الحب والمال


يشرح أستاذ علم الاجتماع في جامعة ييل فريد ويري كيف يمكن للمال أن يعقد الحب.

ما يجعل الحياة جديرة بأن نعيشها يجعل التنقل أكثر صعوبة: الحب.

نحن نحب عائلاتنا وجيراننا ودور عبادتنا. حيث يكمن حبنا ، يكمن كنزنا أيضًا. عندما يولد طفل ، نشتري الهدايا. عندما يمرض أحد الوالدين ، ندفع الفواتير الطبية ؛ الطفل هو أول من يذهب إلى الكلية ، فواتير الرسوم الدراسية ؛ تحلم عائلة بامتلاك منزل خاص بها ، دفعة أولى كبيرة.

طباعة الحب الجميلة

الحب له ثمن. تم وصف هذه التكاليف بشكل إيجابي على أنها "ترفع بينما نتسلق" وسلبيًا على أنها "سلطعون في برميل يسحب بعضها البعض إلى أسفل". في نسختها الإيجابية ، عندما يكون أداء أحد أفراد الأسرة جيدًا ، يمكنها مشاركة المعلومات ، والعمل كنموذج يحتذى به ، وفي بعض الأحيان تقديم المساعدة المادية لأفراد الأسرة الآخرين أو الأشخاص في مجتمعها الذين يسعون إلى حياة أفضل. في نسخته السلبية ، يُنشئ الحب التزامات لمساعدة المحتاجين ، ويدرك المحتاجون أنه يمكن إقناعك بالتخلي عن المكاسب التي تم تحقيقها بشق الأنفس لمساعدتهم.

في دراسة يُستشهد بها على نطاق واسع حول كيفية استخدام الناس لشبكات الأقارب والصداقة لتوجيه احتياجاتهم في حي منخفض الدخل ، كارول ستاك تروي القصة لعائلة تتلقى مبلغًا إجماليًا غير متوقع كانوا يعتزمون استخدامه في دفعة أولى على منزل. انتقلت الأخبار السارة بسرعة عبر شبكات الأقارب ، وبدأت الطلبات تصل للحصول على مساعدة مالية. اختفى الدفعة الأولى. تم سحب العائلة الطموحة مرة أخرى إلى البرميل المجازي.

يعتمد تأثير الحب على المال على أنواع الدعم الخارجي المتاح للعائلات التي تحاول تدبير أمورها.

من المرجح أن يكون لدى العائلات الملونة الفقيرة والمتوسطة الدخل آباء يفتقرون إلى مدخرات التقاعد الكافية. عندما يقع آباؤهم في مشكلة مالية لأن المنزل يحتاج إلى سقف جديد ، أو الأسنان المصابة تتطلب قناة جذر ، أو التأمين لن يدفع 15 بالمائة من تكاليف علاج السرطان ، أو أن محرك السيارة قد انتهى ، فالأمر متروك للأطفال للمساعدة معهم. ألف دولار هنا أو هناك يمكن أن تدمر الميزانية حيث لا تزال قصاصات القسائم والعمل الإضافي تعني أن هذه العائلات ليست سوى بضع رواتب أقل من الإخلاء.

هذه النظرة إلى الحب والمال تتعارض مع الرواية الشائعة عن الإنفاق الاستهلاكي المندفع بحرية على الرعشات. في أبريل ، نشر عالم الاجتماع جوزيف كوهين تحليله لدخل الأسرة وأنماط الإنفاق من بيانات عام 2011 من مكتب إحصاءات العمل 'مسح نفقات المستهلك (CEX). ووجد أن الدخول لم ترتفع بنفس سرعة ارتفاع أسعار السلع والخدمات الأساسية. كانت العائلات ذات الدخل الراكد أو المتراجع تنفق أكثر على الأساسيات: التعليم ، ورعاية الأطفال ، والرعاية الصحية ، وتكاليف النقل ، ومدفوعات الرهن العقاري. انخفض الإنفاق على التلفزيون وأجهزة الكمبيوتر والعديد من الأشياء غير الضرورية الأخرى. [1] بعبارة أخرى ، عند تأمين مستقبل تعليم أطفالهم ، أو رعاية صحة أحبائهم ، أو تأمين مسكن لامتلاكه ، عانت الأسر من هشاشة مواردها المالية.

