'Échale ganas, mijo'/'Give it all, son':第二部分

什么是 "超越。进化。飞行 "对你来说意味着什么?

阅读第一部分。

'Ni de aqui, ni de alla'/'不是从这里,也不是从那里'。

我保持着与我的墨西哥遗产和文化的联系,但我也试图理解和适应美国文化。当我注意到我的朋友和他们的家人在客厅而不是围着桌子吃晚饭时(我习惯了),这总是让我吃惊。我总是试图让我的亲密朋友融入我的文化,他们也公开接受我融入他们的文化。

我与美国文化的同化也有其局限性。我知道我永远不可能成为完全的美国人,我也不想这样。我遵循 "不问不说 "的准则,从不告诉我的朋友我的移民身份。他们总是认为我是合法来的,有时,他们会开玩笑地取笑我是否有绿卡。我总是尽力转移这些谈话,提供诙谐的答案,如:"是的,我的名字不是真的大卫,但我的假证件肯定骗了你们所有人!"我从来没有真正觉得告诉他们真相是件很舒服的事。

另一方面,我的拉美同胞给我贴上了 "美国化的墨西哥人 "的标签,因为我的英语口音变得不那么重了,我甚至开始为一些西班牙语单词而苦恼。事实上,由于我的肤色较浅,许多拉丁裔社区的人认为我是在美国出生的。

梦中的恶梦

最终,我发现自己靠自己的能力和一个很小的奖学金的帮助上了社区大学。我知道我不能申请联邦援助,我做了几份工作来支付我的学费并继续支持我的父母。我终于感觉到我能够追求我的梦想,我正在这个国家建立我的生活。然而,梦想有时会出现暂时的转折。我的父母购买了一套房子,但在2007年的经济危机中,我们最终失去了这套房子。

当我父亲在一个炎热的夏日清晨被ICE拘留时,我们面临最大的挑战。他被拘留的那一天,是我最后一次见到他本人。ICE的理由可以追溯到我父亲移民的早期,当时他接受了一个欺诈性的法律建议。 公证员.作为一个家庭,我们争先恐后地寻找办法来支付法律费用。我们不打算让我父亲被驱逐出境。不久之后,ICE又来了一次--这次是为了我的哥哥、我的母亲和我。因为我最小的弟弟是美国公民,而且当时还未成年,所以我母亲可以免于被拘留。但我的哥哥和我却没有这种豁免权。

我们被拘留了,但我们仍然与我的父亲分开。在被拘留期间,我在美国生活的梦想和野心很快就消失了。我父亲在听到我们被拘留的消息后,自愿选择被驱逐出境。他很受打击,觉得对我们目前的处境负有责任。我还决定最终将我最亲密的朋友带入这个圈子,向他们承认我的处境。正如所料,他们非常惊讶,但我非常幸运地得到了他们的理解和支持。在我父亲被驱逐出境一周后,我和我的兄弟终于能够交出保释金。

随之而来的是多年来不断的法庭听证,与我认为破损的移民系统作斗争,并不断受到监视(甚至戴上脚镣)。之前,我一直明白自己的局限性,并相信移民改革将是我们的救星。然而,在整个诉讼过程中,我开始对我的未来感到不那么鼓舞,特别是当我的律师告诉我,我们最好的策略是让我嫁给一个美国公民或等待移民改革。但这一切都有一线生机。在我们对抗驱逐程序时,我们实际上能够申请到临时工作许可。我们能够这样做,因为在某些情况下,移民当局会允许卷入驱逐程序的人申请临时工作许可。

觉醒前的献祭

在获得工作许可后,我很幸运地得到了一个很好的就业机会,我被Comunidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio(CLUES)雇用,这是一个以服务拉丁裔社区而闻名的非营利组织。CLUES的使命和价值观与我父亲灌输给我的价值观一致。即使在远方,我的父亲也继续鼓励我继续努力工作,向我保证,努力工作和牺牲总是会有回报的。他鼓励我利用我作为服务提供者的平台来服务那些需要帮助的人,包括我的拉丁裔同胞和更大的移民社区。

