MAF发起SB 455:加州金融赋权基金。

在美国,有各种各样的金融产品和服务来帮助消费者建立他们的金融生活。除了银行之外,还有整个金融规划和咨询行业,以帮助消费者做出合理的金融决策。

但是,对于低收入的美国人来说,获得这种建议和支持的机会--可以帮助他们管理复杂的财务生活的服务--充其量也是有限的。

2018年,美国在针对低收入消费者的金融教育项目上花费了$6.7亿--这个数额相当于当年金融规划和咨询行业总收入($570亿)的1%多一点。这一支出差距表明,我们对那些在财务上处于弱势、被边缘化、得不到主流金融机构和咨询业服务的消费者的支持是多么的不足。

向这些社区提供更高质量的财政支持的资源确实存在。这只是一个以更有效方式重新分配现有资源的问题。

10月2日,州长Gavin Newsom签署了 参议院第455号法案 创建加州金融赋权基金 - 一个$400万的基金,以支持全州非营利组织的基础设施,提供有效的金融教育和赋权工具,帮助消费者改善他们的财务状况。

随着SB 455法案的通过,加利福尼亚州现在正积极参与支持有效的金融教育和赋权工具。该法案为如何设计和提供这些努力提高了明确的标准,并将政府资金用于这一重要工作。

F财务福祉不是一个最终目的地,也不是个人需要达到的单一目标。相反,财务福祉是一种持续存在的状态。它是指在我们一生中能够满足我们所有的财务需求和义务。而要做到这一点,我们需要有效的工具和建议来驾驭复杂的金融系统。   

即使我们认为我们的财务生活已经确定,一些我们无法控制的事情也会发生,从而动摇我们的信心和财务状况。以在长达5周的政府停摆期间被迫离职的联邦工作人员的财务健康为例;其中25%的人报告说要去食物银行以维持桌上的食物,42%的人承担了新的债务以满足其日常开支。有史以来最长的一次政府停摆印证了这个简单的事实:即使是那些拥有最安全工作的人,也会在数周内陷入财务困境。

SB 455对MAF来说是一个重要的时刻,但对金融赋权领域来说是一个更大的时刻。它的通过将使我们能够制定高标准的 如何设计和提供有效的金融教育.

MAF和许多非营利组织一样,提供有效的金融产品和服务,使之发挥作用。在过去的十年中,我们了解到,将安全和负担得起的产品与金融教育配对,可以使人们在金融生活中取得令人印象深刻的结果。当客户申请我们的Lending Circles计划时,他们可以获得免费的在线金融教育课程,45%的首次贷款客户的观看次数超过了最低要求。然后,Lending Circles客户能够将他们的信用评分平均提高168分,将高成本债务减少$1,000,并以99.3%的还款率偿还贷款。我们的许多客户,如波尼(阅读他的故事 此处),能够应用他们在网上学到的概念--无论是关于信贷还是购房--来建立他们的信用并扩大他们进入金融服务领域的机会。

作为我们这个领域的领导者,我们需要就我们如何围绕金融教育和赋权参与社区进行诚实的对话。

金融产品和服务必须有效交付,才能产生积极的转型影响。 我们发现,91%的首次MAF贷款客户选择了了解他们已经拥有的产品。这表明 人们渴望更多地了解他们正在使用的产品,金融教育是一个终身学习的过程。人们希望知道如何使用他们可用的产品,以便他们能够提高他们的财务福祉,我们可以通过提供相关的金融教育计划来支持这一需求。SB 455号法案将为处于创造金融赋权途径最前沿的非营利组织提供机会,以建立一种集体力量,导致我们的金融系统运作方式的积极变化。

每个人,包括那些被纳入和被排除在金融主流系统之外的人,都有很多关于金融产品和服务的知识需要学习。在复杂的金融系统中,没有什么是直观的。我们需要思考如何有效地提供金融教育--以激励和提升所有社区的金融发展。

财务健康很重要,对我们和我们的社区都很重要。SB 455号法案将加州消费者的财务健康放在首位。

我们正在提升我们在金融赋权领域的工作,着眼于更大的系统变革。 财务健康应该成为所有社区的现实。 特别是对于那些经常被主流金融机构忽视的人。 而SB 455是实现这一目标的垫脚石。 我们渴望看到SB 455法案将对全州的标准和资金产生影响。

请务必在社交媒体上关注MAF,以获得更多更新信息。 

媒体联系。
Joanna Cortez Hernandez, MAF
(415) 373-6039
[email protected]

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

MAF Sponsors SB 455: CA Financial Empowerment Fund

In the U.S. there is a wide array of financial products and services to help consumers build their financial lives. In addition to banks, there is a whole Financial Planning and Advice industry to assist consumers in making sound financial decisions.

