Let's Buddy Up: الانضمام إلى شبكة Lending Circle


تتعاون MAF مع CABO لتوسيع Lending Circles في لوس أنجلوس

عندما شبكة الأصول والفرص اجتمعنا في كانون الأول (ديسمبر) ، التقيت أنا وأندرو تشانغ للتو ، لكننا أشعلنا صداقة أجبرتنا على إيجاد طريقة لمنظمتينا ، ماف و كابو، لتوسيع Lending Circles في لوس انجلوس.

لحسن الحظ ، أتاح لنا صندوق المساعدة الفنية لـ JPMC لأعضاء A&O ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الدعم من Citi والممولين الرئيسيين ، تنظيم عرض تقديمي "ترويجي" حول نموذج دائرة الإقراض مع أعضاء شبكة CABO ، بالإضافة إلى قيادة تدريب شخصي لـ MAOF و CCNP، اثنين من أحدث ماف مزودي دائرة الإقراض.

كانت الجولة الترويجية في 4 يونيو والتدريب في 6 يونيو محصورة جيدًا مع منتدى CFSI 2014 EMERGE، حيث عمل خوسيه كوينونيز الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة MAF كعضو في اللجنة. أتمنى أن أقول "دائرة الإقراض" قبل عامين فقط ، تلقت MAF جائزة من CFSI لتوسيع Lending Circles عبر منطقة الخليج. منذ ذلك الحين ، لم تثبت MAF فقط من خلال التقييم الأكاديمي نجاح المشاركين الفرديين بما في ذلك زيادة درجة الائتمان وخفض الديون ، ولكن القدرة على تكرار النموذج من خلال المنظمات غير الربحية في مناطق أخرى.

تقدم MAF الآن Lending Circles من خلال المنظمات الشريكة غير الربحية في 11 دولة.

تتطلع ماف إلى التوسع أكثر ، بما في ذلك نيويورك وتكساس وفلوريدا وشيكاغو ومنطقة الأطلسي الوسطى. تمكنت ماف من التوسع ، وستستمر في تحقيق المزيد من خلال استخدام التكنولوجيا المبتكرة بما في ذلك التعليم المالي عبر الإنترنت والدورات التدريبية على شبكة الإنترنت من خلال منصة مجتمعات دائرة الإقراض الجديدة.

أقيمت الحملة الترويجية لـ MAF في United Way في لوس أنجلوس. شارك أكثر من عشرة مدربين ماليين داخل شبكة CABO للتعرف على Lending Circles ، وهو نموذج ملائم ثقافيًا للإقراض الاجتماعي ومنتجًا مسؤولاً وبأسعار معقولة لبناء الائتمان وتحقيق أهداف مالية أكبر.

على الرغم من أن التحدي المتمثل في الوصول إلى ائتمان ميسور التكلفة ليس فريدًا ، إلا أن هناك طرقًا معينة بالطبع يتم تنفيذها في المجتمعات المحلية ، مثل المجتمع الذي لا يتعامل مع البنوك في لوس أنجلوس.

شارك أندرو ، على سبيل المثال ، كيف تقترض شركة Los Angelinos بملفات ائتمانية رفيعة في كثير من الأحيان بسعر فائدة 25% لسيارة مستعملة في وكالة "اشتر هنا وادفع هنا". تسمح أجهزة تتبع نظام تحديد المواقع العالمي (GPS) و "مفتاح القفل" بإعادة امتلاك السيارة بسهولة في حالات التخلف عن السداد.

وقع حاكم ولاية كاليفورنيا جيري براون تشريعًا يجعل تثبيت هذه الأجهزة غير قانوني دون موافقة المقترض ، ولكن غالبًا ما يكون لدى المقترضين من أصحاب الرهن العقاري الثانوي بدائل قليلة. وينتهي بهم الأمر أيضًا إلى دفع المزيد مقابل أقل بدون بديل مسؤول لإنشاء الائتمان قبل الحصول على قرض.

منذ انتقالي إلى أوكلاند قبل أربع سنوات من نيويورك ، اعتدت على الاعتماد على وسائل النقل العام ، لكنني تعلمت بسرعة خلال ما شعرت أنه رحلة عائلية إلى شركة Universal Studies ، أن الوصول إلى سيارة آمنة وموثوقة ليس مجرد جزء من ثقافة السيارة ، ولكنه ضرورة في لوس أنجلوس.

لا يعني الائتمان الأفضل توفير المزيد من الأموال فحسب ، بل يعني المزيد من الأمان المالي وراحة البال ، حتى تتمكن العائلات التي تعمل بجد من العمل ورعاية أسرهم.

إنني أتطلع إلى اجتماع A&O التالي لمشاركة قصة تعاوننا مع المنظمات الأخرى في مجال بناء الأصول.


MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Let’s Buddy Up: Joining the Lending Circle network


MAF collaborates with CABO to expand Lending Circles in Los Angeles

When the Assets & Opportunities Network convened in December, Andrew Chang and I had just met, but we ignited a friendship that compelled us to find a way for our two organizations, MAF and CABO, to expand Lending Circles in Los Angeles.

Fortunately, the JPMC technical assistance fund for A&O Members, along with support from Citi and key funders, enabled us to organize a “roadshow” presentation on the Lending Circle model with CABO network members, as well as lead an in-person training for MAOF and CCNP, MAF’s two newest Lending Circle providers.

The roadshow on June 4th and training on June 6th sandwiched well with the CFSI 2014 EMERGE Forum, where MAF CEO Jose Quinonez served as a panelist. Coming full, dare I say “lending circle”, just a couple years before, MAF received an award from CFSI to expand Lending Circles through the Bay Area. Since then, MAF had not only proven through an academic evaluation the success of individual participants including credit score increases and debt reduction, but the ability to replicate the model through non-profit organizations in other areas.

Now MAF is providing Lending Circles through partner non-profit organizations in 11 states.

MAF is looking to expand further, including New York, Texas, Florida, Chicago, the Mid-atlantic.  MAF had been able to scale, and will continue to even more by employing innovative technology including online financial education and web-based trainings through a new “Lending Circle Communities” platform.

MAF’s roadshow took place at the United Way in Los Angeles. Over ten financial coaches within the CABO Network participated to learn about Lending Circles, a culturally relevant model of social lending and affordable, responsible product to build credit and realize larger financial goals.

Though the challenge of accessing affordable credit is not unique, there are certain ways of course this plays out for local communities, like the unbanked community in Los Angeles.

Andrew shared for example, how Los Angelinos with thin credit files often borrow at a 25% interest rate for a used vehicle at “Buy Here, Pay Here” car dealership.  GPS tracking devices and “kill switch” allow the vehicle to be easily repossessed in instances of default.

California Governor Jerry Brown signed legislation that makes installing these devices illegal without the consent of the borrower, but sub-prime borrowers often have few alternatives.  They also end up paying more for less without a responsible alternative to establish credit before taking out a loan.

Since moving to Oakland four years ago from New York, I have gotten used to relying on public transportation, but I quickly learned during what felt like a family road trip to Universal Studies, that having access to a safe and reliable vehicle is not just a part of the car culture, but a necessity in Los Angeles.

Better credit, not only means more saving, but more financial security and peace of mind, so that hard-working families can get to work and take care of their families.

I look forward to the next A&O convening to share our story of collaboration with other organizations in the asset-building field.


MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.