عين José Quiñonez زميلًا في MacArthur لعام 2016


يخرج برنامج Lending Circles البصري المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض من الظل.

أعلنت اليوم مؤسسة ماك آرثر فئة زملاء ماك آرثر لهذا العام. من بين القائمة المختصرة للفائزين المحترمين خوسيه كوينونيز ، المؤسس والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Mission Asset Fund (MAF). وقد تم تغطية هذا الإعلان من قبل وسائل الإعلام بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز، ال واشنطن بوست، و لوس انجليس تايمز.

ال زمالة ماك آرثر، التي يشار إليها غالبًا باسم "المنحة العبقرية" ، تعترف بأولئك الذين لديهم إبداع استثنائي ، وسجل حافل بالإنجازات ، وإمكانية تقديم مساهمات كبيرة في المستقبل. يتلقى كل زميل راتبًا قدره $625،000 بدون قيود لدعم سعي الحائزين على الجوائز لتحقيق رؤاهم الإبداعية. منذ عام 1981 ، تم تسمية أقل من 1000 شخص بـ MacArthur Fellows. يتم اختيار الزملاء من خلال عملية صارمة شملت الآلاف من المرشحين والمقيمين والمختارين الخبراء والمجهولين على مر السنين. شمل الزملاء السابقون أفرادًا بارزين مثل هنري لويس جيتس جونيور وأليسون بيشديل وتا نهيسي كوتس.

"هذه الجائزة هي شرف كبير يعترف ببراعة الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في الظل ، والذين يجتمعون لمساعدة بعضهم البعض على البقاء والازدهار في الحياة. ترفع الجائزة ما هو صحيح وجيد في حياة الناس - الثقة والالتزام المتبادلين لبعضهم البعض "، كما يقول كوينونيز.

بحسب المؤسسة:

José A. Quiñonez هو مبتكر في مجال الخدمات المالية يخلق مسارًا لتعميم الخدمات المالية والائتمان غير الافتراسي للأفراد الذين لديهم وصول مالي محدود أو معدوم. هناك عدد غير متناسب من الأسر المعيشية من الأقليات والمهاجرين وذوي الدخل المنخفض غير مرئيين للبنوك ومؤسسات الائتمان ، مما يعني أنه ليس لديهم حسابات جارية أو توفير (غير متعامل مع البنوك) ، أو يستخدمون الخدمات المالية غير المصرفية (التي تعاني من نقص البنوك) بشكل متكرر ، أو يفتقرون إلى تقرير ائتماني مع وكالة وطنية لإعداد التقارير الائتمانية. بدون حسابات بنكية أو سجل ائتماني ، يكاد يكون من المستحيل الحصول على قروض آمنة للسيارات والمنازل والشركات أو استئجار شقة.

يساعد Quiñonez الأفراد على التغلب على هذه التحديات من خلال ربط جمعيات الائتمان الدورية أو دوائر الإقراض ، وهي ممارسة ثقافية تقليدية من أمريكا اللاتينية وآسيا وأفريقيا ، بالقطاع المالي الرسمي. دوائر الإقراض هي عادة ترتيبات غير رسمية للأفراد الذين يقومون بتجميع مواردهم وتوزيع القروض على بعضهم البعض. من خلال Mission Asset Fund (MAF) ، أنشأت Quiñonez آلية للإبلاغ عن سداد الأفراد للقروض الصغيرة بدون فائدة إلى مكاتب الائتمان والمؤسسات المالية الأخرى. المشاركون في MAF قادرون على إنشاء سجل ائتماني والوصول إلى بطاقات الائتمان والقروض المصرفية وغيرها من الخدمات ، ودوائر الإقراض التي تركز على الشباب تزود الأفراد برسوم للإجراء المؤجل لطلبات الوصول للطفولة والودائع الأمنية للشقق (التي يحتاجها بشكل خاص شيخوخة الشباب خارج الرعاية البديلة). يُطلب من جميع المشاركين إكمال فصل تدريب مالي ويتم تزويدهم بالتدريب المالي ودعم الأقران. منذ إنشاء دوائر الإقراض في عام 2008 ، زادت درجات ائتمان المشاركين ، بشكل جماعي ، بمتوسط 168 نقطة.

