克劳迪娅:成为美国公民。


从墨西哥到旧金山,这位造型师追随她的梦想,成为一名自豪的美国新公民

坐在奥克兰派拉蒙剧院阳台上的人群中爆发出一阵兴奋的嗡嗡声。微笑的家人和朋友挥舞着美国国旗,兴奋的孩子们手捧花束。这就像一个毕业典礼,有改变人生的证书和祝贺演讲者。但这是一个公民仪式。过一会儿,楼下的每个人都将成为美国公民。

台上的移民官告诉即将成为公民的人:“这个国家因你们的才能、性格和个性而变得更好。感谢您选择美国”

Claudia Quijano 自豪地与来自 93 个原籍国的 1,003 名其他移民一起聆听演讲。每个人都被要求在他们的原籍国被召唤时起立,届时观众会欢呼,直到所有有抱负的公民都站起来。美国的大熔炉就在这个房间里,从危地马拉到埃及,到德国,再到南非。

仪式上播放了前国务卿马德琳·奥尔布赖特和奥巴马总统欢迎新公民来到美国的视频信息,并强调了这一特权和责任的重要性。主旨发言人是亚美尼亚和芬兰移民的女儿和移民法官,她谈到了公民参与和为国家服务。

Claudia 的旅程始于 9 年前,即 2004 年 8 月,当时她独自从墨西哥移民到圣罗莎。她申请了政治庇护,不久后搬到了旧金山。回到墨西哥后,克劳迪娅在一所美容学校学习,并对染发充满热情。她于 1987 年开始做造型,并于 1991 年拥有自己的沙龙。她梦想在美国取得成功,但她知道她将不得不与众多其他移民和美国公民竞争。

“太不可思议了。对我来说,这是非常重要的一天。它代表了我生命中最重要的目标,”她说。

当克劳迪娅第一次来到美国时,她很难获得合法居留的正确文件。她请来了一位律师,帮助她成为永久居民,但后来发现她仍然很难找到她想要的工作,因为她不是公民。但克劳迪娅并没有气馁。

当她了解 Mission Asset Fund 和 Lending Circles 公民计划, 它将有抱负的公民与资源和获得 $680 公民申请费的资金联系起来。她对 MAF 能够为她提供她需要的信息的数量感到不知所措。

“那里的每个人总是很开心,帮了我很多,”她笑着说。

2014 年 1 月,克劳迪娅加入了公民借贷圈,并收到了 $680 申请费的支票。由于 MAF 和其他非营利组织的参与和支持,她将申请过程描述为“简单”。

克劳迪娅对作为公民将获得的许多好处感到兴奋,但投票的机会是第一位的。

“我现在有很多责任,”她说。 “最重要的是我可以投票并改善我的生活。”

候选人朗诵国歌,随后宣誓入籍并宣誓效忠。这一刻对克劳迪娅来说是一个情绪化的时刻。

“我在仪式上差点哭了。我最喜欢的部分是和大家一起唱国歌。我们都在唱歌,感觉很开心,”她说。

她对其他移民和有抱负的公民的建议是为自己的梦想而奋斗而不是放弃。

“相信自己,寻找可以帮助你的地方,”她说。

仪式在当地合唱团演唱了两首经典的美国民歌“美丽的美国”和“这片土地是你的土地”中落下帷幕。

Claudia 的老朋友 Maritza Herdocia 在仪式结束后与她一起庆祝她的成就。 Claudia 称 Maritca 是她过去八年的主要支持者。

对于克劳迪娅来说,成为美国公民意味着开启更多机会。多年来,她一直担任发型师,在旧金山的小沙龙租用椅子。但现在她是一个新美国人,她准备承担更大的事情:开设自己的美容院。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Claudia: Becoming a U.S. Citizen


From Mexico to San Francisco, this stylist followed her dream and is a proud new U.S. Citizen

There was a buzz of excitement in the crowd sitting in the balcony of the Paramount Theater in Oakland. Smiling families and friends waved American flags and excited children clutched bouquets of flowers. It was just like a graduation ceremony with life-changing certificates and congratulatory speakers. But this was a citizenship ceremony. In a few moments, everyone on the floor below would be U.S. citizens.

The immigration officer on stage told the soon-to-be citizens: “This country is a better place because of your talents, character and personality. Thank you for choosing the U.S.”

Claudia Quijano proudly stood with 1,003 other immigrants from 93 countries of origin listening to the speech. Each person was asked to stand up when their country of origin was called, at which point the audience would cheer until all the aspiring citizens were standing. America’s melting pot was right here in this room together from Guatemala, to Egypt, to Germany, to South Africa.

The ceremony featured video messages from Former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright and President Obama welcoming the new citizens to the country and emphasizing the significance of this privilege and duty. The keynote speaker was an immigration judge and daughter of Armenian and Finnish immigrants, who talked about civic engagement and serving one’s country.

Claudia’s journey started 9 years ago, August 2004, when she immigrated by herself from Mexico to Santa Rosa. She applied for political asylum and moved to San Francisco shortly after. Back in Mexico, Claudia studied at a beauty school and became passionate about coloring hair. She began styling in 1987 and had her own salon in 1991. She dreamed about finding success in the United States but knew she would have to compete with so many other immigrants and American citizens.

“It’s incredible. For me, it’s a very important day. It represents the most important goal for me in my life,” she said.

When Claudia first arrived in the US, she had trouble getting the right paperwork for legal residence. She obtained a lawyer who helped her become a permanent resident but then discovered that it was still difficult for her to secure the kinds of jobs she wanted because she was not a citizen. But Claudia was not discouraged.

She worked as a stylist at a salon in the Mission District when she learned about Mission Asset Fund and the Lending Circles for Citizenship program, which connected aspiring citizens with resources and access to funding for the $680 citizenship application fee. She was overwhelmed with how much MAF was able to provide her with the information she needed.

“Everyone there was always happy and helped me a lot,” she said with a smile.

In January 2014, Claudia joined a Lending Circle for Citizenship and received her check for the $680 application fee. She described the application process as “easy” because of the involvement and support of MAF and other nonprofit organizations.

Claudia is excited for many benefits that will come as a citizen, but the opportunity to vote is number one.

“There are many responsibilities I now have,” she said. “The most important is I can vote and improve my life.”

The candidates recited the national anthem followed by the oath of citizenship and pledge of allegiance. The moment was an emotional one for Claudia.

“I almost cried in the ceremony. My favorite part was singing the anthem with everyone. We were all singing and feeling happy,” she said.

Her advice to other immigrants and aspiring citizens is to fight for your dreams and not give up.

“Believe in yourself and look for places to help you,” she said.

The ceremony closed with a local choir singing two classic American folk songs, “America the Beautiful” and “This Land is Your Land.”

Claudia’s long-time friend, Maritza Herdocia, joined her after the ceremony to celebrate her achievement. Claudia named Maritca as a main support for her over the past eight years.

For Claudia, becoming a U.S. citizen means unlocking more opportunities. For years, she has worked as a hair stylist, renting chairs in small salons in San Francisco. But now that she’s a new American, she is ready to take on something even bigger: opening her own beauty salon.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.