迁徙的自由:我的DACA之旅


DACA如何给我机会去帮助别人,让我父母的牺牲得到回报。

在2012年宣布 "童年入境者暂缓行动"(DACA)之前,我在社区大学就读期间,把所有的时间都花在了志愿服务上。当我回想那段时光时,我想我需要一个出口来释放我作为学生的所有能量。我的父母总是宣扬抓住每一个机会的重要性--他们自己不是一次,而是两次收拾行李,从中国的故乡广州搬到墨西哥的索诺拉(我出生的地方!),然后从墨西哥搬到加州的洛杉矶,在那些移民的岁月里,他们牺牲了很多,为我和弟弟铺设了一条最好的未来之路。

然而,"陷阱 "是,由于我的家庭没有证件,我们在美国的生活中,很多机会都无法获得。

我面临着制度上的障碍,这些障碍使我无法实现我父母为他们的孩子所梦想的东西--只要你努力工作,就会有无限的机会。他们做着每小时$3-4元的桌下工作来养家糊口,并确保我和弟弟能够专注于教育--他们相信,这将使我们这些下一代能够为自己创造更好的生活。他们努力为我们改变未来的进程,而这些牺牲在我心中产生了实现这一目标的狂热能量。我几乎每天都在某个地方做志愿者,包括周末。这并不是说时间不宝贵--在当地的动物救助中心、无家可归者收容所、医院、图书馆和亚洲艺术博物馆,我发现自己对社区充满了热情,我能够将自己的精力发挥出来。

我想成为其中的一部分,工作并为我的社区做出贡献。

我非常投入博物馆的工作,我的角色从志愿者成长为他们大学/博物馆暑期项目的创始人和主持人。有一天,我的上司问我什么时候毕业,看他们什么时候能雇用我到博物馆工作。在那一刻,以及许多类似的时刻,我会感到很脆弱,眼睁睁地看着看似触手可及的门在我利用之前被关上。我没有证件,不能在美国合法工作,所以他们不能雇用我,也不能给我工作补偿。我也不知道自己是否能毕业,因为我无法获得联邦财政援助,转入四年制大学在经济上也是遥不可及的。我觉得自己在学校的努力和志愿工作都是徒劳的,要与这种感觉作斗争是非常困难的。

DACA改变了一切。

这个消息平息了母亲多年来的不眠之夜,为我们的身份感到沮丧和愧疚--她为自己和她的牺牲而勇敢,但当涉及到她的孩子时,她不忍心看着我们如此停滞不前。父母凑齐了$465的申请费,拿出他们辛辛苦苦攒下的所有记录,催促我赶快申请。几个月后,我获得了DACA的批准。几乎是立刻就为阻碍我前进的事情扫清了道路。因为CA梦想法案也在那之后不久就通过了,我得以获得经济援助。我一边打着两份工,一边完成了转学的要求(我终于有了社保号!),还拿到了驾照/身份证。当我能和朋友们一起去必须办证的地方时,当我收到这张小小的卡片时,对我的心理状态产生了巨大的影响,因为这张卡片上简单地、正式地写着我的名字和出生日期。

现在我有了行动的自由。而我也确实向前走了,今年春天从加州大学圣克鲁斯分校毕业,获得人类学学位。

在参与 "梦想者 "学生运动,通过学习了解不平等的原因,并在非营利组织实习后,我不得不引导 "梦想者 "和移民走出阴影。这让我真正思考了一个问题:如果人们没有制度或经济上的障碍,他们会是什么样子?我看到很多人的情况也是如此,他们努力工作,但似乎永远无法赶上--无论是小时工,还是曾经被监禁的人,或者是种族财富鸿沟的另一边。那么,我们如何用已有的项目打开更多的大门呢?通过我自己的经历,以及学习我勇敢的无证同行及其家庭的经历,我可以直接看到像DACA这样的政策至少可以作为一个解决方案的影响。DACA允许童年时期到达的人工作、开车和生活,而不用担心被驱逐出境,这让我们可以追求自己的梦想和愿望。

尽管DAPA和DACA+这两个本来可以给更多的人提供救济的项目继续在最高法院受阻,这个消息令人失望,但我认为在确保DACA尽可能多的符合条件的人受益方面还有工作要做。

今天在Mission Asset Fund(MAF)工作,经历了我的来路,感觉就像走了一圈。我曾有过被排斥的经历,但后来通过DACA等项目,我被纳入其中。现在,我可以合法地在MAF这样一个为最需要帮助的人争取权益的组织工作。MAF是一个非营利组织,为社区提供建立信用的社会贷款,并为公民身份和DACA申请提供资金援助。MAF是一个无论经济、移民或语言状况如何都会受到尊重的地方。对我来说,在MAF工作意味着我的工作会产生直接、具体的影响。

在MAF,我正在帮助辛勤工作的人们走出阴影,成为某件事情的一部分,就像我自己在DACA之前迫切希望的那样。

此文由Mission Asset Fund的DREAMSF研究员Diana Wong撰写。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

The Freedom to Move: My DACA Journey

How DACA gave me the opportunity to help others & make my parents' sacrifices count.