在DACA于2012年推出后,我能够再一次实现梦想。我不再是一个人在战斗。我现在与生活在类似情况下的追梦人一起战斗。我对未来的乐观态度又回来了。我相信,如果给我一个机会,我的家人和我的社区面临同样的情况,很快就会效仿。与年轻时拘谨的自己相比,我成了那些不能说话的人的代言人。我从未涉足政治,但我明白,为了成为自己和社区的有效代言人,我必须用政策和政治方面的知识武装自己。我抓住一切机会,教育那些对我们的真实身份和我们对这个国家的贡献认识模糊的人。

我们一直支持我父亲回家。他开始生病,后来被诊断出患有多发性骨髓瘤。在他接受治疗期间,我们继续以任何可能的方式支持他。我父亲是一个非常骄傲的人。这是我也有的特质。他不希望我们为他担心,他总是说他'感觉很好'。但我们可以看穿这种表面现象。他需要他的家人胜过一切,我们也需要他。我们感到无能为力。我们不能简单地跳上飞机,飞到墨西哥去支持他。即使我们可以,他也不会允许。

我父亲的癌症在2016年逐渐恶化。他的免疫力很低,化疗实际上对他的伤害比帮助更大。他病入膏肓,让我们在千里之外面对我们迄今为止最困难的决定。除了我的弟弟,我是唯一可以申请提前假释飞往那里的人。不幸的是,当时我的DACA申请被推迟了,离开这个国家会给我带来很大的风险。我们的律师证实,如果我飞过去,我将很难再回来。如果我的DACA身份被取消,我父亲的牺牲将是徒劳的。我们别无选择,只能让我的哥哥飞到那里,支持他度过最后的日子。我哥哥刚降落,我父亲就去世了。

每一天,我都能感受到我父亲的存在。我不断回放他教给我的许多课程的记忆。"Échale ganas mijo!",或 "No te rindas por lo que estés luchando"。他是一位烈士,为了让我们有机会在充满机会的土地上创造我们选择的生活而牺牲了自己的生命。我的父亲是一个最初的梦想家。他的记忆活在我心中,因为我是他的一部分。我将继续梦想。我将继续发展。我将继续继承我父亲的遗产。

非常感谢大卫-索托撰写这篇文章并与我们分享他令人难以置信的鼓舞人心的故事。大卫-索托是Communidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio(CLUES)的财务能力项目主管。大卫还负责监督CLUES的Lending Circles项目。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

‘Échale ganas, mijo’/’Give it your all, son’: PART TWO

What does ‘Transcend. Evolve. Take Flight.” mean to you?

Read part one.

‘Ni de aqui, ni de alla’/’Not from here, nor from there’

I maintained my connection to my Mexican heritage and culture, but I also tried to understand and adapt to American culture. It always blew my mind when I noticed my friends and their families eating dinner in the living room rather than around a table (as I was used to). I always tried to allow my close friends into my culture, and they openly accepted me into theirs.

My assimilation into American culture came with its limits. I knew I was never going to be fully American, nor did I want to. I followed a “don’t ask, don’t tell” code, never telling my friends of my immigration status. They always assumed that I came here legally, and at times, they would jokingly tease me about whether I had my green card. I always did my best to deflect these conversations by offering up witty answers like, “Yeah, my name is not really David, but my fake papers are sure fooling you all!” I never truly felt comfortable with telling them the truth.

On the other hand, my fellow Latinos labeled me as an “Americanized Mexican” because my English accent became less heavy, and I even started to struggle with some Spanish words. In fact, with my lighter skin tone, many folks from the Latino community assumed that I was born in the U.S.

Nightmare within a dream

Eventually, I found myself attending community college on my own merits and with the assistance of a very small scholarship. I knew I wasn’t able to apply for Federal Aid, and I was working a few jobs to pay my tuition and to continue to support my parents. I finally felt that I was able to pursue my dreams and that I was building my life in this country. However, dreams can sometimes take a temporary turn for the worse. My parents purchased a home, but we eventually lost the house during the economic crisis in 2007.

