الحفاظ على Lending Circles ساخنًا مع Chhaya


اكتشف كيف تستخدم Chhaya CDC Lending Circles لدعم منهاج التنمية الاقتصادية.

ارتفعت درجة الحرارة إلى -1 درجة في شوارع مرتفعات جاكسون ، نيويورك. حتى في الظروف الباردة لهذا المساء الشتوي القاسي ، فإن حي جاكسون هايتس هو بوتقة الانصهار الأمريكية المثالية. أناس من جميع مناحي الحياة ، ومن جميع الثقافات ، ومن جميع الأعمار يتعايشون معًا. حتى في الظلام القارس ليلا ، سار الناس مبتسمين ، ضاحكين ، مسرعين في الشوارع الجليدية ، عبر ستارة خفيفة من الثلج. المنطقة بأكملها يغمرها الوهج الأصفر والأحمر الوامض ، المنبثق من أضواء النيون التي تطفو في الليل. قبالة الشوارع الصاخبة ، بعيدًا عن أزيز مسارات القطارات العلوية ، في مبنى من الطوب المغطى بالثلوج ، أصدرت مكاتب Chhaya CDC توهجًا دافئًا وجذابًا بشكل غير عادي.

في أوائل العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين ، اجتمعت Chhaya ، والتي تعني الظل أو المأوى في العديد من لغات جنوب آسيا ، للمساعدة في تقديم المساعدة في الإسكان والدعم المجتمعي للأسر في جنوب آسيا. لضمان الاستقرار على المدى الطويل لمجتمعهم ، استكملت Chhaya برنامجها السكني الناجح ببرنامج للتنمية الاقتصادية. من خلال هذه البرامج ، كان Chhaya قادرًا على التأثير بشكل مباشر على مجموعة أكبر من النتائج الاجتماعية ، بما في ذلك الصحة البدنية والرفاهية العقلية وزيادة الأمن المالي وفخر المجتمع وتقدير الذات.

مع وجود برامج إسكانية واقتصادية قوية بالفعل ، كانت Chhaya تبحث عن طريقة لجعل عملائها يضعون مهاراتهم في الواقع موضع التنفيذ ، وبناء مهاراتهم المالية أثناء بناء الأصول.

عندما سمعوا عن برنامج Lending Circles الخاص بـ Mission Asset Fund ، أدركوا أنه سيكون المرافقة المثالية لمنهج التعليم المالي الخاص بهم. تقدم Chhaya من خلال عملية RFP مكثفة مع National CAPACD (تحالف تنمية المجتمع الأمريكي في آسيا والمحيط الهادئ) لتلقي الدعم الفني والتدريب والمساعدة المالية لتنفيذ برنامج القرض الاجتماعي مع MAF.

كان موظف Chhaya ، زارين أحمد ، من أوائل الموظفين الذين عملوا في برنامج Lending Circles بعد تنفيذه. "لقد كان الأمر شاقًا للغاية في البداية ، بيع فكرة Lending Circles لعملائنا" ، كما تقول وهي تضحك قليلاً.

إن فكرة الإقراض غير الرسمي ليست جديدة على سكان جنوب آسيا.

يعرف معظمهم المصطلح الهندي شيت أموال. عادةً ما يتم عمل الأموال غير الرسمية داخل مجموعات العائلة ، لذا كان تقديم فكرة القرض الاجتماعي بين أفراد المجتمع أمرًا صعبًا بعض الشيء.

لكن زارين وفريق التنمية الاقتصادية في تشايا كانت لديهم فكرة رائعة. بدأوا دائرتهم الأولى مع زارين والعديد من النساء اللواتي يعرفن بعضهن البعض من مجموعة مجتمعية تديرها شايا. على الرغم من أن الناس أحبوا فكرة Lending Circles ، إلا أنهم كانوا حذرين من هذا البرنامج الجديد. ولكن بمجرد أن رأى الناس مدى أمانه ، وعندما بدأت النساء في الدوائر بإخبار أصدقائهن وعائلاتهن عنه ، كان هناك زيادة في الاهتمام بالبرنامج.

في عامها الأول من الشراكة ، وفرت Chhaya الوصول إلى $16،000 في Lending Circles لعملائها.

