戴安娜通过小企业贷款让尾巴摇摇欲坠


对戴安娜来说,狗不仅仅是爱和毛茸茸的小球。

在墨西哥长大的戴安娜的母亲把狗当做自己家庭的成员。但当戴安娜12岁搬到旧金山时,她的家庭已经没有空间容纳一只狗了。她憧憬着有一天能让家里的狗重新回到自己的生活中,但直到大学毕业后,她才得以实现这个梦想。

在城市学院学习了室内设计后,Diana开始了她的职业生涯,在一家房屋装修公司工作。这是很有意义的,因为她可以把任何房子变成一件艺术品。她可以把一个日常的厨房打造成一个高级烹饪节目的场景,也可以把一个客厅打造成一个舒适和温馨的家,只需安排好家具和灯光。

2008年房市崩盘时,没有人想卖房子,更不用说雇人把房子装修得漂漂亮亮了。崩盘让她失去了工作,也迫使她重新思考自己的职业轨迹。这时,戴安娜开始回顾自己的童年记忆。

"我喜欢动物,但我从来没有想过在动物中会有一个职业。"戴安娜解释说。

戴安娜决定冒着风险,跳入新的行业,在一家狗狗日托所开始工作。她当了一辈子的宠物主人,对她的法国斗牛犬像慈母一样宠爱有加,但她从来没有做过这样的专业工作。但她很快就发现了工作的一些局限性。

她喜欢和动物们一起工作的每一分钟,但她发现自己因工作时间长、工资低、上升空间有限而感到沮丧。因此,Diana开始寻找自己当老板的方法,并立志开一家遛狗店。

戴安娜想去银行申请商业贷款,但她不能。尽管她在美国生活了大半辈子,大学毕业,有一份全职工作,但她没有信用等级。

"一旦我知道自己要创业,就没有回头路了。"

她通过朋友听说当地的一个非营利组织可以帮助她制定商业计划,在那里,她得以让她的遛狗业务起步。商业计划书教会她的一件事就是如何找到自己的定位。戴安娜决定,她不只是想做一个典型的遛狗生意。相反,她想把她对动物的爱和环保的价值观结合起来。她希望确保她业务的每一部分都是环保的--从狗狗喜欢的有机食品和食物,到可持续采购的玩具,甚至是可生物降解的垃圾袋。

不到半年,她就拿到了营业执照,并。 绿色都市狗 诞生了。现在,她已经获得了提供动物护理的认证,她的环保服务在2012年就已经准备好了。接下来的障碍是建立她的信用分数,接受更多的培训和建立客户群。为了建立自己的信用,她加入了Lending Circles,在那里,她在短短几个月内从零到超过650分。随后,她花了超过56个小时的时间进行心肺复苏和遛狗的培训,以学习技巧。而在2013年底,她就能找到第一个客户。但在她真正称得上是绿色都市狗之前,她还有最后一个障碍需要克服。

戴安娜的最后一关是她那辆耗油的汽车。

"我每周光是运送狗狗过城的油费就花了近$90。"她说。她知道自己可以省钱,并充分 绿化 她的业务,购买了一辆混合动力车。尽管戴安娜现在有了信用分数,也有了足够的收入来支付贷款的月供,但她的分数仍然低于黄金档,所以她无法获得汽车贷款买车的资格。

Diana回到了MAF,因为她听说了一个为企业主提供零利率小企业贷款的项目。在MAF的帮助下,Diana获得了小额贷款。她购买了一辆二手节能汽车,用来载着狗狗到处跑。此后,Diana加入了Lending Circle for Business,不断建立自己的信用,以便将来能从银行获得更大的贷款。

现在有12个全职客户,Diana的业务发展迅速。她擅长与英国和法国斗牛犬等短鼻子犬种合作--这一策略帮助她赢得了忠实的长期客户。她甚至还为幼犬开设了一个 "短鼻冒险俱乐部",为短鼻犬设计活动。

"我告诉每一个我认识的人,'小企业贷款就去Mission Asset Fund'。"

在获得零息商业贷款的同时,建立长期的信用,这对我们来说是一个巨大的促进。Diana对有抱负的企业主的建议?勇往直前!虽然路途会很艰辛,也会很可怕,但她相信 "阳光照耀着每个人",只要朝着自己的梦想努力就好。

你知道旧金山有一个像Diana这样的小企业主吗?告诉他们今天在 LendingCircles.org.

