社区的力量。扩大亚太裔移民的机会


一个由非营利组织组成的社区正在为全国各地的亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民(AAPI)移民建立财务能力。

当你把家庭、朋友和邻居聚集在一起,互相帮助实现他们共同的财务梦想时,你就在利用社区的力量。这种在家庭或社会团体中借贷的做法--这种做法启发了《中国经济周刊》。 Lending Circles 方案--在世界各地的社区中很常见。

在他们的核心,Lending Circles是关于社区。

今天,我们特别强调一个:一个独特的合作伙伴群体,为全美国的亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民(AAPI)移民提供Lending Circles。在菲律宾,这种做法被称为 paluwagan在中国的一些地方,它被称为 .有了这样的传统,许多亚太裔移民都熟悉Lending Circles作为储蓄和信贷的来源。

在亚洲的许多地方,Lending Circles是一个古老的传统。

通常不熟悉的是到达美国后发现的复杂的金融市场。这需要付出实际的代价:10%的亚裔美国人没有银行账户,更多的人是 "银行账户不足",这意味着他们必须求助于发薪日贷款人和支票兑现人等边缘金融服务。据美国《金融时报》报道 FDIC的2013年无银行业务和银行业务不足家庭调查19%的美籍亚裔和27%的太平洋岛民求助于边缘服务来满足他们的金融需求。

为了弥合现代金融市场和文化传统之间的差距,如 paluwagan我们可以定制Lending Circles以满足亚太裔社区的独特需求。

我们可以从满足亚太裔移民的需求开始,按他们的意愿进行。

本着这种精神,我们提供七种亚洲语言的贷款协议。中文、缅甸语、尼泊尔语、越南语、韩语、孟加拉语和苗语。但这仅仅是一个开始。我们还可以开放解决方案--这样其他非营利组织就可以借鉴我们在旧金山学到的经验,并把它们带到全国各地的城市。

没有两个社区是相同的。而地方组织最了解如何手工制作他们的服务以满足客户的需求。

这就是为什么全国各地的非营利组织正在为其当地社区定制Lending Circles。

以亚洲服务行动(ASIA)为例。这个位于俄亥俄州克利夫兰市的Lending Circles供应商为尼泊尔和缅甸移民和难民提供与文化相关的社会服务,其中许多人在准备买车、租房或创业时才会遇到信用分数的概念。

通过Lending Circles,这些客户能够与讲他们母语的人--通常是他们的朋友和邻居--建立信用。这种相互支持的系统提供了一种安全感,使Lending Circles与其他贷款模式不同。它甚至可以帮助难民在离开自己的国家后在美国建立一个新的社区。

"中国社区中心(CCC)的Lucy Pyeatt说:"我喜欢看到我们的客户在我解释借贷圈模式时眼睛发亮。

"'是的,我们知道!'他们经常回答。"露西的许多客户对Lending Circles的概念非常熟悉:"他们多年来与家人和朋友非正式地参与其中,他们对拥有一个他们已经信任的产品感到非常欣慰。他们觉得他们的遗产和他们的财务安全模式得到了尊重。这对他们来说是一座伟大的桥梁"。

通过借鉴他们的传统并适应他们的需求,Lending Circles将权力掌握在社区本身手中。我们与亚洲和CCC等组织的伙伴关系是推动Lending Circles成功的真正引擎,使地方领导人能够创造地方解决方案。

这一切都始于MAF和国家CAPACD之间的合作。

国家CAPACD 是一个以改善低收入亚裔美国人生活质量为使命的宣传团体。两年前,MAF与国家CAPACD联手,与八个为亚太裔服务的组织一起发起了一个金融能力项目。

我们一起着手回答一个问题。我们能否通过将Lending Circles和金融教育纳入社区组织正在提供的现有移民资源来提高新移民的财务能力?我们的新伙伴开始将传统的服务,如语言课程、公民教育和劳动力培训与我们创新的Lending Circles项目和财务辅导结合起来。

在短短两年内,国家CAPACD队列已经形成了56个Lending Circles,有344名参与者。

想到这些参与者产生的贷款量远远超过$150,000,全部来自于与同行的借贷,真是令人惊讶。而且还款率也高得惊人--超过99%。这意味着参与者正在开设支票账户,建立信用分数,并首次进入金融主流。

有些人已经能够租到公寓。另一些人将Lending Circles作为在新国家获得同伴支持的一个来源。对于许多搬到美国与丈夫团聚的妇女来说,Lending Circles提供了一个行使其经济独立的机会。

经过两年的成功,我们很高兴能继续与这个令人印象深刻的亚太裔服务组织团体合作。

我们的合作伙伴有雄心勃勃的计划来深化其 Lending Circles 我们还计划通过建立新的关系和改进我们的伙伴合作工具,如我们的在线 "Lending Circles社区 "知识共享平台,来加强我们的网络。我们也有自己的计划,通过建立新的关系和改善我们的伙伴合作工具,如我们的在线 "Lending Circles社区 "知识共享平台,来加强我们的网络。

我们知道,成功的关键在于社区的力量。这就是为什么我们要与我们的合作伙伴一起努力,为我们的Lending Circles客户建立更强大的资源--反过来,这些客户又共同支持彼此的成长。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

The Power of Community: Expanding Opportunities for AAPI Immigrants


A community of nonprofits is building the financial capability of Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) immigrants across the country.