يحظى البرنامج بشعبية لدى عملائهم لأنه يمكنهم وضع كل التدريب الاقتصادي الذي قدمه لهم Chhaya موضع التنفيذ ، مع بناء الائتمان الذي يحتاجون إليه لتحقيق الازدهار. لقد أكملوا بالفعل 3 Lending Circles مع نهاية رابعة في مارس عام 2015.

إلى جانب Chhaya ، رعت National CAPACD ثلاث منظمات تنمية أمريكية آسيوية أخرى بدعم سخي من Citi. قامت CAPACD الوطنية مؤخرًا بتمويل مجموعة ثانية من المؤسسات غير الربحية التي توشك على إطلاق دوائر الإقراض كجزء من تقديم خدماتها إلى مجتمعات الأمريكيين الآسيويين وجزر المحيط الهادئ.

ماف فخورة بالتعاون معها CAPACD الوطنية ومنظمات مثل CHAYYA لتنفيذ Lending Circles. نحن متحمسون لمعرفة إلى أين نتجه بعد ذلك!

شكرًا لجون دي سوزا على مساهماته في هذا المنشور. 

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Keeping Lending Circles hot with Chhaya


Check out how Chhaya CDC is using Lending Circles to support their economic development curriculum.

The temperature crept down to -1 degrees on the streets of Jackson Heights, New York. Even in the frigid conditions of this harsh winter evening, the Jackson Heights neighborhood is the quintessential American melting pot. People from all walks of life, all cultures, and all ages existing together. Even in the frigid dark of night, smiling, laughing people walked hurriedly over icy streets, through a light curtain of snow. The whole area is bathed in a flickering yellow and red glow, emanating from the neon lights floating in the night. Right off the bustling streets, away from the hum of the overhead train tracks, in a snow cloaked brick building, the Chhaya CDC offices released an unusually warm and inviting glow.

In the early 2000s, Chhaya, which means shade or shelter in many South Asian languages, came together to help provide housing assistance and community support to South Asian families. To ensure the long term stability of their community, Chhaya complemented their successful housing program with an economic development program. Through these programs, Chhaya was able to directly impact a larger range of social outcomes, including physical health, mental well being, increased financial security, community pride, and self worth.

With an already robust housing and economic programming, Chhaya was looking for a way to have their clients actually put their skills into practice, building their financial skills while building assets.

When they heard about Mission Asset Fund’s Lending Circles program, they knew it would be the perfect accompaniment to their financial education curriculum.  Chhaya applied through an intensive RFP process with National CAPACD (Coalition for Asian Pacific American Community Development) to receive technical support, training and financial assistance to implement the social-loan program with MAF.

Chhaya staff member Zarin Ahmed was one of the first staff working on the Lending Circles program after it had been implemented. “It was very daunting at first, selling the idea of Lending Circles to our clients,” she says as she lets out a little laugh.

The idea of informal lending is not new to South Asian populations.

Most know the Hindi term chit funds. Normally chit funds are done within family groups, so presenting the idea of social loan between community members was a little bit of a hard sell.

But Zarin and the Economic Development team at Chhaya had a great idea. They started their first circle with Zarin and several women who knew each other from a community group that Chhaya runs. Even though people loved the idea of Lending Circles, they were wary of this brand new program. But once people saw how safe it was, and when the women who were in the circles started telling their friends and family about it, there was an increase in interest in the program.

In its first year of partnership, Chhaya has provided access to $16,000 in Lending Circles to their clients.

The program is popular with their clients because they can put all of the economic training that Chhaya has provided them into action, while building the credit they need to thrive. They have already completed 3 Lending Circles with a fourth ending in March of 2015.

Along with Chhaya, National CAPACD sponsored three other Asian American development organizations with generous support from Citi.  National CAPACD has recently funded a second cohort of non-profits whom are about to launch their lending circles as part of their service delivery to Asian American and Pacific Islander communities.

MAF is proud to collaborate with National CAPACD and organizations like CHAYYA to implement Lending Circles.  We’re excited to see where we go next!

Thanks to Jon D’Souza for his contributions to this post. 

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.