休斯敦的信用幕后


赴德州谈信用隐形人,Lending Circles如何助力

直到最近,我在德克萨斯度过的时间仅限于在智利圣地亚哥参加完一个留学项目后的一次快速停留。我几乎没有时间去欣赏DFW窗户上似乎画着的美丽风景,然后我又回到了空中。这就是为什么我很高兴被邀请抽出一些时间与我们的首席执行官Jose一起前往休斯敦,为一大群社区组织主持一个关于Lending Circles的活动。我不知道会发生什么。

当荷西告诉我将要做的事情时,我的眼睛瞪得大大的,充满了期待。

我满怀期待的向更多的、新的听众讲述Lending Circles在信用建设方面的好处。

当然,我每周都会与全国各地的伙伴组织通电话,我也经常为伙伴们主持网络研讨会,但以非虚拟的方式进行展示感觉很陌生(虽然令人耳目一新)。在MAF,每天都是一次新的冒险,但这种冒险总是有一个舒适的结构。我通常知道我需要和哪些同事交谈,以及要问他们什么问题。我很感激有机会与这么多有价值的组织面对面交流。

当我离开酒店时,我的胃里有几只蝴蝶,心态也很开放,我跳上一辆Uber,来到大休斯顿的United Way办公室。摩根大通、Experian和联合之路一起帮助我们举办了一个活动,这样我们就可以和休斯顿的非营利组织谈谈。 加入我们的全国性网络 Lending Circles供应商的。

我的Uber司机James在载我穿越城市时,告诉我休斯顿社区惊人的多样性。他谈到所有新的文化都在一起成长,新的小飞地和社区正在出现--这听起来很美妙。他说,由于近几年人口的增长令人印象深刻,这种文艺复兴最近加速了。我很喜欢在这样一个以惊人的速度共同成长的城市的想法。

但我也知道其中的利害关系。休斯敦大都会区有非常多的无银行账户和银行账户不足的家庭(39%)。也就是说,休斯顿地区有超过1/3的家庭是银行存款不足和信用隐形的。

除此之外,43.9%休斯顿有43.9%的家庭被认为是 "流动资产贫乏"(这意味着他们无法获得足够的信贷是离长期财务灾难只差一项紧急支出)。这只会让我讲Lending Circles所能提供的力量的目的更加关键。当所有与会者都坐下来喝咖啡和吃早餐时,有超过70名来自德克萨斯州非营利组织的代表在房间里!巨大的参会人数让我们倍感振奋。

演讲开始时,大休斯敦联合之路对所有与会者表示欢迎,随后Experian的Carol Urton和摩根大通的Yvette Ruiz作了简短的介绍。随后,Jose毫无畏惧地介绍了MAF作为一个组织,以及它是如何将个人聚集在一起互相资助的概念正式化的。

在Jose的带领下,我走上讲台就位,首先介绍了参与者和合作伙伴在让客户注册和创建Lending Circles方面各自的责任。关键是要向这群潜在的服务者强调,如何向更强大的社会贷款平台转型,使40多个Lending Circles合作项目在德州等州的扩张成为可能,这个平台是围绕合作伙伴和客户的能力和用户体验设计的。

众人的参与让我感到惭愧。

从每个人像老朋友一样互相打招呼的方式可以看出,几乎每个人都认识对方。虽然对我来说,参加活动的每个人都是新认识的,但Lending Circle合作伙伴的两位员工却参加了活动:总部位于休斯敦的Dr. 华人社区中心.该合作伙伴是目前德克萨斯州提供Lending Circles的五个供应商之一。 家庭探路者, YWCA Fort Worth埃尔帕索合作组织,2015年4月签约的新伙伴。

唯一的问题是:下一步我将与休斯顿70家机构中的哪一家合作?

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Behind the Credit Curtains in Houston

A trip to Texas to talk about credit invisibles and how Lending Circles can help

texas_flag__large_by_dallasx

Until recently, my time spent in Texas was limited to a single quick stop over after a study abroad program in Santiago, Chile. I barely had any time to take in the beautiful landscapes seemingly painted on the DFW windows before I was back up in the air again. That’s why I was thrilled to be asked to take some time to head to Houston with our CEO, Jose, to headline an event about Lending Circles for a large group of community-based organizations. I didn’t know what to expect.

IMG_2967My eyes were wide with anticipation as Jose told me about what I would be doing.

I was eager with anticipation to speak to a larger, new audience about the credit building benefits that Lending Circles.

Sure, I talk on the phone to partner organizations throughout the nation every week, and I often lead webinars for partners, but to present in a non-virtual way felt foreign (although refreshing). Everyday is a new adventure at MAF, but there’s always a comfortable structure to that adventure. I typically know which of my coworkers I will need to talk to and what questions to ask them. I was grateful for the opportunity to meet with so many valuable organizations face-to-face.

With a few butterflies in my stomach and an open mind as I left my hotel, I hopped in an Uber and made my way to the United Way of Greater Houston’s office. JP Morgan Chase, Experian and The United Way were coming together to help us host an event so we could talk to nonprofits in Houston about joining our nationwide network of Lending Circles providers.

My Uber driver, James, told me about the amazing diversity of the Houston community as he drove me through the city. He talked about all the new cultures that were growing together and the new little enclaves and neighborhoods that were popping up – it sounded wonderful. He said that this renaissance had accelerated recently due to an impressive population growth in recent years. I loved the thought of being in a city that was growing together at such an amazing pace.

But I knew the stakes, too. The Houston Metro Area has a very high number of unbanked and underbanked families (39%). That’s more than 1/3 of families in the Houston area that are underbanked and credit invisible.

IMG_2010On top of that, 43.9% of Houston families are considered to be “liquid asset impoverished” (that means they don’t have access to adequate credit are one emergency expense away from long term financial disaster). It only made my purpose of speaking about the power that Lending Circles can provide even more critical. By the time all attendees were seated with coffee and breakfast, over 70 representatives from Texas nonprofits were in the room! We were energized by the tremendous turn-out.

The presentation started with the United Way of Greater Houston welcoming all of the attendees, followed by short introductions from Carol Urton of Experian and Yvette Ruiz of JP Morgan Chase. Jose then dove, fearlessly, into speaking about who MAF as an organization and how it formalized the concept of individuals coming together to financially support one another.

Following Jose’s lead, I walked up to the podium and took my place, beginning with the respective responsibilities for the participant and the partner to get clients enrolled and Lending Circles created. It was key to emphasize to this group of potential providers how the transition to a more robust social loan platform has made the expansion of 40+ Lending Circles partnerships possible in states like Texas, a platform that is designed around the capacity and user experiences of both partners and clients.

I was humbled by the engagement of the crowd.

It was clear that almost everyone knew each other from the way each person greeted one another like old friends do. Although everyone at the event was a new acquaintance for me, two staff members from a Lending Circle partner attended: the Houston-based Chinese Community Center. This partner is one of five current providers offering Lending Circles in Texas: Family Pathfinders, YWCA Fort Worth, and El Paso Collaborative, a new partner signed in April 2015.

The only question that remains: which one of the 70 Houston organizations will I get to work with next?

 


Tara Robinson

is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to.