能源观察编年史。一个小企业主如何通过亮化他的店面来增加顾客的体验。

无论你是旧金山湾区的本地人,还是只去过该市几次,你都可能探索过著名的 "北滩/小意大利 "街区,并与糖果店擦肩而过。 Z.Cioccolato (Cioccolato) 是意大利语中 "巧克力 "的意思). 这家店的店面是很难错过的,其明亮、俏皮的橱窗和与之相称的个性。新鲜爆裂的焦糖玉米的醉人气味弥漫在人行道上,迫使路人走进来看看。 

一进门,你就会发现自己被丰盛的木桶所淹没,里面堆满了鲜艳的盐水太妃糖、怀旧的复古糖果、迷人的童年玩具,以及其他许多东西。但是,有一个圣杯使这家糖果店与其他任何商店如此不同--这里是 Z.乔科拉托在这里,所有这些都是关于软糖的。我们鼓励每一位进门的顾客尝试60种独特的、定期轮换的口味之一。

耸人听闻的每一个细节 Z.乔科拉托 经验被现任和唯一的所有者迈克-兹维弗尔霍夫(Mike Zwiefelhofer)精心保存,他一直致力于通过创造一个令人难忘的客户体验来提高零售空间。

迈克来自于一个很长的企业主血统。

对迈克来说,经营企业的能力流淌在他的血液中。迈克的曾祖父母在北加州拥有一家小型连锁百货公司,已有100多年的历史,此后他一直追随他们的脚步:他在14岁时开始了他的第一份工作--做箱包工,一直做到冷冻酸奶店老板,并从事家具销售工作,然后他得到机会购买了 Z.Cioccolato.

"这家店吸引我的主要原因有两个。一个是位置,这是一个令人惊叹的位置......但吸引我的主要原因是软糖......没有软糖,我们只是一个普通的糖果店,但有了软糖,我们就有了获奖、独特和不同的东西。这就是我们的特色"。

四年前,当迈克从现已退休的店主那里买下这家店时,他很高兴能把他的经验结晶付诸实践。

"我对巧克力了解不多,但我从我的冷冻酸奶店了解到甜点,我肯定对零售业了解很多。因此,巧克力部分我能够在过去4年里学到......我所有的经验都在商店里得到了应用。"

作为唯一的所有者 Z.Cioccolato, 迈克在商店里戴着所有不同的帽子。他有一个销售人员负责前台工作,一个巧克力师负责厨房工作,但 每一个 介于两者之间的工作是他的日常职责。当被要求描述一个小企业主一天的生活时,迈克想了一小会儿如何回答,并阐述了。

"这是个很难的问题。我有太多的事情要做......"

作为一个小企业的唯一所有者,生活伴随着挑战;它有时会让人筋疲力尽,不知所措。作为迈克的毅力的证明,在他学习的头两年里,他的企业的来龙去脉都是由他自己决定的。 Z.Cioccolato, 他保持着他的第二份工作,即家具销售员,以支付他的个人账单并保持经济稳定。那个时代充满了长时的日子,背靠背。尽管困难重重,四年后,迈克专注于为他的企业建立一个未来。

作为一个小企业主,迈克必须仔细管理他的业务开支。

在我们的谈话中,迈克谈到了一个残酷的现实,即小企业通常不会赚那么多钱。经营商店的高成本使得利润难以提高。 迈克一直在寻找可以省钱的地方,但当需要最低限度的资源来简单地经营商店时,这些机会就很稀少了。 

有一天,当迈克正在操作 Z.Cioccolato他接到Mission Asset Fund(MAF)的电话,介绍了能源观察贷款计划。该计划 能源观察贷款计划 为小企业提供零利率、信用建设贷款,最高可达$2500,以资助能源效率升级。企业主有机会节省能源和水电费,同时减少他们对环境的影响。能源观察贷款计划是MAF和旧金山环境部之间的一项合作举措。

在一个销售电话频繁且数量庞大的空间里,迈克第一眼看到这些信息时就感到很害怕,并将其归档为 "好得不像真的"。然而,一年后,他被重新介绍给了这个项目。

"我碰巧遇到了做灯的承包商。他住在附近,走进店里,他提出了这个项目。现在这是我第二次听说这个项目,我可以问他很多问题。他给了我一个估计,他认为我可以在PG&E账单上节省多少钱,这就是真正让我说:'好吧,这是一个没有头脑的问题。

迈克利用能源观察计划来照亮他的商店(有一些额外的好处)。

在接下来的一年里,Mike进行了两次不同的照明升级,总额约为$3,000。来自能源观察计划的回扣和激励措施使他将成本降低到大约$1,680,每月支付大约$100的贷款,并在下一年完全还清。一开始,收益就很明显:他的PG&E账单上每月节省的费用加起来约为$100,与每月的付款相匹配,一年的总价值为$1,200。

