Lorena was also working with them. As I attended more trainings and rallies, I slowly began to understand the system behind organizing. Eventually, Lorena started working at MAF, and when a position opened up, she told me about it and I decided to apply.

What inspires you to do this work?

DV: My family inspires me. As an immigrant, I know the struggle of coming to a new country and not knowing what opportunities this new country offers. When my dad moved from El Salvador to the U.S, I didn’t hear from my dad for weeks. I knew that he had gone to another country, but I didn’t realize there was an immigration status attached to that. My dad eventually sent for us to come to the U.S, and at first, I didn’t want to be here {U.S.}. In El Salvador, I felt more freedom to be a child and I had the support of my family. I was always very close to my abuelitos. When I moved to the U.S., I had to learn a new language and navigate a new school system. Additionally, my family was going through their own set of financial struggles. My dad was the only one working, and sometimes, we didn’t have food for dinner. I recall my mother and I going to the local store to buy ‘TV dinners’ or standing in line at food banks. Though my parents were always able to financially support our family, we were definitely struggling financially. Even so, my parents never really talked to me about managing finances or what it meant to be in debt. As an independent adult, and especially after I became a mother, I experienced my own set of financial struggles. When I first started working at MAF, my former colleague Alex was MAF’s financial coach at the time. He started guiding me on how to manage my debt and pay it down. I would take part in the financial classes and workshops he would facilitate, and as I started to learn more about managing finances, this topic became really interesting to me. Managing finances is such a huge part of our day-to-day life. Slowly, I was also able to get out of debt.

Oftentimes, when I listen to the stories that our clients share about being in total debt, struggling to support their family back home, those stories start to become part of me and I think back to my own experiences. I feel a strong need to give back by assisting our community be part of the financial system.

Given that MAF’s work is rooted in ‘trust,’ how did you build trust with the community?

DV: I think I built trust by taking the time to listen to each person who walked through the door and providing them with that space and time to open up. At the beginning, I was afraid to get too involved because I’m naturally a very empathetic and emotional person. There have been times that a client has been on my mind for days, weeks, months, and sometimes, even years. But even if I’m bombarded with work, if a client walks in and I see that they want to talk about something, my time is given to them. Sometimes, we just need someone to listen to us. Most of the time, that’s what I end up doing. There are some clients that I’ve worked with since 2009, and I feel like they’ve made me part of their family. I feel like I’m very lucky to have clients that are so thoughtful — clients who think about me even when they shouldn’t. Over the years, I’ve been able to build a strong relationship with every person that walks through MAF’s door.

How has the way you’ve approached your work evolved over the past nine years?

DV: All my life, I’ve known that I love working and meeting people. When I first started working at MAF, I had very little formal experience working with the community. Most of my prior experience involved the organizing work I did within the school districts. When I started working at MAF, I didn’t know what this work would require. In the beginning, I didn’t feel like I was giving my 100% because I felt as if I didn’t have all of the answers to the questions clients were asking. It took a lot of independent research to really understand the issues affecting the community and how I can refer them to the right resources. I had no idea that there was such a strong ecosystem of nonprofit organizations in San Francisco. Over the years, I’ve made it a point to get to know these organizations and build my knowledge and relationships with my companeros en la lucha of where to refer clients for different resources.

Even if I can’t help someone in the moment, I feel it’s important to treat everyone with respect, make the effort to direct them to another resource, and offer whatever support I can.

Given that you started working with youth and organizing in the K-12 education space, what your advice to youth?

For me, personally, Lorena, one of my mentors, saw a potential in me that I didn’t see in myself. It’s why I make it a point to always see the incredible potential in everyone who walks through MAF’s doors. I want everyone to know that they are on this earth for a reason. Maybe the reason is not clear right now, but at some point you will realize why you’re here and what you need to make of it. That’s why you can never give up.

Samhita Collur
Partner Success Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.