كلوديا: أن تصبح مواطنًا أمريكيًا


من المكسيك إلى سان فرانسيسكو ، اتبعت مصممة الأزياء حلمها وهي مواطنة أمريكية جديدة فخورة

كان هناك ضجة من الإثارة في الحشد الجالس في شرفة مسرح باراماونت في أوكلاند. تلوح العائلات والأصدقاء المبتسمون بالأعلام الأمريكية ، ويمسك الأطفال المتحمسون باقات من الزهور. كان الأمر أشبه بحفل تخرج بشهادات متغيرة للحياة ومتحدثين للتهنئة. لكن هذا كان حفل مواطنة. في غضون لحظات قليلة ، سيكون كل شخص على الأرض أدناه من مواطني الولايات المتحدة.

قال ضابط الهجرة على خشبة المسرح للمواطنين الذين سيصبحون قريبًا: "هذا البلد مكان أفضل بسبب مواهبك وشخصيتك وشخصيتك. شكرا لاختيارك الولايات المتحدة "

وقفت كلوديا كويجانو بفخر مع 1003 مهاجرين آخرين من 93 دولة من أصل 93 يستمعون إلى الخطاب. طُلب من كل شخص الوقوف عند الاتصال ببلده الأصلي ، وعند هذه النقطة كان الجمهور يهتف حتى يقف جميع المواطنين الطامحين. كانت بوتقة انصهار أمريكا هنا في هذه الغرفة معًا من غواتيمالا ، إلى مصر ، إلى ألمانيا ، إلى جنوب إفريقيا.

تضمن الحفل رسائل فيديو من وزيرة الخارجية السابقة مادلين أولبرايت والرئيس أوباما ترحب بالمواطنين الجدد في البلاد وتؤكد على أهمية هذا الامتياز والواجب. كانت المتحدثة الرئيسية قاضية الهجرة وابنة مهاجرين أرمن وفنلنديين تحدثوا عن المشاركة المدنية وخدمة الوطن.

بدأت رحلة كلوديا قبل 9 سنوات ، في أغسطس 2004 ، عندما هاجرت بنفسها من المكسيك إلى سانتا روزا. تقدمت بطلب للحصول على اللجوء السياسي وانتقلت إلى سان فرانسيسكو بعد فترة وجيزة. بالعودة إلى المكسيك ، درست كلوديا في مدرسة تجميل وأصبحت متحمسة لتلوين الشعر. بدأت تصميم الأزياء في عام 1987 وكان لديها صالون خاص بها في عام 1991. كانت تحلم بتحقيق النجاح في الولايات المتحدة لكنها كانت تعلم أنها ستضطر إلى التنافس مع العديد من المهاجرين والمواطنين الأمريكيين الآخرين.

"إنه أمر لا يصدق. بالنسبة لي ، إنه يوم مهم للغاية. قالت "إنها تمثل أهم هدف بالنسبة لي في حياتي".

عندما وصلت كلوديا لأول مرة إلى الولايات المتحدة ، كانت تواجه مشكلة في الحصول على الأوراق الصحيحة للإقامة القانونية. حصلت على محام ساعدها في أن تصبح مقيمة دائمة ، لكنها اكتشفت بعد ذلك أنه لا يزال من الصعب عليها تأمين أنواع الوظائف التي تريدها لأنها لم تكن مواطنة. لكن كلوديا لم تثبط عزيمتها.

عملت كمصممة أزياء في صالون في منطقة ميشن عندما علمت عن Mission Asset Fund و Lending Circles لبرنامج المواطنة ، التي ربطت المواطنين الطامحين بالموارد وإمكانية الوصول إلى التمويل لرسوم طلب الجنسية $680. كانت غارقة في مدى قدرة ماف على تزويدها بالمعلومات التي تحتاجها.

قالت مبتسمة: "كان الجميع هناك سعداء دائمًا وساعدوني كثيرًا".

في يناير 2014 ، انضمت كلوديا إلى دائرة الإقراض للمواطنة واستلمت شيكًا خاصًا برسوم طلب $680. ووصفت عملية التقديم بأنها "سهلة" بسبب مشاركة ودعم MAF والمنظمات غير الربحية الأخرى.

كلوديا متحمسة للعديد من المزايا التي ستأتي كمواطن ، لكن فرصة التصويت هي رقم واحد.

قالت: "لدي الآن العديد من المسؤوليات". "الأهم هو أنني أستطيع التصويت وتحسين حياتي."

وتلا المرشحون النشيد الوطني يليه قسم المواطنة والولاء. كانت هذه اللحظة لحظة عاطفية بالنسبة لكلوديا.

"كدت أبكي في الحفل. كان الجزء المفضل لدي هو غناء النشيد مع الجميع. قالت: "كنا جميعًا نغني ونشعر بالسعادة".