对于一个小企业主来说,1TP2-3,000的自付费用可能是一个很高的障碍。正如迈克所指出的,节约能源和 "绿色 "在某种程度上是一种特权。如果一个企业不是特别有利可图,一个有前期费用的节能项目可能会变得不那么优先。能源观察项目通过负担得起的、灵活的贷款产品消除了这个障碍。据迈克说。

"它允许你做一个否则不会完成的项目......作为一个企业主,很少有无风险和无坏处的时候。这是无息资金,它帮助你的业务,它节省了你每月的PG&E账单。"

迈克的能源效率升级产生了更大的影响,而不仅仅是每月的节省。

迈克描述说,在升级之前,他的大部分灯都烧坏了,坏了,而且颜色略有不同,这给商店带来了 "破败 "和不一致的外观。有这样的照明的企业可能会出现在关闭的路上。迈克将照明升级描述为类似于他不断流动的糖果箱。

"我的糖果箱也是这样,我不喜欢它们变得空荡荡的样子,因为这让你看起来像要倒闭了......"

自从升级后,商店的每一个角落都被照亮,并出现相同的、一致的颜色。虽然这是一个精细的细节,但顾客却因此受到了积极的影响。

迈克对他的能源改进感到满意,并将项目的动机与他为客户创造一个舒适环境的承诺联系起来。

在我们的谈话中,迈克一直回想着他对客户的忠诚和为客户提供独特产品的奉献精神,供他们享受。. 该店的招牌七层花生酱派软糖就体现了这种独特性。从迈克和他的员工可以看出。 Z.乔科拉托 是唯一的糖果店 在世界上 这使得一个七层的软糖。

迈克认为,部分 Z.乔科拉托的 未来是使店内的零售体验如此独特和令人难忘,以至于顾客更愿意亲自去购物而不是网上购物。在过去的一年里,照明升级有助于保护和进一步培养商店的外观和感觉。 Z.乔科拉托的 以客户为中心的室内氛围。

迈克对他的工作有着深厚的热情,在 Z.乔科拉托 并将继续倡导加强所有的零售体验,使小企业免于与企业巨头竞争的负担。而作为他的顾客,我们有甜蜜的特权来体验他们所提供的所有放纵。如果你还没有,请计划你的下一次旅行,在糖果店停留一下。 Z.乔科拉托 上。 

哥伦布大道474号
旧金山,加州94133。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Energy Watch Chronicles: How A Small Business Owner Sweetened His Customers’ Experience By Brightening Up His Shop

Whether you’re a San Francisco Bay Area native, or have only visited the city a handful of times, you may have explored the famed “North Beach/Little Italy” neighborhood and crossed paths with the candy shop Z. Cioccolato (cioccolato is the italian word for “chocolate”). The storefront is hard to miss with its bright, playful, showcase window and a personality to match. The intoxicating smell of freshly popped caramel corn fills the sidewalk, compelling passersby to come inside and take a look around. 

Upon entering, you find yourself overwhelmed by bountiful barrels piled high with vibrant saltwater taffy, nostalgic vintage candies, charming childhood toys, and so much more. But there’s one holy grail that makes this candy shop so different than any other– here at Z. Cioccolato, it’s all about the fudge. Each customer that walks through the door is encouraged to try one of 60 unique, regularly rotated flavors.

Each detail of the sensational Z. Cioccolato experience is carefully preserved by the current and sole owner, Mike Zwiefelhofer, who has been on a mission to enhance the retail space by creating an unforgettable customer experience.

Mike comes from a long lineage of business owners.

For Mike, the ability to run a business runs in his blood. Mike’s great grandparents owned a small department store chain in Northern California for over 100 years and he has since followed in their footsteps: he began his first job as a box boy at the age of 14, worked his way up to a frozen yogurt shop owner, and worked in furniture sales before he arrived at the opportunity to purchase Z.Cioccolato.

“There were two major things that attracted me to this shop: One is the location, it’s an amazing location… But the main thing that attracted me to this business is the fudge…Without the fudge, we are just a normal candy shop, but with the fudge, we have something award winning, unique, and different. That is our signature.”

When Mike bought the store from the now-retired owners four years ago, he was excited to put his culmination of experience to the test:

“I did not know much about chocolate, but I did know about desserts from my frozen yogurt shop and I definitely know a lot about retail. So, the chocolate portion I was able to learn over the last 4 years…All of my experience is put to use here at the shop.”

