赚取的课程#3:以小见大。


在如此重视将组织规模化的情况下,我们已经忘记了社区所拥有的力量。

在我的成长过程中,米娅-哈姆的海报贴满了我的墙壁--我甚至在我的床头放了一张,所以加入美国女子国家队的想法是我晚上的最后一个念头,也是我睁开眼睛时的第一个念头。不用说,我当时的心态是 "天无绝人之路"。

随着年龄的增长,我一直没有停止做大梦。

在大学一年级的时候,我就在公民参与的世界里寻找实现大影响的方法。这时,我偶然发现了社会企业家精神,并立即认识到社会企业有机会解决社会问题,并将其扩大到更多的人。

正是通过我在社会企业的工作,我关注到了精益创业运动。去年12月,我抢到了一张免费入场券,参加了在北京举行的 精益创业大会. 大多数人将这种运动与快速失败联系起来。更具体地说,这种方法要求致力于迭代。建立。测量。学习。这次会议阐明了是什么让我在MAF的工作如此充实。

在非营利界,有一种趋势是尽可能地扩大组织的范围。

当然,这是有道理的,因为社会服务应该给予所有需要的人。问题是,非营利组织将建立、衡量和学习。 曾经 (如果有的话),然后每次扩张到一个新的地点时,都会复制完全相同的模式。然而,在一个社区行得通的东西在另一个社区可能行不通。你的扩张组织很可能不知道如何在一个完全不同的环境中成功实施其奇妙的解决方案。

精益创业的思维体现在MAF的合作努力中。通过与合作伙伴的合作,将Lending Circles带入不同的社区,我们不仅保证了项目的高效实施,也保证了项目的有效执行。

通过伙伴关系的扩张,使我们的使命得以深入发展,而不仅仅是扩大。

这一理念最近通过以下方式体现出来: 1. 更好的湾区运动.这一举措使我们能够接触到湾区九个县的更多非营利组织,致力于改善那些在金融阴影中迷失的人们的生活。湾区很小,但其中的社区范围很广,每个社区都有自己的细微差别。

随着我们的社区通过这些合作关系的发展,我们看到了所有令人激动的Lending Circles计划可以调整的方式,以满足越来越多的需求,例如获得经济适用房。

这种互动激发了新的项目,比如由MAF长期合作伙伴发起的Lending Circles for Homeownership。 CLUES明尼阿波利斯的CLUES。CLUES的工作人员意识到,由于他们的组织提供房屋所有权的资源,他们的许多客户都在使用通过Lending Circles获得的社会贷款来支付房屋所有权的费用,如首付和其他费用。

由于良好的信用评分和充足的存款对购买新房至关重要,因此Lending Circles计划是这些准业主们的完美之路。在传统的Lending Circles项目的基础上,CLUES很容易地进行了迭代,目前已经有20名参与者加入了这个新项目。

当我们在MAF接纳新的合作伙伴时,我很高兴地看到我们如何调整Lending Circles计划,以最好地满足他们所服务的社区的需求。从一个合作伙伴到另一个合作伙伴,这些小的飞跃带来了大的影响--近$4,000,000的社会贷款,服务了3,000多个客户,建立了32个合作伙伴关系。这样的结果证明,小思维真的不小。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Lesson Earned #3: Think Small


With such a heavy focus on bringing organizations to scale, we’ve forgotten the power community holds.

Growing up, Mia Hamm posters plastered my walls – I even put one above my bed so the thought of joining the U.S. Women’s National team was my last thought at night and the first when I opened my eyes. Needless to say, I had a “sky’s the limit” mentality.

As I’ve grown older, I haven’t stopped dreaming big.

I searched for ways to achieve big impact in the world of civic engagement during my freshman year of college. That’s when I stumbled across social entrepreneurship, and immediately recognized the the opportunity social enterprises had to solve a social problem and scale it to reach more people.

It was through my work with social enterprises that I latched on to the Lean StartUp Movement. Last December, I was able to snag a free ticket to the Lean StartUp Conference.  Most people associate this movement with failing fast. More specifically, this method calls for commitment to iteration. Build. Measure. Learn. The conference shed light on what makes my work with MAF so fulfilling.

In the nonprofit world, there is a tendency to expand organizations as far and wide as possible.

This makes sense, of course, because social services should be given to all those in need. The trouble is, non-profits will build, measure and learn once (if at all) and then replicate the exact same model every time they expand to a new location. Yet what works in one community might not work in another. Your expanding organization most likely has no idea how to successfully implement its fantastic solution in a completely different environment.

The Lean Startup thinking is embodied in MAF’s partnership efforts. By working with partners to bring Lending Circles to different communities, we ensure not only efficient implementation of our programs, but also effective implementation.

Expansion through partnerships enables our mission to grow deeper instead of just wider.

This philosophy has manifested itself most recently through the Better Bay Area Campaign. This initiative allows us to reach more nonprofit organizations in the nine Bay Area counties working to improve the lives of those lost in the financial shadows. The Bay Area is pretty small, but the range of communities nestled within it is vast, each one with its own nuances.

As our community grows through these partnerships, we get to see all the exciting ways Lending Circles programs can be adjusted to meet more and more needs, like access to affordable housing.

This interaction sparks new programs like Lending Circles for Homeownership, initiated by long-time MAF partner, CLUES, in Minneapolis. The staff at CLUES realized that as their organization offers resources for homeownership, many of their clients were using the social loan received through Lending Circles to finance homeownership costs like down payments and other fees.

Since good credit scores and sufficient savings are vital to purchasing a new home, the Lending Circles program was the perfect path for these prospective homeowners to take. Iteration on the traditional Lending Circles program came easily and CLUES has already had 20 participants join this new program.

As we take on new partners at MAF, I’m excted to see how we can tailor the Lending Circles program to best meet the needs of the communities they serve. These small leaps from partner to partner lead to big impact – nearly $4,000,000 in social loans, over 3,000 clients served and 32 partnerships formed. Such results prove that small thinking is really anything but small.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.