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Diana gets tails wagging with a small business loan


For Diana, dogs are so much more than little balls of love and fluff

Growing up in Mexico, Diana’s mother treated dogs like they were members of their own family. But when Diana moved to San Francisco at age 12, her family no longer had the space to accommodate a dog. She longed for the day she could bring a family dog back into her life, but it wasn’t until after college that she was able to make this dream happen.

After studying interior design at City College, Diana began her career working with a Home Stager. This was rewarding because she could make any house into a work of art. She could take an everyday kitchen and make it look like it was the set of a fancy cooking show, or a living room make it look comforting and homey just by arranging furniture and light.

When the housing market crashed in 2008, no one was looking to sell a house, let alone hire someone to make it look nice. The crash left her without a job and forced her to rethink her career trajectory. That’s when Diana began to look back on her childhood memories.

“I love animals, but I never thought there was a career in them,” Diana explained.

Diana decided to take a risk and jump into a new profession to start a job at a doggie daycare. She had been a lifelong pet owner, and doted on her French bulldog like a loving mom, but she had never done something like this professionally. But she quickly noticed some limitations with the work.

She loved every minute of working with the animals, but found herself frustrated by the long hours, low pay and limited upward mobility. As a result, Diana began looking for ways to become her own boss and set her sights on a opening a dog walking business.

Diana wanted to go to a bank and get a business loan, but she couldn’t. Even though she had lived in the U.S for most of her life, was a college graduate and had a full time job, she had no credit score.

“Once I knew I wanted to start a business, there was no turning back.”

She heard about a local nonprofit that could help her create a business plan through a friend and there she was able to get her dog walking business off the ground. One of the things that business planning taught her was how to find her niche. Diana decided that she didn’t just want to have a typical dog walking business. Instead, she wanted to combine her love of animals with eco-friendly values. She wanted to make sure that every part of her business was eco-friendly – from organic treats and foods the dogs enjoy, to sustainably sourced toys, and even biodegradable waste bags.

Within six months, she had her business license and Green Urban Dog was born. Now accredited to provide animal care, her eco-friendly services were ready to go by 2012. The next hurdles were building her credit score, getting more training and building a client base. To build her credit, she joined Lending Circles, where she went from zero to over 650 in just a few months. She then spent over 56 hours training in CPR and dog walking to learn the ropes. And by the end of 2013, she was able to land her first client. But before she could really call herself Green Urban Dog, she had one final obstacle to overcome.

Diana’s final hurdle was her gas guzzling car.

“I was spending nearly $90 a week in gas alone transporting the dogs across the city,” she said. She knew that she could save money, and fully green her business by purchasing a hybrid vehicle. Even though Diana now had a credit score, and enough income to make the monthly payments on a loan, her score was still below prime and so she couldn’t qualify for an auto loan for a car.

Diana came back to MAF because she heard about a program that provided zero-interest small business loans to business owners. With MAF’s help, Diana received a microloan for her business. She was able to purchase a used, energy efficient car to drive the dogs around. Since then, Diana has joined Lending Circle for Business to keep building her credit so she can gain access to larger loans from banks in the future.

Now with 12 full-time clients, Diana’s business is growing fast. She specializes in working with short nose breeds like English and French bulldogs – a tactic that helps her gain loyal and long term clients. She even runs a “Short-Nose Adventure club” for the pups that provides activities designed for short-nosed breeds.

“I tell everyone that I know, ‘go to Mission Asset Fund for a small business loan.’”

Building credit for the long-term while getting a zero-interest business loan has been a huge boost. Diana’s advice to aspiring business owners? Go for it! Although the road will be hard and scary, she believes “the sun shines for everybody” as long as they work towards their dreams.

Do you know of a small business owner like Diana in San Francisco? Tell them to sign up today at LendingCircles.org.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.