أنشأ Quiñonez شبكة من الشراكات مع صناعة الخدمات المالية لتمكين المنظمات الأخرى من تكرار نهجه. مع قيام Quiñonez و MAF بتوفير التكنولوجيا اللازمة لتفريق وتتبع القروض (عقبة كبيرة للعديد من المنظمات غير الربحية) والمساعدة في تأمين الشركاء والمستثمرين المحليين ، يستخدم 53 مقدمًا غير ربحي في 17 ولاية ومقاطعة كولومبيا هذا النموذج القوي في مجتمعاتهم. . توفر القيادة الحكيمة لـ Quiñonez للأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والأقليات وسائل لتأمين الائتمان الآمن ، والمشاركة بشكل كامل في الاقتصاد الأمريكي ، والحصول على الأمن المالي.

فيليسيدادس ، خوسيه!

تعليقات (2)

التعليقات مغلقة.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

José Quiñonez named a 2016 MacArthur Fellow

The visionary Lending Circles program brings low-income communities out of the shadows.

MacArthur Award Blog Header

Today, the MacArthur Foundation announced this year’s class of MacArthur Fellows. Among the short list of esteemed awardees is José Quiñonez, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Mission Asset Fund (MAF). The announcement has been covered by news outlets including the New York Times, the Washington Post, and The LA Times.

The MacArthur Fellowship, often referred to as a “genius grant,” recognizes those with exceptional creativity, a track record of achievement, and the potential for significant contributions in the future. Each fellow receives a no-strings-attached stipend of $625,000 to support awardees’ pursuit of their creative visions. Since 1981, fewer than 1,000 people have been named MacArthur Fellows. Fellows are selected through a rigorous process that has involved thousands of expert and anonymous nominators, evaluators, and selectors over the years. Past fellows have included notable individuals like Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Alison Bechdel, and Ta-Nehisi Coates.

“This award is a high honor that recognizes the ingenuity of people who live in the shadows, who come together to help one another to survive and thrive in life. The award lifts up what is right and good in people’s lives – the trust and commitment they have for one another,” says Quiñonez.

According to the Foundation:

José A. Quiñonez is a financial services innovator creating a pathway to mainstream financial services and non-predatory credit for individuals with limited or no financial access. A disproportionate number of minority, immigrant, and low-income households are invisible to banks and credit institutions, meaning they have no checking or savings accounts (unbanked), make frequent use of nonbank financial services (underbanked), or lack a credit report with a nationwide credit-reporting agency. Without bank accounts or a credit history, it is nearly impossible to obtain safe loans for automobiles, homes, and businesses or to rent an apartment.

Quiñonez is helping individuals overcome these challenges by linking rotating credit associations or lending circles, a traditional cultural practice from Latin America, Asia, and Africa, to the formal financial sector. Lending circles are typically informal arrangements of individuals pooling their resources and distributing loans to one another. Through the Mission Asset Fund (MAF), Quiñonez has created a mechanism for reporting individuals’ repayment of small, zero-interest loans to credit bureaus and other financial institutions. MAF participants are able to establish a credit history and gain access to credit cards, bank loans, and other services, and lending circles focused on youth provide individuals with fees for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival applications and apartment security deposits (which are particularly needed by youth aging out of foster care). All participants are required to complete a financial training class and are provided with financial coaching and peer support. Since the lending circles were established in 2008, participants’ credit scores, collectively, have increased an average of 168 points.

Quiñonez has established a network of partnerships with the financial services industry to enable other organizations to replicate his approach. With Quiñonez and MAF providing the technology necessary to disperse and track loans (a significant hurdle for many nonprofits) and assisting in securing local partners and investors, 53 nonprofit providers in 17 states and the District of Columbia are now using this powerful model in their communities. Quiñonez’s visionary leadership is providing low-income and minority families with the means to secure safe credit, participate more fully in the American economy, and obtain financial security.

Felicidades, José!


Tara Robinson is the Chief Development Officer for Mission Asset Fund. She spends an inordinate amount of time thinking about what to say, how to say it and who to say it to. She's also occasionally found editing parenting magazines and coming up with home improvement projects that have to be done right now.