We faced our biggest challenge yet when my father was detained by ICE early in the morning on a hot summer day. The day he was detained marked the last time I would see him in person. ICE’s reasoning dated back to the early days of my father’s immigration when he received fraudulent legal advice from a notario. As a family, we scrambled to find a way to cover the legal fees. We weren’t going to allow my father to be deported. Shortly after, ICE came once more — this time for my older brother, my mother, and myself. Because my youngest brother was a U.S. citizen and a minor at the time, my mother was immune from being detained. But my brother and I did not have this same immunity.

We were placed in custody, but we still remained separated from my father. My dreams and ambitions of living in the U.S. quickly died while in detainment. My father voluntarily elected to be deported after he heard the news of our detainment. He was devastated and felt responsible for our current situation. I also decided to finally bring my closest friends into the loop and admitted my situation to them. They were very surprised, as expected, but I was very fortunate for their understanding and support. A week after my father was deported, my brother and I were finally were able to post bail.

What followed were years of ongoing court hearings, fighting against what I believe is a broken immigration system, and being constantly monitored (even wearing an ankle bracelet). Before, I always understood my limitations and believed that immigration reform would be our saving grace. However, throughout the proceedings, I started to feel less inspired about my future, especially when my lawyer told me that our best strategy was for me to marry an American citizen or wait for immigration reform. But there was a silver lining to all of this. As we were fighting against removal proceedings, we were actually able to apply for temporary work authorization. We were able to do so because in some situations, immigration authorities will allow folks who are involved in deportation proceedings to apply for temporary work authorization.

Sacrifice before reawakening

After securing my work authorization, I was fortunate enough to land a great employment opportunity when I was hired at Comunidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio (CLUES), a nonprofit known to serve the Latino community. CLUES’ mission and values matched those values instilled in me by my father. Even from afar, my father continued to encourage me to keep working hard, reassuring me that hard work and sacrifice will always pay off. He encouraged me to utilize my platform as a service provider to serve those in need, including my fellow Latino community and the larger immigrant community.

After DACA was introduced in 2012, I was able to dream once more. I was no longer fighting by myself. I was now fighting alongside my fellow dreamers living a similar situation. My optimism for the future returned. I was convinced that If I was given a shot, my family and my community facing the same situation will soon follow suit. Compared to my younger, reserved self, I became a voice to those who couldn’t speak. I was never into politics, but I understood that in order to become an effective advocate for myself and for my community, I had to arm myself with knowledge in policy and politics. I took any opportunity that was given for me to educate those who have a vague understanding of who we really are and the contributions that we make to this country.

We always supported my father back home. He started to become ill, and he was later diagnosed with multiple myeloma. We continued to support him in any way possible while he was undergoing treatment. My father was a very proud man. It’s a trait that I also carry. He did not want us to worry about him, and he would always say that he was ‘feeling fine.’ But we could see right through this facade. He needed his family more than anything, and we needed him. We felt powerless. We couldn’t just simply jump on a plane and fly to Mexico to support him. Even if we could, he would’ve never allowed it.

My father’s cancer got progressively worse in 2016. His immunities were so low that chemo actually hurt him more than it helped him. He became terminally ill, leaving us to face our most difficult decision to date from thousands of miles away. Besides my younger brother, I was the only person who could’ve requested advance parole to fly down there. Unfortunately, my DACA application was delayed at that time, and leaving the country would have posed a high risk for me. Our lawyer confirmed that if I flew down, it would’ve been very difficult for me to return. If my DACA status were to be voided, my father’s sacrifice would’ve been made in vain. We had no choice but to have my brother fly down there to support him through his final days. My father passed just as soon as my brother landed.

Every day, I feel my father’s presence. I constantly play back the memories of the many lessons he taught me. “Échale ganas mijo!”, or “No te rindas por lo que estés luchando.” He was a martyr that sacrificed his life in order for us to have an opportunity to build the life that we chose to create in the land of opportunity. My father was an original dreamer. His memories live within me, as I am part of him. I will continue to dream. I will continue to evolve. I will continue to carry my father’s legacy.

A huge thank you to David Soto for writing this post and sharing his incredibly inspiring story with us. David Soto is the Financial Capability Program Supervisor at Communidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio (CLUES). David also oversees the Lending Circles programs at CLUES.

Partner Success Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.