与Lending Circles一起组建社区


当您加入 Lending Circle 时,您获得的不仅仅是一笔简单的贷款。

在旧金山的 MAF 办公室里,那是一个寒冷的七月晚上;一阵微风吹过街道上充满活力的宣教区宜人的气味和声音。在灯火通明的 MAF 办公室内,Doris 和 Ximena 正在努力为我们的一个 Lending Circle 编队搭建房间。在旧金山,随着家人回家,城市的灯光才刚刚开始闪烁。在半个地球之外的危地马拉,在一场相当猛烈的地震后,许多家庭正在返回曾经是他们家的瓦砾和火山灰堆中。

当您没有预料到或准备好应对紧急情况时,紧急情况往往会发生,但在强大社区的支持下,即使是最大的紧急情况也更容易处理。多丽丝和西梅娜当晚欢迎客人加入编队。房间里有许多新面孔和熟悉面孔。空气中充满了交谈、期待和担忧的希望。对于房间里的许多人来说,他们已经被承诺奇迹般的修复和难以置信的机会来帮助他们获得稳定的财务立足点。

一位穿着整洁的绿色上衣的女士兴奋地与她旁边的白色 T 恤的男人谈论她是如何来这里建立信用,然后用这笔钱帮助支付汽车费用的。房间对面的两个女人像两个老朋友一样咯咯地笑着聊着她们的一天,尽管这些女人是在 20 分钟前才被介绍给对方的。

一个女人坐在房间的前面,红色的T恤衬托着她红润的脸颊和闪闪发光的眼睛,脸上挂着灿烂的笑容。

她和周围的人交谈,却选择只说需要钱来帮助她。穿白T恤的男人说他也是为了家人。在他的生意不得不关闭后,他正在重新建立他的信用。 Ximena和Doris让房间安静下来,开始和成员们谈论组建过程以及成为Lending Circle成员的工作方式。在谈论流程细节时,新人正忙着做笔记,而回归成员则在告诉他们哪些信息对他们在 Lending Circle 计划中的成功特别重要。

在信息会议结束时,多丽丝问小组他们的需求是什么以及他们希望得到多少钱。

一个声音说她需要积累储蓄和信贷才能以优惠的价格购买汽车。另一个人说他想为他们的业务购买一些新设备。一半的团体申请了 $2,000 的贷款,而另一半只需要 $1,000。希梅娜走到红衫女子身旁,女子站起身来,看着成员们。她深吸了口气,脸上的笑容依旧温柔诱人。然后她告诉小组她需要如何为危地马拉的家人筹到这笔钱。最近,发生了一场可怕的地震,她的母亲被困在曾经是她家的瓦砾中。她的母亲已经获救,现在安全并且正在从手术中恢复,但一旦她康复,她将无家可归。

红衣女子谈到当她无家可归时,MAF 如何帮助她为她和她的两个年幼的孩子找到并支付安全、稳定的住所。

现在,同一个社区将能够在她母亲发生紧急情况后为她提供住所。她很感激知道在她需要什么的时候总有一个地方可以让她来,她也很感激那里总有一个社区来支持她和她的家人。 Doris 和 Ximena 然后解散了小组共进晚餐,这样他们就可以互相讨论贷款支付的金额和贷款的其他条款。回归成员与新成员进行了交谈,向他们提供了如何最好地使用 Lending Circle 的提示。到晚宴结束时,每个人的小组都对他们的借贷圈子的样子达成了共识。 $1,000 小组上前讨论了人们将获得贷款的顺序。他们谈到了付款,还谈到了他们开始的兴奋程度。当$2000组站起来说话的时候,他们也已经有了决定。

听说红衣女子需要这笔钱的原因后,他们决定让她第一个拿到钱。她比小组中的任何人都更迫切地需要它。

会议一结束,大家就开始走出 MAF 办公室,进入清爽的夏夜,大家谈笑风生。当您加入 Lending Circle 时,您不仅仅是在获得贷款,您正在成为一个相互关注的社区的一部分。无论您是想买车、建立信用还是在紧急情况发生时获得支持,社区都会为您服务。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

Forming a community with Lending Circles


When you join a Lending Circle, you aren’t just getting a simple loan.

It was a chilly July evening in the MAF office in San Francisco; a gentle wind carried the pleasant smells and sounds of the vibrant Mission District through the streets. Inside the brightly lit MAF office, Doris and Ximena were working to set up the room for one of our Lending Circle formations. In San Francisco the lights of the city were just starting to blink on, as families returned home; half a world away in Guatemala, families were returning to piles of rubble and ash that used to be their homes after a rather violent earthquake.

Emergencies have a tendency to strike when you aren’t expecting or ready for them, but with the support of a strong community even the biggest emergency is easier to deal with. Doris and Ximena welcomed guests to the formation that evening. There were many new and familiar faces in the room. The air filled with conversation, anticipation and a sense of apprehensive hope. For many people in the room, they had been promised miracle fixes and unbelievable opportunities to help them gain a stable financial foothold.

A lady in a neatly pressed, green blouse talked excitedly to the man in the white t-shirt next to her about how she was here to build her credit, and then use the money to help pay for a car. Two women across the room were giggling and chatting about their day like two old friends, even though these ladies had only been introduced to each other 20 minutes prior.

One woman sat in the front of the room, her red t-shirt picked up her rosy cheeks and sparkling eyes, a huge smile across her face.

She talked with the people around her, but chose to only say that she needed the money to help out her. The man in the white t-shirt said he too was there for his family. He was building his credit back up after his business had to close. Ximena and Doris quieted the room and began talking to the members about the formation process and how being a member of a Lending Circle worked. As they talked about the details of the process, the new people were busy taking notes, and the returning members were letting them know which pieces of information were of specific importance to their success in the Lending Circle program.

At the end of the informational session, Doris then asked the group what their needs were and how much money they were looking to get.

One voice said she needed to build savings and credit to buy a car at a good rate. Another person said he wanted to buy some new equipment for their business. Half the group requested a $2,000 loan, while the other half only needed a $1,000. When Ximena got to the woman in the red shirt, the woman stood up and looked at the members. She took a deep breath, her smile still soft and inviting on her face. She then told the group how she needed to get this money for her family in Guatemala. Recently, there was a terrible earthquake and her mother had been trapped inside the rubble that was once her home. Her mother had been rescued and was now safe and recovering from surgery, but once she recovers, she will have no home to go back to.

The woman in red talked about how when she was without a home, MAF had helped her find and pay for a safe, stable place for her and her two young children.

Now that same community was going to be able to give her mother a place to live after her emergency. She was grateful to know that there was always a place for her to come when she needed something, and she appreciated that there was always a community there to support her and her family. Doris and Ximena then disbanded the group for dinner, so that they could talk amongst themselves about what the loan payments would be and other terms of the loan. The returning members spoke to the new members, giving them tips on how to best use the Lending Circle. By the time dinner came to an end, everyone’s group had come to consensus about what their Lending Circle would look like. The $1,000 group came up and talked about what order people were going to be receiving the loans. They talked about the payments, and they also talked about how excited they were to start. When the $2,000 group stood up to talk, they had come to a decision as well.

After hearing about why the woman in red needed the money, they decided that she should be the first one to get it. She needed it far more urgently than anyone else in the group.

Once the meeting concluded, everyone started to file out of the MAF office into the crisp summer evening, all chatting and smiling. When you join a Lending Circle you aren’t JUST getting a loan, you are becoming part of a community that looks out for one another. A community is there for you whether you are looking to buy a car, build your credit, or get support when an emergency hits.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.