توصيل Lending Circles إلى مايل هاي سيتي


اكتشف ما يربط بين صندوق الغداء والقروض الاجتماعية ودنفر ، كولورادو.

كما حملت والدي تيفين (صندوق غداء معدني صغير على الطراز الهندي) عبر المطار قبل ركوب رحلتي إلى دنفر ، قام أحد وكلاء إدارة أمن المواصلات بتفتيش ما يبدو أنه حاوية معدنية غير عادية.

بدون سائل أو حتى شبه سائل مثل الحمص للتسبب في الإنذار ، كل ما يمكنني تقديمه إلى وكيل إدارة أمن المواصلات ، كما هو الحال بالنسبة لممارسة جدتي كلما أوقفها مسؤولو الجمارك ، كان طعامي وسحري.

لكن هذا التأخير الطفيف خلق في الواقع لحظة مثيرة للاهتمام من التبادل بين الثقافات. لقد وصفت ممارسة تسليم الملايين من علب الغداء في مومباي كل يوم. تمتلئ كل Tiffin بالطعام الذي يصنعه شخص ما في منزله ويتم توصيله بخبرة لمئات الآلاف من العمال ، بالدراجة ، دون أن يضيع. فرضية قدمت نفسها لقصة الحب المهذبة لفيلم بوليوود جديد "The Lunchbox".

ومع ذلك ، كانت تجربتي تعليمية أكثر منها رومانسية وربما تنبأت بما سيأتي مع العرض التقديمي القادم الذي كنت أقدمه في دنفر. حصلت على مشاركة شيء جديد (tiffin الخاص بي) من خلال ربطه بشيء مألوف (صندوق الغداء).

كولورادو هي منطقة جديدة لشركة ماف.

لقد دعانا تشيس بلطف لجعلهم يظهرون لنا حولنا ، ويعرفونا على الناس ويرعى عرض ماف حتى نتمكن من مشاركة برنامج Lending Circles مع مقدمي الخدمات غير الربحيين المحتملين.

قدمت أنا وزميلي تارا أثناء انعقاد مؤتمر مبادرة كلينتون العالمية مع حوالي 25 من المتخصصين غير الربحيين الذين جاءوا لسماع كيف يمكن لـ Lending Circles أن تكمل مهمتها.

عمل ماف مع شركاء جدد في كولورادو له معنى كبير بالنسبة لي. مثل منطقة Mission District في سان فرانسيسكو ، غالبًا ما يشار إليها باسم "القادمة والقادمة". لقد جربت الحياة الليلية المزدهرة ، حيث تناثرت الشوارع بعربات الطعام المختلفة ، لبيع الأطعمة اللذيذة بين أماكن موسيقى الجاز القديمة ونوادي الرقص الجديدة. قرأت أيضًا قصة يوم الأحد في دنفر بوست حول فرص التمويل الصغير للاجئين والمهاجرين الوافدين حديثًا.

جعلتني محادثة أجريت في إحدى الأمسيات في دنفر مع صديق جامعي لأبي من الهند أكثر تصميماً على إحضار Lending Circles إلى دنفر.

أخبرني عن نقص الإيجارات ، أزمة سكن مماثلة لتلك التي تجتاح منطقة الخليج الآن ، إلى جانب عدد كبير من حبس الرهن العقاري في حيه.

ذكّرتني هذه اللحظات أنه مع أي تقدم ، هناك حتما بعض الذين تخلفوا عن الركب. هناك من لم يكسبوا قروضهم لاستئجار شقة ، والذين يعانون من قيود على سداد أقساط الرهن العقاري ولا يعرفون كيفية اختيار أفضل منتج مالي لهم. توفر MAF حلاً للمنظمات غير الربحية المهتمة ببناء أو توسيع برامجها لخدمة المجتمعات التي تعاني من ضعف البنوك والتي تعيش في الظل المالي.

نحن في مهمة لتوسيع برنامج Lending Circles الخاص بنا في جميع أنحاء البلاد ونقول بجرأة أننا سنجلب 40 شريكًا بحلول عام 2015. تتيح منصة مجتمعات Lending Circles المبتكرة من MAF للأشخاص التسجيل للحصول على قروض اجتماعية من خلال جهاز محمول ، ولكنها بنيت في الوقت المناسب تكريم تقليد الاقتراض وإقراض الأموال لبعضنا البعض.

تمامًا مثل صندوق الغداء ، قد يبدو Lending Circles كنوع جديد من القروض الاجتماعية ، لكنه في الواقع وثيق الصلة بشكل لا يصدق ومألوف للعديد من المجتمعات.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Delivering Lending Circles to The Mile High City


Find out what connects a lunchbox, social loans, and Denver, Colorado.

As I carried my Dad’s tiffin (A small metal Indian style lunch) box through the airport before boarding my flight to Denver, a TSA agent dutifully inspected what appears to be an unusual metal container.

Without a liquid or even a semi-liquid like hummus to cause alarm, all I could offer the TSA agent, as would be my grandmother’s practice whenever she is stopped by Customs officials, was my food and my charm.

Yet that slight delay actually created an intriguing moment of cross-cultural exchange.  I described the practice of millions of lunch boxes being delivered in Mumbai every day. Each Tiffin is filled with food made at by someone in their home and expertly delivered to hundreds of thousands of workers, by bicycle, without ever getting lost. A premise that lent itself to the polite love story of a new cross-over Bollywood movie “The Lunchbox”.

My experience, however, was more educational than romantic and perhaps foreshadowed what was to come with the upcoming presentation I was giving in Denver.  I got to share something new (my tiffin) by relating it to something familiar (the Lunch Box).

Colorado is new territory for MAF.

Chase graciously invited us to have them show us around, introduce us to people and sponsored MAF’s presentation so we could share our Lending Circles program with potential non-profit providers.

My colleague Tara and I presented in during the convening of the Clinton Global Initiative with about 25 non-profit professionals who came to hear how Lending Circles could complement their mission.

MAF working with new partners in Colorado makes a lot of sense to me.  Like San Francisco’s Mission District, it is often referred to as “up and coming”.  I experienced the thriving nightlife, where the streets were scattered with various food carts, selling delicious treats among old Jazz venues and new dance clubs.  I also read a story on Sunday in the Denver Post about micro-finance opportunities for recently arrived refugees and immigrants.

A conversation I had one evening in Denver with a college friend of my Dad’s from India made me even more determined to bring Lending Circles to Denver.

He told me about the rental shortage, a housing crisis similar to the one that’s gripping the Bay Area right now, coupled with a high number of foreclosures in his neighborhood.

These moments reminded me that with any progress, there’s inevitably some who are left behind. There are those who haven’t built up their credit to rent an apartment, who are strapped by making payments on their mortgage and don’t know how to choose the best financial product for them. MAF provides a solution to non-profits who are interested in building or expanding their programs to serve underbanked communities living in the financial shadows.

We are on a mission to expand our Lending Circles program across the country and boldly say that we will bring on 40 partners by 2015. MAF’s innovative Lending Circles Communities platform enables people to sign up for social loans through a mobile device, but it’s built on a time honored tradition of borrowing and lending money to each other.

Just like a lunch box, Lending Circles may look like a new kind of social loan, but it’s actually incredibly relevant and familiar to many communities.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.