DACA: 44 دولة و 70 دولة

في سبتمبر 2017 ، أطلقت MAF أكبر برنامج مساعدة رسوم DACA في البلاد يخدم 7600 حالمين في جميع أنحاء البلاد. في سلسلة من منشورات المدونة ، سنشارك معلومات حول من خدمنا وما نتعلمه عن الحياة المالية لمتلقي DACA بعد إطلاق استبيان لآلاف عملاء DACA.

دعم برنامج مساعدة رسوم DACA التابع لـ MAF 1 من كل 10 متلقين لـ DACA في كاليفورنيا في خريف 2017

عندما أعلنت الإدارة الحالية أن DACA ستنتهي ، ركزت ماف على الاستجابة لحاجة ملحة. في غضون أيام ، أطلقنا ملف برنامج مساعدة رسوم تجديد DACA لتقديم منح $495 للأفراد المؤهلين لتجديد تصريح عمل DACA بحلول الموعد النهائي في 5 أكتوبر. في غضون 4 أسابيع ، ساعدنا 5،078 مستلمًا من DACA (بحلول يناير 2018 ، ارتفع هذا العدد إلى 7600). في سبتمبر وأكتوبر 2017 ، ساعدنا ما يقرب من 7% من جميع أولئك الذين قدموا طلبًا إلى USCIS لتجديد DACA - و 1 من كل 10 من متلقي DACA الذين عاشوا في كاليفورنيا.

قدمنا الإغاثة الطارئة للعملاء ذوي الاحتياجات العالية: جاء 89% من 2017 المتقدمين للمساعدة في رسوم DACA من أسر منخفضة الدخل

يعكس التوزيع الوطني لجميع المستفيدين من DACA، 57% من عملاء MAF الذين خدمناهم في عام 2017 هم من الإناث وكان متلقي المساعدة في الرسوم النموذجي يبلغ من العمر 23 عامًا. حوالي 891 تيرابايت من المستفيدين جاءوا من عائلات منخفضة الدخل ؛ كان متوسط دخل الأسرة السنوي 1 تيرابايت 2 تيرابايت 24000 لأسرة مكونة من 4.

تعرف على متلقي مساعدة رسوم DACA لعام 2017 من MAF:

جاء المستفيدون من DACA من 44 دولة وينحدرون من 71 دولة:

 

الاستماع إلى المجتمع أمر بالغ الأهمية لتصميم برنامج جيد

على الرغم من أن برنامج المساعدة في رسوم DACA كان محدودًا بالوقت ، فقد علمنا أننا نريد الاستمرار في بناء برامج لدعم هذا المجتمع من متلقي DACA وعائلاتهم. بالإضافة إلى جمع البيانات الديموغرافية لكل عميل ، أجرينا استبيانًا² - باللغتين الإنجليزية والإسبانية - لجميع المتقدمين للمساعدة في الرسوم البالغ عددهم 5،078 الذين تقدموا في عام 2017 لفهم احتياجاتهم الناشئة بشكل أفضل.

يعتمد هذا الاستطلاع على الأبحاث السابقة ويتعمق في الاحتياجات والتطلعات المالية

بناءً على الأبحاث السابقة حول المستفيدين من DACA التي أجراها توم وونغ و متحدون نحلم، تم تصميم الاستبيان الخاص بنا لطرح أسئلة على المتقدمين للتعرف على:

  • كيف ساعدهم تلقي DACA
  • كيف استخدم المجيبون لدينا DACA لدعم عائلاتهم
  • أهم اهتمامات المتقدمين المالية لأنفسهم وأسرهم
  • التطلعات الشخصية والمالية والوظيفية للمشاركين
  • خبرة المتقدمين مع وردود الفعل على الجوانب المختلفة لبرنامج MAF

في نهاية فترة المسح التي استمرت أسبوعين ، تلقينا 447 إجابة بمعدل استجابة 8.8%. حوالي 6% من تلك الردود (26 ردود) كانت باللغة الإسبانية.

بشكل عام ، تطابق المشاركون في الاستطلاع بشكل وثيق مع عدد المتقدمين لدينا ، مع استثناءات قليلة. مشابه ل استطلاعات أخرى عبر الإنترنت لهذا المجتمع، تلقينا معدل استجابة أعلى للمسح بين الإناث: 63% من الأشخاص الذين أجابوا على استطلاعنا كانوا من الإناث ، مقارنة بـ 57% من عملاء MAF. تميل أيضًا إلى تلقي المزيد من الردود من فئة عمرية أكبر قليلاً: 55% من المشاركين في الاستطلاع تجاوزوا 23 عامًا مقارنة بـ 45% من عملاء MAF.

تعني مشاركة الرؤى استخدام أصوات المجتمع للمضي قدمًا بالخدمات المالية

أعطانا هذا الاستطلاع رؤى ثرية حول المتقدمين لبرنامجنا - أحلامهم ومخاوفهم. في منشورات المدونة التالية ، سنشارك الأفكار التي سمعناها ونقاط البيانات التي جمعناها. لقد استخدمنا أيضًا البيانات لإثراء عملنا. نحن متحمسون لمشاركة هذه الأفكار كجزء من استراتيجيتنا المستمرة للاستماع إلى المجتمعات التي نخدمها - ومشاركة قصصهم مع الشركاء الذين نعمل معهم. في منشورات المدونة القادمة ، ستتعرف على المزيد حول كيفية تلبية برامجنا للاحتياجات التي اكتشفناها من خلال البحث.

