تسليط الضوء على البطل: لقاء مع جابي زاموديو


إنها مطورة واجهة مستخدم ثنائية اللغة ومحترفة بينج بونج ومتحمسة لاستخدام التكنولوجيا من أجل الخير.

قابل Gaby Zamudio ، مطور ثنائي اللغة متخصص في واجهة المستخدم وإيجابي شامل ، الأشخاص الذين يبحثون دائمًا عن فرص لاستخدام مهاراتها التقنية لدعم المنظمات غير الربحية المحلية. غابي هو الشريك المؤسس لـ ميراكي الإبداعية، وهو مجتمع لرائدات الأعمال ومطور سابق في Thoughtworks. منذ عام 2016 ، كانت عضوًا في MAF's Technology Advisory Council (TAC) ، وهي مجموعة من المهنيين من شركات التكنولوجيا الرائدة في Bay Area الذين يقدمون القيادة والمشورة والمشورة لمساعدة MAF على استخدام التكنولوجيا لتلبية الاحتياجات المالية للمستهلكين ذوي الدخل المنخفض على أفضل وجه .

لقد أتيحت لنا الفرصة للجلوس مع Gaby ومعرفة المزيد حول ما يدفعها لدعم MAF.

ماف: أخبرنا عن نفسك. الهوايات والاهتمامات والعواطف؟

GZ: لقد تدربت كمطور ومصمم لواجهة المستخدم وأحب إيجاد طرق إبداعية لعرض البيانات والمعلومات. لقد أتيحت لي الفرصة مؤخرًا للعمل كمساعد تعليمي في دورة تطوير الواجهة الأمامية في الجمعية العامة هنا في سان فرانسيسكو.

الحقيقة الممتعة التي لا يعرفها معظم الناس عني هي أنني لعبت تنس الطاولة (المعروف أيضًا باسم بينج بونج) أثناء نشأتي ، وأتيحت لي الفرصة لتمثيل منطقتي في المسابقات. عادة كنت المرأة الوحيدة المشاركة ، وهو ما أعدني لصناعة التكنولوجيا ، حيث غالبًا ما تكون لدي تجربة مماثلة.

ماف: ما هي القضايا التي تحفزك على العمل؟

GZ: أولاً ، لطالما كانت العدالة الاجتماعية مهمة بالنسبة لي. لقد نشأت خلال فترة نزاع داخلي في بيرو عندما كان هناك حزبان إرهابيان قويان ، لذلك كان وقتًا خطيرًا. اختفى الكثير من الناس. عملت أمي في منظمة لحقوق الإنسان وكان والدي عالم اجتماع وناشطًا. أمي بذلت الكثير في عملها. عندما كنت طفلة ، أتذكر أنني كنت أتمنى أن أراها أكثر ، ثم أفتح قلبي لأدرك أنه ربما يحتاج الآخرون إلى أمي أكثر مني. شعرت بالصراع لأنني على عكس كثيرين آخرين ، كان لدي طعام ومكان آمن للنوم. لكن كان من الممكن أن أكون في وضعهم بسهولة. شكلت هذه التجربة التزامي بإنشاء عالم أكثر عدلاً اجتماعيًا واقتصاديًا.

ثانيًا ، أنا أهتم بشدة بحقوق المهاجرين. انتقلت إلى الولايات المتحدة من بيرو بمفردي في سن 19 ، لذا يمكنني أن أتحدث عن تجربة المهاجرين في هذا البلد.

أخيرًا ، أنا شغوف بالبيئة. نشأت في مدينة التعدين ، ورأيت كيف تلوث هذه الصناعات مجتمعاتنا. إذا لم نحمي بيئتنا ، فلن نتمكن من إحراز تقدم في قضايا أخرى مثل العدالة الاجتماعية والتعليم.

ماف: ما الذي جعلك ترغب في الانخراط مع ماف؟

GZ: سمعت لأول مرة عن ماف من خلال صديق شارك في دائرة الإعارة ، وأدركت على الفور هذه الممارسة. في بيرو ، يشارك العديد من الأشخاص في panderos لتوفير المال للمشتريات الكبيرة بينما يكونون مسؤولين أمام مجموعة. أحب الطريقة التي تربط بها ماف ممارسة الادخار في مجموعة مع بناء الائتمان والتعليم المالي.

عندما انتقلت إلى الولايات المتحدة بنفسي ، كان النظام المالي هنا جديدًا تمامًا بالنسبة لي. لم أكن أعرف ما هو الائتمان.

عندما بدأت دراستي الجامعية ، كان من المحير التنقل في عملية قرض الطالب. كان بإمكاني الحصول بسهولة على قروض أكثر مما كنت بحاجة إليه وإدخال نفسي في حفرة لم أستطع الخروج منها. لحسن الحظ ، لم يحدث ذلك. لكن خبرتي علمتني أن الجميع - وليس المهاجرين فقط - يمكنهم الاستفادة من المزيد من المعلومات والأدوات للتنقل في النظام المالي.

بعد سنوات قليلة من التعلم الأول لـ MAF ، اقترح أحد الأصدقاء أن أنظر إلى المجلس الاستشاري التكنولوجي الجديد (TAC) التابع لـ MAF. لا تمتلك المنظمات غير الربحية عادةً نفس الموارد للتكنولوجيا التي تمتلكها الشركات الربحية ، ويشرفني استخدام خبراتي التقنية للإضافة إلى القدرة التقنية لـ MAF والمساعدة في إحداث تأثير أكبر.

