深入了解会员文化


为了更好地了解我们的会员文化,工作人员决定花时间了解即将到来的节日--厄尔尼诺之日。

在MAF,我们认为与我们的会员进行更深层次的交流是非常重要的。通过更好地了解他们的来历,我们可以帮助他们更好地实现自己的目标。由于我们大多数会员都是拉丁美洲后裔,我们认为没有比庆祝该地区最受欢迎的节日之一更好的方式来加强这种联系。 El Dia de los Muertos亡灵节,即 "亡灵节"。许多拉丁美洲国家都有这个节日,墨西哥的庆祝活动最为热闹。

我在小学的时候就知道了这个节日,但在为员工演讲做研究时,我了解到了更多。背后的理由真的很伟大,甚至很美好。

那些庆祝这个节日的人背后的想法是,死亡只是生命的另一部分,不应该被哀悼,而是应该庆祝,因为你的亲人在某种意义上已经从生命的这个阶段毕业,进入下一个阶段。El Dia de los Muertos是一年中的一天,我们的亲人被允许从他们永恒的沉睡中回来,并花时间庆祝与他们活着的亲人团聚。对于那些不熟悉这个节日的人来说,许多装饰可能会被视为病态或恐怖的骷髅头、骷髅、分身和墓地参观,但这是由于文化理解的差异。

我们希望我们办公室的Dia de los Muertos装饰品尽可能的真实,所以我们去了位于任务区中心的一家名为Casa Bonampak的商店,该商店的产品是从墨西哥运来的。我们特别订购了 Papel Picado 来自墨西哥的一种传统装饰幡,用于各种节日庆祝活动。它包含了MAF的标志,是用传统的凿子制作的。Tracie,店里的员工之一,能够协助收集适当的装饰品。

El Dia de los Muertos最引人注目的方面之一是 糖骷髅.我们决定从商店购买空白的头骨,让MAF的工作人员来装饰它们。这些头骨是由一个人在墨西哥制作的,他使用的是世代相传的粘土模具。在我们开始装饰之前,我给全体员工做了一个关于节日的简短介绍,以便大家更好地理解装饰品的意义。

糖头骨是代表着他们所赠予的亲人,而糖头骨的大小则是为了代表这个人的年龄。传统的装饰糖头骨的方式,或者是 菖蒲这是不容易的,我们学到了艰难的方式!"在装饰骷髅头的努力,显示出奉献精神,你的人,无论他是活着还是去世。在装饰骷髅头的努力中,显示出对你所赠送的人的奉献,无论这个人是活着还是已经去世。

骷髅,或 ,总是被家人视为异想天开,而不是悲伤。它们的意思是代表着能够再次见到亲人的灵魂而感到高兴。作为一个有几位亲人过世的人,我很欣赏这种快乐地思念他们而不是哀伤他们的想法。

家人也会在祭坛上留下活人的食物和礼物,以便在他们从死亡到活人世界的漫长旅程后喂养他们的灵魂。我最喜欢的传统是在祭坛和墓碑上摆满金盏花,有时从墓地通向家庭。据说,这种甜美的气味足以让灵魂回来,他们可以循着气味来到活着的亲人的家中。

在这个节日里所表现出来的奇思妙想、欢乐和爱,真的是值得赞赏的。当我们把所有的装饰品摆放完毕后,我们的办公室完全变了样。希望在每一次的Lending Circle培育、理财培训课、以及与员工的每一次对话中,都能为会员创造一个积极的、信任的环境。通过这些反思,我们可以看到MAF在每一位会员的生命长河中所扮演的角色,我们在承认和庆祝他们的过去的同时,也看到他们建立自己的生活。 更光明的未来.

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Diving Deep into Member Culture


In an effort to better understand our member culture, the staff decided to take time to learn about the upcoming holiday, El Dia de los Muertos.

Here at MAF, we feel it is important for us to connect with our members on a deeper level. In gaining a better understanding of where they are coming from, we can help them better reach their goals. With a majority of our members being of Latin American descent, we felt there was no better way to strengthen this connection than to celebrate one of the most loved holidays of that region: El Dia de los Muertos, the Day of the Dead. The holiday is practiced in many Latin American countries and most festively celebrated in Mexico.

I had learned about the holiday in grade school but upon doing research for a staff presentation, I learned so much more. The reasoning behind the occasion was really great, beautiful even.

The thought behind those who celebrate the holiday is that death is only another part of life and shouldn’t be mourned but celebrated as your loved ones have in a sense graduated from this stage in life to the next. El Dia de los Muertos is the one day a year that our loved ones are allowed to return from their eternal slumber and spend time to celebrate the reunion with their living loved ones. Much of the decor may be seen as morbid or macabre to those unfamiliar with the holiday with the skulls, skeletons, alters, and cemetery visits, but this is due to a difference in cultural understanding.

We wanted our office’s Dia de los Muertos decorations to be as authentic as possible so we visited a store in the heart of the Mission District called Casa Bonampak, which ships its products from Mexico. We special ordered Papel Picado from Mexico, a traditional decorative streamer used for all types of festive celebrations. It included the MAF symbol and was made with the traditional chisels. Tracie, one of the store’s employees was able to assist in gathering the appropriate decorations for the occasion.

One of the most notable aspects of El Dia de los Muertos is the sugar skulls. We decided to buy blank skulls from the store and have the MAF staff decorate them. They were made in Mexico by a man who used clay molds that had been handed down to him for many generations. Before we began decorating, I gave a brief presentation on the holiday to the entire staff, so that everyone would have a better understanding of what the decorations meant.

The sugar skulls are representative of the loved one they are gifted to and the size of them is meant to represent the age of that person. The traditional way of decorating the sugar skulls, or calaveras de azucar, is not easy, and we learned that the hard way! Putting in the effort of decorating the skull shows dedication to the person you are gifting it to, whether that person is alive or has passed.

The skeletons, or clacas, are always seen as whimsical by families rather than sad. They are meant to represent the spirits that are happy to be able to see their loved ones again. As someone with a few relatives who have passed, I admire the idea of thinking happily of them, rather than mourning them.

Families also create altars where they leave offerings of food and gifts from the living in order to feed the spirits after their long journey from death to the world of the living. My favorite tradition is placing marigolds all over the altars and grave stones, sometimes leading from the cemeteries to homes. The sweet smell is said to be strong enough to bring the spirits back and they can follow the smell to the homes of their living loved ones.

The whimsy, joy, and love displayed on this holiday is really something to be appreciated. Our office completely transformed once we finished putting up all the decorations. The hope is to create a positive and trusting environment for our members in every Lending Circle formation, financial management training class and every conversation they have with our staff. Making these reflections enables us to see the role MAF plays in the long arc of each member’s life as we acknowledge and celebrate their past while also watching them build their own brighter futures.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.