"Échale ganas، mijo" / "أعطه كل ما لديك يا بني": الجزء الأول

ماذا يتخطى. تطور. استخدم الطائره." يعني لك؟

الحياة حلم

لطالما اعتبرت نفسي أ حالم - قبل فترة طويلة من استخدام المصطلح لتحديد مجتمع من الشباب المهاجرين الذين يعملون بجد يقاتلون من أجل فرصة للنجاح في أرض الفرص. أنا أفسر المصطلح على مستوى أعمق بكثير ، وقد أثر ذلك على تطور إيديولوجيتي. غالبًا ما أربط الأحلام بالماضي والحاضر. كما حددت أحلامي أيضًا رؤية لمستقبلي.

بالنسبة لي ، المصطلح حالم يتجاوز وضعي الحالي لكوني مستلمًا لـ DACA. أنا أستمتع بنوم هانئ. خاصة عندما يتم تحفيزي إلى "أرض الأحلام" الشخصية الواضحة الخاصة بي. لقد تعلمت دروسًا من أحلامي التي شكلتني في الشخص الذي أنا عليه اليوم. غالبًا ما أجد نفسي أعود في أحلام اليقظة إلى صندوق كنز الذكريات والتجارب الماضية في حياتي.

كنت أحلم بحياتي في المكسيك. لقد ولدت في ولاية فيراكروز - ولاية ساحلية يُعرف سكانها غالبًا باسم "جاروشوس". لقد نشأني والداي وعائلتي المباشرين. أتخيل جدي ، كاميلو ، الذي علمنا معنى احترام من حولنا وشجع والدي على وضع معايير تأديبية صارمة وعادلة. أرى جدتي ، غييرمينا ، التي كانت دائمًا تعرض حبها لنا بعاطفة مستمرة وأطباق مكسيكية لذيذة.

لم أتخيل قط الأحداث التي ستغير مجرى حياتي بشكل جذري. بدأ كل شيء برجل ، والدي ، الذي كان على استعداد للمخاطرة من أجل رفاهية عائلته والسعي من أجل حياة أفضل - ما يسمى بالحلم الأمريكي. هاجر والدي إلى جنوب كاليفورنيا في عام 1990. وبعد شهور ، انضمت إليه والدتي عبر الحدود. كنت في السادسة من عمري في ذلك الوقت ، وشعر عقلي الشاب بالاستياء والارتباك تجاه رحيل والدي. لماذا يتركوننا؟ ببساطة لم يكن له معنى.

مر عام بالعيش بدون والدي. اعتنى أجدادي بنا وحاولوا الاستفادة من وضعنا الحالي على أفضل وجه. كان من شأن الوصول إلى Skype أو وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي أن يجعل التواصل مع والديّ أسهل كثيرًا في ذلك الوقت.

في عام 1992 ، تم لم شملنا أنا وأخي الأكبر مع والدينا في جنوب كاليفورنيا. كتاب. أتذكر قفزتي من حافلة مزدحمة إلى أخرى. كنت متحمسًا ومتوترًا لرؤية والديّ ، وشعرنا بالراحة في السفر مع أحد أعمامي المفضلين. وصلنا إلى وجهة علمت لاحقًا أنها تيخوانا. عرّفنا عمنا على امرأتين مجهولتين وتركنا في رعايتهما. كما قال في وداعه ، طمأننا عمنا بأن هؤلاء النساء سيأخذننا إلى والدينا. لم أفهم ما كان يحدث ، ولجأت إلى الإمساك بأخي الأكبر بالقرب مني. كان أخي أيضًا في نفس حالة الذعر ، وكنت سعيدًا لأننا كنا مع بعضنا البعض.

كنت محظوظًا بما يكفي للنوم من خلال مغامرتنا عبر الحدود على المقصورة الخلفية لشاحنة شبه - أحلم بحياة لم شملها مع والدي. لكنني شعرت أيضًا أنهم مدينون لنا بشرح التخلي عنهم.

