将Lending Circles交付给前程无忧城。


找出是什么将午餐盒、社会贷款和科罗拉多州丹佛联系在一起。

当我背着爸爸的 蒂芬 在登上我飞往丹佛的航班之前,通过机场的(一个小型金属印度风格午餐)盒子,一名 TSA 特工尽职尽责地检查了一个看起来不寻常的金属容器。

没有像鹰嘴豆泥这样的液体或什至半液体来引起警报,我所能提供给 TSA 特工的只有我的食物和我的魅力,就像我祖母每次被海关官员拦下时的做法一样。

然而,这种轻微的延迟实际上创造了一个有趣的跨文化交流时刻。我描述了每天在孟买运送数百万盒饭的做法。每个 Tiffin 都装满了由他们家中的某个人制作的食物,并通过自行车熟练地运送给成千上万的工人,而不会迷路。这个前提适合于一部新的跨界宝莱坞电影“午餐盒”的礼貌爱情故事。

然而,我的经历比浪漫更具教育意义,也许预示着我即将在丹佛进行的演讲会带来什么。我必须通过将它与熟悉的东西(午餐盒)相关联来分享新的东西(我的 tiffin)。

科罗拉多州是 MAF 的新领域。

Chase 慷慨地邀请我们让他们带我们参观,向我们介绍人们并赞助 MAF 的演讲,这样我们就可以分享我们的 Lending Circles程序 与潜在的非营利提供者。

我和我的同事塔拉在会议期间介绍了 克林顿全球倡议 大约有 25 名非营利专业人士前来聆听 Lending Circles 如何补充他们的使命。

MAF 与科罗拉多州的新合作伙伴合作对我来说很有意义。与旧金山的 Mission District 一样,它通常被称为“即将到来的”。我体验了繁荣的夜生活,街道上散落着各种食品车,在旧爵士乐场所和新舞厅之间出售美味佳肴。我也在星期天读了一个故事 丹佛邮报 关于为最近抵达的难民和移民提供小额融资机会。

一天晚上,我在丹佛与我父亲的一位来自印度的大学朋友的谈话让我更加坚定了将 Lending Circles 带到丹佛的决心。

他告诉我租金短缺的情况,这是一场类似于目前困扰湾区的住房危机,再加上他所在社区的大量止赎。

这些时刻提醒我,任何进步都不可避免地会有一些人被抛在后面。有些人还没有建立信用来租房子,他们被抵押贷款支付所困,不知道如何为他们选择最好的金融产品。 MAF 为有兴趣建立或扩展其计划以服务生活在金融阴影中的银行不足社区的非营利组织提供解决方案。

我们的使命是在全国范围内扩展我们的 Lending Circles 计划,并大胆地说到 2015 年我们将引进 40 个合作伙伴。 MAF 创新的 Lending Circles 社区平台使人们能够通过移动设备注册社会贷款,但它建立在时间上相互借钱和借钱的光荣传统。

就像午餐盒一样,Lending Circles 可能看起来像是一种新型的社会贷款,但它实际上与许多社区非常相关和熟悉。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Delivering Lending Circles to The Mile High City


Find out what connects a lunchbox, social loans, and Denver, Colorado.

As I carried my Dad’s tiffin (A small metal Indian style lunch) box through the airport before boarding my flight to Denver, a TSA agent dutifully inspected what appears to be an unusual metal container.

Without a liquid or even a semi-liquid like hummus to cause alarm, all I could offer the TSA agent, as would be my grandmother’s practice whenever she is stopped by Customs officials, was my food and my charm.

Yet that slight delay actually created an intriguing moment of cross-cultural exchange.  I described the practice of millions of lunch boxes being delivered in Mumbai every day. Each Tiffin is filled with food made at by someone in their home and expertly delivered to hundreds of thousands of workers, by bicycle, without ever getting lost. A premise that lent itself to the polite love story of a new cross-over Bollywood movie “The Lunchbox”.

My experience, however, was more educational than romantic and perhaps foreshadowed what was to come with the upcoming presentation I was giving in Denver.  I got to share something new (my tiffin) by relating it to something familiar (the Lunch Box).

Colorado is new territory for MAF.

Chase graciously invited us to have them show us around, introduce us to people and sponsored MAF’s presentation so we could share our Lending Circles program with potential non-profit providers.

My colleague Tara and I presented in during the convening of the Clinton Global Initiative with about 25 non-profit professionals who came to hear how Lending Circles could complement their mission.

MAF working with new partners in Colorado makes a lot of sense to me.  Like San Francisco’s Mission District, it is often referred to as “up and coming”.  I experienced the thriving nightlife, where the streets were scattered with various food carts, selling delicious treats among old Jazz venues and new dance clubs.  I also read a story on Sunday in the Denver Post about micro-finance opportunities for recently arrived refugees and immigrants.

A conversation I had one evening in Denver with a college friend of my Dad’s from India made me even more determined to bring Lending Circles to Denver.

He told me about the rental shortage, a housing crisis similar to the one that’s gripping the Bay Area right now, coupled with a high number of foreclosures in his neighborhood.

These moments reminded me that with any progress, there’s inevitably some who are left behind. There are those who haven’t built up their credit to rent an apartment, who are strapped by making payments on their mortgage and don’t know how to choose the best financial product for them. MAF provides a solution to non-profits who are interested in building or expanding their programs to serve underbanked communities living in the financial shadows.

We are on a mission to expand our Lending Circles program across the country and boldly say that we will bring on 40 partners by 2015. MAF’s innovative Lending Circles Communities platform enables people to sign up for social loans through a mobile device, but it’s built on a time honored tradition of borrowing and lending money to each other.

Just like a lunch box, Lending Circles may look like a new kind of social loan, but it’s actually incredibly relevant and familiar to many communities.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.