荣获普林斯顿威尔逊学院颁发的Bullard奖。


4月9日,普林斯顿大学伍德罗-威尔逊学院的有色人种学生和校友向我颁发了爱德华-布拉德奖。我深表感激,并与我的同龄人分享了这个消息。

非常感谢你们。获得这一奖项对我来说意义重大。

我记得早在1996年就组织了第二届研讨会。

参加那次活动的人数可能没有今天这么多。但我记得我对这个美妙的机会感到同样的能量和兴奋,因为我们可以从繁忙的学生生活中抽身出来,与校友见面--听他们的故事,从他们的经验中学习,并对我们自己在威尔逊学校的经历获得一些看法。

而现在,我们在这里,庆祝《中国青年报》成立20周年。 有色人种的学生和校友 我们要感谢埃德-布拉德、杰弗里-普列托和约翰-坦普尔顿以及所有组织这些周末活动的MPA学生。为此,我们要感谢埃德-布拉德、杰弗里-普列托和约翰-坦普尔顿以及所有组织这些周末活动的MPA学生,感谢他们的远见卓识和辛勤工作,让我们走到了今天。

在我接到Renato Rocha和Gilbert Collins的电话后不久,关于 布拉德奖我回顾了我在这里的经历,以及它们如何塑造了我的职业和最终我的生活。

值得庆幸的是,我能够忘记所有的痛苦和不眠之夜,因为我在做经济学问题集,或写五页的政策备忘录,或为这个或那个考试补习。我真的超级感谢我的大脑能够抹去所有这些记忆,以便我能够专注于所有的好东西。

我相信在座的所有校友都能说出同样的话,对吗?嗯,好吧--我就为自己说说。

但是今天早些时候,我走进了楼下的一家保龄球馆--我第一次没有感到紧张。我的心率没有变得古怪,我的腿也没有变得不安。真的。20年后,我能够坐下来,享受在普林斯顿的生活。是的,我花了那么长时间才克服它)。

回想我的生活,我能够追溯到我目前的许多工作,在 Mission Asset Fund 对我在威尔逊学校学到的东西。

例如,乌韦-莱因哈特教授,他让我看到了人们在金融市场上成为掠夺性贷款人的牺牲品的可怕的不公正现象。他的课是关于财务管理的,这有点无聊和枯燥。但他以微妙的方式,在讲课中插入贷款人如何操纵贷款条款,让借款人承担额外费用和成本的故事。我记得我对骗取人们的钱财如此容易感到厌恶--并对贷款人可以肆无忌惮地拿走人们的血汗钱感到愤怒。

莱因哈特的故事让我不再认为财务是枯燥无味的,而是认为财务是一个可以实质性地改善人们生活的社会正义问题。

还有就是亚历杭德罗-波特斯教授。他给我上了非常重要的一课,这一课实际上是Lending Circles的基石,这是我们在Mission Asset Fund提供的一个帮助勤劳家庭建立和改善其信用的项目。

波特斯教会我看到并欣赏非正式地发生的令人难以置信的经济活动。

我们在世界各地都能看到它。在繁忙的街角卖玉米饼的街头小贩。或者打零工的日工。

他向我们展示了街头小贩所做的事情,他们在非正规经济中产生的经济活动--虽然看不见,但仍然与正规经济中发生的经济活动非常相似。这并不是 不到,而不是 刑事,而不是 劣质,但也是一样的--唯一的区别是,正规经济中的经济活动有法律和法规来保护和保障,并使其在更广泛的经济体系中可见。

我利用这个想法创造了 Lending Circles.

