重要的是你问的是谁


与一位创始成员的谈话描绘了新的成员驱动的理事会将对Lending Circles计划做出的贡献。

这是关于保持真实。随着我们的成长和发展,我们知道,让真实的人参与进来将是收集反馈的关键,以改善和指导项目和产品。考虑到这一点,我们在今年早些时候成立了我们的第一个会员咨询委员会(MAC)。

其目的是什么?鼓励使用我们项目的客户之间进行对话,并仔细研究他们的经验。会员咨询委员会将就新项目、客户经验提供建议,并帮助制定我们的战略目标。

上个月,由我们8名客户(又称会员)组成的会员咨询委员会首次开会,代表了我们社区的多样性。我们坐下来,了解其中一位成员。 桑托斯并听听MAC对他意味着什么。

告诉我们一些关于你自己的情况。

我在第九区的中心地带长大,最常被称为 "La Mission",在第26街和瓦伦西亚街,这些交叉口见证了我的成长和成为现在的我。在La Mission区长大,它给了我在旧金山其他区无法看到或体验到的视角。La Mission充满了来自世界各个角落的文化。我们的当地人非常直言不讳,不惧怕对不公正现象发表意见。

你是做什么工作的?

我在拉美团的一些理想中长大,我想为我的社区做一些事情,一些可以教导--或者我们在海湾这里怎么说的,"讲一些游戏"--给年轻一代的事情。所以我开始为湾区城市辩论联盟工作。作为旧金山的区域协调员,我负责该联盟在旧金山的所有项目。我主要与高中合作,如Mission High School、Wallenberg High School、Downtown High School、June Jordan School for Equity和Ida B. Wells High School。

你为什么要加入Lending Circles项目?

我加入了一个借贷圈,因为我母亲认为这将是一个开始产生一些信贷的好方法。起初我持怀疑态度。我知道Tanda是什么,但那些有时是粗略的,并不总是成功的。快进到2016年,我已经做了3或4个Lending Circles。

我最喜欢Lending Circles的一件事是你必须参加的金融课程。每次加入Lending Circle都要上这门课,这是一项要求。不断加强金融教育是关键。我从这种不断的提醒中学到了很多东西。我一直在努力让人们加入这个项目。我通常只是给他们看网站,并告诉他们一些我的故事。

当你了解到MAC的时候,你的反应是什么?

当我接到电话时,我不知道该如何反应。接到电话时,我恰好在我所在大楼的屋顶上。这个电话就像一阵微风吹来,就像似曾相识。当我和卡拉谈起成为第一批MAC成员的时候,我毫不犹豫地就答应了。

MAC的哪个部分最让你兴奋?

对我来说,真正有趣的事情之一是,你可以代表一个社区。你可以为那些无法被听到的人说话。这是一种权力,不是每个人都能感受到的。MAC成员所做的决定将影响到社区,这才是真正引起我注意的地方。

我能够体验并成为社区的直接决策者,这超出了我的梦想。在其他七个成员的帮助下,我们可以使我们的社区变得更好。第一代MAC成员将为下一代制定标准,以此类推,我们将建立一个以社区为优先的团体。

互助会的下一次会议定于8月3日举行,该小组期待着讨论他们来年的目标。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

It’s who you ask that matters


A conversation with a founding member paints a picture of what a new member-driven council will contribute to the Lending Circles program.

It’s about keeping it real. As we grow and evolve, we know that engaging real people will be key to gathering feedback that improves and informs programs and products. With this in mind, we set out to form our very first Member Advisory Council (MAC) earlier this year.

The goal? To encourage dialogue among clients who use our programs and take a closer look at their experiences. The Member Advisory Council will provide advice on new programs, the client experience, and will help shape our strategic goals.

Last month the Member Advisory Council, made up of 8 of our clients (a.k.a. members) representing the diversity of our community met for the first time. We sat down to get to know one of those members, Santos, and to hear what MAC means to him.

Tell us a little bit about yourself:

I grew up in the heart of District 9, most commonly known as “La Mission”, at 26th and Valencia Streets, where the intersections saw me grow and become who I am now. Growing up in La Mission, it gave me perspectives that you don’t get to see or experience in other Districts in San Francisco. La Mission is full of cultures from every corner of the world. We have locals that are very outspoken, that are not afraid to speak against injustice.

What do you do for a living?

Growing up with some of the La Mission ideals, I wanted to do something for my community, something that could teach – or how we say it here in the Bay, “Speak some game” – to the younger generations. So I started working for the Bay Area Urban Debate League. As the regional coordinator for San Francisco, I am in charge of all the programs that the League has here in San Francisco. I work primarily with the High Schools such as Mission High School, Wallenberg High School, Downtown High School, June Jordan School for Equity, and Ida B. Wells High School.

Why did you join the Lending Circles program?

I joined a Lending Circle because my mother thought it would be a good way to start generating some credit. At first I was skeptical. I knew what a Tanda was but those were sometimes sketchy and didn’t always work out. Fast forward to 2016 and I have done 3 or 4 Lending Circles.

One of the things that I enjoy the most about the Lending Circles is the finance class you have to take. It is a requirement to take the class every time you join a Lending Circle. The constant reinforcement of financial education is key. I’ve learned so much from that constant reminder. I’m constantly trying to get people to join the program. I usually just show them the website and tell them a bit of my story.

What was your reaction when you learned about MAC?

When I got the call, I didn’t know how to react. I happened to be on the roof of my building when I got the call. The call came in as a breeze of air, it was like deja vu. When I spoke to Karla about becoming part of the first group of MAC members, it was a no brainer and I immediately said yes.

What part of MAC is most exciting to you?

One of the things that Is really interesting to me is that you get to represent a community. You get to speak for the people that cannot be heard. That’s a power that not everyone gets to feel. The decisions that MAC members will make, will affect the community and that’s what’s really got my attention.

The fact that I get to experience and be a direct decision maker for the community is beyond my dreams. With the help of the seven other members we can make our community better. The first generation of MAC members will set the standards for the next generation and so on we will build a group that prioritizes the community.

MAC’s next meeting is scheduled for August 3rd where the group looks forward to discussing their goals for the coming year.

Tara Robinson
CDO at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.