关于食物和家庭。伊莎贝尔的故事


伊莎贝尔加入了一个借贷圈,以帮助她的业务发展。今年夏天,她的餐厅 "El Buen Comer "在伯纳尔高地开业。

伊莎贝尔是MAF的客户和企业家,她利用Lending Circles扩展她已经成功的烹饪业务。她是在 "中国国际进口博览会 "上发表了这些言论。 马福尔派对,是2016年10月27日举行的MAF全国Lending Circles网络的庆祝活动。她在伯纳尔高地的新餐厅 幸福的人》(El Buen Comer 帮助承办这次活动。

***

我对食物的热爱始于年轻时,当时我住在墨西哥城,我出生在那里。我的母亲和我的七个姐妹经常为全家人做饭,特别是在节假日。烹饪总是引起我的注意。

因此,当我的家人在2001年搬到旧金山时,我开始在我位于Tenderloin的家里做饭。

这是在一个新的地方创造社区的一种方式。

我准备了让我想起墨西哥的传统食物:炖菜、豆子和米饭,以及我从头开始做的玉米饼。

2007年,一位朋友推荐我去参观 La Cocina一个支持女企业家的组织,这样我就可以把我的生意正式化。这就是我的业务开始增长的原因。

我在诺伊谷农贸市场开了一个摊位,并开始为Mission的Pizzeria Delfina烤制面包条。我们决定将我们的生意称为El Buen Comer。我致力于创造正宗的墨西哥菜肴。时至今日,我仍然使用我母亲的配方来烹制绿茶。

起初,这很难。我不得不投资这么多--首先是一辆卡车,然后是为我的业务支付许可证--以至于我根本没有任何利润。我感到很气馁--我记得我对我丈夫说过:"我不知道我是否想继续做下去。"

但我的家人支持我。我的一个儿子开始给我写纸条,用积极的信息鼓励我。我下定决心,我不允许自己放弃。

我需要购买一个工业蒸笼,以便在农贸市场上出售我的玉米粉,但这需要$1,400,而我们没有足够的储蓄。就在那个时候,我通过一个参加过 "中国青年报 "的朋友,听说了 "中国青年报"。 Lending Circles 与MAF。我加入了自己的借贷圈,第一次有了一个安全、可靠的存钱方式。

6月,我的餐馆开张了。 幸福的人》(El Buen Comer,在伯纳尔高地的使命街。我的丈夫、儿子和我一起经营这个生意,而我的丈夫星期六仍然在农贸市场工作。

尽管生意不再在我家里,但餐厅实际上就是我的家。我在那里花的时间比在我自己家里花的时间还多。

我们用墨西哥工艺品装饰了餐厅,还用我儿子小时候常玩的玩具车来装饰。

这有助于我们记住 我们的梦想是如何和如何开始的.

Lending Circles是我们的第一道金融门--他们让我有机会获得贷款来开自己的餐馆,这是我从未想象过的事情。但比这更重要的是,他们帮助我学习管理金融系统,以便在未来打开更多机会。

我的梦想在继续。我们正计划在家庭内部形成一个借贷圈,继续建立信用,帮助我们实现下一个梦想。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Warning: Declaration of YOOtheme\Theme\Wordpress\MenuWalker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/missi254/public_html/wp-content/themes/yootheme/vendor/yootheme/theme-wordpress/src/MenuWalker.php on line 8

On Food & Family: Isabel’s Story


Isabel joined a Lending Circle to help grow her business. This summer, her restaurant “El Buen Comer” opened in Bernal Heights.

Isabel is a MAF client and entrepreneur who used Lending Circles to expand her already successful culinary business. She gave these remarks at the MAFter Party, a celebration of MAF’s national Lending Circles network that took place on October 27, 2016. Her new Bernal Heights restaurant El Buen Comer helped cater the event.

***

My love for food began as a young girl, when I was living in Mexico City, where I was born. My mother and my seven sisters used to cook for the whole family, especially for the holidays. Cooking always caught my attention.

So when my family moved to San Francisco in 2001, I began cooking from my home in the Tenderloin.

It was a way of creating community in a new place.

I prepared traditional foods that reminded me of Mexico: stews, beans and rice, and tortillas that I made from scratch.

In 2007, a friend recommended that I visit La Cocina, an organization that supports women entrepreneurs, so I could formalize my business. That’s how my business began to grow.

I opened a stand in the Noe Valley Farmers’ Market and began baking the bread sticks for Pizzeria Delfina in the Mission. We decided to call our business El Buen Comer. I dedicated myself to creating authentic Mexican dishes. To this day, I still use my mother’s recipe for mole verde.

At first, it was hard. I had to invest so much — first in a truck, then in paying for permits for my business — that I didn’t have any profits at all. I felt discouraged – I remember commenting to my husband, “ I don’t know if I want to keep doing this.”

But my family supported me. One of my sons started writing me notes with positive messages to encourage me. I was determined, and I didn’t allow myself to give up.

I needed to buy an industrial steamer to sell my tamales in the Farmers’ Market, but it cost $1,400, and we just didn’t have enough saved. It was in that moment that I heard of MAF through a friend who had participated in Lending Circles with MAF. I joined my own Lending Circle, and for the first time, I had a safe, reliable way to save money.

In June, I opened my restaurant, El Buen Comer, on Mission Street in Bernal Heights. My husband, sons and I run the business together, and my husband still works at the Farmers’ Market on Saturdays.

Even though the business isn’t physically in my home anymore, the restaurant practically is my home. I spend more time there than in my own house!

We decorated the restaurant with Mexican crafts, and also with the toy cars my sons used to play with when they were little.

This helps us remember how and where our dream began.

Lending Circles were our first financial door – they gave me access to loans to open my own restaurant, which is something I could never have imagined. But more important than that, they helped me learn to manage the financial system to open even more opportunities in the future.

My dream continues. We’re planning to form a Lending Circle within our family to keep building credit and help us realize our next dream.

Mohan Kanungo

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.