用他们自己的话说。梦想家的希望

反应迅速是我们组织和我们研发团队的主要目标之一。在一次成功的 DACA更新费用援助计划我们调查了客户,以确定我们可以继续提供最佳支持的方式。现有关于DACA接受者的研究。 家庭和就业情况,以及 DACA的好处.我们想通过了解我们社区对未来的希望和梦想来增加这种讨论。

这就是为什么我们提出了一个由三部分组成的开放式问题。 "如果你有获得美国公民身份的途径,你的个人、财务和职业抱负是什么?"

我们邀请受访者在这三个类别中分别填写愿望,有350人(约占总受访者的80%)回答。我们对他们输入的文本进行了系统的编码,并对其中96%的答复进行了编码。最后,我们e 编码 46 人们分享的不同希望和梦想。 这个过程帮助我们以一种全新的方式看到我们所服务的社区的多样性。请看这个信息图,了解我们的学习成果。 

DACA接受者的十大愿望。

主题1:DACA获得者渴望支持他们的家庭和社区

虽然我们没有为受访者提供预选的选项,但我们看到回答中的高度趋同。回馈和帮助他人是这些回答中出现的关键主题。受访者谈到他们的愿望是进一步支持他们的家庭(46%),进入一个帮助的行业(43%),并回馈他们的社区(23%)。 鉴于我们之前的发现,几乎所有受访者都已经以某种方式支持他们的家庭和社区,这一点尤其重要。一位受访者与我们分享了。

"我个人的愿望是有一天生活能够如此稳定,不仅能够帮助我在危地马拉的家人,而且能够帮助许多试图逃离我们国家所有暴力的儿童。给许多经济上负担不起上学的孩子提供教育。"-21岁,亚利桑那州

主题2:DACA接受者正试图在他们的生活中创造一种稳定感

安全感是一个经常出现的主题,46%的受访者说他们希望增加他们的经济稳定性,30%的受访者说他们希望减少担心,过上幸福的生活。DACA接受者希望创造稳定感的前四种方式:1) 追求或完成教育(39%),2) 买房(33%),3) 获得更好的工作质量(33%)或4) 拥有自己的企业(18%)。 一位受访者告诉我们。

"我希望我的家人不必担心被驱逐出境,回到一个我们13年多没有去过的地方。我还希望我的社区不必总是处于恐惧之中,也不必为自己说话,以免遭到报复。"-20岁,加利福尼亚

 

这些数据正在帮助我们了解激励我们所服务的社区中很大一部分人的动机和愿望。它正在帮助我们开发新的产品,专门用于帮助我们的客户实现他们的愿望,包括。

  • 一个网络研讨会系列 以帮助客户探索 自营职业的选择。 作为改善工作保障和职业前景的一种方式。
  • *即将推出* - 我们正在建立一个财务辅导应用程序,其中包括面向帮助人们建立家庭财务稳定的内容。
  • 将这一数据组扩大到包括所有贷款客户:我们现在要求所有客户分享财务愿望--这样,我们就可以掌握今天和未来对他们重要的东西。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

In Their Own Words: The Hopes of Dreamers

Being responsive is one of the major goals of our organization and our R&D team. After a successful DACA renewal fee assistance program, we surveyed clients to identify ways in which we could continue to provide the best support. There’s existing research on DACA recipients’ family and employment situations, as well as the benefits of DACA. We wanted to add to this discourse by learning more about our community’s hopes and dreams for the future.

That’s why we asked a three-part open-ended question: “If you had a pathway to U.S. citizenship, what would be your personal, financial, and career aspirations?”

We invited respondents to fill in aspirations in each of these three categories and 350 individuals (~80% of total respondents) replied. We systematically coded the text they inputted into themes, and assigned codes to 96% of the responses. In the end, we coded 46 different hopes and dreams people shared. This process helped us to see the diversity of the community we serve in a whole new way. Check out this infographic for a summary of our learnings. 

The top 10 aspirations of DACA recipients:

Theme 1: DACA recipients aspire to support their families and communities

Although we didn’t provide respondents with pre-selected options to choose from, we saw high convergence in responses. Giving back and helping others were key themes that emerged from these responses. Respondents talked about their aspirations to further support their families (46%), enter a helping profession (43%), and give back to their community (23%). This is especially significant given our prior findings that almost all respondents already support their families and their communities in some way. One respondent shared with us:

“My personal aspiration is to one day be so stable in life and be able to help not only my family back in Guatemala but also many of the children who are trying to get away from all the violence in our country. Give education to many of the children who can’t financially afford to go to school.” -21 year old, Arizona

Theme 2: DACA recipients are trying to create a sense of stability in their lives

Security was a frequent theme, with 46% of respondents saying that they hope to increase their financial stability and 30% saying they would want to worry less and lead a happy life. The top four ways DACA recipients want to create a sense of stability: 1) Pursue or complete education (39%), 2) Buy a home (33%), 3) Get a better quality job (33%) or 4) Own their own business (18%). One respondent told us:

“I want my family to not have to worry about being deported and going back to a place we haven’t been to in over 13 years. I also want my community to not always have to be in fear or speaking up for themselves in case of retaliation.” -20 year old, California

 

This data is helping us understand the motivations and aspirations inspiring a large segment of the community we serve. It’s helping us develop new products specifically designed to help our clients work toward their aspirations, including:

  • A webinar series to help clients explore options for self-employment, as a way to improve job security and career prospects.
  • *Coming soon* – We’re building a financial coaching app, which includes content geared towards helping people build their family’s financial stability.
  • Expanding this data group to include all loan clients: we’re now asking all clients to share financial aspirations – that way, we can keep a pulse on what matters to them today, and in the future.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.