ماف: لماذا تستثمر وقتك ومهاراتك في العمل الذي نقوم به معًا؟

GZ: بالنسبة لي ، يتعلق الأمر بتمكين الناس. في أول اجتماع لـ TAC ، أتيحت لي الفرصة لمقابلة لويس ، الذي يمتلك الآن مطعم D'maize ، وهو مطعم سلفادوري في سان فرانسيسكو. مكنه قرض من MAF هو وزوجته من الحصول على درجات ائتمانية ومن ثم الوصول إلى قروض أكبر لتنمية أعمالهما. لقد قاموا في النهاية بتوظيف موظفين من مجتمعهم ، والآن يردون الجميل بالتبرع بتقديم الطعام لمناسبات ابنهم.

أتمنى أن أكون جرانيتو دي أرينا (حبة رمل) تدعم هذا التأثير المتموج المذهل.

ماف: ما الذي تتطلع إليه في عملنا معًا في الأشهر القليلة المقبلة؟

GZ: إنني أتطلع إلى دعم تطوير تطبيق Lending Circles ومشاهدة الإصدار النهائي بمجرد أن يصبح جاهزًا. أشعر بالفخر لأنني ساعدت في تشكيل تصميم هذا التطبيق الفريد من نوعه. آمل أن يشعر فريق ماف بالفخر بنفس القدر! أنا متحمس أيضًا للتفكير فيما تعلمناه من هذه العملية بينما نمضي قدمًا في المزيد من المنتجات التقنية.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Champion Spotlight: Meet Gaby Zamudio

She’s a bilingual UI developer and ping pong pro who’s passionate about using tech for good.

Follow our Champion Spotlight series, where we introduce you to our great Social Investors and honor their actions to support financial empowerment through credit-building.

Meet Gaby Zamudio, a bilingual developer specializing in UI and an all-around positive, people person who’s always looking for opportunities to use her tech skills to support local nonprofits. Gaby is the Co-Founder of Meraki Creative, a community for women entrepreneurs and a former developer at Thoughtworks. Since 2016, she’s been a member of MAF’s Technology Advisory Council (TAC), a group of professionals from leading Bay Area tech companies who provide leadership, advice, and counsel to help MAF use technology to best meet the financial needs of low-income consumers.

We had the opportunity to sit down with Gaby and learn more about what drives her to support MAF.

MAF: Tell us about yourself. Hobbies, interests, passions?

GZ: I’m trained as a UI developer and designer, and I love finding creative ways to display data and information. I recently had the opportunity to serve as an instructional assistant in a front-end development course at General Assembly here in San Francisco.

A fun fact that most people don’t know about me is that I played table tennis (a.k.a. ping pong) growing up, and had the chance to represent my region at competitions. Usually I was the only woman participating, which prepared me for the tech industry, where I often have a similar experience.

MAF: What issues spur you to action?

GZ: First, social justice has always been important to me. I was raised during a period of internal conflict in Peru when there were two powerful terrorist parties, so it was a dangerous time. Many people disappeared. My mom worked for a human rights organization and my dad was a sociologist and activist. My mom put so much into her work. As a child, I remember wishing I could see her more, and then opening my heart to realize that maybe other people needed my mom more than me. I felt conflicted because unlike many others, I had food and a safe place to sleep. But I so easily could have been in their position. This experience shaped my commitment to creating a more socially and economically just world.

Second, I care deeply about immigrant rights.

I moved to the U.S. from Peru by myself at age 19, so I can relate to the experience of immigrants in this country.

Finally, I’m passionate about the environment. Growing up in a mining town, I’ve seen how these industries contaminate our communities. If we don’t protect our environment, we won’t be able to make progress on other issues like social justice and education.

MAF: What made you want to get involved with MAF?

GZ: I first heard about MAF through a friend who had participated in a Lending Circle, and I immediately recognized the practice. In Peru, many people participate in panderos to save money for big purchases while being accountable to a group. I love how MAF connects the practice of saving in a group with credit-building and financial education.

When I moved to the U.S. by myself, the financial system here was completely new to me. I didn’t know what credit was.

When I started college, it was confusing to navigate the student loan process. I could have easily taken out more loans than I needed and gotten myself into a hole I couldn’t get out of. Thankfully, that didn’t happen. But my experience taught me that everyone – not just immigrants – can benefit from more information and tools to navigate the financial system.

A few years after first learning of MAF, a friend suggested I look into MAF’s new Technology Advisory Council (TAC). Nonprofits don’t usually have the same resources for tech that for-profit companies do, and I’m honored to use my technical expertise to add to MAF’s tech capacity and help create a bigger impact.

MAF: Why do you invest your time and skills in the work we do together?

GZ: For me, it’s about empowering people. At the first TAC meeting, I had the chance to meet Luis, who now owns D’maize, a Salvadoran restaurant in San Francisco. A loan from MAF enabled him and his wife to build credit scores and then access bigger loans to grow their business. They eventually hired staff from their community, and now they give back by donating catering for their son’s events.

I hope to be a granito de arena (grain of sand) supporting this amazing ripple effect.

MAF: What are you looking forward to in your work with MAF in the next few months?

GZ: I’m looking forward to supporting the development of the Lending Circles App and seeing the final version once it’s ready. I feel proud to have helped shaped the design of this one-of-a-kind app. I hope the MAF team feels just as proud! I’m also excited to reflect on what we’ve learned from this process as we move forward with more tech products.


Kelsea McDonough