بناءً على بيانات المسح هذه ، نحن نطلق برامج جديدة لمساعدة العملاء في الحصول على عمل جيد ، ودفع رسوم الطلبات المتعلقة بالهجرة ، وبناء الائتمان والأمن المالي.

 

¹ يعني "الدخل المنخفض" هنا أن دخل الأسرة للمستلم أقل من 80% من متوسط الدخل في المنطقة للأسر من نفس الحجم في مقاطعتهم. تأتي بيانات الدخل المتوسط للمنطقة من وزارة الإسكان والتنمية الحضرية لعام 2017 قاعدة البيانات.
² لقد أجرينا الاستطلاع في أكتوبر 2017 باستخدام أداة مكونة من 12 عنصرًا تضمنت ثمانية عناصر مغلقة وأربعة عناصر مفتوحة. لقد أرسلنا بريدًا إلكترونيًا أوليًا إلى جميع العملاء وتذكيرًا واحدًا بالبريد الإلكتروني للمتابعة لأولئك الذين لم يكملوا الاستبيان.
³ نحن نبلغ فقط عن ذات دلالة إحصائية الاختلافات مع ما لا يقل عن حجم التأثير المتوسط.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

DACA: 44 States & 70 Countries

In September 2017, MAF launched the nation’s largest DACA fee assistance program serving 7,600 Dreamers across the country. In a series of blog posts, we’ll share information about who we served and what we’re learning about the financial lives of DACA recipients after launching a survey to thousands of DACA clients.

MAF’s DACA fee assistance program supported 1 in 10 DACA recipients in California in fall 2017

When the current administration announced that DACA was ending, MAF pivoted to respond to an urgent need. Within days, we launched a DACA Renewal Fee Assistance program to provide grants of $495 to individuals eligible to renew their DACA work permit by the October 5 deadline. Within 4 weeks, we helped 5,078 DACA Recipients (by January of 2018 that number rose to 7,600). In September and October 2017, we helped nearly 7% of all those who submitted an application to USCIS to renew their DACA – and 1 in 10 DACA recipients who lived in California.

We provided emergency relief to high-need clients: 89% of 2017 DACA fee assistance applicants came from low-income families

Mirroring the national distribution of all DACA recipients, 57% of MAF’s clients who we served in 2017 identify as female and the typical fee assistance recipient was 23 years old. Around 89% of recipients came from low income¹ families; the median annual household income was $24,000 for a household of 4.

Get to know MAF’s 2017 DACA fee assistance recipients:

DACA recipients served came from 44 states and hailed from 71 countries:

 

Listening to community is crucial to good program design

Even though the DACA fee assistance program was time-limited, we knew that we wanted to continue to build programs to support this community of DACA recipients and their families. In addition to capturing demographic data for each client, we fielded a survey² – in English and Spanish – to all 5,078 fee assistance applicants who applied in 2017 to better understand their emerging needs.

This survey builds on past research and drills down into financial needs and aspirations

Building on past research about DACA recipients conducted by Tom Wong and United We Dream, our survey was designed to ask applicants questions to learn about:

  • How receiving DACA had helped them
  • How our respondents used DACA to support their families
  • Applicants’ top financial concerns for themselves and their families
  • Our respondents’ personal, financial, and career aspirations
  • Applicants’ experience with and feedback on different aspects of MAF’s program

At the end of the 2-week survey period, we received 447 responses for an 8.8% response rate. About 6% of those responses (26 responses) were in Spanish.

In general, our survey respondents closely matched our applicant population, with a few exceptions. Similar to other online surveys of this community, we received higher a survey response rate among females: 63% of people who responded to our survey were female, compared to 57% of MAF’s clients. We also tended to receive more responses from a slightly older age group: 55% of survey respondents were over 23 years old compared to 45% of MAF’s clients.³

Sharing insights means using community voices to move financial services forward

This survey gave us rich insights about our program applicants – their dreams and their fears. In the following blog posts, we will be sharing insights we heard and the data points we collected. We’ve also been using the data to inform our own work. We are excited to share these insights as part of our ongoing strategy to listen to the communities we serve – and share their stories with the partners we work with. In upcoming blog posts, you’ll get to learn more about how our programs are meeting the needs we uncovered through research.

Based on this survey data, we’re launching new programs to help clients access quality employment, pay for immigration-related application fees, and build credit and financial security.

 

¹ “Low income” here means that the recipient’s household income is below 80% of the Area Median Income for households of the same size in their county. Data for Area Median Income comes from the Department of Housing and Urban Development’s 2017 database.
² We conducted the survey in October 2017 with a 12-item instrument that included eight closed-ended and four open-ended items. We sent an initial email to all clients and one follow-up email reminder those who hadn’t completed the survey.
³ We are only reporting on statistically significant differences with at least a medium effect size.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.