حب يدوم

العائلات التي تحلم بامتلاك منزل تتعلم بشكل مباشر قيمة الحب ؛ مساعدة الأشقاء أو الوالدين لهم ، تكاليفها. قد يكون الزوجان قادرين على سداد أقساط شهرية على قرض عقاري ولكن ملفاتهما الائتمانية ضعيفة للغاية أو أن مدخراتهما منخفضة للغاية بحيث لا تتأهل للحصول عليها. قد يحتاجون إلى أحد الأشقاء للتوقيع على القرض ، شخص يعتني بهم ومستعد للاستثمار في تأمين عائلاتهم. إذا لم تكن هناك طرق أخرى لزيادة الدرجات الائتمانية لمقدمي الطلبات أو لدعم المدخرات ، فإن إجبار أحد أفراد الأسرة على تحمل المزيد من المخاطر يبدو أنه الحل الوحيد.

ولكن هناك طرق أخرى. بدلاً من شجب الآثار السلبية للحب ، لماذا لا يتم حشد علاقات الرعاية لتعزيز الأمن الاقتصادي؟ لقد كان (ويمكن أن يكون). الحب.

[1] جوزيف إن كوهين ، "أسطورة" ثقافة الاستهلاك "الأمريكية: السياسة قد تساعد في دفع الأموال المتدهورة للأسر الأمريكية ،" مجلة ثقافة المستهلك DOI: DOI: 10.1177 / 1469540514528196


فريدريك ف. ويري أستاذ علم الاجتماع ومدير مشارك لمركز علم الاجتماع الثقافي (CCS) في جامعة ييل. وهو يدرس حاليًا آثار الثقافة والمؤسسات والعلاقات الاجتماعية على الخبرات المصرفية والميزنة لأسر المهاجرين والأقليات.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

Love and Money


Yale Sociology Professor Fred Wherry explains how money can complicate love.

What makes life worth living also makes it harder to navigate: Love.

We love our families, our neighbors, and our houses of worship. Where our love lies, our treasure lies also. When a baby is born, we buy gifts. When a parent falls ill, we pay medical bills; a child is the first to go to college, tuition bills; a family dreams to own its own home, a big down payment.

Love’s Fine Print

Love comes at a cost. These costs have been described positively as “lifting as we climb” and negatively as “crabs in a barrel pulling one another down.” In its positive version, when one family member does well, she can share information, serve as a role model, and sometimes provide material assistance to other family members or people in her community who are striving for a better life. In its negative version, love creates obligations to help those in need, and those in need know that you can be persuaded to give up hard fought gains to help them.

In a widely cited study of how people use their kin and friendship networks to navigate their needs in a low-income neighborhood, Carol Stack tells the story of a family receiving an unexpected lump sum that they intended to use for a down payment on a house. The good news traveled fast through their kinship networks, and requests began arriving for monetary help. The down payment disappeared; the aspiring family was pulled back into the metaphorical barrel.

How love affects money depends on what kinds of external supports are available to families trying to make ends meet.

Poor and middle-income families of color are more likely to have parents lacking adequate retirement savings. When their parents fall into financial trouble because the house needs a new roof, an infected tooth requires a root canal, insurance won’t pay 15 percent of cancer treatment costs, or a car’s engine has expired, it is up to the children to assist them. A thousand dollars here or there can devastate a budget where the coupon clippings and the overtime worked still mean that these families are a few paychecks short of eviction.

This view of love and money runs counter to the popular narrative of the impulsive consumer spending freely on frivolities. In April, sociologist Joseph Cohen published his analysis of household income and spending patterns from the 2011 data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Survey of Consumer Expenditures (CEX). He found that incomes have not risen as fast as the prices of basic goods and services. Families with stagnant or falling incomes were spending more on the basics: education, childcare, healthcare, transportation costs, and mortgage payments. Spending on television, computers, and many other non-essentials fell.[1] In other words, when securing their children’s educational future, looking after the health of their loved ones, or securing a dwelling place to own, households experienced the fragility of their finances.

A Love that Lasts

Families that dream of home ownership learn firsthand the value of love; the siblings or parents helping them, its costs. A couple may able to make the monthly payments on a mortgage but their credit files are too thin or their savings too low to qualify for it. They may need a sibling to co-sign on the loan, someone who cares for them and is willing to invest in their family’s security. If there are no other ways to increase the applicants’ credit scores or to shore up savings, compelling a family member to incur more risk seems to be the only answer.

But there are other ways. Rather than decry the negative effects of love, why not mobilize caring relationships to promote economic security? It has been (and can be). Love.

[1] Joseph N. Cohen, “The Myth of America’s ‘Culture of Consumption’: Policy May Help Drive American Household’s Fraying Finances,” Journal of Consumer Culture DOI: DOI: 10.1177/1469540514528196


Frederick F. Wherry is a Professor of Sociology and Co-Director of the Center for Cultural Sociology (CCS) at Yale University. He is currently studying the effects of culture, institutions, and social relationships on the banking and budgeting experiences of immigrant and minority households.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.