MAF实验室。社会公益研发

这可以追溯到MAF最早的时候,当时Lending Circles还不是一个全国性的项目,当时关于财务能力的谈话只围绕着储蓄。我们的创始人知道,要想创造出真正能发挥作用的项目和服务,你们必须以人们的生活现实为导向。设计项目的地点和方式很重要。

我们每天早上起来都会建立一些能够真正增强客户能力的项目。对我们来说,这意味着我们不把客户视为需要解决的问题。

最初是作为副业开始的--一个相对较小的参与性行动研究,我们称之为 "中国人"。 移民金融一体化倡议 - 现在已经成为整个组织的一个突出的方法。这种倾听的做法是设计思维背后的一个核心原则--这个过程可以确保我们满足用户的需求,发扬他们的长处,并创造出最终对我们所服务的社区产生真正影响的产品。

这就是为什么我们要把我们的技术团队发展成一个研究和发展实验室:在MAF内部的一个创新单位,以建立更好的项目和产品来满足我们所服务的社区的需求。

MAF实验室的目标是。

  • 揭示我们所服务的社区未得到满足的迫切需求
  • 了解这些社区的做法、关系和资源
  • 通过MAF的项目和产品扩大支持的金融需求类型
  • 提高方案和产品的相关性和可用性,以满足用户的需求
  • 与其他组织分享我们的研究和经验
  • 为领先的非营利组织、基金会和企业提供研究、设计思考和技术服务
作者(研发实验室经理)和用户体验/用户界面设计师在MAF总部与客户一起测试一个原型

MAF的研发过程注重与那些经常被遗弃的社区的共鸣和接触。

这种方法包括进行研究以了解用户的需求,并建立项目和产品以满足这些需求。我们正在连接非营利组织和金融技术世界的精华。

  • 我们的客户是多样化的。我们为那些经常被排除在科技发展和正规金融市场之外的人建造产品。
  • 作为一个直接服务提供商,我们与客户有着密切的关系,因此我们与用户迅速而深入地建立了共鸣。
  • 我们有自己的技能,可以用多种语言进行用户研究,这使得客户在我们的整个过程中都能得到倾听和代表。
  • 对于一个非营利组织来说,我们拥有进行严格的定量研究的内部专业知识,并利用这些新出现的见解为我们的战略和发展提供信息。

凭借在研究和设计中使用最佳实践的良好记录,启动MAF研发实验室将使我们能够做得更多...更快。下面是我们团队的一个典型过程。

良性的研发循环意味着我们通过研究来评估优势,了解需求,然后打造产品来利用这些优势来满足这些需求。但这并没有停止。更多的研究帮助我们评估如何 很好 我们的产品正在满足这些需求。这就是我们确定缺少什么或需要改进什么的方式。

例如:紧接着我们的 2017年DACA运动, MAF 发起了一项调查 到计划申请人,以更好地了解DACA接受者的社区。我们分析了这些数据,并将其用于 启动新项目 以帮助满足调查中出现的财务需求(我们甚至首先在目标社区成员中测试了这些项目,以确保我们的工作是正确的)。我们不只是在内部使用这些见解--我们与我们的资助者和客户分享调查结果,征求他们的意见。在未来几周,我们将在这个博客上分享它们。这是研发实验室将继续做更多的工作,以更好地服务我们的客户,并帮助同行组织获得信息,帮助他们更好地支持他们的客户。

我们对团队进行了一些调整,以帮助我们发展。研发实验室团队最近搬出了MAF的主办公室,进入了我们自己的空间,我们称之为Design Hub。

我们的新办公室帮助我们开辟了一个长期孵化产品的空间(并给了我们一个借口,以构思的名义在墙上画满画)。我们也增加了实现雄心勃勃的议程的能力,包括在今年发布一个原生移动应用程序和推出新的贷款计划。为了缩短设计和测试原型之间的冲刺时间,我们将设计团队引入内部,并在用户研究和测试方面对自己进行培训。这意味着投资于员工,以帮助我们收集和分析更多的用户数据--并减少我们技术发展的构建时间。我们已经组建了 一个由创意和精通数据的MAFistas组成的团队 建立对我们的客户重要的产品。

我们的团队在我们的支持下得到了加强。 技术咨询委员会该实验室由来自科技公司的经验丰富的领导人组成,为我们提供科技发展各方面的建议。研发实验室将MAF作为一个直接服务的非营利组织、一个金融服务提供商、一个数据驱动的技术组织和一个社会创新力量的优势结合起来。

归根结底,MAF研发实验室的力量来自于我们与客户建立的信任。这种信任鼓励他们敞开自己的梦想和恐惧。我们将通过继续将我们的工作建立在MAF尊重和授权给客户的价值观上,来维护这种信任。

 

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

MAF Lab: R&D for social good

It goes back to the earliest days at MAF, when Lending Circles was not yet a program available across the nation and when the conversation about financial capability only centered around savings. Our founders knew that to create programs and services that actually made a difference, you had to orient yourselves in the realities of people’s lives. That it matters where and how you design programs.