مرحبًا بكم في شمال المكسيك

على الرغم من أن الحياة في كاليفورنيا قد اعتدت عليها ، إلا أنني تمكنت من الاندماج بسرعة. كنا نعيش في حي يضم جالية لاتينية كبيرة. كان أساتذتي يتحدثون الإسبانية ، وكان أصدقائي جميعًا مكسيكيين. لم أشعر تمامًا بالصدمة الثقافية التي كنت أتوقع أن أشعر بها. على الرغم من أنني أفتقد عائلتي في المنزل ، فقد عوض والداي عن ذلك من خلال توفير الحب غير المشروط الذي لا يمكن لأحد سوى الوالدين منحه لأطفالهما. كما أعطونا أخًا صغيرًا مولودًا في الولايات المتحدة.

استمر والداي في غرس الكثير من دروس الحياة في نفسي وفي إخوتي. كنت أرى والدي يعود إلى المنزل في وقت متأخر من كل ليلة بملابس متسخة ودرجة لون بشرته أغمق. عمل في صناعة البناء كعامل. كان يكرس الوقت دائمًا للتأكد من أننا نلتزم بقيمنا وأخلاقنا من خلال التأكد من أن واجباتنا المنزلية قد انتهت وانتهاء الأعمال الموكلة إلينا. بمجرد الانتهاء ، تمت مكافأتنا بوقت فراغ. بدأت أفهم درس والدي عن قيمة وجود أخلاقيات عمل قوية. كان يذكرني باستمرار أنه من خلال العمل الجاد ، سواء كان ذلك العمل المدرسي أو الأعمال المنزلية ، سأحقق نتائج رائعة في المستقبل.

غرست في أمي قيم الصبر والرحمة. كانت تخنقني بالعاطفة بسبب سلوكي الجيد ودرجاتي الإيجابية في المدرسة. لقد كافحت مع الإجراءات التأديبية ، وغالبًا ما كانت تفوض والدي هذه المهام. كانت والدتي دائمًا لديها عقلية ريادية. بصرف النظر عن عملها كرعاية لعائلة أمريكية ، قامت ببيع مستحضرات التجميل والمجوهرات على الجانب. لشراء مخزونها ، غالبًا ما شاركت فيه تندا للمساعدة في توفير أموالها.

عمل والدي لأيام طويلة وعملت والدتي ليلا طويلا ، لذلك كنت أعتز بعطلات نهاية الأسبوع لأن تلك كانت الأوقات التي يمكن أن نكون فيها معًا كعائلة.

كيف تقول هذا في الأسبانية؟

لم يكن الأمر كذلك إلا بعد سنوات قليلة من انتقالي إلى الولايات المتحدة حتى شعرت بصدمة ثقافية حقيقية. قرر والداي الانتقال شمالًا إلى مينيسوتا. كنت في الصف السادس في ذلك الوقت ، وكنت غاضبًا وخائب الأمل لأنني اضطررت إلى ترك أصدقائي في كاليفورنيا. بعد أن تقاسمنا شقة مع أحد أفراد الأسرة الممتدة في البداية ، استقرنا في النهاية في بلدة فارمنجتون.

أن تكون محاطًا gringos كانت تجربة محطمة للأعصاب للغاية. كانت لغتي الإنجليزية لا تزال محدودة ، وكانت لهجتي ثقيلة. في كاليفورنيا ، كنت أتحدث الإسبانية في الغالب ، وصدف أنني أعيش في حي معظمه من اللاتينيين. ذكّرني زملائي دائمًا بلهجتي ، وكوني أحد الأطفال المكسيكيين القلائل في بلدة معظمها من القوقاز ، فقد وقفت كإبهام مؤلم. على الرغم من ذلك ، تمكنت من إثارة اهتمامهم بتعلم اللغة الإسبانية ، حسنًا ... كلمات لعنة الإسبانية.

