爱情与金钱


耶鲁大学社会学教授 Fred Wherry 解释了金钱如何使爱情复杂化。

使生命值得过的东西也使导航变得更加困难:爱。

我们爱我们的家人、我们的邻居和我们的礼拜堂。我们的爱在哪里,我们的财宝也在哪里。当婴儿出生时,我们会购买礼物。当父母生病时,我们支付医疗费用;孩子是第一个上大学的,学费单;一个家庭梦想拥有自己的房子,这是一笔不小的首付。

爱的精美印刷品

爱是有代价的。这些成本被正面描述为“在我们攀爬时提升”,负面描述为“桶中的螃蟹相互拉下”。在积极的版本中,当一个家庭成员做得好时,她可以分享信息,充当榜样,有时还会为其他家庭成员或社区中为过上更好生活而奋斗的人提供物质帮助。在它的负面版本中,爱创造了帮助那些需要帮助的人的义务,而那些需要帮助的人知道你可以被说服放弃努力获得的成果来帮助他们。

在一项被广泛引用的研究中,人们如何利用他们的亲属和友谊网络来满足低收入社区的需求, 卡罗尔·斯塔克讲故事 一个家庭收到一笔意外的一笔款项,他们打算用这笔款项支付房屋的首付款。好消息在他们的亲属网络中迅速传播,并开始收到金钱帮助的请求。首付不见了;有抱负的家庭被拉回到比喻的桶中。

爱如何影响金钱取决于试图维持生计的家庭可以获得什么样的外部支持。

贫困和中等收入的有色人种家庭更有可能有父母缺乏足够的退休储蓄。当他们的父母因为房子需要一个新屋顶而陷入经济困难,被感染的牙齿需要根管,保险不会支付癌症治疗费用的 15%,或者汽车的发动机已经过期,这取决于孩子们的帮助他们。一千美元在这里或那里可以摧毁预算,其中优惠券剪报和加班仍然意味着这些家庭的薪水很少被驱逐。

这种对爱情和金钱的看法与冲动的消费者在琐碎上自由消费的流行说法背道而驰。 4 月,社会学家约瑟夫·科恩 (Joseph Cohen) 根据美国劳工统计局消费者支出调查 (CEX) 的 2011 年数据发表了他对家庭收入和支出模式的分析。他发现收入的增长速度没有基本商品和服务的价格上涨那么快。收入停滞或下降的家庭在基础设施上的支出更多:教育、儿童保育、医疗保健、交通费用和抵押贷款支付。在电视、电脑和许多其他非必需品上的支出下降了。 [1]换句话说,在确保孩子的教育未来、照顾亲人的健康或确保拥有住宅时,家庭经历了财务的脆弱。

一场持久的爱

梦想拥有房屋的家庭,亲身体验爱的价值;帮助他们的兄弟姐妹或父母,其成本。一对夫妇可能能够按月支付抵押贷款,但他们的信用档案太少或储蓄太少而没有资格获得贷款。他们可能需要一个兄弟姐妹来共同签署贷款,一个关心他们并愿意投资于他们家庭安全的人。如果没有其他方法可以提高申请人的信用评分或增加储蓄,那么迫使家庭成员承担更多风险似乎是唯一的答案。

但还有其他方法。与其谴责爱情的负面影响,不如调动关爱关系来促进经济安全?它已经(并且可能)。爱。

[1] Joseph N. Cohen,“美国‘消费文化’的神话:政策可能有助于推动美国家庭的财务状况恶化,” 消费文化杂志 DOI: DOI: 10.1177/1469540514528196


Frederick F. Wherry 是耶鲁大学社会学教授和文化社会学中心 (CCS) 的联合主任。他目前正在研究文化、制度和社会关系对移民和少数族裔家庭的银行和预算经验的影响.

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

Love and Money


Yale Sociology Professor Fred Wherry explains how money can complicate love.

What makes life worth living also makes it harder to navigate: Love.

We love our families, our neighbors, and our houses of worship. Where our love lies, our treasure lies also. When a baby is born, we buy gifts. When a parent falls ill, we pay medical bills; a child is the first to go to college, tuition bills; a family dreams to own its own home, a big down payment.

Love’s Fine Print

Love comes at a cost. These costs have been described positively as “lifting as we climb” and negatively as “crabs in a barrel pulling one another down.” In its positive version, when one family member does well, she can share information, serve as a role model, and sometimes provide material assistance to other family members or people in her community who are striving for a better life. In its negative version, love creates obligations to help those in need, and those in need know that you can be persuaded to give up hard fought gains to help them.

In a widely cited study of how people use their kin and friendship networks to navigate their needs in a low-income neighborhood, Carol Stack tells the story of a family receiving an unexpected lump sum that they intended to use for a down payment on a house. The good news traveled fast through their kinship networks, and requests began arriving for monetary help. The down payment disappeared; the aspiring family was pulled back into the metaphorical barrel.

How love affects money depends on what kinds of external supports are available to families trying to make ends meet.

Poor and middle-income families of color are more likely to have parents lacking adequate retirement savings. When their parents fall into financial trouble because the house needs a new roof, an infected tooth requires a root canal, insurance won’t pay 15 percent of cancer treatment costs, or a car’s engine has expired, it is up to the children to assist them. A thousand dollars here or there can devastate a budget where the coupon clippings and the overtime worked still mean that these families are a few paychecks short of eviction.

This view of love and money runs counter to the popular narrative of the impulsive consumer spending freely on frivolities. In April, sociologist Joseph Cohen published his analysis of household income and spending patterns from the 2011 data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Survey of Consumer Expenditures (CEX). He found that incomes have not risen as fast as the prices of basic goods and services. Families with stagnant or falling incomes were spending more on the basics: education, childcare, healthcare, transportation costs, and mortgage payments. Spending on television, computers, and many other non-essentials fell.[1] In other words, when securing their children’s educational future, looking after the health of their loved ones, or securing a dwelling place to own, households experienced the fragility of their finances.

A Love that Lasts

Families that dream of home ownership learn firsthand the value of love; the siblings or parents helping them, its costs. A couple may able to make the monthly payments on a mortgage but their credit files are too thin or their savings too low to qualify for it. They may need a sibling to co-sign on the loan, someone who cares for them and is willing to invest in their family’s security. If there are no other ways to increase the applicants’ credit scores or to shore up savings, compelling a family member to incur more risk seems to be the only answer.

But there are other ways. Rather than decry the negative effects of love, why not mobilize caring relationships to promote economic security? It has been (and can be). Love.

[1] Joseph N. Cohen, “The Myth of America’s ‘Culture of Consumption’: Policy May Help Drive American Household’s Fraying Finances,” Journal of Consumer Culture DOI: DOI: 10.1177/1469540514528196


Frederick F. Wherry is a Professor of Sociology and Co-Director of the Center for Cultural Sociology (CCS) at Yale University. He is currently studying the effects of culture, institutions, and social relationships on the banking and budgeting experiences of immigrant and minority households.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.