冠军聚焦。认识Gaby Zamudio


她是一名双语UI开发人员和乒乓高手,热衷于利用科技做好事。

认识一下盖比-萨穆迪奥,她是一位专攻用户界面的双语开发人员,也是一个全面积极的人,一直在寻找机会利用她的技术技能来支持当地的非营利机构。盖比是 Meraki Creative她是一个女性企业家社区的负责人,也曾是Thoughtworks的开发人员。自2016年以来,她一直是MAF技术咨询委员会(TAC)的成员,该委员会由来自湾区领先的科技公司的专业人士组成,他们提供领导、建议和咨询,以帮助MAF使用技术来最好地满足低收入消费者的金融需求。

我们有机会与盖比坐下来,了解更多关于促使她支持MAF的原因。

MAF: 告诉我们你的情况。爱好、兴趣、激情?

GZ。 我接受过UI开发和设计的培训,我喜欢寻找创造性的方法来显示数据和信息。我最近有机会在旧金山的General Assembly担任前端开发课程的教学助理。

大多数人不知道的一个有趣的事实是,我从小就打乒乓球(又称乒乓),并有机会代表我所在的地区参加比赛。通常我是唯一的女性参赛者,这为我进入科技行业做好了准备,在那里我经常有类似的经历。

MAF:什么问题刺激了你的行动?

GZ。 首先,社会正义对我来说一直很重要。我是在秘鲁的内部冲突时期长大的,当时有两个强大的恐怖主义政党,所以那是一个危险的时期。许多人失踪了。我妈妈在一个人权组织工作,我爸爸是一个社会学家和活动家。我妈妈对她的工作投入了很多。作为一个孩子,我记得我希望能更多地看到她,然后打开心扉,意识到也许其他人比我更需要我妈妈。我感到很矛盾,因为与许多人不同,我有食物和一个安全的地方睡觉。但我很容易就会处于他们的位置。这一经历塑造了我对创造一个在社会和经济上更加公正的世界的承诺。

第二,我非常关心移民的权利。我在19岁时独自从秘鲁搬到美国,所以我可以体会到这个国家的移民的经历。

最后,我热衷于环境问题。我在一个采矿镇长大,我看到了这些行业如何污染我们的社区。如果我们不保护我们的环境,我们就无法在社会正义和教育等其他问题上取得进展。

MAF: 是什么让你想参与到MAF中来的?

GZ。 我第一次听说MAF是通过一个参加过借贷圈的朋友,我立即认识到了这种做法。在秘鲁,许多人参加Panderos,为大宗商品攒钱,同时对一个团体负责任。我喜欢MAF把在团体中储蓄的做法与信用建设和金融教育联系起来。

当我自己搬到美国时,这里的金融系统对我来说是完全陌生的。我不知道什么是信贷。

当我开始上大学时,在学生贷款过程中感到很困惑。我本可以很容易地获得比我需要的更多的贷款,使自己陷入一个无法自拔的困境。幸运的是,这并没有发生。但我的经验告诉我,每个人--不仅仅是移民--都可以从更多的信息和工具中受益,以导航金融系统。

在第一次了解到MAF的几年后,一位朋友建议我研究一下MAF新成立的技术咨询委员会(TAC)。非营利组织通常没有像营利性公司那样的技术资源,我很荣幸能利用我的技术专长来增加亚洲动物基金会的技术能力,帮助创造更大的影响。

MAF:您为什么要在我们一起做的工作中投入时间和技能?

GZ。 对我来说,它是关于赋予人们权力。在第一次TAC会议上,我有机会见到路易斯,他现在拥有D'maize,一家位于旧金山的萨尔瓦多餐馆。MAF的贷款使他和他的妻子能够建立信用分数,然后获得更大的贷款来发展他们的业务。他们最终从社区雇用了员工,现在他们通过为他们儿子的活动捐赠餐饮来回馈。

我希望能成为一个 竞技场花岗岩 (沙粒)支持这个惊人的波纹效应。

MAF:在接下来的几个月里,您对我们的合作有什么期待?

