保持Lending Circles的热度与查亚


查看 Chhaya CDC 如何使用 Lending Circles 来支持他们的经济发展课程。

纽约杰克逊高地街道上的温度逐渐降至 -1 度。即使在这个严酷的冬夜寒冷的条件下,杰克逊高地社区也是典型的美国大熔炉。来自各行各业、各种文化、各个年龄层的人们共同存在。即使在寒冷的黑夜里,人们微笑着,欢笑着,匆匆走过冰冷的街道,穿过薄薄的雪幕。整个区域沐浴在闪烁的黄色和红色光芒中,从夜色中漂浮的霓虹灯散发出来。在熙熙攘攘的街道上,远离高架火车轨道的嗡嗡声,在一栋雪覆盖的砖砌建筑中,Chhaya CDC 办公室散发出异常温暖和诱人的光芒。

在 2000 年代初期,Chhaya 在许多南亚语言中意为遮荫或庇护所,他们齐心协力为南亚家庭提供住房援助和社区支持。为了确保社区的长期稳定,Chhaya 以经济发展计划补充了他们成功的住房计划。通过这些计划,Chhaya 能够直接影响更广泛的社会成果,包括身体健康、心理健康、增加财务保障、社区自豪感和自我价值。

凭借已经强大的住房和经济计划,Chhaya 正在寻找一种方法,让他们的客户真正将他们的技能付诸实践,在积累资产的同时培养他们的财务技能。

当他们听说 Mission Asset Fund 的 Lending Circles 计划时,他们知道这将是他们金融教育课程的完美搭配。 Chhaya 通过与 National CAPCD(亚太裔美国人社区发展联盟)的密集 RFP 流程申请获得技术支持、培训和财政援助,以实施与 MAF 的社会贷款计划。

Chhaya 的工作人员 Zarin Ahmed 是 Lending Circles 计划实施后的第一批工作人员之一。 “起初,向我们的客户推销 Lending Circles 的想法非常令人生畏,”她笑着说。

非正式贷款的想法对南亚人来说并不陌生。

大多数人都知道印地语 小屁孩 资金。通常 chit 资金是在家庭团体内完成的,因此在社区成员之间提出社会贷款的想法有点难以推销。

但是 Zarin 和 Chhaya 的经济发展团队有一个好主意。他们与 Zarin 和几位在 Chhaya 经营的社区团体中认识的女性开始了他们的第一个圈子。尽管人们喜欢 Lending Circles 的想法,但他们对这个全新的程序持谨慎态度。但是一旦人们看到它有多安全,当圈子里的女性开始告诉她们的朋友和家人这件事时,人们对该计划的兴趣就会增加。

在合作的第一年,Chhaya 已向其客户提供了 Lending Circles 中 $16,000 的访问权限。

该计划深受客户欢迎,因为他们可以将 Chhaya 为他们提供的所有经济培训付诸实践,同时建立他们茁壮成长所需的信用。他们已经完成了 3 个 Lending Circles,第四个在 3 月结束 2015年.

在花旗的慷慨支持下,National CAPCD 与 Chhaya 一起赞助了另外三个亚裔美国发展组织。 National CAPCD 最近资助了第二批非营利组织,这些非营利组织即将推出贷款圈,作为向亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民社区提供服务的一部分。

MAF 很荣幸与 国家CAPACD 和像 CHAYYA 这样的组织来实施 Lending Circles。我们很高兴看到我们下一步要去哪里!

感谢 Jon D'Souza 对这篇文章的贡献。 

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Keeping Lending Circles hot with Chhaya


Check out how Chhaya CDC is using Lending Circles to support their economic development curriculum.

The temperature crept down to -1 degrees on the streets of Jackson Heights, New York. Even in the frigid conditions of this harsh winter evening, the Jackson Heights neighborhood is the quintessential American melting pot. People from all walks of life, all cultures, and all ages existing together. Even in the frigid dark of night, smiling, laughing people walked hurriedly over icy streets, through a light curtain of snow. The whole area is bathed in a flickering yellow and red glow, emanating from the neon lights floating in the night. Right off the bustling streets, away from the hum of the overhead train tracks, in a snow cloaked brick building, the Chhaya CDC offices released an unusually warm and inviting glow.

In the early 2000s, Chhaya, which means shade or shelter in many South Asian languages, came together to help provide housing assistance and community support to South Asian families. To ensure the long term stability of their community, Chhaya complemented their successful housing program with an economic development program. Through these programs, Chhaya was able to directly impact a larger range of social outcomes, including physical health, mental well being, increased financial security, community pride, and self worth.

With an already robust housing and economic programming, Chhaya was looking for a way to have their clients actually put their skills into practice, building their financial skills while building assets.

When they heard about Mission Asset Fund’s Lending Circles program, they knew it would be the perfect accompaniment to their financial education curriculum.  Chhaya applied through an intensive RFP process with National CAPACD (Coalition for Asian Pacific American Community Development) to receive technical support, training and financial assistance to implement the social-loan program with MAF.

Chhaya staff member Zarin Ahmed was one of the first staff working on the Lending Circles program after it had been implemented. “It was very daunting at first, selling the idea of Lending Circles to our clients,” she says as she lets out a little laugh.

The idea of informal lending is not new to South Asian populations.

Most know the Hindi term chit funds. Normally chit funds are done within family groups, so presenting the idea of social loan between community members was a little bit of a hard sell.

But Zarin and the Economic Development team at Chhaya had a great idea. They started their first circle with Zarin and several women who knew each other from a community group that Chhaya runs. Even though people loved the idea of Lending Circles, they were wary of this brand new program. But once people saw how safe it was, and when the women who were in the circles started telling their friends and family about it, there was an increase in interest in the program.

In its first year of partnership, Chhaya has provided access to $16,000 in Lending Circles to their clients.

The program is popular with their clients because they can put all of the economic training that Chhaya has provided them into action, while building the credit they need to thrive. They have already completed 3 Lending Circles with a fourth ending in March of 2015.

Along with Chhaya, National CAPACD sponsored three other Asian American development organizations with generous support from Citi.  National CAPACD has recently funded a second cohort of non-profits whom are about to launch their lending circles as part of their service delivery to Asian American and Pacific Islander communities.

MAF is proud to collaborate with National CAPACD and organizations like CHAYYA to implement Lending Circles.  We’re excited to see where we go next!

Thanks to Jon D’Souza for his contributions to this post. 

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.