مسح المسار لـ Lending Circles

انضممت الشهر الماضي السناتور لو كوريا (D-Santa Ana) في سكرامنتو لتقديم تشريع مهم من شأنه أن يرفع عمل المنظمات غير الربحية التي تخلق مسارات إلى الاتجاه المالي السائد للمجتمعات المحرومة. مجلس الشيوخ بيل 896 الاعتراف بالمنظمات غير الربحية 501c3 في كاليفورنيا التي تقدم قروض بناء ائتمان ميسورة التكلفة للأفراد.

أحضرت معي Alicia Villanueva ، عضوة Lending Circle ورائدة الأعمال ، والتي كانت حريصة على مشاركة قصة نجاحها. تحب أليسيا أن تقول إن تاماليسها محشوة بالحب ، وأن أفضل الناس محشوون بها. عندما بدأت أليسيا عملها لأول مرة ، كانت هي وابنها الصغير بيدرو يمشيان من باب إلى باب ، في المطر أو اللمعان ، لبيع تاماليسهم. في أسبوع جيد ، ربما حققوا أرباحًا بقيمة مائتي دولار ، وهو ما يكفي بالكاد لدفع الإيجار. كانت أليسيا تؤمن بعملها ، ولكن نظرًا لتراكم الديون عليها ، فإن المقرضين التقليديين لن يجازفوا بالاستثمار فيها.

Sn. لو كوريا ، أليسيا فيلانويفا ، خوسيه كوينونيز ، ماريسابيل توريس ، خورخي بلاندون

إنشاء الوصول

لم تكن أليسيا وحدها ، فخمسين بالمائة من المهاجرين اللاتينيين في البعثة لم يكن لديهم حساب جاري ، وأربعة وأربعون بالمائة من أسر البعثة ليس لديها سجل ائتماني. لن يكون أي بنك رئيسي على استعداد لمنح قرض لشخص ليس لديه درجة ائتمانية. عندما تعيش الأسرة من راتب إلى شيك أجر ، فإن لديها فرصة ضئيلة أو معدومة لبناء ائتمان جيد ، أو توفير المال ، أو الوصول إلى النظام المصرفي السائد.

يضطر الأشخاص مثل أليسيا إلى الحصول على قروض يومية ذات فائدة عالية أو سلف نقدية من المقرضين المفترسين. من خلال إنشاء إعفاء من الترخيص ضمن قانون المقرضين الماليين في ولاية كاليفورنيا (CFLL) ، سوف يعترف SB 896 ويرفع من مستوى المنظمات غير الربحية التي أنشأت برامج فعالة للغاية من خلال توفير وصول أكبر للمجتمعات المستبعدة مالياً إلى قروض صغيرة بأسعار معقولة وغيرها من الخدمات التي تخلق مسارات في المالية التيار.

كانت تجربة أليسيا كواحدة من المشاركين في دائرة الإقراض نقطة تحول في أعمالها. حصلت على قرض اجتماعي بقيمة ألف دولار بدون فوائد لشراء معدات الطبخ ودفع دفعة أولى على عربة طعام. ما بدأ كعمل حب تطور إلى عمل مزدهر ، مع ثمانية موظفين ينتجون أكثر من ثلاثة آلاف تامال في الأسبوع. تقدم أليسيا خدماتها بشكل متكرر للمناسبات ، وسيتم عرض تاماليسها قريبًا في البار الساخن في مطعم هول فودز المحلي.

حشد الدعم

يسعدنا أن نعلن أن ستة عشر منظمة قد انضمت إلينا لدعم SB 896. لقد تلقينا رسائل دعم من المجموعات بما في ذلك صندوق الفرصNCLR و ال مركز فرص بناء الأصول. مشرف سان فرانسيسكو ديفيد كامبوس كتب أيضًا خطاب دعم.

بدون برامج مثل Lending Circles ، كانت أحلام أليسيا في إدارة أعمالها الخاصة مستحيلة. تمكنت أليسيا من الوصول إلى رأس المال بأمان وبناء ائتمانها وثقتها من خلال تدريبنا على الإدارة المالية. كما تلقت دعمًا من منظمة غير ربحية أخرى ، لا كوشينا. سيوفر SB 896 لعدد أكبر من الأشخاص الفرص التي يحتاجون إليها للحصول على فرصة عادلة للنجاح.

تعمل أليسيا بجد على خطة عمل ستحول عربة طعامها المزدحمة إلى مطعم من الطوب وقذائف الهاون. مع الدعم الذي تلقته من Mission Asset Fund ، فإنها تتجه نحو تحقيق هدفها. مع مرور ناجح SB 896 سنرى المزيد من سكان كاليفورنيا من ذوي الدخل المنخفض ، مثل أليسيا ، يحصلون على قروض وبناء استقرارهم المالي لتحقيق أحلامهم.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Clearing the path for Lending Circles

Last month I joined Senator Lou Correa (D-Santa Ana) in Sacramento to introduce an important piece of legislation that will elevate the work of nonprofits who create pathways to the financial mainstream for underserved communities. Senate Bill 896 recognizes 501c3 nonprofits in California that offer affordable, credit building loans for individuals.

I brought with me Alicia Villanueva, Lending Circle member and entrepreneur, who was eager to share her success story. Alicia loves to say that her tamales are stuffed with love, and the best people are stuffed with her tamales. When Alicia first started her business, she and her young son Pedro would walk door to door, rain or shine, to sell their tamales. On a good week they may have made two hundred dollars in profit, barely enough to pay their rent. Alicia believed in her business but because she had accrued debt, traditional lenders wouldn’t take a chance investing in her.

Sn. Lou Correa, Alicia Villanueva, Jose Quinonez, Marisabel Torres, Jorge Blandon

Creating access

Alicia was not alone, fifty percent of Latino immigrants in the Mission did not have a checking account, and forty-four percent of mission households had no credit history. No mainstream bank would be willing to give a loan to someone without a credit score. When a family is living paycheck-to-paycheck they have little to no opportunity to build good credit, save money, or access the mainstream banking system.

People like Alicia, are forced to obtain high interest pay day loans or cash advances from predatory lenders. By establishing a licensing exemption within California’s Finance Lenders Law (CFLL), SB 896 will recognize and uplift nonprofits that have created highly effective programs by providing financially excluded communities’ greater access to affordable small-dollar loans and other services that create pathways into the financial mainstream.

Alicia’s experience as one of our Lending Circle participants was the turning point for her business. She accessed a thousand dollar, zero-interest, social-loan to purchase cooking equipment and to put a down payment on a food cart. What started as a labor of love has evolved into a thriving business, with eight employees who produce more than three thousand tamales a week. Alicia frequently caters events, and her tamales will soon be featured at the hot bar at the local Whole Foods.

Gathering Support

We are thrilled to announce that sixteen organizations have joined us to support SB 896. We have received letters of support from groups including Opportunity FundNCLR and the Center for Asset Building Opportunities. San Francisco Supervisor David Campos has also written a letter of support.

Without programs like Lending Circles, Alicia’s dreams of running her own business would have been impossible. Alicia was able to access capital safely and build her credit and confidence through our financial management training. She also received support from another nonprofit organization, La Cocina. SB 896 will provide more people with the opportunities they need for a fair shot at success.

Alicia is working hard on a business plan that will transform her bustling food cart into a brick and mortar restaurant. With the support she received from Mission Asset Fund she are moving towards achieving her goal. With the successful passage of SB 896 we will see more low-income Californians, like Alicia, accessing loans and building their financial stability to realize their dreams.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2018 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.