كلية الحقوق وتاماليس: DACA تفتح الأبواب لكيمبرلي


بمساعدة Lending Circles لـ DACA ، تنهي كيمبرلي شهادتها وتجهز طلباتها في كلية الحقوق - كل ذلك بينما تساعد والدتها وأختها في تنمية أعمالهم العائلية.

من الصعب أن يفوتك موقف تامالي الخاص بـ Ynes.

في صباح أيام الأسبوع في أحد أحياء أوكلاند الهادئة ، ستجد كل طاقة سوق الشارع معبأة في عربة طعام صغيرة واحدة. "كنت على وشك تناول الفطور عبر الشارع ، ثم رأيتك جميعًا!" صرخت إحدى عاملات Ynes النظامية وهي تقترب من العربة.

لسنوات ، كانت Ynes وبناتها ، Kimberly و Maria ، يأتون إلى نفس المكان لتقديم تاماليس مكسيكي أصيل. انتقلت Ynes وزوجها إلى أوكلاند من كابو سان لوكاس قبل 20 عامًا لخلق حياة جديدة ، مع المزيد من الفرص لبناتهم الصغار.

منذ سن مبكرة ، كانت كيمبرلي مصممة على الاستفادة القصوى من هذه الفرص.

كيمبرلي هي واحدة من عدة آلاف من الشباب الذين استخدموا العمل المؤجل للقادمين في مرحلة الطفولة (DACA) للالتحاق بالكلية وتأمين الوظائف. وهي واحدة من المئات الذين استخدموا Lending Circles للأحلام لتمويل تطبيقات DACA الخاصة بهم.

ولكن قبل DACA ، تم إغلاق العديد من الأبواب في وجهها.

عندما كانت طفلة ، عملت كيمبرلي بجد في المدرسة وتخرجت في النهاية مع الدرجات التي احتاجتها للالتحاق بجامعة مدتها 4 سنوات. ولكن لأنها لم تولد في الولايات المتحدة ، لم تكن مؤهلة للحصول على مساعدات مالية أو حتى رسوم دراسية داخل الولاية. وبدلاً من ذلك ، التحقت بكلية مجتمع محلي يمكنها دفعها من جيبها الخاص.

في إحدى الأمسيات ، شاهد كيمبرلي مقطعًا عن Univision من شأنه أن يغير كل شيء: لمحة عن منظمة غير ربحية محلية تقدم قروضًا اجتماعية لمساعدة المهاجرين على بناء الائتمان والتقدم بطلب للحصول على DACA. على أمل أن يكون هذا هو المفتاح لمدرسة أحلامها ، جاءت إلى مكتبنا لمعرفة المزيد.

قبل عامين ، انضمت كيمبرلي إلى دائرة الإقراض الأولى لها.

على الفور ، وجدت أن تدريب MAF على الإدارة المالية مفيد للغاية. قالت: "في المدرسة يعلمونك كيفية حل مسائل الرياضيات وكتابة الأوراق ، لكنهم لا يعلمونك عن الائتمان". بعد ذلك ، مع قرضها Lending Circles و a مباراة $232.50 من القنصلية المكسيكية SF، تقدمت بطلب للحصول على DACA وسرعان ما تمت الموافقة عليها.

رفع وضعها الجديد الحواجز التي كانت تمنعها من تحقيق أحلامها.

تمكنت كيمبرلي أخيرًا من الوصول إلى المساعدة المالية التي احتاجتها للتحويل إلى جامعة ولاية سان فرانسيسكو. تم تعيينها في وظيفتين بدوام جزئي. وبفضل ائتمان أفضل ، حصلت على قرض لشراء معدات جديدة لأعمال عائلتها: الطاولات والكراسي والمظلات حتى يتمكن عملاؤهم من الجلوس والاختلاط.

اليوم ، تنهي كيمبرلي شهادتها في العلوم السياسية في جامعة SFSU - ودائرة الإقراض الثانية لها.