But for low-income Americans, access to this advice and support — service that could help them manage their complicated financial lives — is limited, at best.

In 2018, the U.S. spent $670 million in financial education programs for low-income consumers — an amount equal to a little over 1% of the Financial Planning and Advice industry’s total revenue that year ($57 billion). This gap in spending illustrates just how inadequately we support consumers that are financially vulnerable, marginalized and underserved by mainstream financial institutions and the advice industry.

The resources to provide higher quality financial support to these communities do exist. It is just a matter of redistributing existing resources in a more effective way.

On October 2, Govenor Gavin Newsom signed Senate Bill 455 to create the California Financial Empowerment Fund — a $4 million fund to support a statewide infrastructure of nonprofits delivering effective financial education and empowerment tools that help consumers improve their financial well-being.

With the passage of SB 455, the State of California is now actively engaged in supporting effective financial education and empowerment tools. The bill elevates clear standards for how these efforts are designed and delivered and brings government money to bear in this important work.

Financial well-being is not a final destination, nor a singular goal that individuals need to reach. Rather, financial well-being is a continuous state of being. It is about being able to meet all of our financial needs and obligations throughout the course of our lives. And to do so, we require effective tools and advice in navigating complicated financial systems.   

Even when we think our financial lives are set, something out of our control can happen to shake our confidence and financial well-being. Take for example the financial health of federal workers who were forced from their jobs during the 5-week long government shutdown; 25% of which reported going to food banks to put food on the table and 42% of which took on new debt in order to meet their day-to-day expenses. The longest government shutdown ever laid bear this simple fact: even those with the most secure jobs are weeks away from being financially vulnerable.

SB 455 is momentous for MAF but it is an even bigger moment for the financial empowerment field. Its passage will allow us to set high standards of how to design and deliver effective financial education.

MAF, like many nonprofits, provide effective financial products and services that are making a difference. In the past decade, we’ve learned that pairing safe and affordable products with financial education allows people to achieve impressive outcomes in their financial lives. When clients apply to our Lending Circles program they gain access to free online financial education courses, and 45% of first-time loan clients watch more than the minimum requirement. Lending Circles clients are then able to improve their credit scores by an average of 168 points, pay down high-cost debt by $1,000, and repay their loans at a 99.3% repayment rate. Many of our clients, like Boni (read his story here), are able to apply the concepts they learn online — whether it’s about credit or homebuying — to build their credit and expand their access to the financial services world.

As leaders in our field, we need to have an honest conversation about how we engage communities around financial education and empowerment.

Financial products and services have to be delivered effectively in order to have a positive transformational impact. We found that 91% of first-time MAF loan clients opted to learn about a product they already had. This indicates that people are hungry to learn more about the products they’re using and that financial education is a process of lifelong learning. People want to know how to use the products available to them so they can increase their financial well-being and we can support that need by offering relevant financial education programs. SB 455 would provide nonprofits at the forefront of creating pathways to financial empowerment the opportunity to build a collective power that leads to a positive change in how our financial systems function.

Everyone, both those that are included and excluded from the financial mainstream systems, has much to learn about financial products and services. Nothing about navigating complicated financial systems is intuitive. We need to think about how to deliver financial education effectively — in a way that motivates and uplifts the financial growth of all communities.

Financial well-being matters, for us and our communities. SB 455 prioritizes the financial health of consumers in California.

We are uplifting our work in the financial empowerment field with an eye toward bigger systems change. Financial wellness should be a reality for all communities, particularly for those often ignored by mainstream financial institutions, and SB 455 is a stepping stone to make it happen. We are eager to see the impact that SB 455 will have on state-wide standards and funding.

Be sure to follow MAF on social media for more updates! 

Media Contact:
Joanna Cortez Hernandez, MAF
(415) 373-6039
media@missionassetfund.org

Joanna Cortez Hernandez
Client Services Director at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.