We get up in the morning to build programs that actually empower clients. To us, that means we don’t see clients as the problems that need to be solved.

What first started as side project – a relatively small participatory action study we called the Immigrant Financial Integration Initiative – has now become a distinguishing approach for the entire organization. This practice of listening is a core principle behind design thinking – a process that ensures that we are addressing users’ needs, building on their strengths, and creating products that will ultimately have real impact for the communities we serve.

That’s why we’re evolving our technology team into a Research and Development Lab: an innovation unit within MAF to build better programs and products to meet the needs of the communities we serve.

The goals of the MAF Lab are to:

  • Uncover pressing unmet needs of the communities we serve
  • Understand the practices, relationships, and resources of these communities
  • Expand the types of financial needs supported through MAF’s programs and products
  • Improve the relevance and usability of programs and products to address users’ needs
  • Share our research and experiences with other organizations
  • Provide research, design-thinking, and technology services to leading nonprofits, foundations, and corporations
The author (R&D Lab Manager) and UX/UI Designer test a prototype with a client in MAF HQ

MAF’s R&D process focuses on empathy and engagement with communities who are often left behind.

This approach involves conducting research to understand users’ needs and building programs and products to meet those needs. We’re bridging the best of the nonprofit and fintech worlds:

  • Our clients are diverse. We build products for people who are often left out of tech developments and formal financial markets.
  • As a direct services provider, we have a close relationship with our clients, so we build empathy with our users quickly and deeply.
  • We have the skillset to do our own user research in multiple languages, which allows clients to be heard and represented throughout our process.
  • Unusual for a nonprofit, we have the expertise in-house to conduct rigorous quantitative research – and use these emerging insights to inform our strategy and development.

With a strong track record of using best practices in research and design, launching the MAF R&D Lab will allow us to do more…and faster. Here’s what a typical process looks like for our team:

A virtuous research & development cycle means we research to assess strengths, understand needs, and then build products to leverage those strengths to meet those needs. But it doesn’t stop there. More research helps us assess how well our products are meeting those needs. That’s how we determine what’s missing or what needs to be refined.

For example: immediately following our 2017 DACA campaign, MAF launched a survey to program applicants to better understand the community of DACA recipients. We analyzed the data and are using it to launch new programs to help meet the financial needs that emerged from the survey (we even tested these programs with target community members first to make sure we got it right). We didn’t just use these insights internally – we shared the survey results with our funders and clients for their input. We’ll be sharing them on this blog in the coming weeks. This is the type of work that the R&D Lab will continue to do more of to better serve our clients and help peer organizations get access to information to help them better support their clients.

We’ve made a few changes to the team to help us evolve. The R&D Lab team recently moved out of MAF’s main office and into our own space, which we call Design Hub.

Our new office has helped us carve out a space to incubate products for the long-term (and gives us an excuse to draw all over the walls in the name of ideation). We’ve also increased our capacity to achieve an ambitious agenda that includes releasing a native mobile app this year and launching new loan programs. To shorten the sprints between designing and testing prototypes, we brought our design team in-house and trained ourselves in user research and testing. That meant investing in staff to help us collect and analyze more user data – and to reduce the build time of our tech developments. We have assembled a team of creative and data-savvy MAFistas to build products that matter to our clients.

Our team is bolstered by the support of our Technology Advisory Council, made up of seasoned leaders from tech companies advising us on all aspects of tech developments. The R&D Lab brings together MAF’s strengths as a direct service nonprofit, a financial services provider, a data-driven tech organization, and a force of social innovation.

Ultimately, the strength of the MAF R&D Lab comes from the trust we’ve built with clients. It’s trust that encourages them to open up about their dreams and fears. We will preserve that trust by continuing to ground our work in MAF’s values of respecting and empowering our clients.

 

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.