我们的客户--主要是没有银行账户的低收入拉丁裔移民--有一个历史悠久的传统,那就是成群结队,相互借贷。在墨西哥,这些被称为tandas或cundinas,它们在世界各地有许多不同的名字。这些贷款是非正式的,主要基于信任。

但除了参与的人之外,没有人真正知道这些事情。没有人知道,参与者实际上是先支付这些义务,然后才是其他事情。真的,金融业从来没有欣赏过这样一个事实,即坦达是一种惊人的金融工具--帮助参与者管理他们生活中激烈的收入波动。

这是为什么呢?因为tandas是非正式的,发生在金融系统之外。

他们是看不见的。但在MAF,我们改变了这一点。

我们创建了一个流程,通过让人们签署期票使这种活动可见,允许我们为贷款提供服务,并向主要的信用局,即Experian、TransUnion和Equifax报告支付活动。从而我们帮助我们的客户开始了信用历史并提高了他们的信用分数。

该计划是有效的。2014年,加利福尼亚州的布朗州长 签署了一项法律 认识到借贷圈是一种善的力量。因此,你可以想象--我可以在这间满是政策同行的房间里说这句话--让一项法案颁布为法律是相当酷的。我很兴奋。

我为自己能完成这项工作而感到自豪!我的工作是:。

这件事发生时,我像风筝一样飞得很高。但随着时间的推移,我意识到这一成就并不是偶然的。你看,我是一个产品的 公共政策与国际事务(PPIA)项目这是一个致力于增加从事公共服务的有色人种学生人数的项目。

1994年,我在威尔逊学院完成了我的初级夏季学院。由于这种经验和支持以及我遇到的人,我能够看到自己在学校成为一名全职学生,获得MPA学位,并在公共服务领域建立一个职业生涯。

这不是意外。我所做的正是这个项目所要达到的目的。

多年来,PPIA项目已经建立了一支令人难以置信的有色人种专业队伍,在公共服务领域工作。这很好。我们现在就可以在这个房间里看到它。看看周围。

看到满屋子漂亮、有才华、有激情的人把他们的事业--他们的生命--献给了公共服务,真是不可思议。有一半的MPA学生是通过PPIA管道入学的。

但是,当你考虑到我们作为一个国家所面临的巨大问题:从公众对我们的机构和领导人缺乏信任;到从财富到收入到教育机会的骇人听闻的不平等;到数百万人被剥夺选举权;到气候变化的破坏性影响......嗯,你知道我们可以继续列出我们作为一个国家面临的所有问题。

关键是,在公共服务领域,没有足够的有色人种专业人士来面对这些问题。

我环顾这个房间,我对这里的每个人都感到惊奇。但坦率地说,我不认为我们有足够的人。根本没有足够的人站在战壕里,带着不同的观点、不同的想法、不同的生活经历,为解决我们国家的问题增加重要的见解。坦率地说,这个房间里的人的数量应该是两倍或三倍。

虽然我喜欢威尔逊学校将这些周末作为一个传统。我认为现在是学校做更多工作的时候了。现状是根本无法接受的。我们需要加倍努力,拓宽管道。我们需要更多的有色人种学生接触到公共服务的职业。我们需要更多的学生在毕业时获得MPA。我们需要更多的有色人种专业人士为创造我们应得的美国而努力。

如你所知,这个问题的紧迫性并不新鲜。

很多时候,我们都在谈论多样性和包容性,以及让更多有色人种的学生进入这所学校。但对我来说,它在去年六月击中了我的心。6月18日早上,我正准备上班,听着关于可怕的......的新闻。 在南卡罗来纳州查尔斯顿发生的九人屠杀事件.枪击事件发生在前一天,在AME教堂的晚间祈祷仪式上。

教堂的高级牧师克莱门塔-平克尼牧师也在遇害之列。我被惊呆了。

平克尼牧师是PPIA的研究员--我们一起参加了青少年暑期学院的课程。他后来成为南卡罗来纳州的州代表,后来又成为州参议员。他被杀时只有41岁。他在这么年轻的时候就做了这么多事情。显然,他被枪杀是为了引爆一场种族战争。但他的死是最终在南卡罗来纳州取下邦联旗的推动力,那是种族主义者的可耻象征。