إنها ترد الجميل لمجتمعها من خلال التطوع في ميثاق East Bay Sanctuary ، وهي منظمة تدعم اللاجئين والمهاجرين في منطقة Bay Area. تدرس أيضًا في LSAT وتعد طلباتها في كلية الحقوق ، وتعمل من أجل الحصول على وظيفة في قانون الهجرة والأسرة.

وطوال الوقت ، تساعد والدتها في تنمية أعمال عربة الطعام الخاصة بأسرتها.

لا تزال كيمبرلي وشقيقتها ماريا إلى جانب والدتهما ، حيث يقدمان خدمة تاماليس للعملاء المتزايدين باستمرار. ما التالي بالنسبة للشركة العائلية؟ مع تاريخ ائتماني محسن ، فإنهم يسعون للحصول على قرض أكبر لتوسيع عملياتهم بعربة طعام ثانية. في نهاية المطاف ، تحلم Ynes بافتتاح مطعم لتقديم أطباق التامال اللذيذة إلى العملاء الجائعين والمتحمسين.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Law School & Tamales: DACA Opens Doors for Kimberly

With the help of Lending Circles for DACA, Kimberly is finishing her degree and prepping her law school applications — all while helping her mom and sister grow their family tamale business.

Kimberly DACA Law School MAF

It’s hard to miss Ynes’s tamale stand.

On weekday mornings in a quiet Oakland neighborhood, you’ll find all the energy of a street market packed into one small food cart. “I was about to get breakfast across the street, then I saw you all!” shouted one of Ynes’s regulars as she approached the cart.

For years Ynes and her daughters, Kimberly and Maria, have been coming to the same spot to serve up authentic Mexican tamales. Ynes and her husband moved to Oakland from Cabo San Lucas 20 years ago to create a new life, with more opportunities for their young daughters.

From an early age, Kimberly was determined to make the most of these opportunities.

Kimberly Lending Circles DACA MAFKimberly is one of the many thousands of young people who have used Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) to attend college and secure jobs. And she’s one of the hundreds who have used Lending Circles for DREAMers to fund their DACA applications.

But before DACA, many doors were closed to her.

As a child, Kimberly worked hard in school and ultimately graduated with the grades she needed to go to a 4-year university. But because she wasn’t born in the US, she didn’t qualify for financial aid or even in-state tuition. Instead, she enrolled in a local community college that she could afford to pay out-of-pocket.

One evening, Kimberly saw a segment on Univision that would change everything: a profile of a local nonprofit that provides social loans to help immigrants build credit and apply for DACA. Hoping this could be the key to her dream school, she came to our office to learn more.

Two years ago, Kimberly joined her first Lending Circle.

Right off the bat, she found MAF’s financial management training extremely helpful. “In school they teach you how to do math problems and write papers, but they don’t teach you about credit,” she said. Next, with her Lending Circles loan and a $232.50 match from the SF Mexican Consulate, she applied for DACA and was soon approved.

Her new status lifted the barriers that had been holding her back from her dreams.

Kimberly could finally access the financial aid she needed to transfer to San Francisco State University. She was hired for two part-time jobs. And with better credit, she secured a loan to buy new equipment for her family’s business: tables, chairs, and canopies so their customers to sit and socialize.Kimberly Ynes Tamales DACA MAF

Today, Kimberly is finishing her degree in political science at SFSU — and her second Lending Circle.

She’s giving back to her community by volunteering at the East Bay Sanctuary Covenant, an organization that supports refugees and immigrants in the Bay Area. She’s also studying for the LSAT and preparing her law school applications, working toward a career in immigration and family law.

And all the while, she’s helping her mom grow their family’s food cart business.

Kimberly and her sister Maria are still by their mother’s side, serving tamales to an ever-growing clientele. What’s next for the family business? With an improved credit history, they’re seeking a larger loan to expand their operations with a second food cart. Ultimately, Ynes dreams of opening a restaurant to bring her delicious tamales to even more eager, hungry customers.


Kevin Gardner is a New Sector RISE Fellow and the newest member of the communications team here at Mission Asset Fund. He's passionate about bringing people and resources together to tackle social challenges in unexpected ways.