跳到主要内容

梦想不再推迟

几周前,埃德加做了一件他在过去两年里一直梦想的事情。在旧金山教会区的一个阳光明媚的日子里,埃德加走进社会保障管理局,开始填写申请表。你可能还记得 Edgar 和他的搭档 Gustavo 从他们第一次在 湾区记者. Mission Asset Fund与湾区记者密切 跟随埃德加和古斯塔沃的两年旅程.

埃德加和古斯塔沃一生中的大部分时间都在追逐美国梦。一个梦想,直到最近,他们还认为永远不可能实现。孩提时代,他们随父母移民美国,寻求机会和更好的生活。当他们到达时,他们加入了 1100 万其他无证移民 生活在美国试图过得去。

Edgar 和 Gustavo 在 Mission Asset Fund 办公室(照片:Rick Gerharter)

追逐美国梦

两年前,埃德加从没想过自己有一天会实现他的美国梦。古斯塔沃和埃德加的生活因他们的无证身份而受到严重限制。埃德加儿时当老师的梦想在高中毕业后被无限期搁置。他已被加州大学伯克利分校录取,但无法注册,因为无证学生无法获得传统贷款或联邦财政学生援助。

进入职场后,埃德加是一名模范员工,赢得了同事的尊重,并因其强烈的职业道德得到了上司的认可。当他得到升职时,这一切都瓦解了。埃德加无法提供公司要求的文件,他被迫离开

古斯塔沃也无法上大学,只能在高中打扫人们的房子后才能找到工作,工作时间长,工资微薄。

作为一名无证移民,埃德加面临的另一个挑战是与他的两个年幼的孩子分开。没有证件,古斯塔沃和埃德加都无法乘坐飞机将他们带回旧金山。古斯塔沃只能定期通过电话与他的孩子交谈。古斯塔沃和埃德加等待着与孩子们团聚的那一天,让他们的家庭变得完整。

新机遇

2012 年初,当奥巴马政府宣布一项新计划时,埃德加和古斯塔沃的生活将永远改变,该计划将为居住在美国的一些未满 16 岁但未满16 岁的无证青年提供保护和工作许可31.

ǞǞǞ 儿童入境暂缓遣返 (DACA),是他们一直在等待的机会。像生活在美国的许多其他无证人士一样,埃德加和古斯塔沃生活在没有银行账户的情况下,经济困难不断。他们靠薪水过日子,四百六十五美元的申请费似乎遥不可及。埃德加和古斯塔沃决心找到一种方法来支付费用。

加入一个圈子

通过朋友和 SF LGBT 中心, Edgar 和 Gustavo 了解了 Mission Asset Fund 梦想家的借贷圈 程序。 Lending Circles for Dreamers 计划提供零利率贷款,让 Edgar 和 Gustavo 以及许多其他类似的人获得支付申请费所需的 465 美元。在为期十个月的计划中,参与者参加在线金融培训课程并在偿还贷款时建立信用。当参与者准备好申请 DACA 时,Mission Asset Fund 会给他们一张支票给美国国土安全部。

埃德加和古斯塔沃前往社会保障办公室的两年旅程充满了大量的文书工作和数英里的繁文缛节。现已解决的文书工作问题迫使古斯塔沃的申请被搁置数周,而提交错误迫使埃德加重新开始他的申请。通过这一切,古斯塔沃和埃德加一直互相支持。现在他们有文件、社区和信用记录。

凭借他们进入金融主流的新能力,他们离实现目标又近了一步。梦想家贷款圈计划和 DACA 为埃德加和古斯塔沃开辟了可能性。埃德加现在可以回到学校,与家人团聚,并找到稳定的工作。随着他的社会保障申请上的墨水变干,埃德加的梦想终于成为现实。

A dream no longer deferred

Edgar did something a few weeks ago that he had been dreaming of for the past two years. On a sunny day in San Francisco’s Mission District, Edgar walked into the Social Security Administration Office and began to fill out an application. You may remember Edgar and his partner Gustavo from when they were first profiled in the Bay Area Reporter. Mission Asset Fund and The Bay Area Reporter have been closely following Edgar and Gustavo’s two year journey.

Edgar and Gustavo had been chasing the American dream for most of their lives. A dream, that until recently, they thought could never come true. As children, they immigrated with their parents to the United States seeking opportunities and a better life. When they arrived they joined 11 million other undocumented immigrants living in the United States trying to get by.

Edgar and Gustavo at the Mission Asset Fund Office (Photo: Rick Gerharter)

Chasing the American Dream

Two years ago, Edgar never thought he would one day be on track to realize his American Dream. Gustavo and Edgar’s lives had been severely limited by their undocumented status.  Edgar’s childhood dream of being a teacher had been put on indefinite hold after high school. He had been accepted to U.C. Berkeley, but was unable to enroll because undocumented students cannot access conventional loans or federal financial student aid.

Once joining the working world, Edgar was an exemplary employee, earning the respect of his coworkers and was recognized by his supervisors for his strong work ethic. All of this fell apart when he was offered a promotion. Edgar was unable to produce the documentation that the company requested and he was forced to leave

Gustavo was also unable to attend college and could only secure work after high school cleaning people’s houses, laboring for long hours and little pay.

Another challenge Edgar faced as an undocumented immigrant was being separated from his two young children. Without documentation, neither Gustavo nor Edgar can get on a plane to bring them home to San Francisco. Gustavo has only been able to talk with his children periodically on the phone. Gustavo and Edgar wait for the day that they would be reunited with the children to make their family whole.

A New Opportunity

In early 2012, Edgar and Gustavo’s lives would change forever when the Obama Administration announced a new program that would offer protection from deportation and permission to work for some undocumented youth living in the United States who had arrived before they turned 16 who had not yet turned 31.

The Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), was the opportunity they had been waiting for. Like many of the other undocumented people living in the United States Edgar and Gustavo were living unbanked and under constant financial hardship. They lived from paycheck to paycheck, and the four hundred and sixty five dollar application fee was seemingly out of reach. Edgar and Gustavo were determined to find a way to cover the costs.

Joining a Circle

Through friends and the SF LGBT Center, Edgar and Gustavo learned about the Mission Asset Fund’s Lending Circle for Dreamers program. Lending Circles for Dreamers program provides zero-interest loans that allowed Edgar and Gustavo, and many other like them, access the four hundred and sixty five dollars they needed to cover the application fees. Over the course of the ten month program, participants take online financial training classes and build credit as they repay the loan. When participants are ready to apply for DACA, Mission Asset Fund gives them a check made out to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

The two year journey to the Social Security Office for Edgar and Gustavo was filled with mountains of paperwork and miles of red tape. A now resolved paperwork issue forced Gustavo’s application to be put on hold for weeks, while a filing error forced Edgar to restart his application. Through it all, Gustavo and Edgar have always had each other for support. Now they have documentation, community, and credit history.

With their new ability to access the financial mainstream, they are one step closer to achieving their goals. The Lending Circle for Dreamers program and DACA have opened up the possibilities for Edgar and Gustavo. Edgar will now be able to go back to school, unite his family, and find stable work. As the ink dries on his Social Security application, Edgar’s dream is finally becoming reality.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.