عاملني العديد من زملائي باحترام وتقبلوا حضوري ، لكن آخرين شعروا بالحاجة إلى محاولة تقويضي. لم أشعر أبدًا بأنني أنتمي إلى دائرتهم الداخلية. شعرت بأنني في غير محله ، غير واثق من نفسي ، ولست مثل ما كنت عليه في السابق. أصبحت متحفظًا وهادئًا للغاية.

استغرق الأمر بعض الوقت ، لكنني بدأت أخيرًا في قبول مينيسوتا كمنزل جديد. لكن بالطبع ، كنت أجد صعوبة في الحفاظ على ثباتي في رؤية الحياة من عدسة جديدة. لقد عشت نصيبي من التجارب السلبية ، خاصة فيما يتعلق بالعنصرية. خلال هذه اللحظات ، أود استدعاء درس آخر من دروس حياة والدي: لا تكن معتديًا أو تخوض معركة ، لكن لا تسمح للآخرين بتقليل قيمتك - أو قيمة من تهتم بهم - ودافع دائمًا عن قيمك الشخصية . لم يكن لدي خيار سوى الوقوف على الأرض عند التحدي.

كنت محظوظًا لتكوين بعض الصداقات الحميمة. لا داعي لقوله…. كلهم غرينغو. حتى يومنا هذا ، ما زالوا جزءًا من حياتي. كما أنها تصادف أن تكون مثل مينيسوتان كما يمكن للمرء أن يتوقع. على الرغم من أن لهجتي كانت لا تزال كثيفة ، إلا أنني تعلمت أن أشعر بثقة أكبر بمهاراتي الشفوية ولهجتي. ما زال أصدقائي يواجهون صعوبة في ذلك ، خاصةً فيما يتعلق بالفروق بين B و V و J و Y ، لكنني كنت أعرف أن كل ذلك كان ممتعًا.

اقرأ الجزء الثاني.

شكراً جزيلاً لديفيد سوتو لكتابة هذا المنشور ومشاركتنا قصته الملهمة بشكل لا يصدق. ديفيد سوتو هو مشرف برنامج القدرات المالية في Communidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio (CLUES). يشرف ديفيد أيضًا على برامج Lending Circles في CLUES.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

‘Échale ganas, mijo’/’Give it your all, son’: PART ONE

What does ‘Transcend. Evolve. Take Flight.” mean to you?

Life’s about a dream

I’ve always considered myself a dreamer — long before the term was used to identify a community of hard-working immigrant youth fighting for a chance to succeed in the land of opportunity. I interpret the term on a much deeper level, and this has influenced the development of my own ideology. I often connect dreams to my past and present. My dreams also set the vision for my future.

For me, the term dreamer goes beyond my current status of being a DACA recipient. I enjoy a good night’s sleep. Especially when I’m induced into my own personal lucid “dreamland.” I’ve taken lessons from my dreams that have shaped me into the person that I am today. I often find myself daydreaming back into the treasure chest of my life’s past memories and experiences.

I daydream of my life in Mexico. I was born in the state of Veracruz — a coastal state whose natives are often known as “Jarochos.” I was brought up by my parents and my immediate family. I visualize my grandfather, Camilo, who taught us the meaning of respect for those around us and encouraged my parents to set strict, yet fair disciplinary standards. I see my grandmother, Guillermina, who always displayed her love for us with constant affection and delicious Mexican dishes.

I had never imagined the events that would drastically alter the course of my life. It all started with a man, my father, who was willing to take a risk for the well-being of his family and for the pursuit of a better life — the so-called American Dream. My father immigrated to southern California in 1990. Months later, my mother joined him across the border. I was six at the time, and my youthful mind felt resentment and confusion towards my parents departure. Why would they leave us? It simply didn’t make sense.

A year passed by living without my parents. My grandparents took care of us and tried to make the best of our existing situation. Having access to Skype or social media would have made communication with my parents a lot easier back then.