今天早些时候在碗里的时候,我看了看克莱姆以前坐的地方,想起了他轻松的笑容和低沉的声音。1994年夏天,我们在那些碗里度过了10个艰苦的星期。只要想到他在那里,在那个房间里,至少有一瞬间,就给我带来了希望。希望我们在这个世界上的生活工作能够真正具有影响力。

我们需要记住克莱姆并纪念他的一生。

在我看来,他是一个真正的例子,说明为国家服务的生活意味着什么。美国需要更多像克莱姆这样的人。我相信威尔逊学院有责任和义务做更多的工作来寻找和培训世界上的克莱门特,以便我们能够有机会真正解决我们国家的问题。

谢谢你。

照片由。 凯瑟琳-埃尔金摄影

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Honored with the Bullard Award by Princeton’s Wilson School

Jose Quinonez Bullard Award MAF

Katherine Elgin Photography

Thank you so very much. It means a great deal to me to receive this award.

I remember organizing the 2nd symposium back in 1996.

The number of attendees at that event may not have been as great as today’s. But I remember feeling the same energy and excitement over the wonderful opportunity to step back from our busy student lives and meet with alumni – to hear their stories, to learn from their experiences, and to gain some perspective about our own experiences here at the Wilson School.

And now we’re here, celebrating the 20th anniversary of Students and Alumni of Color coming together. And for that we owe Ed Bullard and Jeffrey Prieto and John Templeton and all the MPA students who organized these weekends a great deal of gratitude for their vision and hard work that got us here today.

Soon after I got the call from Renato Rocha and Gilbert Collins about the Bullard Award, I reflected back on my experiences here and how they shaped my career and ultimately my life.

Jose Quinonez Gilbert Collins SAOC Wilson School
Katherine Elgin Photography

Thankfully, I was able to forget all the painful and sleepless nights from working on econ problem sets or writing five-page policy memos or cramming for this or that exam. I’m really super thankful that my brain was able to erase all those memories so that I could focus on all the good stuff.

I’m sure all alumni in this room can say the same, right? Well, fine — I’ll speak for myself.

But earlier today I walked into a Bowl downstairs – and for the first time I did not get nervous. My heart rate didn’t go wacky, my leg didn’t get restless. Really. After 20 years I was able to just sit back and enjoy being here at Princeton. (Yeah. It took me that long to get over it.)

Thinking back on my life, I was able to trace much of my current work at the Mission Asset Fund to what I learned here at the Wilson School.

Professor Uwe Reinhardt, for example, he opened my eyes to the horrific injustices of people falling prey to predatory lenders in the financial marketplace. His class was about financial management, which was a little boring and dry. But in his subtle way, he would insert stories in his lectures about how lenders manipulate loan terms to load borrowers with extra fees and costs. I remember feeling disgusted over how easy it was to rip people off – and angry that lenders could get away with taking people’s hard-earned money with impunity.

Reinhardt’s stories allowed me to see finances not as dull but rather as a social justice issue that could materially improve people’s lives.

And there’s Professor Alejandro Portes. He taught me a very important lesson, one that is actually the cornerstone of Lending Circles, a program that we offer at the Mission Asset Fund to help hardworking families build and improve their credit.
Lucero Hotdog Cart MAF

Portes taught me to see and appreciate the incredible economic activity that happens informally.

We see it all over the world. The street vendor selling tamales on busy street corners. Or the day laborer working odd jobs.

He showed us that what the street vendors do, the economic activity they generate in the informal economy – while invisible, it is still very similar to the economic activity that happens in the formal economy. It’s not less than, not criminal, not inferior, but the same – with the only difference being that economic activities in the formal economy have laws and regulations to protect and secure and make them visible to the broader economic systems.

I used this idea to create Lending Circles.

Our clients – largely unbanked, low-income Latino immigrants – have a time-honored tradition of coming together in groups to lend and borrow money from each other. In Mexico, these are known as tandas or cundinas, and they go by many, many different names throughout the world. These loans are informal, based largely on trust.

