何塞-基诺内斯被任命为2016年麦克阿瑟研究员。


富有远见的Lending Circles计划使低收入社区走出阴影。

今天,麦克阿瑟基金会宣布 今年的麦克阿瑟奖获得者名单.Mission Asset Fund(MAF)的创始人兼首席执行官何塞-基诺内斯(José Quiñonez)也在这份受人尊敬的获奖者短名单中。该公告已被新闻媒体报道,其中包括 纽约时报,在 华盛顿邮报和 洛杉矶时报.

ǞǞǞ 麦克阿瑟奖学金该计划通常被称为 "天才基金",旨在表彰那些具有非凡创造力、成就记录以及未来有可能做出重大贡献的人。每位研究员获得$625,000的无条件津贴,以支持获奖者追求他们的创造性愿景。自1981年以来,只有不到1000人被评为麦克阿瑟奖获得者。获奖者是通过严格的程序选出来的,多年来有成千上万的专家和匿名提名人、评估人和评选人参与。过去的研究员包括像小亨利-路易斯-盖茨、艾莉森-贝赫德和塔-内西-科茨这样的知名人士。

"这个奖项是一个很高的荣誉,它承认生活在阴影中的人们的聪明才智,他们走到一起,互相帮助,在生活中生存和发展。该奖项提升了人们生活中正确和美好的东西--他们对彼此的信任和承诺,"奎诺内兹说。

根据该基金会的说法。

José A. Quiñonez是一位金融服务创新者,他为金融渠道有限或没有金融渠道的个人创造了一条通往主流金融服务和非掠夺性信贷的途径。银行和信贷机构看不到数量众多的少数民族、移民和低收入家庭,这意味着他们没有支票或储蓄账户(无银行账户),经常使用非银行金融服务(无银行账户),或者没有全国性信用报告机构的信用报告。没有银行账户或信用记录,几乎不可能获得安全的汽车、住宅和企业贷款,也不可能租赁公寓。

Quiñonez正在帮助个人克服这些挑战,将轮流信贷协会或借贷圈(一种来自拉丁美洲、亚洲和非洲的传统文化做法)与正规金融部门联系起来。借贷圈通常是个人汇集其资源并相互分配贷款的非正式安排。通过 Mission Asset Fund (MAF),Quiñonez建立了一个机制,向信用局和其他金融机构报告个人偿还小额零利率贷款的情况。MAF的参与者能够建立信用记录,并获得信用卡、银行贷款和其他服务,专注于青年的贷款圈为个人提供申请 "童年抵达暂缓行动 "和公寓保证金的费用(脱离寄养的青年特别需要)。所有参与者都需要完成一个金融培训课程,并获得金融辅导和同伴支持。自2008年借贷圈建立以来,参与者的信用分数,共同提高了平均168分。

Quiñonez已经与金融服务行业建立了一个合作网络,使其他组织能够复制他的方法。由于奎诺内兹和MAF提供了分散和跟踪贷款所需的技术(对许多非营利组织来说是一个重大障碍),并协助获得当地的合作伙伴和投资者,17个州和哥伦比亚特区的53个非营利组织现在正在他们的社区使用这种强大的模式。Quiñonez富有远见的领导力正在为低收入和少数民族家庭提供获得安全信贷的手段,更充分地参与美国经济,并获得财务保障。

祝贺你,José!

评论(2)

评论已关闭。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

José Quiñonez named a 2016 MacArthur Fellow

The visionary Lending Circles program brings low-income communities out of the shadows.

MacArthur Award Blog Header

Today, the MacArthur Foundation announced this year’s class of MacArthur Fellows. Among the short list of esteemed awardees is José Quiñonez, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Mission Asset Fund (MAF). The announcement has been covered by news outlets including the New York Times, the Washington Post, and The LA Times.

The MacArthur Fellowship, often referred to as a “genius grant,” recognizes those with exceptional creativity, a track record of achievement, and the potential for significant contributions in the future. Each fellow receives a no-strings-attached stipend of $625,000 to support awardees’ pursuit of their creative visions. Since 1981, fewer than 1,000 people have been named MacArthur Fellows. Fellows are selected through a rigorous process that has involved thousands of expert and anonymous nominators, evaluators, and selectors over the years. Past fellows have included notable individuals like Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Alison Bechdel, and Ta-Nehisi Coates.

“This award is a high honor that recognizes the ingenuity of people who live in the shadows, who come together to help one another to survive and thrive in life. The award lifts up what is right and good in people’s lives – the trust and commitment they have for one another,” says Quiñonez.

According to the Foundation:

José A. Quiñonez is a financial services innovator creating a pathway to mainstream financial services and non-predatory credit for individuals with limited or no financial access. A disproportionate number of minority, immigrant, and low-income households are invisible to banks and credit institutions, meaning they have no checking or savings accounts (unbanked), make frequent use of nonbank financial services (underbanked), or lack a credit report with a nationwide credit-reporting agency. Without bank accounts or a credit history, it is nearly impossible to obtain safe loans for automobiles, homes, and businesses or to rent an apartment.

Quiñonez is helping individuals overcome these challenges by linking rotating credit associations or lending circles, a traditional cultural practice from Latin America, Asia, and Africa, to the formal financial sector. Lending circles are typically informal arrangements of individuals pooling their resources and distributing loans to one another. Through the Mission Asset Fund (MAF), Quiñonez has created a mechanism for reporting individuals’ repayment of small, zero-interest loans to credit bureaus and other financial institutions. MAF participants are able to establish a credit history and gain access to credit cards, bank loans, and other services, and lending circles focused on youth provide individuals with fees for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival applications and apartment security deposits (which are particularly needed by youth aging out of foster care). All participants are required to complete a financial training class and are provided with financial coaching and peer support. Since the lending circles were established in 2008, participants’ credit scores, collectively, have increased an average of 168 points.

Quiñonez has established a network of partnerships with the financial services industry to enable other organizations to replicate his approach. With Quiñonez and MAF providing the technology necessary to disperse and track loans (a significant hurdle for many nonprofits) and assisting in securing local partners and investors, 53 nonprofit providers in 17 states and the District of Columbia are now using this powerful model in their communities. Quiñonez’s visionary leadership is providing low-income and minority families with the means to secure safe credit, participate more fully in the American economy, and obtain financial security.

Felicidades, José!


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.