In 1992, my older brother and I were reunited with our parents in southern California. The journey was long. I remember jumping from one crowded bus to another. I was excited and nervous to see my parents, and we felt comfortable traveling with one of my favorite uncles. We arrived to a destination which I later learned was Tijuana. Our uncle introduced us to two unknown women and left us in their care. As he said his farewells, our uncle reassured us that these women would take us to our parents. I didn’t understand what was going on, and I resorted to holding my older brother close to me. My brother was also in the same state of panic, and I was glad that we had each other.

I was fortunate enough to sleep through our venture across the border on the back cabin of a semi-truck — dreaming of a reunited life with my parents. But I also felt that they owed us an explanation for their abandonment.

Welcome to northern Mexico

Though life in California took some getting used to, I managed to assimilate quickly. We lived in a neighborhood with a large Latino community. My teachers spoke Spanish, and my friends were all Mexican. I didn’t quite feel the sense of culture shock I had expected to feel. Though I missed my family back home, my parents made up for this by providing unconditional love that only a parent can give to their children. They also gave us a U.S. born little brother.

My parents continued to instill many life lessons in me and my brothers. I would see my father come home late each night with dirty clothes and a darker tone to his skin. He worked in the construction industry as a laborer. He would always dedicate time to make sure we were adhering to our values and morals by making sure that our homework was done and our assigned chores finished. Once completed, we were rewarded with leisure time. I began to understand my father’s lesson of the value of having a strong work ethic. He would constantly remind me that by working hard, whether it be school work or chores, I would reap great results in the future.

My mother instilled in me the values of patience and compassion. She would smother me with affection for my good behavior and positive grades at school. She did struggle with disciplinary actions, and she often delegated these tasks to my father. My mother always had an entrepreneurial mentality. Aside from working as a caretaker for an American family, she sold cosmetics and jewelry on the side. To purchase her inventory, she often participated in tandas to help save her money.

My father worked long days and my mother worked long nights, so I cherished the weekends because those were times when we could be together as a family.

How do you say this in Spanish?

It wasn’t until a few years after moving to the U.S. that I experienced a true sense of culture shock. My parents decided to move north to Minnesota. I was in sixth grade at the time, and I was angry and disappointed for having to leave my friends back in California. After initially sharing an apartment with an extended family member, we eventually settled in the town of Farmington.

Being surrounded by gringos was a very nerve-wracking experience. My English was still limited, and my accent was heavy. In California, I was mostly speaking Spanish, and I happened to live in a neighborhood with mostly Latinos. My classmates constantly reminded me of my accent, and being one of the few Mexican kids in a mostly Caucasian town, I stood out like a sore thumb. Though, I was able to spark their interest in learning Spanish, well…Spanish curse words.

Many classmates treated me with respect and were accepting of my presence, but others felt the need to try to undermine me. I never really felt like I belonged to their inner circle. I felt out of place, not confident, and not like my former self. I became very reserved and quiet.

It took some time, but I finally began to accept Minnesota as my new home. But of course, I constantly struggled to keep myself fixed on seeing life from a new lens. I lived my share of negative experiences, especially around racism. During these moments, I would invoke another one of my father’s life lessons: Never be an aggressor or pick a fight, but don’t allow others to decrease your worth — or the worth of those you care for — and always defend your personal values. I had no option but to stand my ground when challenged.

I was fortunate to form a few close friendships. Needless to say…. they’re all gringos. To this day, they’re still part of my life. They also happen to be as Minnesotan as one can expect. Though my accent was still thick, I learned to feel more confident with my oral skills and my accent. My friends still gave me a hard time, especially around the distinctions between B’s and V’s and J’s and Y’s, but I knew it was all in good fun.

Read part two.

A huge thank you to David Soto for writing this post and sharing his incredibly inspiring story with us. David Soto is the Financial Capability Program Supervisor at Communidades Latinas Unidas en Servicio (CLUES). David also oversees the Lending Circles programs at CLUES.

Partner Success Manager at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.