冠军聚焦:认识Jessica Leggett


她是MAF的捐赠者和董事会成员,她把热情和创造力带到了她所做的一切。

关注我们的 "冠军焦点 "系列,我们将向您介绍我们伟大的社会投资者,并表彰他们通过信用建设支持金融赋权的行动。

认识一下杰西卡-莱格特,一个熟练的、经验丰富的投资者和企业家。杰西卡来自德克萨斯州,在纽约市投资商业房地产15年,同时在业余时间支持几个以青年为导向的教育组织。两年前,当她和她的家人搬迁到湾区时,她将她对服务的热情与她的职业抱负结合起来,创立了Seven + Gold LLC,一个基于使命的投资平台,为早期阶段的公司提供资本和战略咨询服务。

杰西卡是一位热心的捐赠者,在2016年夏天加入了MAF董事会。她还担任MAF的Adelante咨询委员会的联合主席,该委员会由湾区的创新者组成,帮助MAF筹集资金支持和提高知名度。

我们有机会与杰西卡坐下来,与她聊一聊她的职业历程,以及是什么促使她做她所做的工作。

MAF: 告诉我们你的情况。爱好、兴趣、激情?

JL。 支持社会影响是我家庭的基石,无论是在我儿子的学前班做志愿者,还是为有需要的人提供膳食,或者投资于以使命为导向的公司。通过专注于社会创新,我的目标是为我的孩子和后代留下一份积极的遗产。我也对任何形式的创意艺术和设计感到非常满意--无论是个人的努力,如陶器,家居设计,甚至是享受美丽的空间,如我当地的咖啡店!我还喜欢在户外活动,特别是与人接触。我也喜欢户外活动,特别是靠近水的地方,所以我喜欢去远足、飞鱼和划船。城市的活力和节奏真的让我体会到户外活动的对比和重要性。

MAF:什么问题刺激了你的行动?

JL。 对我来说,这一切都归结为为所有人创造机会。我想帮助解决那些给某些社区造成不利条件的系统性问题。在这个构架中,我专注于几个主要问题。首先,经济包容:确保每个人都有机会过上美好的生活,并有一个安全网来应对道路上不可避免的颠簸。第二,教育:确保每个孩子都有机会获得适龄的课程和有适当资源的学习环境。我们社区内的许多地区受到严重的资源限制,使儿童处于不利地位。第三,环境:尽量减少我们对自然资源的影响,并确定我们可以为改善我们的世界而承担责任和义务的方式。

MAF: 是什么让你想参与到MAF中来的?

JL。 在我的家人搬到旧金山后不久,我在倾点社区的董事会匹配活动中与MAF的执行团队进行了交谈。我的一个目标是加入一个小而有影响的组织的董事会,该组织有可能在全国范围内发展和服务客户。我真的被该组织专注于创造具有广泛可扩展性的全系统变革所吸引。我被MAF在全国范围内的影响力和可扩展的方法所吸引,并欣赏MAF员工的专业精神和以数据为导向的方法来创造社会影响。加入董事会是一个完美的选择。

MAF:在接下来的几个月里,您对与MAF的合作有什么期待?

JL。 我很高兴看到MAF如何继续解决其成员不断变化的需求,比如开发创新产品来解决移民社区目前面临的危机。

我迫不及待地想看到MAF继续挑战现状,创造更广泛、更深入的影响。我真的很自豪能够成为这个了不起的组织的一部分。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Champion spotlight: meet Jessica Leggett

She's a MAF donor and Board Member who brings passion and creativity to everything she does.

Follow our Champion Spotlight series, where we introduce you to our great Social Investors and honor their actions to support financial empowerment through credit-building.

Meet Jessica Leggett, a skilled and experienced investor and entrepreneur. Originally from Texas, Jessica spent 15 years investing in commercial real estate in New York City while supporting several youth-oriented education organizations in her spare time. When she and her family relocated to the Bay Area two years ago, she combined her passion for service with her career aspirations, founding Seven + Gold LLC, a mission-based investment platform that provides capital and strategic advisory services to early stage companies.

A dedicated donor, Jessica joined the MAF Board of Directors in the summer of 2016. She also serves as the Co-Chair of MAF’s Adelante Advisory Council, a group of Bay Area innovators helping to raise financial support and awareness for MAF.

We had the chance to sit down with Jessica to chat with her about her professional journey and what motivates her to do the work she does.

MAF: Tell us about yourself. Hobbies, interests, passions?

JL: Supporting social impact is a cornerstone for my family, whether it’s volunteering in my son’s preschool class to serving meals to those in need or investing in mission-driven companies. By focusing on social innovation, my goal is to leave a positive legacy for my children and future generations. I also take great satisfaction in the creative arts and design in any form – whether it’s personal endeavors like pottery, home design, or even enjoying beautiful spaces like my local coffee shop! I also love being outside and especially being near water, so I enjoy going on hikes, fly fishing, and boating. The energy and pace of the city have really helped me appreciate the contrast and importance of getting outdoors.

MAF: What issues spur you to action?

JL: For me, it all boils down to creating opportunity for all. I want to help solve systemic issues that create disadvantages for certain communities. Within that construct, I’ve focused on a few major issues. First, economic inclusion: making sure that everyone has access to opportunities to live a good life and a safety net for the inevitable bumps in the road. Second, education: making sure every child has access to age-appropriate curricula and appropriately resourced learning environments. Many areas within our communities are severely resource-constrained, putting children at a disadvantage. Third, the environment: minimizing our impact on natural resources and identifying ways we can take responsibility and be accountable for improving our world.

MAF: What made you want to get involved with MAF?

JL: Shortly after my family moved to San Francisco, I spoke with MAF’s executive team at a Tipping Point Community board match event. A goal of mine was to join the board of a small but impactful organization, with potential to grow and serve clients across the country. I was really drawn to the organization’s focus on creating system-wide change with broad scalability. I was attracted to MAF’s national reach and scalable approach, and appreciated the professionalism of MAF’s staff and the data-driven approach to creating social impact. Joining the board was a perfect fit!

MAF: What are you looking forward to in your work with MAF in the next few months?

JL: I am excited to see how MAF continues to address the ever-changing needs of its constituents, like developing innovative products to address the current crisis facing the immigrant community.

I can’t wait to see MAF continue to challenge the status quo and create broader and deeper impact. I am really proud to be part of this terrific organization.


Kelsea McDonough