让我们结伴而行。加入Lending Circle网络


MAF 与 CABO 合作在洛杉矶扩建 Lending Circles

资产与机会网络 12 月召开会议,我和 Andrew Chang 刚刚见面,但我们点燃了友谊,这迫使我们为我们的两个组织寻找出路, MAF卡博, 扩张 Lending Circles 在洛杉矶。

幸运的是,JPMC 为 A&O 成员提供的技术援助基金以及花旗和主要资助者的支持使我们能够与 CABO 网络成员组织关于 Lending Circle 模型的“路演”演示,并为 MAOF 和 CCNP, MAF 的两个最新 Lending Circle 提供商.

6月4日的路演和6月6日的培训很好地夹在中间 CFSI 2014 EMERGE 论坛,MAF 首席执行官 Jose Quinonez 担任小组成员。满了,我敢说“贷款圈”,就在几年前, MAF获得CFSI颁发的奖项 通过湾区扩展Lending Circles。从那时起,MAF 不仅通过 学术评价 个人参与者的成功包括信用评分增加和债务减少,但能够通过其他领域的非营利组织复制该模型。

现在 MAF 正在通过 11 个州的合作伙伴非营利组织提供 Lending Circles。

MAF 正在寻求进一步扩张,包括纽约、德克萨斯、佛罗里达、芝加哥、大西洋中部。 MAF 已经能够扩大规模,并将通过新的“Lending Circle Communities”平台采用创新技术,包括在线金融教育和基于网络的培训,进一步扩大规模。

MAF 的路演在洛杉矶的 United Way 举行。 CABO 网络内的十多位金融教练参加了学习 Lending Circles,这是一种与文化相关的社会贷款模型和负担得起的、负责任的产品,用于建立信贷和实现更大的财务目标。

虽然获得负担得起的信贷的挑战并不是独一无二的,但对于当地社区来说,这当然有某些方式,比如洛杉矶的无银行账户社区。

例如,安德鲁分享了信用档案薄弱的洛杉矶人如何经常以 25% 的利率在“在这里购买,在这里付款”汽车经销商处借用二手车。 GPS 跟踪设备和“终止开关”允许在默认情况下轻松收回车辆。

加利福尼亚州州长杰里·布朗签署了一项立法,规定未经借款人同意安装这些设备是非法的,但次贷借款人通常几乎没有其他选择。如果没有负责任的替代方案来建立信贷,然后再贷款,他们最终也会花更少的钱支付更多的钱。

自从四年前从纽约搬到奥克兰以来,我已经习惯了依赖公共交通,但在一次感觉就像是去环球研究的家庭公路旅行中,我很快了解到,获得安全可靠的车辆不仅仅是一种汽车文化的一部分,但在洛杉矶是必需品。

更好的信用,不仅意味着更多的储蓄,更意味着更多的财务保障和安心,让辛勤工作的家庭能够开始工作,照顾家人。

我期待下一次 A&O 召开会议,分享我们与资产建设领域其他组织的合作故事。


使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Let’s Buddy Up: Joining the Lending Circle network


MAF collaborates with CABO to expand Lending Circles in Los Angeles

When the Assets & Opportunities Network convened in December, Andrew Chang and I had just met, but we ignited a friendship that compelled us to find a way for our two organizations, MAF and CABO, to expand Lending Circles in Los Angeles.

Fortunately, the JPMC technical assistance fund for A&O Members, along with support from Citi and key funders, enabled us to organize a “roadshow” presentation on the Lending Circle model with CABO network members, as well as lead an in-person training for MAOF and CCNP, MAF’s two newest Lending Circle providers.

The roadshow on June 4th and training on June 6th sandwiched well with the CFSI 2014 EMERGE Forum, where MAF CEO Jose Quinonez served as a panelist. Coming full, dare I say “lending circle”, just a couple years before, MAF received an award from CFSI to expand Lending Circles through the Bay Area. Since then, MAF had not only proven through an academic evaluation the success of individual participants including credit score increases and debt reduction, but the ability to replicate the model through non-profit organizations in other areas.

Now MAF is providing Lending Circles through partner non-profit organizations in 11 states.

MAF is looking to expand further, including New York, Texas, Florida, Chicago, the Mid-atlantic.  MAF had been able to scale, and will continue to even more by employing innovative technology including online financial education and web-based trainings through a new “Lending Circle Communities” platform.

MAF’s roadshow took place at the United Way in Los Angeles. Over ten financial coaches within the CABO Network participated to learn about Lending Circles, a culturally relevant model of social lending and affordable, responsible product to build credit and realize larger financial goals.

Though the challenge of accessing affordable credit is not unique, there are certain ways of course this plays out for local communities, like the unbanked community in Los Angeles.

Andrew shared for example, how Los Angelinos with thin credit files often borrow at a 25% interest rate for a used vehicle at “Buy Here, Pay Here” car dealership.  GPS tracking devices and “kill switch” allow the vehicle to be easily repossessed in instances of default.

California Governor Jerry Brown signed legislation that makes installing these devices illegal without the consent of the borrower, but sub-prime borrowers often have few alternatives.  They also end up paying more for less without a responsible alternative to establish credit before taking out a loan.

Since moving to Oakland four years ago from New York, I have gotten used to relying on public transportation, but I quickly learned during what felt like a family road trip to Universal Studies, that having access to a safe and reliable vehicle is not just a part of the car culture, but a necessity in Los Angeles.

Better credit, not only means more saving, but more financial security and peace of mind, so that hard-working families can get to work and take care of their families.

I look forward to the next A&O convening to share our story of collaboration with other organizations in the asset-building field.


MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.