نصيحتها للمهاجرين الآخرين والمواطنين الطموحين هي الكفاح من أجل أحلامك وعدم الاستسلام.

قالت: "ثق بنفسك وابحث عن أماكن تساعدك".

واختتم الحفل بغناء كورال محلي لأغنيتين شعبيتين أمريكيتين كلاسيكيتين ، "أمريكا الجميلة" و "هذه الأرض هي أرضك".

انضمت إليها ماريتزا هيردوكيا ، صديقة كلوديا منذ فترة طويلة ، بعد الحفل للاحتفال بإنجازها. عينت كلوديا ماريتا كدعم رئيسي لها على مدار السنوات الثماني الماضية.

بالنسبة إلى كلوديا ، أن تصبح مواطنة أمريكية يعني فتح المزيد من الفرص. عملت لسنوات مصففة شعر ، واستأجرت الكراسي في صالونات صغيرة في سان فرانسيسكو. ولكن الآن بعد أن أصبحت أمريكية جديدة ، أصبحت مستعدة للقيام بشيء أكبر: افتتاح صالون تجميل خاص بها.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Claudia: Becoming a U.S. Citizen


From Mexico to San Francisco, this stylist followed her dream and is a proud new U.S. Citizen

There was a buzz of excitement in the crowd sitting in the balcony of the Paramount Theater in Oakland. Smiling families and friends waved American flags and excited children clutched bouquets of flowers. It was just like a graduation ceremony with life-changing certificates and congratulatory speakers. But this was a citizenship ceremony. In a few moments, everyone on the floor below would be U.S. citizens.

The immigration officer on stage told the soon-to-be citizens: “This country is a better place because of your talents, character and personality. Thank you for choosing the U.S.”

Claudia Quijano proudly stood with 1,003 other immigrants from 93 countries of origin listening to the speech. Each person was asked to stand up when their country of origin was called, at which point the audience would cheer until all the aspiring citizens were standing. America’s melting pot was right here in this room together from Guatemala, to Egypt, to Germany, to South Africa.

The ceremony featured video messages from Former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright and President Obama welcoming the new citizens to the country and emphasizing the significance of this privilege and duty. The keynote speaker was an immigration judge and daughter of Armenian and Finnish immigrants, who talked about civic engagement and serving one’s country.

Claudia’s journey started 9 years ago, August 2004, when she immigrated by herself from Mexico to Santa Rosa. She applied for political asylum and moved to San Francisco shortly after. Back in Mexico, Claudia studied at a beauty school and became passionate about coloring hair. She began styling in 1987 and had her own salon in 1991. She dreamed about finding success in the United States but knew she would have to compete with so many other immigrants and American citizens.

“It’s incredible. For me, it’s a very important day. It represents the most important goal for me in my life,” she said.

When Claudia first arrived in the US, she had trouble getting the right paperwork for legal residence. She obtained a lawyer who helped her become a permanent resident but then discovered that it was still difficult for her to secure the kinds of jobs she wanted because she was not a citizen. But Claudia was not discouraged.

She worked as a stylist at a salon in the Mission District when she learned about Mission Asset Fund and the Lending Circles for Citizenship program, which connected aspiring citizens with resources and access to funding for the $680 citizenship application fee. She was overwhelmed with how much MAF was able to provide her with the information she needed.

“Everyone there was always happy and helped me a lot,” she said with a smile.

In January 2014, Claudia joined a Lending Circle for Citizenship and received her check for the $680 application fee. She described the application process as “easy” because of the involvement and support of MAF and other nonprofit organizations.

Claudia is excited for many benefits that will come as a citizen, but the opportunity to vote is number one.

“There are many responsibilities I now have,” she said. “The most important is I can vote and improve my life.”

The candidates recited the national anthem followed by the oath of citizenship and pledge of allegiance. The moment was an emotional one for Claudia.

“I almost cried in the ceremony. My favorite part was singing the anthem with everyone. We were all singing and feeling happy,” she said.

Her advice to other immigrants and aspiring citizens is to fight for your dreams and not give up.

“Believe in yourself and look for places to help you,” she said.

The ceremony closed with a local choir singing two classic American folk songs, “America the Beautiful” and “This Land is Your Land.”

Claudia’s long-time friend, Maritza Herdocia, joined her after the ceremony to celebrate her achievement. Claudia named Maritca as a main support for her over the past eight years.

For Claudia, becoming a U.S. citizen means unlocking more opportunities. For years, she has worked as a hair stylist, renting chairs in small salons in San Francisco. But now that she’s a new American, she is ready to take on something even bigger: opening her own beauty salon.

lending8

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2019 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.