When you bring together families, friends, and neighbors to help each other achieve their shared financial dreams, you’re leveraging the power of community. This practice of lending and borrowing money in family or social groups — a practice that inspired the the Lending Circles program — is common in communities around the world.

At their core, Lending Circles are about community.

Today, we’re highlighting one in particular: a unique group of partners providing Lending Circles to Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) immigrants across the US. In the Philippines, the practice is referred to as paluwagan; in some parts of China, it’s called hui. With traditions like these to draw from, many AAPI immigrants are familiar with Lending Circles as a source of savings and credit.

In many parts of Asia, Lending Circles are an age-old tradition.

What’s often unfamiliar is the complicated financial marketplace discovered upon arriving to the US. This comes at a real price: 10% of AAPIs do not have bank accounts and many more are “underbanked,” meaning they must turn to fringe financial services like payday lenders and check cashers. According to the FDIC’s 2013 Survey of Unbanked and Underbanked Households, 19% of Asian Americans and 27% of Pacific Islanders turn to fringe services to meet their financial needs.

To bridge the gap between the modern financial marketplace and cultural traditions like paluwagan and hui, we can tailor Lending Circles to meet the unique needs of AAPI communities.

We can start by meeting AAPI immigrants where they are, on their terms.

In this spirit, we offer loan agreements into seven Asian languages: Chinese, Burmese, Nepali, Vietnamese, Korean, Bengali, and Hmong. But this is only a beginning. We can also open-source solutions — so that other nonprofits can build on the lessons we’ve learned in San Francisco and bring them to cities all over the country.

No two communities are alike. And local organizations know best how to handcraft their services to meet their clients’ needs.

That’s why nonprofits across the nation are custom-fitting Lending Circles to their local communities.

Take Asian Services In Action (ASIA), for example. This Lending Circles provider in Cleveland, OH, provides culturally relevant social services to Nepali and Burmese immigrants and refugees, many of whom don’t encounter the concept of a credit score until they’re ready to buy a car, rent a home, or start a business.

Through Lending Circles, these clients are able to build credit with people who speak their native language — oftentimes their friends and neighbors. This system of mutual support provides a sense of security that sets Lending Circles apart from other loan models. It can even help refugees build a new community in the U.S. after leaving their home countries.

“I love seeing our clients’ eyes light up as I explain the Lending Circle model,” says Lucy Pyeatt of the Chinese Community Center (CCC).

“‘Yes, we know that!’ they often reply.” Many of Lucy’s clients are intimately familiar with the concept of Lending Circles: “They’ve participated in them informally with family and friends for years, and they feel so relieved to have a product that they already trust. They feel that their heritage, and their models of financial security, are being respected. It’s a great bridge for them.”

By drawing on their traditions and adapting to their needs, Lending Circles put the power in the hands of the communities themselves. Our partnerships with organizations like ASIA and CCC are the real engine that powers the success of Lending Circles, so that local leaders can create local solutions.

It all started with a collaboration between MAF and National CAPACD.

National CAPACD is an advocacy group on a mission to improve the quality of life for low-income AAPIs. Two years ago, MAF joined forces with National CAPACD to launch a financial capability project with eight AAPI-serving organizations:

Together, we set out to answer a question: Can we boost the financial capability of new immigrants by incorporating Lending Circles and financial education into the existing immigration resources that community organizations are providing? Our new partners started to marry traditional services like language classes, citizenship education, and workforce training with our innovative Lending Circles program and financial coaching.

In just two years, the National CAPACD cohort has formed 56 Lending Circles, with 344 participants.

It’s amazing to think that these participants have generated well over $150,000 in loan volume, all from lending and borrowing with their peers. And the repayment rate is astonishingly high — over 99%. This means that participants are opening checking accounts, establishing credit scores, and entering the financial mainstream for the first time.

Some have been able to rent apartments. Others have used Lending Circles has a source of peer support in a new country. And for many women who moved to the U.S. to join their husbands, Lending Circles offer a chance to exercise their financial independence.

After two years of successes, we’re excited to continue working with this impressive group of AAPI-serving organizations.

Our partners have ambitious plans to deepen their Lending Circles programs and bring them to even more hardworking immigrants across the country. And we have plans of our own to strengthen our network by forging new relationships and improving our tools for partner collaboration, like our online “Lending Circles Communities” knowledge-sharing platform.

We know that the key to success lies in the power of community. That’s why we’re working together with our partners to build even stronger resources for our Lending Circles clients — who, in turn, work together to support each other’s growth.

Director of Partner Management at MAF

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.