Blog Header Diana

Before Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) was announced in 2012, I spent all my time volunteering while enrolled in community college. When I reflect back on that time, I think I needed an outlet for all the energy I had as a student. My parents always touted the importance of seizing every opportunity–they themselves packed up not once, but twice, from their native homeland of Guangzhou, China to move to Sonora, Mexico (where I was born!) and then from Mexico to Los Angeles, California, sacrificing so much in those years as immigrants to follow the path that would pave the best future for my brother and me.

However, the Catch-22 was that because my family is undocumented, many opportunities were not available to us as we navigated life in the US.

I faced institutional barriers that prevented me from achieving what my parents had dreamed of for their children–unbounded opportunity as long as you try hard and work. They worked under-the-table jobs for $3-4 an hour to support the family and make sure my brother and I could focus on our education– something they believed would allow us, the next generation, to create better lives for ourselves. They worked hard to change the course of the future for us, and those sacrifices created in me a frenetic energy to achieve it. I volunteered somewhere almost every day, including the weekends. It is not to say that time was not valuable–at the local animal rescue, homeless shelter, hospital, library, and the Asian art museum, I found out that I had a passion for community, and I was able to put my energy to use.

I wanted to be part of something, to work and contribute to my community.Diana 300x300

I became very involved in the museum, and my role as a volunteer grew to founder and facilitator of their college/museum summer program. One day, my supervisor asked me when I would graduate to see when they could hire me onto the museum staff. In that moment, and many moments like that, I would feel vulnerable and watch as doors seemingly within my reach were shut before I could take advantage of them. I was undocumented and could not legally work in the US, so they could not hire me and compensate me for my work. I also didn’t know if I would ever graduate, since I could not receive federal financial aid, and transferring to a four year university was financially out of reach. It was extremely difficult to battle the feeling that my efforts in school and my volunteer work were fruitless.

DACA changed everything.

The announcement quelled my mother’s years of sleepless nights feeling frustration and guilt for our status–she was brave for herself and her sacrifices, but when it came to her children, she could not bear to watch us so stalled. My parents scrounged up the $465 for the application fee, took out all the records they had so diligently saved, and pushed me to apply quickly. I was approved for DACA a few months later. Almost immediately, the road was cleared for the things that were keeping me from moving forward. Because the CA Dream Act also passed soon after that, I was able to receive financial aid. I finished up my requirements to transfer while working two jobs (I finally had a social security number!), and got my driver’s license/ID. It had such a huge impact on my psychological state when I was able to join friends at places where we had to get carded, when I received this tiny little card that simply, officially stated my name and my date of birth.

Now I had the freedom to move. And move forward I did, graduating this past Spring from the University of California in Santa Cruz with a degree in Anthropology.

After being involved in the Dreamer student movement, learning the causes of inequality through my studies, and taking internships at nonprofit organizations, I am compelled to guide DREAMers and immigrants out of the shadows. It has brought me to really ponder the question: what could people be if they did not have institutional or economic barriers? I have seen the same situation for so many people who work hard but never seem able to catch up – whether they are hourly workers, formerly incarcerated individuals, or those on the other side of the racial wealth divide. So how do we open more doors with programs already in place? Through my own experience and through learning the experiences of my brave undocumented peers and their families, I can firsthand see the impact that policies like DACA can have as at least one solution. In allowing childhood arrivals to work, drive, and live without fear of deportation, DACA allows us to pursue our dreams and aspirations.

Despite the disappointing news that DAPA and DACA+, which would have given relief to thousands more, continue to be blocked in the Supreme Court, I think there is work to be done in making sure DACA benefits as many eligible people as possible.

Working at Mission Asset Fund (MAF) today, after where I have come from, feels like coming full circle. I’ve had the experience of being excluded, but I’ve since become included through programs like DACA. Now I am legally able to work at an organization like MAF, which advocates for those who are most in need. MAF is a nonprofit that provides the community with credit-building social loans and financial assistance with citizenship and DACA applications. MAF is a place where people are  treated with respect regardless of their economic, immigration, or language status. To me, working at MAF means that my work has a direct, tangible impact.

At MAF, I am helping hardworking people come out of the shadows and be part of something, as I myself had so desperately wanted before DACA.

This post was written by Diana Wong, DREAMSF Fellow at Mission Asset Fund


missio36-ca