But nobody really knows about them except the people involved. Nobody knows that participants actually pay these obligations first, before anything else. Really, the financial industry has never appreciated the fact that tandas are a phenomenal financial vehicle – helping participants manage the intense income fluctuations in their lives.

Why is that? Because tandas are informal, taking place outside of the financial systems.

They’re invisible. But at MAF, we changed that.

We created a process to make this activity visible by getting people to sign promissory notes, allowing us to service loans and report payment activity to the main credit bureaus, Experian, TransUnion and Equifax. And thereby we’re helping our clients start a credit history and improve their credit scores.

The program works. In 2014, Gov. Brown in California signed a law recognizing lending circles as a force for good. So, as you can imagine — and I can say this in this room of full of fellow policy folks – getting a bill enacted into law is pretty cool. I was excited.

I was proud of myself for getting this done!

I was flying high as a kite when this happened. But In time I realized that this achievement was no accident. You see, I’m the product of the Public Policy & International Affairs (PPIA) program, a program dedicated to increasing the number of students of color in public service.

I did my Junior Summer Institute here, at the Wilson School in 1994. And because of that experience and support and people I met, I was able to see myself here at the School as a full time student, getting an MPA, and building a career in public service.

It was no accident. I’m doing exactly what this program was designed to accomplish.

Wilson School Students and Alumni of Color
Katherine Elgin Photography

Through the years, the PPIA program has built an incredible cadre of professionals of color, working in public service. It’s wonderful. We can see it in this room right now. Look around.

It’s incredible to see a room full of beautiful and talented and passionate people dedicating their careers – their lives – to public service. Half of MPA students of color come through the PPIA pipeline.

But when you consider the enormous problems we face as a nation: from the lack of public trust in our institutions and leaders; to the appalling inequalities from wealth to income to educational opportunities; to the disenfranchisement of millions of people from electoral process; to the devastating effects of climate change… well, you know we can go on for hours listing all the issues we face as a nation.

The point is that there are not enough professionals of color in public service confronting these issues.

I look around this room and I’m amazed with everyone here. But frankly, I don’t think that there’s enough of us. There is simply not enough people in the trenches that come with different perspectives, different ideas, different life experiences that can add significant insights to solutions to our nation’s problems. The number of people in this room, quite frankly, should be double or triple.

While I love that the Wilson School has made these weekends a tradition. I think the time has come for the School to do more. The status quo is simply not acceptable anymore. We need to double down and widen the pipeline. We need more students of color getting exposed to careers in public service. We need more students graduating with MPAs. We need more professionals of color working to create the America we deserve.

As you know, the urgency on this issue is not new.

Many times, we’d talked about diversity and inclusion and getting more students of color in this School. But to me it hit home last June. I was getting ready for work the morning of June 18, listening to the news about the horrific massacre of nine people in Charleston South Carolina. The shooting happened the day before, during an evening prayer service at the AME Church.

The senior pastor of the church, the Rev. Clementa Pinckney was among those killed. I was stunned.

Rev. Pinckney was a PPIA fellow – we did the Junior Summer Institute program together. He went on to become a State Representative in South Carolina, and later State Senator. He was only 41 years old when he was killed. He did so much at such a young age. Apparently, he was shot dead to ignite a race war. But his death was the impetus that finally took down the Confederate flag in South Carolina, that shameful symbol of racists.

While in the Bowl earlier today, I looked over to where Clem use to sit, remembering his easy smile and deep voice. We spent 10 grueling weeks in those bowls over the summer of 1994. And just thinking of him there, in that room, for at least a moment, it brought me hope. Hope that our lives’ work in this world can be truly consequential.

We need to remember Clem and honor his life.

In my view, he is a true example of what it means to live life in the Nation’s Service. America needs more people like Clem. And I believe the Wilson School has the responsibility and obligation to do more to find and train the Clementas of the world so that we can have a real shot at solving our nation’s problems.

Thank you.

About lending8 information

More Stories