GZ。 我期待着支持Lending Circles应用程序的开发,并在最终版本完成后看到它。我为能够帮助设计这个独一无二的应用程序而感到自豪。我希望MAF团队也能感到同样的自豪。我也很高兴在我们开发更多的技术产品时,能反思我们从这个过程中所学到的东西。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Champion Spotlight: Meet Gaby Zamudio

She’s a bilingual UI developer and ping pong pro who’s passionate about using tech for good.

Follow our Champion Spotlight series, where we introduce you to our great Social Investors and honor their actions to support financial empowerment through credit-building.

Meet Gaby Zamudio, a bilingual developer specializing in UI and an all-around positive, people person who’s always looking for opportunities to use her tech skills to support local nonprofits. Gaby is the Co-Founder of Meraki Creative, a community for women entrepreneurs and a former developer at Thoughtworks. Since 2016, she’s been a member of MAF’s Technology Advisory Council (TAC), a group of professionals from leading Bay Area tech companies who provide leadership, advice, and counsel to help MAF use technology to best meet the financial needs of low-income consumers.

We had the opportunity to sit down with Gaby and learn more about what drives her to support MAF.

MAF: Tell us about yourself. Hobbies, interests, passions?

GZ: I’m trained as a UI developer and designer, and I love finding creative ways to display data and information. I recently had the opportunity to serve as an instructional assistant in a front-end development course at General Assembly here in San Francisco.

A fun fact that most people don’t know about me is that I played table tennis (a.k.a. ping pong) growing up, and had the chance to represent my region at competitions. Usually I was the only woman participating, which prepared me for the tech industry, where I often have a similar experience.

MAF: What issues spur you to action?

GZ: First, social justice has always been important to me. I was raised during a period of internal conflict in Peru when there were two powerful terrorist parties, so it was a dangerous time. Many people disappeared. My mom worked for a human rights organization and my dad was a sociologist and activist. My mom put so much into her work. As a child, I remember wishing I could see her more, and then opening my heart to realize that maybe other people needed my mom more than me. I felt conflicted because unlike many others, I had food and a safe place to sleep. But I so easily could have been in their position. This experience shaped my commitment to creating a more socially and economically just world.

Second, I care deeply about immigrant rights.

I moved to the U.S. from Peru by myself at age 19, so I can relate to the experience of immigrants in this country.

Finally, I’m passionate about the environment. Growing up in a mining town, I’ve seen how these industries contaminate our communities. If we don’t protect our environment, we won’t be able to make progress on other issues like social justice and education.

MAF: What made you want to get involved with MAF?

GZ: I first heard about MAF through a friend who had participated in a Lending Circle, and I immediately recognized the practice. In Peru, many people participate in panderos to save money for big purchases while being accountable to a group. I love how MAF connects the practice of saving in a group with credit-building and financial education.

When I moved to the U.S. by myself, the financial system here was completely new to me. I didn’t know what credit was.

When I started college, it was confusing to navigate the student loan process. I could have easily taken out more loans than I needed and gotten myself into a hole I couldn’t get out of. Thankfully, that didn’t happen. But my experience taught me that everyone – not just immigrants – can benefit from more information and tools to navigate the financial system.

A few years after first learning of MAF, a friend suggested I look into MAF’s new Technology Advisory Council (TAC). Nonprofits don’t usually have the same resources for tech that for-profit companies do, and I’m honored to use my technical expertise to add to MAF’s tech capacity and help create a bigger impact.

MAF: Why do you invest your time and skills in the work we do together?

GZ: For me, it’s about empowering people. At the first TAC meeting, I had the chance to meet Luis, who now owns D’maize, a Salvadoran restaurant in San Francisco. A loan from MAF enabled him and his wife to build credit scores and then access bigger loans to grow their business. They eventually hired staff from their community, and now they give back by donating catering for their son’s events.

I hope to be a granito de arena (grain of sand) supporting this amazing ripple effect.

MAF: What are you looking forward to in your work with MAF in the next few months?

GZ: I’m looking forward to supporting the development of the Lending Circles App and seeing the final version once it’s ready. I feel proud to have helped shaped the design of this one-of-a-kind app. I hope the MAF team feels just as proud! I’m also excited to reflect on what we’ve learned from this process as we move forward with more tech products.


Kelsea McDonough