As sole owner of Z.Cioccolato, Mike wears all the different hats in the shop. He has a sales staff to work the front and a chocolatier to work the kitchen, but every job in-between is his daily responsibility. When asked to describe a day in the life of a small business owner, Mike thought about how to answer for a brief moment and articulated:

“It’s a hard question. There are too many things I do…”

Life as the sole owner of a small business comes with its challenges; it can be exhausting and overwhelming at times. As a testament to Mike’s perseverance, in his first two years of learning the ins-and-outs of Z.Cioccolato, he maintained his second job as a furniture salesman to pay his personal bills and remain financially stable. That era was full of long hour days, back-to-back. Despite the odds, four years later, Mike focuses on building a future for his business.

As a small business owner, Mike has to carefully manage his business expenses.

During our conversation, Mike talked about the harsh reality that small businesses typically don’t make that much money. The high cost of running the shop makes it difficult to raise profits. Mike is constantly searching for areas where he can save money, but those opportunities are sparse when it takes a minimum amount of resources to simply run the shop. 

One day as Mike was operating Z.Cioccolato, he received a call from Mission Asset Fund (MAF) introducing the Energy Watch Loan Program. The Energy Watch Loan Program provides small businesses zero-interest, credit building loans up to $2,500 to finance energy efficiency upgrades. Business owners have the opportunity to save energy and money on their utility bill, while at the same time reducing their impact on the environment. The Energy Watch Loan Program is a collaborative initiative between MAF and the San Francisco Department of the Environment.

In a space where sales calls are frequent and in high volume, Mike was protective at first glance and filed away the information as being “too good to be true.” One year later, however, he was reintroduced to the program:

“I happened to meet the contractor who did the lights. He lives nearby and stopped into the store and he brought up the program. Now this is the second time I had heard of it, and I was able to ask him a lot of questions. He gave me an estimate of how much he thought I would save on my PG&E bill, and that’s what really made me say: ‘Well, it’s a no brainer.’

Mike utilized the Energy Watch Program to brighten up his shop (with a few added benefits).

Mike proceeded to get two different lighting upgrades over the following year, totalling around $3,000. Rebates and incentives from the Energy Watch Program enabled him to lower the cost to around $1,680 with a monthly loan payment of about $100 to be completely paid off in the next year. Right off the bat, the gains were noticeable: monthly savings on his PG&E bill added up to about $100, matching the monthly payments and totalling a value of $1,200 a year.

For a small business owner, a $3,000 out of pocket cost may be a high hurdle. As Mike pointed out, saving energy and “being green” is a privilege to some extent. If a business is not especially profitable, an energy efficiency project with upfront costs may become less of a priority. The Energy Watch Program removes this hurdle with affordable, flexible loan products. According to Mike:

“It allows you to do a project that otherwise wouldn’t get done…As a business owner, there are very few times where there’s something with no risk and no downside. It’s interest free money, it helps your business, it saves on your monthly PG&E bill.”

Mike’s energy efficiency upgrade had a bigger impact than just monthly savings.

Mike described that prior to the upgrades, the majority of his lights were burnt out, broken, and slightly different colors which gave the store a “run down” and inconsistent look. A business with this kind of lighting may appear on its way to closing down. Mike described the lighting upgrade as analogous to his ever-flowing candy bins:

“It’s the same thing with my candy bins, I don’t like them to get empty looking because it makes you look like you’re going out of business…”

Since the upgrades, every corner of the store is illuminated and appears the same, consistent, color. Although it’s a fine detail, the customer is positively impacted by it.

Mike is satisfied with his energy improvements and ties the project’s motive back to his commitment to creating a comfortable environment for his customers.

Throughout our conversation, Mike circles back to his loyalty to his customers and dedication to providing them with a unique product for their enjoyment. The shop’s signature seven layered Peanut Butter Pie fudge exemplifies this uniqueness. From what Mike and his staff can tell, Z. Cioccolato is the only candy shop in the world that makes a seven layered fudge.

Mike believes that part of Z. Cioccolato’s future is making the in-store retail experience something so unique and unforgettable that customers prefer to shop in-person rather than online. Over the past year, the lighting upgrades have helped to preserve and further cultivate the look and feel of Z. Cioccolato’s customer-centered, indoor atmosphere.

Mike has a deep passion for his work at Z. Cioccolato and will continue to advocate for the enhancement of all retail experiences to save small businesses the burden of competing with corporate giants. And as his customers, we have the sweet privilege of experiencing all the indulgence they have to offer. If you haven’t already, plan your next trip to make a candy shop stop at Z. Cioccolato on: 

474 Columbus Ave
San Francisco, CA 94133.

Maya Canonizado

Maya Canonizado is the Energy Watch Program Coordinator for Mission Asset Fund. She spends much of her time thinking about how to save the world with small actions that add up to monumental change.


Maya Canonizado

Maya Canonizado is the Energy Watch Program Coordinator for Mission Asset Fund. She spends much of her time thinking about how to save the world with small actions that add up to monumental change.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.